DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-13, and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Huawei (EP 2093944 B1, hereinafter Huawei) in view of Kumaresan (US 2009/0154340 A1, hereinafter Kumaresan).
Regarding claim 1, Huawei discloses a network routing system (¶[0002]-¶[0008]), comprising:a first network node comprising a first router configured to support a second router (¶[0011]-¶[0014],¶[0031]-¶[0035]); and a second network node comprising the second router,
having a configuration comprising (¶[00112]-¶[0015], ¶[0022], wherein the master router is the first router,¶[0034 )
a designation as the monitor router (¶[0022], figures 2-4 back up routers ). Huawei does not disclose the second router configured as a monitor route; a designated router (DR) selection priority set to a lowest priority level; and an instruction to transmit a monitor router message comprising a notification that the second router has the DR selection priority set to the lowest priority level and is
configured as the monitor router. Kumaresan discloses the second router configured as a
monitor router (abstract, figures 2-4, ¶[0001]-¶[0005])
a designated router (DR) selection priority set to a lowest priority level (¶[0031], figures 2-4); and
an instruction to transmit a monitor router message comprising a notification that
the second router has the DR selection priority set to the lowest priority level and is
configured as the monitor router (figures 1 A -4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 2, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the monitor router message includes a
Hello packet comprising:. (figure 1B, ¶[0013]-¶[0016], ¶[0032]-¶[0043]. Huawei does not disclose a monitor bit (M-bit) indicating that the second network node comprises the monitor router; and a router priority set to zcro. Kumaresan discloses a monitor bit (M-bit) indicating that the second network node comprises the monitor router; and a router priority set to zcro (abstract, figure 1B, figures 2-3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 3 , Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, ignores a link status advertisement (LSA) received from the second router. Kumaresan discloses wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, ignores a link status advertisement (LSA) received from the second router. (figure 3, abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 4, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of, wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, excludes a link to the second router from a link status advertisement
(LSA) of the first router when the link to the second router is a point-to-point (P2P) link.
Kumaresan discloses , wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, excludes a link to the second router from a link status advertisement
(LSA) of the first router when the link to the second router is a point-to-point (P2P) link (figure 3) . ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 5, Huawei does not disclose wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message (¶[0013]-¶[0015]). Huawei does not disclose , excludes the second router from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the
first router when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link. Kumaresan discloses excludes the second router from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the
first router when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link (figure 3) .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 6, Huawei discloses assigning priorities to determine master and backup operation ( ¶[0011]-¶[0012]). Huawei does not disclose wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, is configured to de-select the second router as a designated router (DR)
when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link. Kumaresan discloses wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message, is configured to de-select the second router as a designated router (DR)
when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link (figure 1B). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 7, Huawei discloses
The network routing system of claim 1, wherein the first router, based on receiving the
monitor router message (¶[0011]-¶[0019]). Huawei does not disclose , is configured to de-select the second router as a backup designated router
(BDR) when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link Kumaresan discloses , is configured to de-select the second router as a backup designated router
(BDR) when a link to the second router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link (figure 1B). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 8, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the second router receives all link status
advertisements (LSAs) from the first router and does not advertise any LSA to the first router.
Kumaresan discloses , wherein the second router receives all link status
advertisements (LSAs) from the first router and does not advertise any LSA to the first router (abstract , figure 3) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 11, Huawei discloses a network routing method implemented by a first network node, comprising:configuring a first router of the first network node with a set of instructions for a monitoring interface link, the instructions comprising (¶[0011]-¶[0014],¶[0031]-¶[0035]. Huawei does not disclose a do-not-advertise-link instruction; a do-not-request-link-status-advertisement instruction; andan ignore-LSA instruction. Kumaresan discloses not-advertise-link instruction; a do-not-request-link-status-advertisement instruction; andan ignore-LSA instruction (abstract, figs 2-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the unnecessary routing traffic while maintaining network convergence.
Regarding claim 12, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the first router excludes the monitoring
interface link from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the first router advertised to connected
networks when the first router has a do-not-advertise-link configuration.
Kumaresan discloses , wherein the first router excludes the monitoring
interface link from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the first router advertised to connected
networks when the first router has a do-not-advertise-link configuration (figure 3) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the unnecessary routing traffic while maintaining network convergence.
Regarding claim 13, Huawei does not disclose , wherein the first router does not request any link
status advertisement (LSA) from any other router through the monitoring interface link when the
first router has a do-not-rcqucst-link-status-advertisement configuration, and wherein the first
router ignores any LSA received through the monitoring interface link when the first router has an
ignore-LSA configuration. Kumaresan discloses , wherein the first router does not request any link
status advertisement (LSA) from any other router through the monitoring interface link when the
first router has a do-not-rcqucst-link-status-advertisement configuration, and wherein the first
router ignores any LSA received through the monitoring interface link when the first router has an
ignore-LSA configuration (figure 3) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to reduce the unnecessary routing traffic while maintaining network convergence.
Regarding claim 15, Huawei discloses a network routing method implemented by a monitor network node, comprising: configuring a router of the monitor network node by:
setting a router identity of the router to monitor router (
¶[0011]-¶[0017]). Huawei does not disclose setting a designated router (DR) selection priority of the router to a lowest priority level; and transmitting a monitor router message comprising a notification that the monitor network node includes the router, the router has the DR selection priority set to the lowest priority level, and the router is configured as the monitor router.
Kumaresan discloses setting a designated router (DR) selection priority of the router to a lowest priority level; and transmitting a monitor router message comprising a notification that the monitor network node includes the router, the router has the DR selection priority set to the lowest priority level, and the router is configured as the monitor router (figures 1B-3, abstract). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 16, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the monitor router message further comprising:
a Hello packet comprising a monitor bit (M-bit) indicating that the monitor network node
comprises the monitor router; and a router priority set to zero. Kumaresan discloses the monitor router message further comprising: a Hello packet comprising a monitor bit (M-bit) indicating that the monitor network node comprises the monitor router; and a router priority set to zero (abstract , figures 1B-3) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 17, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to ignore a link status advertisement (LSA) received from the router.
Kumaresan discloses wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to ignore a link status advertisement (LSA) received from the router.
(figure 3, 340). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 18, Huawei discloses The network routing method of claim 15, wherein the monitor router message instructs a receiving router to exclude a link to the router from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the receiving router when the link to the router is a point-to-point (P2P) link (figures 1B-3).
Regarding claim 19, Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to exclude the router from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the receiving router
when a link to the monitor router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link. Kumaresan discloses wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to exclude the router from a link status advertisement (LSA) of the receiving router
when a link to the monitor router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link (figure 3 , 340). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regardign claim 20 , Huawei discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of, wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to de-select the router as a designated router (DR) when a link to the router is a
non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link. Kumaresan discloses wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to de-select the router as a designated router (DR) when a link to the router is a
non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link (figure 3) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the router selection as disclosed by Kumaresan along with the system of Huawei to provide more reliable routing monitoring.
Regarding claim 21, Huawei discloses wherein the monitor router message instructs a
receiving router to de-select the router as a backup designated router (BDR) when a link to the
router is a non-broadcast multiple-access (NBMA) link.
Claim(s) 9,10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei and Kumaresan in view of Barroso (US 9,473,751 B2, hereinafter Barroso).
Regarding claim 9, Huawei and Kumaresan disclose all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of, wherein the first network node comprises a
satellite. Barroso discloses , wherein the first network node comprises a
satellite (figure 1, column 3, lines 4-20). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the satellite as disclosed by Barroso along with the system of Huawei and Kumaresan as a matter of design choice to communicate with the desired satellite network.
Regarding claim 10, Huawei and Kumaresan discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the second network node comprises a
ground station (GS) in a satellite network. Barroso discloses wherein the second network node comprises a ground station (GS) in a satellite network figure 1, column 3, lines 4-20). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the satellite as disclosed by Barroso along with the system of Huawei and Kumaresan as a matter of design choice to communicate with the desired satellite network.
.
Regarding claim 14, Huawei and Kumaresan disclose all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the first router is located in a satellite of
a satellite network. Barroso discloses wherein the first router is located in a satellite of
a satellite network (figure 1, column 3, lines 4-20). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to make the proposed modification of the satellite as disclosed by Barroso along with the system of Huawei and Kumaresan as a matter of design choice to communicate with the desired satellite network.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412