DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/274,347, filed on 8 March 2021.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
-Line 1 recites “an feed additive” and should possibly read –a feed additive—
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1 recites “the onset of estrus” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 5 recites “the onset of estrus” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 9 recites “the onset of estrus” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomoto (JP 2015218121) in view of Dos Santos (WO 02081693).
Regarding Claim 1, Nomoto teaches a method for improving the quality of embryos of a mammal obtained after a superovulation treatment and an artificial insemination treatment of the mammal [0009], [0003], [0020]—reference to improved ovarian function and [0021], the method comprising:
administering follicle stimulating hormone to the mammal for causing superovulation [0020]—reference to hormone therapy applied to all mothers;
wherein the mammal is reared under continuous feeding, over the period of 60 days or more [0010]—reference to 20 to 90 days, with a feed having added thereto a mammalian feed additive consisting of a licorice extract [0009], and
wherein the licorice extract is administered to the mammal at a dose of 10 to 40 g/day/head [0010].
Nomoto is silent on administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus; subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus; and collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing, until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s). Dos Santos teaches on administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus [Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…utilize prostaglandin F2α…after estrus.”];
subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus [Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…10th day after estrus…two artificial insemination 12 and 24 hours after...estrus.”];
and collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing [Pg. 2, lines 13-16], until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s) [Pg. 15, “The embryo harvest…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer prostaglandin to the mammal to cause estrus prior to subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination as taught by Dos Santos in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto to obtain superovulation with better results (Dos Santos; [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nomoto further teaches wherein the mammal is a cow [0009].
Regarding Claim 3, Nomoto further teaches wherein the licorice extract is administered at a dose of 20 g/day/head [0010].
Regarding Claim 5, Nomoto teaches a method for improving the quality of embryos of a mammal obtained after a superovulation treatment and an artificial insemination treatment of the mammal [0009], [0003], [0020]—reference to improved ovarian function and [0021], the method comprising:
administering follicle stimulating hormone to the mammal for causing superovulation [0020]—reference to hormone therapy applied to all mothers;
wherein the mammal is reared under continuous feeding, over the period of 60 days or more [0010]—reference to 20 to 90 days, with a feed having added thereto a mammalian feed additive consisting of a licorice extract [0009],
wherein the licorice extract is administered to the mammal at a dose of 10 to 40 g/day/head [0010], and
Nomoto is silent on administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus; subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus; and collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing, until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s), wherein the collected embryo(s) have an increased number of transferable embryos compared to embryos collected from a mammal not reared under continuous feeding with the feed having added thereto the mammalian feed additive. Dos Santos teaches administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus [Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…utilize prostaglandin F2α…after estrus.”];
subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…10th day after estrus…two artificial insemination 12 and 24 hours after...estrus.”]; and
collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing [Pg. 2, lines 13-16], until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s) [Pg. 15, “The embryo harvest…”],
wherein the collected embryo(s) have an increased number of transferable embryos compared to embryos collected from a mammal not reared under continuous feeding with the feed having added thereto the mammalian feed additive [Pg. 10, lines 12-17] and [Pg. 4, lines 22-24].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer prostaglandin to the mammal to cause estrus prior to subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination as taught by Dos Santos in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto to obtain superovulation with better results (Dos Santos; [Abstract]).
Regarding Claim 6, Nomoto further teaches wherein the mammal is a cow [0009].
Regarding Claim 7, Nomoto further teaches wherein the licorice extract is administered at a dose of 20 g/day/head [0010].
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomoto (JP 2015218121) in view of Dos Santos (WO 02081693) and in further view of Mae (CN 1479626).
Regarding Claim 4, Nomoto and Dos Santos are silent on wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 %. Mae teaches wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 % [0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use licorice extract with a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5% as taught by Mae in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto and modified by Dos Santos to prevent unwanted health effects such as diabetes and obesity (Mae; [0062-0063]).
Regarding Claim 8, Nomoto and Dos Santos are silent on wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 %. Mae teaches wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 % [0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use licorice extract with a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5% as taught by Mae in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto and modified by Dos Santos to prevent unwanted health effects such as diabetes and obesity (Mae; [0062-0063]).
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomoto (JP 2015218121) in view of Dos Santos (WO 02081693) and in further view of Huang et al. Administration of an herbal powder based on traditional Chinese veterinary medicine enhanced the fertility of Holstein dairy cows affected with retained placenta, Theriogenology, 121, 67-71, August 7 2018.
Regarding Claim 9, Nomoto teaches a method for improving the quality of embryos of a mammal obtained after a superovulation treatment and an artificial insemination treatment of the mammal [0009], [0003], [0020]—reference to improved ovarian function and [0021], the method comprising:
wherein the mammal is reared under continuous feeding, over the period of 60 days or more [0010]—reference to 20 to 90 days, with a feed having added thereto a mammalian feed additive consisting of a licorice extract [0009], and
wherein the licorice extract is administered to the mammal at a dose of 10 to 40 g/day/head [0010].
Nomoto is silent on administering follicle stimulating hormone to the mammal by intramuscular injection for causing superovulation on 3 consecutive days with diminishing dosages; administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus; subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus; and collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing, until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s). Dos Santos teaches administering follicle stimulating hormone to the mammal by intramuscular injection for causing superovulation on 3 consecutive days with diminishing dosages [Pg. 9, lines 3-10] and [Pg. 17, lines 25-27];
administering prostaglandin F2α to the mammal for causing estrus [Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…utilize prostaglandin F2α…after estrus.”]
subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination after the onset of estrus [Pgs. 15-16; “estrus identification…10th day after estrus…two artificial insemination 12 and 24 hours after...estrus.”];
and collecting transplantable embryo(s) and/or egg(s) generated by the artificial insemination from the mammal by uterine flushing [Pg. 2, lines 13-16], until the collection of the embryo(s) and/or egg(s) [Pg. 15, “The embryo harvest…”]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer prostaglandin to the mammal to cause estrus prior to subjecting the mammal to artificial insemination as taught by Dos Santos in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto to obtain superovulation with better results (Dos Santos; [Abstract]).
Nomoto and Dos Santos are silent on the 3rd day of the 3 consecutive days for the administrations of follicle stimulating hormone; Huang et al. teaches on the 3rd day of the 3 consecutive days for the administrations of follicle stimulating hormone [Abstract] and [Section 2.3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer in 3 consecutive day increments the FSH and prostaglandin as taught by Huang in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto and as modified by Dos Santos to work in accordance with FSH half-life and necessity to use large or frequent doses (Dos Santos; [Pg. 9, lines 3-5]).
Regarding Claim 10, Nomoto further teaches wherein the mammal is a cow [0009].
Regarding Claim 11, Nomoto further teaches wherein the licorice extract is administered at a dose of 20 g/day/head [0010].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomoto (JP 2015218121) in view of Dos Santos (WO 02081693) and Huang et al. Administration of an herbal powder based on traditional Chinese veterinary medicine enhanced the fertility of Holstein dairy cows affected with retained placenta, Theriogenology, 121, 67-71, August 7 2018 and further in view of Mae (CN 1479626).
Regarding Claim 12, Nomoto, Dos Santos, and Huang et al. are silent on wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 %. Mae teaches wherein the licorice extract has a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5 % [0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use licorice extract with a glycyrrhizic acid content of at least 2.5% as taught by Mae in combination with the method disclosed by Nomoto and modified by Dos Santos and Huang et al. to prevent unwanted health effects such as diabetes and obesity (Mae; [0062-0063]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Ghosh (DE 202006000487)—discloses methods of triggering estrus in cows through use of a preparation including licorice root
-Okumura (U.S. 20180360899)—discusses use of licorice extract in treating obesity
-Tung et al. Improved In Vitro Fertilization Ability of Mouse Sperm Caused by the Addition of Licorice Extract to the Preincubation Medium, The Open Reproductive Science Journal, 6, 1-7, 2014. —references similar method to that of the instant application but for use in mice.
/B.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791