Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications filed in Korea on April 20, 2022 and May 17, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10-2022-0049182 and 10-2022-0060498 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "…based on the identified scattering of light." In line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. (US 20160337570 A1, hereinafter “Tan”).
Regarding claim 1, Tan teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1-4, [0008]-[0009]: Video collaboration device), comprising:
a display (Figs. 1&3, [0008]-[0009]: the device includes a display 100);
a camera at least partially visible outside through an opening formed in a display area of the display (Figs. 1-3, [0020]: the device includes a camera 120 to be behind, a surface 110 of the display 100, examples of the camera 120 can also be embedded into the surface 110 of the display 100. For example, the display 100 can be transparent, such as a transparent OLED if the camera 120 is behind the surface 110 of the display 100. Here, the display 100 becomes transparent when dimmed thus allowing for the camera 120 to capture images without light interference.);
memory storing instructions (Figs. 1-3, [0013]: The display 100 and/or camera 120 include and/or interface with, for example, a hardware device including electronic circuitry for implementing the functionality described below, such as control logic and/or memory.);
at least one processor, comprising processing circuitry, operably coupled to the display, the camera, and the memory; wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the instructions (Figs. 1&3, [0013]&[0035]: In addition, or as an alternative, the display 100 and/or camera 120 include and/or interface with a series of instructions encoded on a machine-readable storage medium and executable by a processor.), and is configured to:
control the display to display a screen including a portion with a specified color in the display, based on receiving a shooting input ([0010]&[0018]: first region 114 is dimmed during a capture mode (color dimming (i.e. OLED) between white and black as shown by Figs. 1-2).);
identify a change of light received by the camera (Figs. 1-4, [0025]-[0026]: The normal light intensity of the display 100 is based on external and/or internal factors. The internal factors are based on image data being output to the display 100, which indicate, for example, a contrast, color, voltage and the like for the pixels of display 100.), wherein the change of the light is caused by an extent of the portion, based on the screen being displayed (Figs. 1-4, [0024]: a second region 112 is dimmed according to a non-uniform pattern during the capture mode, such as during the camera setting. The non-uniform pattern includes both dimmed and non-dimmed areas. For example, the pattern is a combination of pixels that have less than normal intensity and normal or greater than normal intensity.);
and obtain an image corresponding to the shooting input, by controlling the camera, in a state in which the extent of the portion is adjusted based on the identified change of the light (Figs. 1-4, [0022]: The display 100 alternate between a display setting and a camera setting during the capture mode. The display and camera settings alternate according to a rate such that an image over the first region 114 appears continuously visible to a user during the capture mode.).
Regarding claim 2, Tan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tan discloses wherein the portion is a first portion (Figs. 1-4, [0023]: third region 218 of Fig. 2A);
wherein the specified color is a first specified color (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0019]-[0024]: white display third region 218);
and wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: control the display to display a second portion, different from the first portion, and displayed in a second specified color different from the first specified color, in the screen, on the display; and wherein the second portion includes the opening formed in the display area of the display (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0019]-[0024]: dimming display first and second regions 114 and 112 including camera 120 opening).
Regarding claim 4, Tan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tan discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: obtain the change of the light by combining brightness of a plurality of pixels included in an image being output from the camera (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, 0024]: non-uniform pattern may include both dimmed and non-dimmed areas. For example, the pattern may be a combination of pixels that have less than normal intensity and normal or greater than normal intensity.), using another processor different from the at least one processor (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0034]&[0036]: processor is, at least one central processing unit (CPU)).
Regarding claim 5, Tan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tan discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: control a first pixels corresponding to the first portion, among a plurality of pixels included in the display, based on an active state; control a second pixels corresponding to the second portion, based on another state different from the active state; wherein the first specified color is white; and wherein the second specified color is black (as illustrated by Fig. 2A camera setting state and Fig. 2B display setting state).
Regarding claims 11-12, Method claims 11-12 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in respective claims 1-2. Therefore, method claims 11-12 correspond to apparatus in respective claims 2-3 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20160337570 A1, hereinafter “Tan”), in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. RU 2706461 C1 to CHEN CHAOXI (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “CHEN”).
Regarding claim 3, Tan teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition Tan discloses wherein the sensor comprises: at least one of a touch sensor, or a humidity sensor ([0015]: urn on the capture video through a touch sensitive display); except further comprising: a sensor; wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a scattering of light emitted from the first portion displayed on the display, using the sensor, in response to receiving the shooting input; adjust the extent of the first portion, based on the identified the scattering of the light.
However, CHEN discloses a sensor; wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a scattering of light emitted from the first portion displayed on the display, using the sensor, in response to receiving the shooting input (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0041]: measure an intensity of scattered light in real time in order to adjust a brightness of a display area on a terminal panel, a photo detector is usually installed in the terminal to detect scattered light.); adjust the extent of the first portion, based on the identified the scattering of the light (as illustrated by Figs. 1-2, [0041]: measure an intensity of scattered light in real time in order to adjust a brightness of a display area on a terminal panel, a photo detector is usually installed in the terminal to detect scattered light.); and wherein the sensor comprises: at least one of a touch sensor, or a humidity sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a sensor; wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a scattering of light emitted from the first portion displayed on the display, using the sensor, in response to receiving the shooting input; adjust the extent of the first portion, based on the identified the scattering of the light as taught by CHEN into Tan image device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to provide a display panel that allows to increase the ratio of the screen area to the area of the terminal, improve the display quality of the terminal and improve the appearance of the terminal (CHEN: [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Method claim 13 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 3. Therefore, method claim 13 corresponds to apparatus claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious control the display to repeatedly display a second screen, including a first portion having a first specified color, and including a second portion having a second specified color different from the first specified color and including the opening, overlapping on the first screen, in response to receiving a shooting input, based on displaying the first screen; identify a change of brightness of the preview image according to light emitted from the first portion, by adjusting an extent of the first portion, based on repeatedly displaying the second screen; and obtain the image corresponding to the shooting input, using the first portion in the second screen, having the extent of the first portion adjusted based on the change of the brightness, in combination with all the limitations recited on claim 16.
Regarding claims 17-20, are allowable because they are dependent on claim 16.
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638