DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para [0061] recites
method 400 instead of method 600 on page 26.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show
every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the item 102 identified
as a damage localization system in the specification and shown in the drawings as
an auto ticketing system must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalariya (EP-4160201-B1)
In regards to claim 1, Kalariya teaches a processor implemented method, comprising: (para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
receiving, by a damage localization system via one or more hardware processors, (104 fig. 1, ‘1 or more processors’) one or more inputs associated with at least one structure comprising a damage,(S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’) wherein the one or more inputs comprise a velocity of a lamb wave to be used for damage localization in the at least one structure, a frequency sweep information, and a location information of a transmitter and a receiver that are placed on the at least one structure; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’)
performing, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, (104 fig. 1, ‘1 or more processors’) a Vector network analyzer (VNA) sweep of a predefined frequency range on the at least one structure to form a primary guided wave resonance spectra; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
performing, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, an Inverse Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) on the primary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a primary time domain pulse propagation picture; (204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para [0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’; ‘DWT keeps track of both frequency and exact timing or location.’)
calculating, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, (104 fig. 1, ‘1 or more processors’) a pulse arrival time of a predefined pulse from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture; (208 fig. 3, ‘determining a location of the defect comprised in the test component based on time-of-flight analysis of the plurality of ultrasound signals’; 110, 112, 114 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor’, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’, ‘thermal camera’)
calculating, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, (104 fig. 1, ‘1 or more processors’) a directional pulse arrival time of an x-directional pulse based, at least in part, on the velocity of the lamb wave and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined directional arrival time calculation equation; (fig(s) 2-3, ‘transmitters and receivers’)
creating, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, an auto-correlation picture by auto-correlating a template of the time domain pulse propagation picture with the time domain pulse propagation picture, wherein the template is taken from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture based on a template range, wherein the template range is decided based on the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse; (para [0023], ‘the plurality of features are extracted from the results of the ultrasound test, and they are correlated with the known defects of the plurality of components. Finally, the classifier is trained using the plurality of features and corresponding defects.’)
identifying, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, a predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018])
determining, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, whether the predefined peak is in a predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time; (para [0025])
upon determining that the predefined peak is not in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time, calculating, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, an arrival time of a predefined final pulse in the predefined time range; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
calculating, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, a time difference between the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse and the arrival time of the predefined final pulse; and (para [0025]; equations 11-15)
determining, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, a damage location in the at least one structure based on the calculated time difference, the velocity of the lamb wave, and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined time difference calculation equation. (abstract; para(s) [0014-0039]; fig(s) 1-8; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 2, Kalariya teaches a processor implemented method of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) comprising:
displaying, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, the determined damage location on a user device. (para(s) [0014-0039]; 104, 110, 112, 114 fig(s) 1-8; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 3, Kalariya teaches a processor implemented method of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein upon determining that the predefined peak is in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time, the method comprises: identifying, by the damage localization system via the one or more hardware processors, a new predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture. (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
In regards to claim 4, Kalariya teaches a processor implemented method of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the velocity of the lamb wave is estimated by performing: (para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
placing the transmitter and the receiver at a predefined distance in an undamaged structure; ; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’; fig(s) 2-3, ‘transmitters and receivers’)
performing the VNA sweep of the predefined frequency range on the undamaged structure to form a secondary guided wave resonance spectra; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
performing IFFT on the secondary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; (204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para [0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
determining a secondary pulse arrival time of a primary pulse from the secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; and , (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’, equations 1-25; fig. 3; fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
estimating velocity of the lamb wave based on the secondary pulse arrival time and the predefined distance using a velocity estimation formula. (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’, equations 1-25; fig. 3; fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalariya (EP-4160201-B1)
In regards to claim 5, Kalariya teaches a damage localization system, comprising: (para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
a memory storing instructions; (102, 108 fig. 1, ‘memory’, ‘database’)
one or more communication interfaces; and (106 fig. 1, ‘I/O interfaces’; para(s) [0014-0039]; equations 1-25)
one or more hardware processors coupled to the memory via the one or more communication interfaces, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured by the instructions to: (104 fig. 2, ‘hardware’; para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
receive one or more inputs associated with at least one structure comprising a damage, (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’) wherein the one or more inputs comprise a velocity of a lamb wave to be used for damage localization in the at least one structure, a frequency sweep information, and a location information of a transmitter and a receiver that are placed on the at least one structure; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’)
perform a Vector network analyzer (VNA) sweep of a predefined frequency range on the at least one structure to form a primary guided wave resonance spectra; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
perform an Inverse Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) on the primary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a primary time domain pulse propagation picture; (204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para [0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’; ‘DWT keeps track of both frequency and exact timing or location.’)
calculate a pulse arrival time of a predefined pulse from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture; (208 fig. 3, ‘determining a location of the defect comprised in the test component based on time-of-flight analysis of the plurality of ultrasound signals’; 110, 112, 114 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor’, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’, ‘thermal camera’)
calculate a directional pulse arrival time of an x-directional pulse based, at least in part, on the velocity of the lamb wave and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined directional arrival time calculation equation; ; (208 fig. 3, ‘determining a location of the defect comprised in the test component based on time-of-flight analysis of the plurality of ultrasound signals’; equations 1-25
create an auto-correlation picture by auto-correlating a template of the time domain pulse propagation picture with the time domain pulse propagation picture, wherein the template is taken from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture based on a template range, wherein the template range is decided based on the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse; (para [0023], ‘the plurality of features are extracted from the results of the ultrasound test, and they are correlated with the known defects of the plurality of components. Finally, the classifier is trained using the plurality of features and corresponding defects.’)
identify a predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018]; para [0025])
determine whether the predefined peak is in a predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018])
calculate an arrival time of a predefined final pulse in the predefined time range upon determining that the predefined peak is not in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
calculate a time difference between the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse and the arrival time of the predefined final pulse; and (para [0025]; equations 11-15)
determine a damage location in the at least one structure based on the calculated time difference, the velocity of the lamb wave, and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined time difference calculation equation. (abstract; para(s) [0014-0039]; fig(s) 1-8; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 6, Kalariya teaches a damage localization system of claim 5, (see claim rejection 5) wherein the one or more hardware processors are caused to: display the determined damage location on a user device. (para(s) [0014-0039]; 104, 110, 112, 114 fig(s) 1-8; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 7, Kalariya teaches a damage localization system of claim 5, (see claim rejection 5) wherein upon determining that the predefined peak is in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time, the one or more hardware processors are caused to: . (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
identify a new predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture. (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
In regards to claim 8, Kalariya teaches a damage localization system of claim 5, (see claim rejection 5) wherein for estimating the velocity of the lamb wave, the one or more hardware processors are caused to: (para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
place the transmitter and the receiver at a predefined distance in an undamaged structure; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’; fig(s) 2-3, ‘transmitters and receivers’)
perform the VNA sweep of the predefined frequency range on the undamaged structure to form a secondary guided wave resonance spectra; perform IFFT on the secondary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
determine a secondary pulse arrival time of a primary pulse from the secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; and estimate velocity of the lamb wave based on the secondary pulse arrival time and the predefined distance using a velocity estimation formula. , (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’, equations 1-25; fig. 3; fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kalariya (EP-4160201-B1)
In regards to claim 9, Kalariya teaches One or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums comprising one or more instructions which when executed by one or more hardware processors cause: (100, 102, 104 108 fig. 1, ‘system’, ‘memory’, ‘database’, ‘hardware processors’)
receiving, by a damage localization system, one or more inputs associated with at least one structure comprising a damage, (104 fig. 1, ‘1 or more processors’; S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’) wherein the one or more inputs comprise a velocity of a lamb wave to be used for damage localization in the at least one structure, a frequency sweep information, and a location information of a transmitter and a receiver that are placed on the at least one structure; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’)
performing, by the damage localization system, a Vector network analyzer (VNA) sweep of a predefined frequency range on the at least one structure to form a primary guided wave resonance spectra; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
performing, by the damage localization system, an Inverse Fast Fourier transform (IFFT) on the primary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a primary time domain pulse propagation picture;
calculating, by the damage localization system, a pulse arrival time of a predefined pulse from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture; (208 fig. 3, ‘determining a location of the defect comprised in the test component based on time-of-flight analysis of the plurality of ultrasound signals’)
calculating, by the damage localization system, a directional pulse arrival time of an x-directional pulse based, at least in part, on the velocity of the lamb wave and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined directional arrival time calculation equation; (fig(s) 2-3, ‘transmitters and receivers’)
creating, by the damage localization system, an auto-correlation picture by auto-correlating a template of the time domain pulse propagation picture with the time domain pulse propagation picture, wherein the template is taken from the primary time domain pulse propagation picture based on a template range, wherein the template range is decided based on the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse; (para [0023], ‘the plurality of features are extracted from the results of the ultrasound test, and they are correlated with the known defects of the plurality of components. Finally, the classifier is trained using the plurality of features and corresponding defects.’)
identifying, by the damage localization system, a predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018])
determining, by the damage localization system, whether the predefined peak is in a predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time; (para [0025])
upon determining that the predefined peak is not in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time, calculating, by the damage localization system, an arrival time of a predefined final pulse in the predefined time range; (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
calculating, by the damage localization system, a time difference between the pulse arrival time of the predefined pulse and the arrival time of the predefined final pulse; and (para [0025]; equations 11-15)
determining, by the damage localization system, a damage location in the at least one structure based on the calculated time difference, the velocity of the lamb wave, and the location information of the transmitter and the receiver using a predefined time difference calculation equation. (abstract; para(s) [0014-0039]; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 10, Kalariya teaches a one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein the one or more instructions which when executed by the one or more hardware processors cause: displaying, by the damage localization system, the determined damage location on a user device. (para(s) [0014-0039]; 104, 110, 112, 114 fig(s) 1-8; equations 1-25)
In regards to claim 11, Kalariya teaches a The one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein upon determining that the predefined peak is in the predefined time range of the directional pulse arrival time, the one or more instructions which when executed by the one or more hardware processors cause: identifying, by the damage localization system, a new predefined peak in the auto-correlation picture. . (fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
In regards to claim 12, Kalariya teaches a one or more non-transitory machine-readable information storage mediums of claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein the velocity of the lamb wave is estimated by performing: (para(s) [0008, 0014-0017], ‘one or more processors’; 104 fig. 1)
placing the transmitter and the receiver at a predefined distance in an undamaged structure; (abstract; para(s) [0005, 0014-0017], 110, 112 fig. 1, ‘ultrasound sensor ‘, ‘pulse echo ultrasound sensor’; fig(s) 2-3, ‘transmitters and receivers’)
performing the VNA sweep of the predefined frequency range on the undamaged structure to form a secondary guided wave resonance spectra; ( para(s) [0014-0017]; 204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para[ 0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
performing IFFT on the secondary guided wave resonance spectra to obtain a secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; (204 fig. 2, ‘204-transmit plurality of ultrasounds towards a test component comprising a defect, and receiving the plurality of ultrasound signal reflected by the test component; para [0018] time-frequency, DWT, resonance spectrum generated, resonance peak locations’)
determining a secondary pulse arrival time of a primary pulse from the secondary time domain pulse propagation picture; and (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’, equations 1-25; fig. 3; fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
estimating velocity of the lamb wave based on the secondary pulse arrival time and the predefined distance using a velocity estimation formula. (S1, S2, S3, SN fig. 3, ‘plurality of inputs’; 204 fig. 2, ‘test component’, equations 1-25; fig. 3; fig(s) 6(A-C)); para [0014-0017, 0018, 0025])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Basu (EP-4509828-A1), Li (US-20230228718-A1), and Yamamoto (US-20190242858-A1) references further describe Non-Destructive Testing/Evaluation method and ultrasonic device as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852