DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 09, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laselva et al.(US 2023/0389117, “Laselva”).
Regarding claim 1, Laselva teaches a method for non-small data transmission (SDT) dedicated radio bearer (DRB) handling (FIGs. 5-6)), comprising:
determining, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0055] “At 555, the UE may change to RRC_inactive state”), that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB ([0055] “At 565, a new payload in the UE's buffer may appear for a second DRB” Note: data associated with second DRB teaches “non-SDT data on non-SDR DRB” because upon “new payload may appear in the UE's buffer for the first DRB, and SDT procedure may be triggered” (see [0055]). In other words, data for first DRB corresponds to SDT data and data for second DRB corresponds to non-SDT data); and
sending the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver for reporting to a base station via a dedicated uplink grant ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”. [0034] “a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 2, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” [0034] “the UP data may be transmitted in Msg3 of a 4-step RACH procedure. For example, a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 3, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”).
Regarding claim 4, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrives during a subsequent transmission period of an SDT procedure ([0056] “a new payload may appear in the UE's buffer for a second non-SDT DRB while an SDT transaction is ongoing. While the SDT transaction is ongoing, the second non-SDT DRB data may be buffered”).
Regarding claim 7, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” RRC signaling is well known to be part of Layer 3).
Regarding claim 8, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information (Note: unified air interface is interpreted as messaging provided by NR standard for a 5G system (see “Hsieh, [0018]) Laselva’s system includes a NR system [0003], [0034] therefore messages in Laselva teach claimed feature “unified air interface (UAI)” messages).
Regarding claim 9, Laselva teaches an apparatus (FIG 9(a) apparatus 10, including an UE), comprising: a memory; and a baseband processor in communication with the memory ([0075]) and configured to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0055] “At 555, the UE may change to RRC_inactive state”), that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB ([0055] “At 565, a new payload in the UE's buffer may appear for a second DRB” Note: data associated with second DRB teaches “non-SDT data on non-SDR DRB” because upon “new payload may appear in the UE's buffer for the first DRB, and SDT procedure may be triggered” (see [0055]). In other words, data for first DRB corresponds to SDT data and data for second DRB corresponds to non-SDT data); and
send the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver for reporting to a base station via a dedicated uplink grant ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”. [0034] “a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 10, Laselva teaches claim 9, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” [0034] “the UP data may be transmitted in Msg3 of a 4-step RACH procedure. For example, a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 11, Laselva teaches claim 10, and further teaches wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”).
Regarding claim 14, Laselva teaches claim 9, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” RRC signaling is well known to be part of Layer 3).
Regarding claim 15, Laselva teaches claim 9, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information (Note: unified air interface is interpreted as messaging provided by NR standard for a 5G system (see “Hsieh, [0018]) Laselva’s system includes a NR system [0003], [0034] therefore messages in Laselva teach claimed feature “unified air interface (UAI)” messages).
Regarding claim 16, Laselva teaches a non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a baseband processor ([0074]) to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state ([0055] “At 555, the UE may change to RRC_inactive state”), that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB ([0055] “At 565, a new payload in the UE's buffer may appear for a second DRB” Note: data associated with second DRB teaches “non-SDT data on non-SDR DRB” because upon “new payload may appear in the UE's buffer for the first DRB, and SDT procedure may be triggered” (see [0055]). In other words, data for first DRB corresponds to SDT data and data for second DRB corresponds to non-SDT data); and
send the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver for reporting to a base station via a dedicated uplink grant ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”. [0034] “a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 17, Laselva teaches claim 16, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” [0034] “the UP data may be transmitted in Msg3 of a 4-step RACH procedure. For example, a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 18, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message via the dedicated uplink grant ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data” [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
Regarding claim 20, Laselva teaches claim 1, and further teaches wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data.” RRC signaling is well known to be part of Layer 3); and wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information (Note: unified air interface is interpreted as messaging provided by NR standard for a 5G system (see “Hsieh, [0018]) Laselva’s system includes a NR system [0003], [0034] therefore messages in Laselva teach claimed feature “unified air interface (UAI)” messages).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 12-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laselva in view of Liu (US 2018/0192410, “Liu”).
Regarding claim 4, Laselva teaches claim 1 but does not teach wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, the sending the non-SDT data arrival information comprises triggering the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR).
Laselva, however teaches a process of an UE transmitting a RRC message while in inactive mode using a 4-step RACH procedure (FIG. 5(b)). It is well known in the art in a 4-step RACH procedure, MSG1 is used as indication for an uplink request Particularly, Liu teaches the claimed feature wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, the sending the non-SDT data arrival information comprises triggering the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR) ([0093] “the user equipment transmits the uplink request message via a message a (Msg1)”, [0097] “The eNB receives the preamble, calculates a Timing Advance (TA), and transmits a random access response to the UE, where the random access response at least includes information about the timing advance, and an uplink (UL) grant for Msg3, i.e., Msg2” and [0098] “The UE transmits uplink transmission, i.e., the Msg3, over the UL grant specified in the Msg2”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, the sending the non-SDT data arrival information comprises triggering the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR), as taught by Liu in Laselva to improve the resource utilization.
Regarding claim 5, Laselva in view of Liu teaches claim 4 but does not teach wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period.
However, Liu teaches the claimed feature wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period ([0093] “the user equipment transmits the uplink request message via a message a (Msg1)”, [0097] “The eNB receives the preamble, calculates a Timing Advance (TA), and transmits a random access response to the UE, where the random access response at least includes information about the timing advance, and an uplink (UL) grant for Msg3, i.e., Msg2” and [0098] “The UE transmits uplink transmission, i.e., the Msg3, over the UL grant specified in the Msg2”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period, as taught by Liu in Laselva to improve the resource utilization.
Regarding claim 12, Laselva teaches claim 9 but does not teach wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the baseband processor is further configured to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR).
Laselva, however teaches a process of an UE transmitting a RRC message while in inactive mode using a 4-step RACH procedure (FIG. 5(b)). It is well known in the art in a 4-step RACH procedure, MSG1 is used as indication for an uplink request Particularly, Liu teaches the claimed feature wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the baseband processor is further configured to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR) ([0093] “the user equipment transmits the uplink request message via a message a (Msg1)”, [0097] “The eNB receives the preamble, calculates a Timing Advance (TA), and transmits a random access response to the UE, where the random access response at least includes information about the timing advance, and an uplink (UL) grant for Msg3, i.e., Msg2” and [0098] “The UE transmits uplink transmission, i.e., the Msg3, over the UL grant specified in the Msg2”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein, when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the baseband processor is further configured to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR), as taught by Liu in Laselva to improve the resource utilization.
Regarding claim 13, Laselva in view of Liu teaches claim 12 but does not teach wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period.
However, Liu teaches the claimed feature wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period ([0093] “the user equipment transmits the uplink request message via a message a (Msg1)”, [0097] “The eNB receives the preamble, calculates a Timing Advance (TA), and transmits a random access response to the UE, where the random access response at least includes information about the timing advance, and an uplink (UL) grant for Msg3, i.e., Msg2” and [0098] “The UE transmits uplink transmission, i.e., the Msg3, over the UL grant specified in the Msg2”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period, as taught by Liu in Laselva to improve the resource utilization.
Regarding claim 19, Laselva teaches claim 16 but does not teach when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the program instructions are further executable by the baseband processor to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR), and wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period.
Laselva, however teaches a process of an UE transmitting a RRC message while in inactive mode using a 4-step RACH procedure (FIG. 5(b)). It is well known in the art in a 4-step RACH procedure, MSG1 is used as indication for an uplink request Particularly, Liu teaches the claimed feature when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the program instructions are further executable by the baseband processor to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR), and wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period ([0093] “the user equipment transmits the uplink request message via a message a (Msg1)”, [0097] “The eNB receives the preamble, calculates a Timing Advance (TA), and transmits a random access response to the UE, where the random access response at least includes information about the timing advance, and an uplink (UL) grant for Msg3, i.e., Msg2” and [0098] “The UE transmits uplink transmission, i.e., the Msg3, over the UL grant specified in the Msg2”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature when the dedicated uplink grant is not available, to send the non-SDT data arrival information, the program instructions are further executable by the baseband processor to trigger the transceiver to transmit a scheduling request (SR), and wherein the SR requests an uplink grant for transmission during the subsequent transmission period, as taught by Liu in Laselva to improve the resource utilization.
Double Patenting
Claims 1- 8, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, 13, 8, 2, 12, 5, 14, 15, 18 and 19 respectively of Patent 12,096,470.
Application 18/823,239
Patent 12,096,470
Note:
1. A method for non-small data transmission (SDT) dedicated radio bearer (DRB) handling, comprising:
determining, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB; and
sending the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver for reporting to a base station
via a dedicated uplink grant.
1. A method for non-small data transmission (SDT) dedicated radio bearer (DRB) handling for a user equipment device (UE), comprising:
determining, while the UE is operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state and during an initial transmission period of an SDT procedure, that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB;
refraining from sending an initial access message based, at least in part, on the determining that the non-SDT data is available;
receiving an indication to enter a subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure; and
transmitting, to a base station and based on the indication, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure.
Anticipated
Anticipated
Additional limitations
Additional limitations
Anticipated
See Laselva ([0055], [0046])
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period.
1 ... transmitting, to a base station and based on the indication, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure
Anticipated (by claim 1)
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling; wherein for L1 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in uplink control information (UCI) on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); wherein, for L2 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a dedicated medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or in a buffer status report (BSR) MAC CE; and wherein, for L3 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a first RRC resume request message of an SDT procedure when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs before initiation of an SDT procedure or one of an RRC resume request message or a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrives during a subsequent transmission period of an SDT procedure.
3… arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated (by claim 3).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling.
3… The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling;
Anticipated (by claim 3).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information.
3… The method of claim 1, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled … a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period
Anticipated (by claim 3).
9. An apparatus, comprising:
a memory; and a baseband processor in communication with the memory and configured to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB; and
send the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver
for reporting to a base station via a dedicated uplink grant.
7. A user equipment device (UE), comprising: at least one antenna; at least one radio, wherein the at least one radio is configured to perform cellular communication using at least one radio access technology (RAT); and one or more processors coupled to the at least one radio, wherein the one or more processors and the at least one radio are configured to communications; wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state and during an initial transmission period of an SDT procedure, that non-small data transmission (non-SDT) data is available for transmission on a non-SDT dedicated radio bearer (DRB);
refrain from sending an initial access message based, at least in part, on the determining that the non-SDT data is available; receive an indication to enter a subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure; and
transmit, to a base station, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Additional limitations.
Anticipated.
See Laselva ([0055], [0046]).
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period.
7… transmit, to a base station, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure.
Anticipated (by claim 7).
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message.
9. The UE of claim 7, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling; wherein for L1 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in uplink control information (UCI) on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); wherein, for L2 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a dedicated medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or in a buffer status report (BSR) MAC CE; and wherein, for L3 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a first RRC resume request message of an SDT procedure when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs before initiation of an SDT procedure or one of an RRC resume request message or a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated.
14. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling.
9. The UE of claim 7, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling;
Anticipated.
15. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information.
9. The UE of claim 7, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled… a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated.
16. A non-transitory computer readable memory medium storing program instructions executable by a baseband processor to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, that non-SDT data is available for transmission on a non-SDT DRB; and
send the non-SDT data arrival information to a transceiver for reporting to a base station
via a dedicated uplink grant.
7. A user equipment device (UE), comprising: at least one antenna; at least one radio, wherein the at least one radio is configured to perform cellular communication using at least one radio access technology (RAT); and one or more processors coupled to the at least one radio, wherein the one or more processors and the at least one radio are configured to communications; wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
determine, while operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state and during an initial transmission period of an SDT procedure, that non-small data transmission (non-SDT) data is available for transmission on a non-SDT dedicated radio bearer (DRB);
refrain from sending an initial access message based, at least in part, on the determining that the non-SDT data is available; receive an indication to enter a subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure; and
transmit, to a base station, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure.
Anticipated.
Anticipated.
Additional limitations.
Anticipated.
See Laselva ([0055], [0046]).
17. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is sent to the transceiver for reporting via the dedicated uplink grant during a subsequent transmission period.
7… transmit, to a base station, non-SDT data arrival information during the subsequent transmission period of the SDT procedure.
Anticipated (by claim 7).
18. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the reporting is via an RRC resume request message via the dedicated uplink grant.
9. The UE of claim 7, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling; wherein for L1 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in uplink control information (UCI) on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); wherein, for L2 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a dedicated medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) or in a buffer status report (BSR) MAC CE; and wherein, for L3 signaling, the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a first RRC resume request message of an SDT procedure when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs before initiation of an SDT procedure or one of an RRC resume request message or a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated (by claim 7).
20. The non-transitory computer readable memory medium of claim 16, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via layer 3 (L3) signaling; and wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is carried in a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information.
9. The UE of claim 7, wherein the non-SDT data arrival information is signaled via at least one of layer 1 (L1) signaling, layer 2 (L2) signaling, or layer 3 (L3) signaling;
… or a unified air interface (UAI) message to report UE information when arrival of the non-SDT data occurs during a SDT subsequent transmission period.
Anticipated (by claim 7).
The claims of Patent 12,096,470 do not teach the limitations sending the non-SDT data arrival information… via a dedicated uplink grant. as claimed by claims 1, 8 and 15 of the present Application.
However, Laselva teaches sending the non-SDT data arrival information… via a dedicated uplink grant ([0055] “At 580, the UE may send to the gNB, via Msg3, a RRC message (e.g., RRC resume request) indicating SDT and non-SDT data”. [0034] “a small data payload may be multiplexed with, for example, an RRC connection resume request message in Msg3, for instance, in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (PDU)”. [0046] “RRC message may be a common control channel (CCCH) (SRB0) message that could be multiplexed by the RRC message used for the SDT procedure (e.g., RRCResume), or sent over UL grant”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature sending the non-SDT data arrival information… via a dedicated uplink grant as taught by Laselva in Patent 12,096,470 to prevent the occurrence of extra delays whenever the data is generated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
“SDT aspects common for RACH-based and CG-based SDT scheme”, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #112-e, R2-2009930, November 2020, 17 pages.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642