DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that the cited references do not disclose the new added limitations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Blohowiak discloses generating for output, based on the generated content structures and features, a single frame depiction of content that comprise multiple frames. For example, Blohowiak discloses generating respective portion comprising preferred entity and display the generated portion; see at least paragraphs 0045, 0096, 0100, 0107, 0117 and 0131. Furthermore, the system stitches together images of the media content based on user preference, such as images of the user’s preferred actors; see at least Figs. 4 and 6 and paragraphs 0101-0104, 0126 and 0130-0131.
Truong discloses a discriminator that compares content with known content to generate trained and fine-tuned content, and a generator is trained and fine-tuned in parallel with the discriminator designed to evaluate the quality of an image. For example, Truong discloses a generator in a GAN model, can generate new data instances, while discriminator may decide whether each instance of data belongs to the actual training dataset or not. Meanwhile, generator may create new, synthetic images that passed to discriminator in the hopes that these new synthetic images will be deemed authentic; see at least col. 5, line 42-col. 6, line 17 and col. 15, line 63-col. 16, line 8. Furthermore, the GAN model may be tuned to generate synthetic images based on feedback from human users; see at least col. 10, lines 37-42 and col. 15, lines 15-23.
For at least the above reasons, the present claimed invention is not patentable over the cited reference(s).
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended and the double patenting rejection is maintained, as suggested by the applicant, until an indication of allowable subject matter is made.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,108,100.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,750,866.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,330,315.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blohowiak (US 2016/0381420) in view of Truong (US 10,614,207).
Regarding claim 1, Blohowiak discloses a method comprising:
receiving as input content structures and features (accessing user profile; see at least paragraphs 0043-0044, 0060, 0098-0099 and 0114);
processing the received content structures and features (accessing it and cross reference it with identities in media assets; see at least paragraphs 0041-0044, 0060, 0098-0099 and 0112-0114);
generating, with a generator, based at least in part on the received and processed content structures and features, intermediate content structures and features (generating respective portion comprising preferred entity; see at least paragraphs 0045, 0100, 0117 and 0131); and
generating for output, based on the generated content structures and features, a single frame depiction of content that comprise multiple frames (display the generated portion; see at least paragraphs 0045, 0096, 0100, 0107, 0117 and 0131. Furthermore, the system stitches together images of the media content based on user preference, such as images of the user’s preferred actors; see at least Figs. 4 and 6 and paragraphs 0101-0104, 0126 and 0130-0131),
wherein:
the generator generates single frame depictions of content based on content structures and features (the generated portion; see at least paragraphs 0045, 0096, 0100, 0107, 0117 and 0131).
Blohowiak discloses the single frame depictions of content that comprise multiple frames; as above, but is not clear about a discriminator that compares content with known content to generate trained and fine-tuned content, and a generator is trained and fine-tuned in parallel with the discriminator designed to evaluate the quality of an image.
Truong discloses the above missing limitation; a generator in a GAN model, can generate new data instances, while discriminator may decide whether each instance of data belongs to the actual training dataset or not. Meanwhile, generator may create new, synthetic images that passed to discriminator in the hopes that these new synthetic images will be deemed authentic; see at least col. 5, line 42-col. 6, line 17 and col. 15, line 63-col. 16, line 8. Furthermore, the GAN model may be tuned to generate synthetic images based on feedback from human users; see at least col. 10, lines 37-42 and col. 15, lines 15-23.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Blohowiak by the teachings of Truong by having the above limitations so to be able to generate Captcha images using variations of the same object; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the content structures and features include at least one of a user account profile, content browsing history, prior content consumption, a social media pattern, content metadata of a content item, a user preference, an image, an image attribute, a vector graphic command, an attribute of an object depicted in the content item, a background, a type of content, or a theme,
wherein the intermediate content structures and features include at least one of a stock single frame depiction of content, a content structure, an image, a background, an action sequence, an animated character, or a scene, and
wherein the single frame depiction of content includes at least one of an animated scene, an action scene, a scene from the content item including characters engaged in action, or a modified background (the combination of Blohowiak and Truong; see at least the rejection of claim 1 and Truong; col. 8, line 11-31, col. 10, line 15-43 and col. 13, line 42-56).
Regarding claim 3, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the processing of the received content structures and features includes an object data structure (Blohowiak; see at least paragraphs 0041-0044, 0060, 0098-0099 and 0112-0114).
Regarding claim 4, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the object data structure includes a descriptive structure, and an action structure (Blohowiak; see at least paragraphs 0041-0044, 0060, 0098-0099 and 0112-0114).
Regarding claim 5, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the descriptive structure includes at least one of an object name, an object type, a feature, or a state, and wherein the action structure includes at least one of an action, an absolute location, a relative location, an absolute motion, or a relative motion (Blohowiak; see at least paragraphs 0041-0044, 0060, 0098-0099 and 0112-0114).
Regarding claim 6, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 1, the method further comprising transmitting of the single frame depiction of content to a user for collection of feedback (Truong; col. 15, line 63-col. 16, line 8).
Regarding claim 7, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 6, the method further comprising modifying the single frame depiction of content based on the feedback (Truong; col. 15, line 63-col. 16, line 8).
Regarding claim 8, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising determining at least one of an authenticity of the single frame depiction of content, an approval of the single frame depiction of content, or whether at least one of an image, a content structure, an actor, an object, or a background sufficiently resemble a model depiction (Truong; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Blohowiak in view of Truong disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the determining includes processing at least one of the image, the content structure, the actor, the object, or the background with at least one of facial recognition, object recognition, or pattern matching (Truong; see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds as claims 2-9.
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426