DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claim 1 is pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Leroy (US 7955292 B2).
As to independent claim 1, Leroy teaches a tissue retrieval bag 10 [tissue extraction bag 10 Fig.1 Col.5,ll.44-67]; the bag comprising:
a region of the bag (upper portion Fig.1) defining an opening 24 Fig.1 [porthole 24; Fig.1 annotated above; Col.5,ll.61] comprising at least one elongated portion extending along a first axis in a deployed position (elongated portion extending across opening along first axis as parallel to opening 24 in deployed position, e.g., between 52 and 30 in Fig.1 above);
an exterior surface of the bag [top and outer surface of section 26] Fig.1 [Col.5,ll.59-60] depending from the opening 24 Fig.1; and
a channel 32/42 Fig.1 [Col.6,ll.28-34] formed into the exterior surface of the bag [top and outer surface of section 26 Fig.1], wherein the channel 32/42 provides access to the interior of the bag through the exterior surface Fig.1 [Col.6,ll.28-34].
Non Statutory Obviousness Type Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,075,994 B2 (‘994) (issued from parent application 18/146056).
As to claim 1, claim 1 of ‘994 teach or suggest the claimed tissue retrieval bag, as follows:
Clm
1
‘994
1
The differences between present claims and the claims of ‘994 claims do not identically recite each element of current claims (e.g., using substantially similar but not identical terms; different elements are in different claims; and/or different combinations of elements).
However, the ‘994 claims teach or suggest each element of the current claims, as listed above, such that the present claims would have been obvious over the ‘994 claims to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention. A two-way test is not to be applied in the present cases as Applicant could have filed the claims in a single application and there was no administrative delay. In re Berg, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (“The two-way exception can only apply when the applicant could not avoid separate filings, and even then, only if the PTO controlled the rates of prosecution to cause the later filed species claims to issue before the claims for a genus in an earlier application . . . In Berg’s case, the two applications could have been filed as one, so it is irrelevant to our disposition who actually controlled the respective rates of prosecution.”). In the absence of administrative delay, a one-way test is appropriate. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Unless the record clearly shows administrative delay by the Office and that applicant could not have avoided filing separate applications, the examiner may use the one-way obviousness determination and shift the burden to applicant to show why a two-way obviousness determination is required.
One would be motivated to provide each element of the present claims from the ‘994 claims, as they both relate to the same type of device with the same elements for the same purpose and function in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,540,818 B2 (‘818).
As to claim 1, claim 1 of ‘818 teach or suggest the claimed tissue retrieval bag, as follows:
Clm
1
‘818
1
The differences between present claims and the claims of ‘818 claims do not identically recite each element of current claims (e.g., using substantially similar but not identical terms; different elements are in different claims; and/or different combinations of elements).
However, the ‘818 claims teach or suggest each element of the current claims, as listed above, such that the present claims would have been obvious over the ‘818 claims to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention. A two-way test is not to be applied in the present cases as Applicant could have filed the claims in a single application and there was no administrative delay. In re Berg, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (“The two-way exception can only apply when the applicant could not avoid separate filings, and even then, only if the PTO controlled the rates of prosecution to cause the later filed species claims to issue before the claims for a genus in an earlier application . . . In Berg’s case, the two applications could have been filed as one, so it is irrelevant to our disposition who actually controlled the respective rates of prosecution.”). In the absence of administrative delay, a one-way test is appropriate. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Unless the record clearly shows administrative delay by the Office and that applicant could not have avoided filing separate applications, the examiner may use the one-way obviousness determination and shift the burden to applicant to show why a two-way obviousness determination is required.
One would be motivated to provide each element of the present claims from the ‘818 claims, as they both relate to the same type of device with the same elements for the same purpose and function in the same field of endeavor.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of US Patent No. 9,974,528 B2 (‘528).
As to claim 1, claim 1 of ‘528 teach or suggest the claimed tissue retrieval bag, as follows:
Claim
1
‘528
1
The differences between present claims and the claims of ‘528 claims do not identically recite each element of current claims (e.g., using substantially similar but not identical terms; different elements are in different claims; and/or different combinations of elements).
However, the ‘528 claims teach or suggest each element of the current claims, as listed above, such that the present claims would have been obvious over the ‘528 claims to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention. A two-way test is not to be applied in the present cases as Applicant could have filed the claims in a single application and there was no administrative delay. In re Berg, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (“The two-way exception can only apply when the applicant could not avoid separate filings, and even then, only if the PTO controlled the rates of prosecution to cause the later filed species claims to issue before the claims for a genus in an earlier application . . . In Berg’s case, the two applications could have been filed as one, so it is irrelevant to our disposition who actually controlled the respective rates of prosecution.”). In the absence of administrative delay, a one-way test is appropriate. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Unless the record clearly shows administrative delay by the Office and that applicant could not have avoided filing separate applications, the examiner may use the one-way obviousness determination and shift the burden to applicant to show why a two-way obviousness determination is required.
One would be motivated to provide each element of the present claims from the ‘528 claims, as they both relate to the same type of device with the same elements for the same purpose and function in the same field of endeavor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, as listed in the attached PTO Form 892, is considered relevant to Applicants’ disclosure and are cited to show the general state of the art, e.g., Spaeth (US 5354303 A) (Figs.1,10-11; Col.5,7); Taylor (US 2008/0234696 A1) ([0058]-[0069]); and Taylor (US 2010/0318045 A1) (Fig.1 [0024-0027]; [0038]. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GUY K. TOWNSEND whose telephone number is (571) 270-3689. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. - Fri., 8 am to 5 pm. The direct fax number is (571) 270-4689. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, REBECCA EISENBERG, can be reached on 571-270-5879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781