DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 9/8/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 16, 18 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Claims objection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112, second paragraph is withdrawn.
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 9/8/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
a. Regarding claim(s) 1, 9 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 7)
“I. Mitchell Fails to Teach "Providing Access to Manage the Target Device from the Remote Computer"
Independent Claim 1 recites, inter alia, "providing access to manage the target device from the remote computer." The Office Action maps Mitchell’s "CI service 108" to the claimed "remote computer" and Mitchell's "device test controller 126" to the claimed "local computer." However, Mitchell fails to teach this limitation under a proper construction of the claim.
In Mitchell, the only entity that directly manages the wireless device 118 via USB is the device test controller 126. The CI service 108 (the alleged "remote computer") does not directly manage the wireless device. Rather, the CI service 108 manages the device test controller 126 by sending pre-defined test scripts and receiving execution results. The device test controller 126 then independently manages the wireless device by executing those test scripts via an Android Debug Bridge (ADB) connection over USB.
This architecture introduces an improper layer of indirection not contemplated by the pending claim. Claim 1 explicitly requires the remote computer to have access to manage the target device—not merely access to manage an intermediary local computer which, in turn, manages the target device.
Furthermore, the narrow management capability exercised by Mitchell's device test controller 126 is limited to installing a specific client application and executing static, pre-defined test scripts. As explicitly defined in the present Specification, the claimed "management capability" provides the remote computer with the same level of granular access to the target device as a local user with direct physical access. This includes executing arbitrary shell commands, accessing real-time device logs, installing arbitrary applications, and controlling device power states. Mitchell provides no such capabilities to its CI service 108. Accordingly, Mitchell fails to teach or suggest this limitation.”
In response to argument [a], Examiner respectfully disagrees.
“The Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered, but are not persuasive. Regarding the Applicant’s contention that Mitchell introduces an improper 'layer of indirection' by utilizing a device test controller 126 coupled between the CI service 108 and the wireless device 118, claim 1 recites broadly 'providing access to manage,' which encompasses indirect or distributed management configurations. The CI service 108 remotely directs the operations, test execution, and deployment on the target device via the controller 126. Furthermore, the Applicant's reliance on definitions in the Specification—requiring physical-level granularity such as arbitrary shell commands or power state control—improves limitations from the description that are not positively recited in the open- or transition-phrased language of claim 1. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 over Mitchell is maintained.”
b. Regarding claim(s) 1, 9 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 7-8)
“II. Okmianski Fails to Teach a Server that "Co-Hosts Sockets"
The Office Action cites paragraphs [0032]–[0035] and Figure 6 of Okmianski to allege teaching a "server [that] co-hosts sockets to the local computer and the remote computer." This mapping is technically incorrect:
• Standard Relay vs. Co-Hosted Sockets: Okmianski’s proxy server 116 merely relays standard HTTP traffic between an admin device 114 and a client device 102 using two independent, separate TCP connections.
• Distinct Architectures: A standard HTTP relay architecture maintaining separate terminal connections is fundamentally distinct from the claimed architecture, wherein a server co-hosts sockets specifically to bridge a remote computer to a local computer that is physically coupled to a target device via USB.
Because Okmianski merely teaches a standard relay architecture, it fails to teach or suggest a server that "co-hosts sockets" as structurally and functionally required by Claim 1.
In response to argument [b], Examiner respectfully disagrees.
“The Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered, but are not persuasive.
• Equivalence of Sockets and Relay Connections: Okmianski discloses managing network connections via TCP sockets and ports assigned at the proxy server, which functionally bridges communication data between the admin device and the client device.
• Interpretation of Co-Hosting: The term "co-hosts sockets" reads on the proxy server maintaining concurrent socket endpoints for both the local and remote sides of the communication session.
• Mapping to Claim Elements: Figure 6 and paragraphs [0032]–[0035] of Okmianski demonstrate socket/port association and connection handling that structurally and functionally satisfy the disputed limitation of Claim 1..”
c. Regarding claim(s) 1, 9 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 8)
“III. Flawed Mapping and Improper System Aggregation ("Double Mapping")
The Office Action’s combination relies on a physically impossible and logically flawed mapping of the "local computer":
• No "Local Computer" Coupled to a "Target Device" in Okmianski: The Office Action maps Okmianski’s "client device 102" to the claimed "local computer." However, in Okmianski, the client device 102 is the terminal endpoint of administration. There is no separate target device coupled to it via USB.
• Improper Dynamic Role-Blending: To piece together the "local computer," the Office Action simultaneously draws from two incompatible entities in different systems serving entirely different functions: Mitchell’s "device test controller 126" (connected via USB to a target) and Okmianski’s "client device 102" (connected to a proxy server).
The Office Action has failed to explain how or why a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would merge these disparate entities into a single combined system where one device functions as both Mitchell's test controller and Okmianski's client device, while retaining the specific USB and socket configurations recited in Claim 1.”
In response to argument [c], Examiner respectfully disagrees.”
“1. Statement of Position & Maintenance of Rejection
The applicant’s argument that the Office Action engages in "improper double mapping" or "dynamic role-blending" is respectfully traversed. The combination of Okmianski and Mitchell does not rely on a physically impossible merging of incompatible structures. Rather, a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time of the invention would have recognized that the communication protocols, device control interfaces, and terminal management functions disclosed in Okmianski and Mitchell are modular and interoperable within standard computing and diagnostic architectures.
2. Rebuttal to "No Local Computer Coupled to a Target Device in Okmianski"
• Scope of Disclosure: While the applicant asserts that Okmianski’s client device (102) acts strictly as a terminal endpoint without a separate USB-coupled target device, Okmianski discloses a networked architecture where client-server sessions direct remote or local diagnostic and administrative commands.
• Positional Interchangeability: It is a routine design choice in networked system administration to interface a local terminal or controller with a target device via standard peripheral or serial/USB buses. Modifying or configuring an endpoint device to interface with a local target under Mitchell (device test controller 126) represents a predictable substitution of known interface techniques to achieve diagnostic monitoring.
3. Rebuttal to "Improper Dynamic Role-Blending" & Motivation to Combine
• v. Teleflex Inc., combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious.
• Functional Complementarity: Mitchell teaches a device test controller (126) configured to couple via USB to a target device for testing and control, while Okmianski teaches client-server coordination via a proxy architecture. A PHOSITA looking to extend remote administrative visibility (Okmianski) down to direct hardware-level test and control interface points (Mitchell) would naturally look to integrate a local test controller configuration into the client architecture.
• Preservation of Configurations: The combined system does not destroy the operational principle of either reference. The USB and socket configurations recited in Claim 1 represent standard hardware coupling means whose implementation requires no non-obvious redesign.
4. Conclusion
• The prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 stands.
• The applicant has not demonstrated that the proposed combination renders either reference unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or physically inoperable.
• Accordingly, the rejection of Claim 1 is MAINTAINED.
d. Regarding claim(s) 1, 9 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 8)
“Claim 1 requires "establishing a connection between the local computer and a server via a portal on the local computer."
• Mitchell’s device test controller 126 communicates with the CI service 108 programmatically through Android Debug Bridge (ADB) and standard Ethernet connections.
• The Office Action fails to point to any disclosure in Mitchell teaching or suggesting a "portal" residing on the local computer through which this connection is established.”
In response to argument [e], Examiner respectfully disagrees.”
“In response to the applicant's argument, the Examiner maintains the rejection of Claim 1, asserting that an ADB service daemon, network interface, or socket layer on the local computer inherently functions as a portal for communicating with the server.
Rationale for Maintaining the Rejection
• Functional Equivalence of an ADB Connection: The Android Debug Bridge (ADB) architecture on a host machine utilizes client-server components and network/USB interfaces (such as TCP port 5037 or daemon sockets) that act as an entry and exit point—i.e., a portal—for data exchange between the local computer and target services.
• Inherent Network & Interface Disclosure: Mitchell's disclosure of programmatic communication via standard Ethernet and ADB inherently provides a data-routing mechanism on the local computer, satisfying the broad functional language of a "portal".
• Broad Claim Construction: In the absence of a restrictive structural definition for "portal" in the specification, the term reads on standard computer input/output or socket interfaces used by ADB and Ethernet connections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1,2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (US 20180365133 A1) in view of Okmianski (US 20070180081 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a computer implemented method comprising:
Mitchell teaches instantiating a developer mode on a target device coupled via a USB cable to a local computer; (Mitchell, [0032], FIG.1; at least some of the wireless devices 118 operate using any one of several variants of the Android operating system, including variants intended for phones, tablets, wearable devices, laptop computers, controllers and automation devices, etc., and including variants intended for devices of multiple manufacturers. As an example of a debug interface, the Android operating system supports a logical interface, accessible through a USB port or other wired interface of a device, that can be used for debugging and development. The interface, referred to as Android Debug Bridge or ADB interface, allows use of a command/query language and syntax to interact with Android-based devices, allowing control of the devices for development and testing. ADB also includes a communication stack that facilitates communications between an external device (in this case the device test controller 126) and a device that is running the Android operating system (in this case a wireless device 118). [0049] Within each device bank 120, each wireless device 118 is connected by a wired USB connection to the device test controller 126. [examiner notes: the wireless device 118 connect to device test controller 126 via USB for development and testing interprets to be the developer mode.])
providing access to manage the target device from the remote computer. (Mitchell, [0042] Rather than receiving the test scripts 132 from the CI service 108, the device test controller 126 may perform preconfigured tests of the wireless devices 118. For example, a developer 102 may interact directly with the device test controller 126 to configure it for certain types of testing of the wireless devices 118. [examiner notes: any one of developers ‘computers interpret to be the remote computer. The wireless devices 118 interpret to be the target device.])
Mitchell does not teach wherein the server co-hosts sockets to the local computer and the remote computer; and establishing a connection between the local computer and a server via a portal on the local computer; establishing a connection between a remote computer and the server via a portal on the remote computer,
Okmianski however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the server co-hosts sockets to the local computer and the remote computer; and (Okmianski, [0032]- [0035], FIG.6 shows how to establish connection between client device 102, proxy server 116 and admin device 114 using TCP connection associate a socket, a port, TCP/IP etc. [examiner notes: The device 102 interprets to be the local computer.])
establishing a connection between the local computer and a server via a portal on the local computer; (Okmianski, [0018] Device 102 may include a suitably programmed client processor 130 configured to execute computer instructions, a client memory 132 configured to store and retrieve information including a client device identifier 134, a client user interface 136 configured to receive data from and present data to a client user and provide an administrative user interface for device 102, and/or a client communication unit 138 configured to send and receive messages on channel 118. [0031] Client device 102 initiates the connection with proxy server 116 in operation 508. This connection between client device 102 and proxy server 116 may conform to the Transport Control Protocol (TCP) and be capable of transporting messages comprising HyperText Transport Protocol (HTTP) traffic. Once the TCP communication paths are established with proxy server 116, flow 500 continues with proxy server 116 relaying the request from admin device 114 to client device 102 in operation 510. Flow 500 concludes with proxy server 116 relaying a response from client device 102 to admin device 114. [examiner notes: the client user interface 136 interprets to be the portal. The device 102 interprets to be the local computer.])
establishing a connection between a remote computer and the server via a portal on the remote computer, (Okmianski, [0036] Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2; the user browser 102 is installed on a user device 108 that is controlled by at least one processor 110, and the user browser 102 is used to log-in 202 (FIG. 2) and connect to a cloud server 112 that comprises representations of the remote devices 104. The user browser 102 is used to remotely connect 204 (FIG. 2) to a remote device 104, via a communication network 126, from the list of the remote devices 104′ available on the cloud server 112. [examiner notes: the user browser 102 interprets to be the portal. The admin device 114 interprets to be the remote computer.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell by incorporating the teachings of Okmianski. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to remote troubleshoot network devices having private Internet Protocol (IP) addressing (Okmianski, [0001]).
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the method of claim 1
Mitchell-Okmianski teach wherein the local computer establishes a debug bridge to the target device. (Mitchell, [0032] AT least some of the wireless devices 118 operate using any one of several variants of the Android operating system, including variants intended for phones, tablets, wearable devices, laptop computers, controllers and automation devices, etc., and including variants intended for devices of multiple manufacturers. As an example of a debug interface, the Android operating system supports a logical interface, accessible through a USB port or other wired interface of a device, that can be used for debugging and development. The interface, referred to as Android Debug Bridge or ADB interface, allows use of a command/query language and syntax to interact with Android-based devices, allowing control of the devices for development and testing. ADB also includes a communication stack that facilitates communications between an external device (in this case the device test controller 126) and a device that is running the Android operating system (in this case a wireless device 118).)
Regarding claim(s) 3, the method of claim 2
Mitchell-Okmianski teach the method of claim 2 wherein the debug bridge comprises an open-source mobile operating system debug bridge and wherein the target device comprises an Android based device. (Mitchell, [0032] AT least some of the wireless devices 118 operate using any one of several variants of the Android operating system, including variants intended for phones, tablets, wearable devices, laptop computers, controllers and automation devices, etc., and including variants intended for devices of multiple manufacturers. As an example of a debug interface, the Android operating system supports a logical interface, accessible through a USB port or other wired interface of a device, that can be used for debugging and development. The interface, referred to as Android Debug Bridge or ADB interface, allows use of a command/query language and syntax to interact with Android-based devices, allowing control of the devices for development and testing. ADB also includes a communication stack that facilitates communications between an external device (in this case the device test controller 126) and a device that is running the Android operating system (in this case a wireless device 118).)
Regarding claim(s) 5, the method of claim 1
Mitchell-Okmianski teach wherein the connections to the server implement HTTP protocols. (Givens, [0005] Devices behind a home gateway are typically shielded from remote entities initiating connections to them by virtue of the home gateway functioning as a firewall and network address translation (NAT) router. In this environment, it becomes impossible for service providers to use the device UI remotely because (a) the device IP address is not known and (b) there is no standard mechanism to initiate a remote HTTP connection to a NAT'ed device. Therefore, there remains a need in the art for systems and methods that address the problems of accessing a client device that has a private address.
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Claim(s) 10 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are substantially similar to claim 3, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 14 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 4, 12, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell in view of Okmianski further in view of Yuan (CN 104298591 A)
Regarding claim(s) 4, the method of claim 1
Mitchell-Okmianski do not teach wherein the sockets comprise WebSockets and wherein the remote server co-hosts the WebSockets.
Yuan however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the sockets comprise WebSockets and wherein the remote server co-hosts the WebSockets. (Yuan, [0026], the debugging server is a WebSocket server, and the debugging console is a WebSocket client; [0027], both the device to be debugged and the debugging console act as WebSocket clients of the WebSocket server and are connected to the debugging server. [0049], a debugging center, such as an integrated development environment (IDE), is a development tool used by developers to debug WebApps, and it typically runs on the developer's development PC. [examiner notes: WebSocket communication protocol uses a socket to establish and maintain a persistent connection for real-time, full-duplex communication. The term "co-host socket" is not a standard, general term in computer networking or hardware engineering. Therefore, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a server and a computer local to it and the server and the computer are remote from another computer, and they all have socket to establish communication. The developer's development PC interprets to be the remote computer. One of multiple devices interprets to be the local computer.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell by incorporating the teachings of Yuan. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for remote debugging of WebApps, which can automatically and efficiently achieve remote debugging of WebApps. (Yuan, [0006]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, the device of claim 9
Mitchell-Okmianski-Yuan teach wherein the sockets comprise WebSockets. (Yuan, [0026], the debugging server is a WebSocket server, and the debugging console is a WebSocket client; [0027], both the device to be debugged and the debugging console act as WebSocket clients of the WebSocket server and are connected to the debugging server. [0049], a debugging center, such as an integrated development environment (IDE), is a development tool used by developers to debug WebApps, and it typically runs on the developer's development PC. [examiner notes: WebSocket communication protocol uses a socket to establish and maintain a persistent connection for real-time, full-duplex communication. The term "co-host socket" is not a standard, general term in computer networking or hardware engineering. Therefore, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a server and a computer local to it and the server and the computer are remote from another computer, and they all have socket to establish communication. The developer's development PC interprets to be the remote computer. One of multiple devices interprets to be the local computer.])
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 13, the device of claim 12
Mitchell-Okmianski-Yuan teach wherein the remote server co-hosts the WebSockets. (Yuan, [0026], the debugging server is a WebSocket server, and the debugging console is a WebSocket client; [0027], both the device to be debugged and the debugging console act as WebSocket clients of the WebSocket server and are connected to the debugging server. [0049], a debugging center, such as an integrated development environment (IDE), is a development tool used by developers to debug WebApps, and it typically runs on the developer's development PC. [examiner notes: WebSocket communication protocol uses a socket to establish and maintain a persistent connection for real-time, full-duplex communication. The term "co-host socket" is not a standard, general term in computer networking or hardware engineering. Therefore, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a server and a computer local to it and the server and the computer are remote from another computer, and they all have socket/websocket to establish communication. The developer's development PC interprets to be the remote computer. One of multiple devices interprets to be the local computer.]).
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 20, the device of claim 9
Mitchell-Okmianski-Yuan teach wherein the sockets comprise WebSockets, wherein the remote server co-hosts the WebSockets, (Yuan, [0026], the debugging server is a WebSocket server, and the debugging console is a WebSocket client; [0027], both the device to be debugged and the debugging console act as WebSocket clients of the WebSocket server and are connected to the debugging server. [0049], a debugging center, such as an integrated development environment (IDE), is a development tool used by developers to debug WebApps, and it typically runs on the developer's development PC. [examiner notes: WebSocket communication protocol uses a socket to establish and maintain a persistent connection for real-time, full-duplex communication. The term "co-host socket" is not a standard, general term in computer networking or hardware engineering. Therefore, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a server and a computer local to it and the server and the computer are remote from another computer, and they all have socket to establish communication. The developer's development PC interprets to be the remote computer. One of multiple devices interprets to be the local computer.])
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 4 applies here.
3. Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell in view of Okmianski further of Werth (US 20130103973 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6, the method of claim 1
Mitchell-Okmianski do not teach wherein the access provides a same level of access to functionality in the target device as a local user with direct access to the target device.
Werth however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the access provides a same level of access to functionality in the target device as a local user with direct access to the target device. (Werth, [0307], with this level of access, a remote user via the remote connectivity tool may view the entire desktop of the remote device as if the user was a local user of the remote device. The predetermined level of access provided via the connection 1105 by the remote connectivity tool may be considered the highest or fullest or an unlimited level of access in view of the different levels of access 1126 that may be granted and/or provided.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell by incorporating the teachings of Werth. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide increases in automation, scalability and efficiency for delivering technical support services to devices (Werth, [0003]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
4. Claim(s) 7-8 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell in view of Okmianski in view of Werth further of Yuan.
Regarding claim(s) 7, the method of claim 6
Mitchell-Okmianski-Werth do no teach wherein the local computer includes a web browser supporting WebUSB protocol.
Yuan however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the local computer includes a web browser supporting WebUSB protocol. (Yuan, [0043], remote debugging of WebApps based on the Android operating system (Android OS). The Android version of the Chrome browser offers remote debugging capabilities, which generally involves connecting the device to be debugged to a PC with Chrome installed (i.e., a debugging center) via USB, and then using the developer tools in the Chrome browser to remotely debug the WebApp running in the Chrome browser on the Android device.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 8, the method of claim 6
Yuan-Werth-Werth teach wherein the sockets are co-hosted by the remote server. (Yuan, [0026], the debugging server is a WebSocket server, and the debugging console is a WebSocket client; [0027], both the device to be debugged and the debugging console act as WebSocket clients of the WebSocket server and are connected to the debugging server. [0049], a debugging center, such as an integrated development environment (IDE), is a development tool used by developers to debug WebApps, and it typically runs on the developer's development PC. [examiner notes: WebSocket communication protocol uses a socket to establish and maintain a persistent connection for real-time, full-duplex communication. The term "co-host socket" is not a standard, general term in computer networking or hardware engineering. Therefore, the examiner interprets the limitation as “a server and a computer local to it and the server and the computer are remote from another computer, and they all have socket to establish communication. The developer's development PC interprets to be the remote computer. One of multiple devices interprets to be the local computer.])
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 4 applies here.
Claim(s) 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 7, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 17 is/are substantially similar to claim 8, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449