DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pump as claimed in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation of “wherein the angle is in the range 5°-50°, preferably 10°-45°” is indefinite. The use of the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite in view of 2173.05(c) I. Please amend the claim accordingly.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation of “wherein the length of the enclosure in the vertical direction is in a range of 0.3-0.9, preferably 0.5-0.8 times the distance between the top wall and the bottom wall of the housing” is indefinite for the same reason as applied to claim 6 above. Please amend the claim accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youinou (WO 2004/001204) in view of Halonen et al. (WO 2020/053468 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Youinou discloses a tank (Fig. 8) having a housing (the housing formed at 21 and 22) which provides a space (the space within 21 and 22) for a liquid, wherein an enclosure (6, 6’) forming a sub space (the space within 6 and 6’) is arranged inside the housing at an upper part of the housing for trapping air when the liquid surface in the tank is inclined relative to the housing (see how the tank is configured with respect to Fig. 8 and Des/Clms pages 7-9 such that this limitation is necessarily met), an upper end of the enclosure being closed and airtight and a lower end of the enclosure being open connecting the space and the sub space fluidly to each other (as shown in Fig. 8), but fails to disclose wherein the tank has a level sensor indicating the level of liquid in the tank, the level sensor being arranged in the space outside the sub space.
Halonen teaches a tank (2) that has a level sensor (9) indicating the level of liquid in the tank, the level sensor being arranged in the space outside the sub space (the sub space formed within 3). (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the tank of Youinou to include a level sensor as taught by Halonen in order to provide a means to sense the level of the fluid within the tank. (page 2, last paragraph)
Regarding claim 2, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the enclosure comprises at least one wall extending inside the tank from an upper portion of the housing in a direction towards a lower portion of the housing. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 3, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the enclosure is a tube. (as best shown in Figs. 2 and 3)
Regarding claim 4, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 3, wherein the longitudinal extension direction of the tube is substantially vertical. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 7, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the enclosure is arranged at a distance from a side wall of the housing whereby a gap between the enclosure and the side wall is created in a horizontal direction. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 8, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the enclosure has a length in a vertical direction which length is less than the distance between a top wall of the housing and a bottom wall of the housing, and a gap is arranged between the enclosure and the bottom wall of the housing. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 9, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 8, wherein the length of the enclosure in the vertical direction is in a range of 0.3-0.9, preferably 0.5-0.8 times the distance between the top wall and the bottom wall of the housing. (as best understood, Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 11, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the tank has a plurality of said enclosure providing a plurality of said sub space. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 12, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 11, wherein the enclosures are arranged at a distance from each other creating a gap between adjacent enclosures in a horizontal direction. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 13, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, wherein the tank is a coolant tank for a coolant system of a vehicle. (Des/Clms Page 7)
Regarding claim 14, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a vehicle comprising a tank according to claim 1. (Des/Clms Page 7)
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youinou in view of Halonen and Merour et al. (FR 2,890,109 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein a lower end of the tube is slanted, the end surface of the lower end of the tube being inclined with an angle relative to a horizontal plane such that the end surface slopes downwards in a direction towards a vertical centerline of the housing.
Merour teaches wherein a lower end of the tube (7) is slanted (see Fig. 1), the end surface of the lower end of the tube being inclined with an angle relative to a horizontal plane such that the end surface slopes downwards in a direction towards a vertical centerline of the housing. (Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the tube of Youinou to be slanted as taught by Merour in order to provide a design which allows for a degassing chamber of reduced volume without compromising the quality of the degassing of said liquid and avoid any cascade phenomemon when the liquid enters and keeps the outlet submerged regardless of the conditions of use of the device (page 3)
Regarding claim 6, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 5, wherein the angle is in the range 5°-50°, preferably 10°-45°. (page 3)
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youinou in view of Halonen and Riedel et al. (US 2010/0031915, hereafter “Riedel”).
Regarding claim 10, Youinou in view of Halonen further disclose a tank according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the tank has a pump for pumping liquid out from the tank, an inlet of the pump being arranged in the space outside the sub space.
Riedel discloses a tank (24) that has a pump (50) for pumping liquid out from the tank, an inlet of the pump being arranged in the space outside the sub space. (Fig. 1A; para. [0019])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the tank of Youinou to include a pump as taught by Riedel in order to provide a means to help ensure the fluid is circulated as desired.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753