This action is responding to application papers dated 9/3/2024.
Claims 1-19 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Per claims 4 and 16s, “SPIR-V and DXIL need to be spelled out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a communication module configured to acquire; an intermediate code conversion module configured to convert; a resource identifier conversion module configured to convert; the communication module further configured to send in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 8, and 9 recite the limitation "the compiler back-end” on the last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Interpretation: a compiler back-end.
Per claims 2 and 14, “converting an original resource identifier corresponding to the intermediate code into a target resource identifier of the preset format“ is interpreted as: “converting the original resource identifier corresponding to the intermediate code into the target resource identifier of the preset format.”
Per claims 3 and 15, “a target resource type identifier” is interpreted as “the target resource type identifier.”
Per claim 5 and 17, “a target binding number” is interpreted as “the target binding number.”
Per claim 9, “a compiler front-end” and “a compiler a back-end” are interpreted as “the compiler front-end” and “the compiler back-end” respectively.
Per claims, 4, 6-8, 10-13, 16, 18 and 19, these claims are rejected because they depend from claims 1 and 8 respectively.
Claim limitation “communication module,” “intermediate code conversion module,” “resource identifier conversion module,” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not provide a description for the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function of the claimed modules. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 8, 9 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not provide a description for the structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function of the claimed modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Estebanez (Direct3D 12: Adventures in Shaderland, published on 4/14/2023) and Microsoft (“Resource binding in HLSL, published on 2021) and Lee (US20160364216).
Per claim 1:
Estebanez teaches:
A compiler back-end reuse method, comprising: acquiring an intermediate code obtained by compiling a shader code by a compiler front-end; converting the intermediate code into a target intermediate code of a preset format (Estebanez, see at least page 2, Shader code in this language is compiled by the engine (thanks to glslang) into SPIR-V, which is a well-defined format that stores the binary representation of a shader. SPIR-V and Vulkan play nice. However, Direct3D 12 features its own binary shader format: DXIL. This format is structured as a container with its most important contained chunks being shader metadata and the compiled shader code in the form of LLVM bitcode (yes, the same kind of bitcode LLVM/Clang uses for an intermediate representation of the compiled code). As a consequence, this rendering driver would need a way to generate DXIL from either the GLSL or the SPIR-V representations of the Godot shaders; page 5, create the graphics/compute pipelines with shaders already compiled to SPIR-V; Note that SPIR-V is converted to DXIL).
converting an original resource corresponding to the intermediate code into a target resource of the preset format (page 3, With that mechanism, the D3D12 renderer is told about the original set-binding pair of every resource in the SPIR-V shader and then it trivially maps them to some register indices in the DXIL world with some simple arithmetic). Estebanez does not explicitly state a resource identifier, however, the set binding pair could act as the resource’s identity for binding. Nonetheless, Microsoft teaches such a resource identifier and its binding (Microsoft, see at least page 8-9, Each shader resource range now has an ID (a name) that is unique to the shader bytecode. For example, tex1 (t10) texture array becomes ‘T1’ in the shader bytecode. Giving unique IDs to each resource range allows two things … The order of reflection resource bindings (listing at the top) and shader declaration instructions (dcl_*) is the same to aid in identifying the correspondence between HLSL variables and bytecode IDs. Each declaration instruction in SM5.1 uses a 3D operand to define: range ID, lower and upper bounds. An additional token is emitted to specify the register space. Other tokens may be emitted as well to convey additional properties of the range, e.g., cbuffer or structured buffer declaration instruction emits the size of the cbuffer or structure. The exact details of encoding can be found in d3d12TokenizedProgramFormat.h and D3D10ShaderBinary::CShaderCodeParser. SM5.1 instructions will not emit additional resource operand information as part of the instruction (as in SM5.0). This information is now in the declaration instructions. In SM5.0, instructions indexing resources required resource attributes to be described in extended opcode tokens, since indexing obfuscated the association to the declaration. In SM5.1, each ID (such as ‘t1’)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Microsoft’s resource identifier with Estebanez’s translation of SPIR-V to DXIL to modify Estebanez’s system to combine the resource identifier as taught by Microsoft, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to code translation or development. Combining Microsoft’s functionality with that of Estebanez results in a system that allows conversion of a resource identifier. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to idenfify resources differently and present ID collisions (Microsoft, see at least page 8-9, Each shader resource range now has an ID (a name) that is unique to the shader bytecode. For example, tex1 (t10) texture array becomes ‘T1’ in the shader bytecode. Giving unique IDs to each resource range allows two things … The order of reflection resource bindings (listing at the top) and shader declaration instructions (dcl_*) is the same to aid in identifying the correspondence between HLSL variables and bytecode IDs. Each declaration instruction in SM5.1 uses a 3D operand to define: range ID, lower and upper bounds. An additional token is emitted to specify the register space. Other tokens may be emitted as well to convey additional properties of the range, e.g., cbuffer or structured buffer declaration instruction emits the size of the cbuffer or structure. The exact details of encoding can be found in d3d12TokenizedProgramFormat.h and D3D10ShaderBinary::CShaderCodeParser. SM5.1 instructions will not emit additional resource operand information as part of the instruction (as in SM5.0). This information is now in the declaration instructions. In SM5.0, instructions indexing resources required resource attributes to be described in extended opcode tokens, since indexing obfuscated the association to the declaration. In SM5.1, each ID (such as ‘t1’)).
Estebanez in view of Microsoft teaches generating the target intermediate code and resource binding to generate a target machine code (Microsoft, see at least page 8-9, Each shader resource range now has an ID (a name) that is unique to the shader bytecode. For example, tex1 (t10) texture array becomes ‘T1’ in the shader bytecode. Giving unique IDs to each resource range allows two things … The order of reflection resource bindings (listing at the top) and shader declaration instructions (dcl_*) is the same to aid in identifying the correspondence between HLSL variables and bytecode IDs. Each declaration instruction in SM5.1 uses a 3D operand to define: range ID, lower and upper bounds. An additional token is emitted to specify the register space. Other tokens may be emitted as well to convey additional properties of the range, e.g., cbuffer or structured buffer declaration instruction emits the size of the cbuffer or structure. The exact details of encoding can be found in d3d12TokenizedProgramFormat.h and D3D10ShaderBinary::CShaderCodeParser. SM5.1 instructions will not emit additional resource operand information as part of the instruction (as in SM5.0). This information is now in the declaration instructions. In SM5.0, instructions indexing resources required resource attributes to be described in extended opcode tokens, since indexing obfuscated the association to the declaration. In SM5.1, each ID (such as ‘t1’)). Estebanez does not explicitly teach sending DXIL to the compiler back-end to generate a target machine code. Lee teaches sending such code to a compiler back-end to generate a target machine code (Lee, see at least [0021] The compiler that generates the intermediate language is referred to as a front-end compiler or high-level compiler, and the compiler that generates the object code is referred to as a back-end compiler or low-level compiler. The front-end compiler and the back-end compiler may execute on different devices. For example, the front-end compiler may execute on a device of the application developer (or a server that houses the intermediate code) to generate the intermediate code in the intermediate language, and the back-end compiler may execute on a device of the user to generate the object code. In some example, the back-end compiler may be an on-the-fly back-end compiler that generates the object code during the execution of the program, rather than pre-storing the object code).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lee’s back-end compiler with Microsoft’s resource identifier and Estebanez’s translation of SPIR-V to DXIL to modify Estebanez’s system to combine the back-end compiler as taught by Lee, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to code translation or development. Combining Lee’s functionality with that of Estebanez and Microsoft results in a system that allows the back-end compiler to generate the target object code. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to achieve compilation and architectural efficiency (Lee, see at least [0021] The compiler that generates the intermediate language is referred to as a front-end compiler or high-level compiler, and the compiler that generates the object code is referred to as a back-end compiler or low-level compiler. The front-end compiler and the back-end compiler may execute on different devices. For example, the front-end compiler may execute on a device of the application developer (or a server that houses the intermediate code) to generate the intermediate code in the intermediate language, and the back-end compiler may execute on a device of the user to generate the object code. In some example, the back-end compiler may be an on-the-fly back-end compiler that generates the object code during the execution of the program, rather than pre-storing the object code).
Per claim 2:
Estebanez in view of Lee and Microsoft further teaches: The compiler back-end reuse method according to claim 1, wherein the step of converting an original resource identifier corresponding to the intermediate code into a target resource identifier of the preset format comprises: determining an original resource type identifier and an original binding number in the original resource identifier; converting the original resource type identifier into a target resource type identifier of the preset format; and converting the original binding number into a target binding number of the preset format (Estebanez, see at least page 2, Shader code in this language is compiled by the engine (thanks to glslang) into SPIR-V, which is a well-defined format that stores the binary representation of a shader. SPIR-V and Vulkan play nice. However, Direct3D 12 features its own binary shader format: DXIL. This format is structured as a container with its most important contained chunks being shader metadata and the compiled shader code in the form of LLVM bitcode (yes, the same kind of bitcode LLVM/Clang uses for an intermediate representation of the compiled code). As a consequence, this rendering driver would need a way to generate DXIL from either the GLSL or the SPIR-V representations of the Godot shaders; page 5, create the graphics/compute pipelines with shaders already compiled to SPIR-V; page 3, With that mechanism, the D3D12 renderer is told about the original set-binding pair of every resource in the SPIR-V shader and then it trivially maps them to some register indices in the DXIL world with some simple arithmetic).
Per claim 3:
Estebanez in view of Lee and Microsoft further teaches: The compiler back-end reuse method according to claim 2, wherein the step of converting the original resource type identifier into a target resource type identifier of the preset format comprises: acquiring a preset corresponding relationship, wherein the preset corresponding relationship comprises a corresponding relationship between a resource type identifier of the preset format and resource type identifiers of other formats; and converting the original resource type identifier into the target resource type identifier according to the preset corresponding relationship (page 3, For instance, the bindings matching issue was easily solved by a Godot-specific patch to the Mesa code by which the translation process gets some callbacks. With that mechanism, the D3D12 renderer is told about the original set-binding pair of every resource in the SPIR-V shader and then it trivially maps them to some register indices in the DXIL world with some simple arithmetic: DXIL register = SPIR-V set * 100000000 + binding * 100000; Note that the fixed arithmetic relationship between the source and target numbers. The relationship is one-to-one and reversible, so the renderer can go from a binding to its register and back).
4. The compiler back-end reuse method according to claim 2, wherein a format of the original resource type identifier is SPIR-V format, and a format of the target resource type identifier is DXIL format (Estebanez, see at least page 3, make the SPIR-V to DXIL translation possible).
Per claim 5:
Estebanez does not explicitly teach forming the target binding number after sequentially numbering the same original binding numbers corresponding to different resources. Microsoft teaches forming the target binding number after sequentially numbering the same original binding numbers corresponding to different resources (Microsoft, see at least page 8-9, Each shader resource range now has an ID (a name) that is unique to the shader bytecode. For example, tex1 (t10) texture array becomes ‘T1’ in the shader bytecode. Giving unique IDs to each resource range allows two things … The order of reflection resource bindings (listing at the top) and shader declaration instructions (dcl_*) is the same to aid in identifying the correspondence between HLSL variables and bytecode IDs. Each declaration instruction in SM5.1 uses a 3D operand to define: range ID, lower and upper bounds. … since indexing obfuscated the association to the declaration. In SM5.1, each ID (such as ‘t1’)).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Microsoft’s sequential binding numbering with Estebanez’s translation of SPIR-V to DXIL and Lee’s back-end compiler to modify Estebanez’s system to combine the sequential binding numbering as taught by Microsoft, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor related to code translation or development. Combining Microsoft’s functionality with that of Estebanez and Lee results in a system that allows sequential numbering. The modification would be obvious because one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination to achieve code optimization and pipeline efficiency by sequential binding order (Microsoft, see at least page 8-9, Each shader resource range now has an ID (a name) that is unique to the shader bytecode. For example, tex1 (t10) texture array becomes ‘T1’ in the shader bytecode. Giving unique IDs to each resource range allows two things … The order of reflection resource bindings (listing at the top) and shader declaration instructions (dcl_*) is the same to aid in identifying the correspondence between HLSL variables and bytecode IDs. Each declaration instruction in SM5.1 uses a 3D operand to define: range ID, lower and upper bounds. An additional token is emitted to specify the register space. Other tokens may be emitted as well to convey additional properties of the range, e.g., cbuffer or structured buffer declaration instruction emits the size of the cbuffer or structure … since indexing obfuscated the association to the declaration. In SM5.1, each ID (such as ‘t1’)).
Per claims 8, 9 and 14-17, these claims are the apparatus and compiler versions of claims 1-5 and are rejected for the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claims 1-5 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 10-13, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior arts of record, taken alone or in combination, do not teach the subject matter of claims 6, 7, 10-13, 18 and 19 as a whole: wherein the compiler back-end reuse method further comprises: acquiring a useless resource that is not used by the target intermediate code; acquiring a useless set number of the useless resource, and mapping the useless set number to a preset set number; and acquiring the useless resource according to the useless set number in the preset set number, and deleting the useless resource.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Microsoft (DirectX Shader Compiler) is related to a DXIL shader compiler.
/INSUN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2193