Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 18/057,738 and claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/283,138, filed November 24, 2021, and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/344,025, filed May 19, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Nov. 15, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Title Not Descriptive
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Indazoles and Pyrazolopyridines as TEAD-YAP/TAZ Inhibitors”.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 10-17, 19, 21-31, 33-35, 43, 49 and 51 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the Applicant did not delete the definition of L when the formula including L was deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: the structural formula following (X-B) is labelled as a compound of formula (I-B-10). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claims 1, 10-17, 19, 21-31, 33-35 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Xu et al. (WO2022037568A1, filed August 8, 2021, published February 24, 2022) (of record).
Xu et al. disclose indazoles and pyrazolopyridines that function as TEAD-YAP/TAZ inhibitors for the treatment of cancer. The core structure of the formulas taught by Xu et al. is identical to that of the instant application, which identical or similar substituents. The compounds taught by Xu et al. are so similar to those of the instant application that an ordinary artisan would expect them to have similar properties.
Claim 1 is directed towards:
“A compound of formula (I-AB):
(I-AB)… , wherein: L' is
… wherein * denotes the point of attachment to Z… X1 is N or CRS, wherein RS is selected from H… ; X2, X3, and X4 are each independently N, CH, or CD… B is phenyl or 5 to 6 membered heteroaryl, wherein the phenyl or 5 to 6 membered heteroaryl of B are each independently optionally substituted with one or more Rt, wherein Rt is independently at each occurrence selected from halo, C1-15alkyl, … and wherein the C1-15alkyl… Rt is optionally substituted with one or more halo; Z is -C(O)RX, wherein RX is C2-6alkenyl, … and n and m are each 1; or n and m are each 2.”
Claim 1.
Xu et al. teach the following compound:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 99.
While Xu et al. do not teach that L’ is azetidinyl or piperidinyl in the above compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach that this substituent may be azetidinyl, pyrrolidinyl or piperidinyl:
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 10 is directed towards the compound of claim 1 of formula (I-B):
Claim 10.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (I-B):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 99.
While the above compound 65 differs from formula (I-B) in that L’ is not azetidinyl or piperidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl.
Therefore, claim 10 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 11 is directed towards the compound of claim 1 of formula (B-1):
Claim 11.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (B-1):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 99.
While the above compound 65 differs from formula (B-1) in that L’ is not azetidinyl or piperidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl. Therefore, claim 11 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 12 is directed towards the compound of claim 1 of formula (I-B-1):
Claim 12.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (I-B-1):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 99.
While the above compound 65 differs from formula (I-B-1) in that L’ is not azetidinyl or piperidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl.
Therefore, claim 12 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 13 is directed towards the compound of claim 10 of formula (1-B-5):
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (I-B-5):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 97.
While the above compound 52 differs from formula (I-B-5) in that L’ is not azetidinyl or piperidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl.
Therefore, claim 13 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 14 is directed towards the compound of claim 13 of formula (X-B):
Claim 14.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (X-B):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 97.
While the above compound 52 differs from formula (X-B) in that L’ is not azetidinyl or piperidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl or piperidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl.
Therefore, claim 14 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 15 is directed towards the compound of claim 14 of formula (I-B-11):
Claim 15.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 of formula (X-B):
“
…wherein J2 and J3 are independently 1 or 2”
Xu et al., page 31.
The following is an example of a compound of the above formula taught by Xu et al.:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 97.
While the above compound 52 differs from formula (X-B) in that L’ is not azetidinyl, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to substitute pyrrolidinyl for azetidinyl because Xu et al. teach the above generic formula (Xu et al., page 31) wherein L’ is pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, or piperidinyl.
Therefore, claim 15 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 16 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the Rt of B is -SF5, -O-CHF2, or —O-CF3. “
Claim 16.
Xu et al. teach the following compounds:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 109.
While in the above compounds, the substituents ring B and L’-Z are switched relative to claims 1 and 16, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to interchange these substituents (ring hop) because Xu et al. teach that compounds wherein these substituents are interchanged/r ring hopped are so similar they have similar properties and the same function. For example, Xu et al. teach that the following compounds are both TEAD/ YAP/ TAZ inhibitors:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 95;
Xu et al., Table 1, page 97.
Xu, Specification, p. 36.
Therefore, claim 16 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 17 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1 or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein Z is -C(O)Rx and Rx is C2-6alkenyl optionally substituted with one or more substituents selected from C1-6alkyl, deuterium, -OH, C1-6alkoxyl, and halo; or RX is C1-6alkyl optionally substituted with one or more halo.”
Claim 17.
As shown above, in compound 52 (Xu et al., Table 1, page 97) Z is -C(O)Rx and Rx is C2alkenyl.
Therefore, claim 17 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 19 recites:
This reads on compound 65 shown in the rejection of claim 10, incorporated herein by reference. Therefore, claim 19 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 21 is directed towards: “The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein Xl is CRS; and X2, X3, and X4 are CH” (claim 21). Xu et al. teach the following compound wherein Xl is CRS; and X2, X3, and X4 are CH:
Xu et al., page 72.
The rejection of claim 1 which speaks to the equivalence of pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, and piperidinyl in the prior art is incorporated herein by reference.
Therefore, claim 21 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 22-25 recite:
Xu teaches that the central ring structure comprising rings A and B in the generic formula may be any one of these orientations:
Xu, Specification, p. 20.
Therefore, claims 22-25 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 26 is directed towards: “The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is H, halo, or -CN” (claim 26). In the above compound 52 of Xu, RS is H.
The rejection of claim 1 which speaks to the equivalence of pyrrolidinyl, azetidinyl, and piperidinyl in the prior art is incorporated herein by reference.
Therefore, claim 26 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 27 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is -ORf, wherein Rf is C3-20cycloalkyl optionally substituted with one or more -OH.”
Claim 27.
Xu et al. teach compounds of formula (I-1):
“
Wherein R1 is… C3-6cycloalkyl optionally substituted with 0 to 3 substituents independently selected from the group consisting of OH”
Xu et al. pages 6-7.
Therefore, claim 27 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 28 is directed towards:
“28.(Currently amended) The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is C1-l5alkyl or C1-l5alkoxy, wherein the C1-l5alkyl or C1-l5alkoxy of RS are each independently optionally substituted with one or more Rtl, wherein Rtl is independently, at each occurrence, selected from halo, oxo, -OH, -ORfI, -CN, -NRdRe, and 3 to 15 membered heterocyclyl optionally substituted with one or more -OH; wherein Rfl is -C(O)CH2NRdRe, -C(O)C1-6alkyl, -P(O)(OH)2; wherein Rd and Re are each independently H or C1-6alkyl, and the C1-6alkyl of Rd or Re is optionally substituted with one or more halo, oxo, -OH, or -CN.”
Claim 28.
Xu et al. teach compounds of formula (I-1):
“
Wherein R 1 is … C 1-6 alkyl… C 1-6 alkoxyl, -… each optionally substituted with 0 to 3 substituents independently selected from the group consisting of OH, CN, halogen, C 1-6 alkyl, C 2-4 alkenyl, C 2-4 alkynyl, C 1-4 haloalkyl, C 1-4 alkoxyl, -NR aR b, -C (=O) NR aR b, -OC (=O) R a, -C (=O) OR a, -C (=O) R a, -S (=O) R b, -S (=O) 2R b, -S (=O) NR aR b, -S (=O) 2NR aR b, - NR aC (=O) R b, C 1-4 haloalkoxyl, C 3-6 cycloalkyl, 3 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl, C 5-6 aryl and 5 to 6-membered heteroaryl; wherein the 5 to 6-membered heteroaryl, 3 to 6-membered heterocycloalkyl and 3 to 6-membered heterocyclyl optionally comprising 1, 2 or 3 hetero atoms independently selected from N, S and O;”
Xu et al. pages 6-7.
Therefore, claim 28 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 29 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is -NRdRe, wherein Rd and Re are each independently selected from the group consisting of H, C1-6alkyl, C3-2ocycloalkyl, -C(O)Rt, wherein Rt is C1-6alkyl, wherein each of C1-6alkyl, C3-2ocycloalkyl are optionally substituted with one or more -OH.”
Claim 29.
Xu et al. teach compounds of formula (I):
“
Wherein R 1 is… -NRdRe,… optionally substituted with 0 to 3 substituents independently selected from the group consisting of OH… Rd and Re are independently selected from the group consisting of C 1-6 alkyl, C2-6 alkenyl, C 2-6 alkynyl, C 1-6 haloalkyl, C 1-6 alkoxyl… -C (=O) Rf, …
R f is H, C 1-6 alkyl, C 2-6 alkynyl, C 1-6 haloalkyl, C 1-6 haloalkoxyl or C 1-6 alkoxyl;
t is 1, 2, 3 or 4;”
Xu et al., pages 3-4 and 6.
Therefore, claim 29 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 30 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is -C(O)NRdRe, wherein Rd and Re are each independently selected from the group consisting of H and C1-6alkyl, wherein C1-6alkyl is optionally substituted with one or more -OH.”
Claim 30.
Xu et al. teach compounds of formula (I):
“
Wherein R 1 is… -C(=O) NRaRb,… R a and R b are independently selected from the group consisting of H… C 1-6 alkyl… optionally substituted with 0 to 4 substitutents independently selected from the group consisting of … -OH…”
Xu et al., pages 3-4 and 6.
Therefore, claim 30 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 31 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is C1-6alkyl optionally substituted with one or more -OH.”
Claim 31.
Xu et al. teach compounds of formula (I-1):
“
Wherein R1 is … C 1-6 alkyl… optionally substituted with 0 to 3 substituents independently selected from the group consisting of OH."
Xu et al. pages 6-7.
Therefore, claim 31 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 33 is directed towards:
“The compound of claim 1 or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein RS is selected from HO the group consisting of
and
”
Claim 33.
As shown in the rejection of claim 31, Xu et al. teach compounds of claim 1 wherein RS is a C 1-6 alkyl… optionally substituted with 0 to 3 substituents independently selected from the group consisting of OH.
Therefore, claim 33 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 34 is directed towards:
“A compound or a stereoisomer or tautomer thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the compound is selected from:
…
…”
Claim 34.
Xu et al. teach the following compound:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 112.
The compound of claim 34 and compound 200 are so similar that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect them to have similar properties. While compound 200 has 4-trifluorophenyl instead of 4-trifluoromethoxyphenyl, Xu et al. also teaches the substituent 4-trifluoromethoxyphenyl:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 109.
While in the above compounds, the substituents ring B and L’-Z are in opposite positions in the compound of claim 34 and compound 200 of Xu et al., one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to interchange these substituents (ring hop) because Xu et al. teach that compounds wherein these substituents are interchanged/r ring hopped are so similar they have similar properties and the same function. For example, Xu et al. teach that the following compounds are both TEAD/ YAP/ TAZ inhibitors:
Xu et al., Table 1, page 95;
Xu et al., Table 1, page 97.
Furthermore, while the cyano is in a different position on the example compounds, as previously shown above, Xu et al. teach that the cyano substituent can be located at any position on the six membered ring as demonstrated by the generic formula:
Xu et al., page 3.
Therefore, claim 34 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 35 is directed towards:
“A pharmaceutical composition, comprising (i) a compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer, tautomer, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and (ii) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient.”
Claim 35.
Xu et al. teach:
“The present invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of any of the present invention and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, such as hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose.”
Xu et al., page 58, lines 9-11.
Therefore, claim 35 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 43 is directed towards:
“A method for treating cancer in a mammal, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of claim 1, or a stereoisomer, tautomer, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, to the mammal.”
Claim 43.
Xu et al. teach:
“The present invention additionally provided a use of a pharmaceutical composition of Formula (I) for the preparation of a medicament for treating a disease in a subject.
The present invention further provides some preferred technical solutions with regard to above-mentioned uses.
In some embodiments, a medicament thus prepared can be used for the treatment or prevention of, or for delaying or preventing onset or progression in, cancer, cancer metastasis. The cancer is colon cancer, gastric cancer, thyroid cancer, lung cancer, leukemia, pancreatic cancer, melanoma, multiple melanoma, brain cancer, renal cancer, liver cancer, squamous cancer, gastrointestinal cancer, mesothelioma, prostate cancer, ovarian cancer or breast cancer.”
Xu et al., page 58, lines 13-21 (emphasis added).
Therefore, claim 43 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claims 1, 10-17, 19, 21-31, 33-35, 43, 49 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Xu et al. (WO2022037568A1, filed August 8, 2021, published February 24, 2022), as applied to claims 1, 10-17, 19, 21-31, 33-35 and 43 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (Advanced Science, Volume 8, Issue 16, August 2021, pages 1-15, published June 20, 2021) (all of record).
The rejection of claims 1, 9-17, 21, 24, 26-31, 33-35, 43, and 45 above is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 49 is directed towards:
“A composition, comprising: (i) one or more TEAD inhibitors, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and (ii) one or more KRAS inhibitors, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the one or more TEAD inhibitors comprise a compound of claim l.”
Claim 49.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach TEAD inhibitors of claim 1. They also teach:
“The compounds of Formula I, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, can also be included in pharmaceutical compositions in combination with one or more other therapeutically active compounds.”
Xu et al., page 49, lines 12-15;
“TEAD family is the most important transcription factor of YAP and TAZ. The key site mutation of TEAD especially associated with the binding domains of YAP and TEAD significantly inhibit the expression and function of YAP-induced genes. Human TEAD family transcription factors have four members TEAD1/2/3/4, which are highly homology. TEADs have a TEA binding domain at the N-terminus, which serves as a site for binding to the DNA transcription promoter, and YAP/TAZ binding site at the C-terminus. The N-terminal domain of YAP/TAZ wraps the C-terminal domain of TEAD to form a spherical structure. The binding area of YAP/TAZ and TEAD is divided into three interfaces. The interface 1 is mediated by seven intermolecular hydrogen bonds between the peptide backbones of YAP β1 and TEAD β7 forming an antiparallel β sheet. The interface 2 is created by the YAP α1 helix which is close to a groove formed by TEAD α3 and α4. In the interface 3, the Ω-loop of YAP interacts with a deep pocket formed by β4, β11, β12, α1, and α4 of TEAD.
Normally, YAP/TAZ are only induced in certain tissues and under specific conditions (such as development, wound healing, etc. ) . The expression level in other tissues is low. It is described that some mutation of Hippo signaling components trigger the hyperactivition of YAP/TAZ, resulting in abnormal cell proliferation. Studies demonstrated that hyperactivition of YAP/TAZ subsequent to a deregulation of the Hippo pathway is widespread in cancers such as lung, liver, pancreas, breast cancer, and etc.
Among the cancer stem cells of a variety of solid tumors, YAP/TAZ is found to promote the survival of cancer stem cells, and is closely related to tumor metastasis and drug resistance mechanisms, and promotes the occurrence and development of a variety of tumors. During chemotherapeutic drug therapy, anti-microtubule drugs, antimetabolites and DNA damaging agents etc. can affect the Hippo signaling pathway, leading to YAP/TAZ activation and transcription, and thus drug resistance. The hyperactivities of YAP/TAZ can induce high expression of multiple drug transporters, which can transporting drugs outside the cell, and can also lead to upregulation of anti-apoptotic proteins such as Bcl and survivin, and inhibit cell apoptosis. Many studies have proved that PD-L1 is the direct transcription target of YAP/TAZ. Activated YAP/TAZ can increase the expression of PD-L1. Meanwhile, it can also induce the expression of cytokines IL-6, CSF1-3, TNFA, IL-3, CXCL1/2, CCL2, etc. to promote the recruitment and polarization of myeloid-derived suppressor cells (MDSC) and inactivate T cells, or induce T cell apoptosis. More studies have shown that down-regulation of the Hippo signaling pathway leads to activation of YAP/TAZ, which is also the main mechanism of multiple targeted drug resistance. Transcription activated by YAP/TAZ can overcome EGFR resistance through multiple mechanisms. For example, high AXL expression mediates NSCLC resistance to EGFR inhibitors; Inhibition of the pro-apoptotic protein BMF mediate resistance to EGFR/MEK inhibitors; Activation of the PI3K/AKT signaling pathway to evade targeted therapy. YAP-activated transcription can also mediate resistance to BRAF, KRAS, and MAPK inhibitors. YAP/TAZ activity is not only related to drug resistance, studies have shown that YAP gene amplification is related to driving cancer recurrence of colon cancer and pancreatic cancer.
Accordingly, the Hippo pathway plays an important role in organ or tissue size control. It has been linked to many aspects of tumorigenesis, including cell proliferation, cell differentiation, cell apoptosis, cell competition, tissue regeneration, cancer metastasis, and cancer therapy resistance. The deregulation of Hippo pathway can lead to the high expression and activation of YAP/TAZ in cytoplasm and cell nucleus, which can induce the development and metastasis of tumor and even drug resistance. The disruption of YAP/TAZ-TEAD interaction can abrogate the oncogenic property of YAP/TAZ. Therefor the inhibitor of protein-protein interaction of YAP/TAZ and TEAD provides a rationale for the treatment of these cancers.”
Xu et al., pages 2-3 (emphasis added).
While they do not teach the therapeutically active compound is a KRAS inhibitor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine a KRAS inhibitor with a TEAD inhibitor because it is commonly known in the art that agents inhibiting the YAP/TAZ pathways synergize with agents targeting the KRAS pathway. For example, Zhang et al. teach that “YAP knockdown obviously enhanced cancer cell killing outcomes when combined with KRAS G12C inhibitors treatment” (Zhang et al., page 2.”
Therefore, claim 49 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 51 is directed towards:
“A method of treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of a combination, comprising: i) one or more TEAD inhibitors, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and (ii) one or more KRAS inhibitors, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the one or more TEAD inhibitors comprise a compound of claim l.”
Claim 51.
As shown above, Xu et al. teach the administration of TEAD inhibitors for the treatment of cancer and that TEAD inhibition treats cancer by acting through the YAP/ TAZ pathway. They also teach that TEAD inhibitors can be combined with other therapeutic agents and that the YAP pathway mediates resistance to KRAS inhibitors. While they do not explicitly teach the co-administration of TEAD inhibitors and KRAS inhibitors, an ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine a TEAD inhibitor with a KRAS inhibitor for the treatment of cancer in a subject because co-targeting of the YAP and KRAS pathways is a commonly known therapeutic strategy. As also previously shown above, Zhang et al. teach that “YAP knockdown obviously enhanced cancer cell killing outcomes when combined with KRAS G12C inhibitors treatment” (Zhang et al., page 2).
Thus, claim 51 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629