DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the reference numbers in Figures 1 and 3 are not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim contains a typographical error. In line 6, the word “retained” should apparently read “retain”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young (GB 2164379).
Regarding Claim 5: Young teaches a method of picking up debris from road surfaces, the method comprising:
(a) conveying a debris-entrained air stream into an interior of a hopper from an inlet (Fig. 2, element 54; pg. 3, ll. 105-106);
(b) conveying the air stream into a first compartment in the hopper positioned to receive the air stream directly from the inlet and collecting heavy and bulky debris (at element D);
(c) then conveying the air stream into a second compartment, downstream of the first compartment, having a throat and tuning profile to provide a low-pressure-drop separator to separate and retain coarse dust (at element 51); and
(d) then conveying the air stream into a third compartment, downstream of the second compartment, housing one or more filters for fine dust separation and retaining (at element 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young (GB 2164379), and further in view of Linville et al. (US 5,596,788).
Regarding Claim 1: Young teaches a debris collection and storage hopper system for use with a pneumatic conveyance system using a blower or fan to pickup debris from road surfaces, the system comprising:
(a) a hopper (Fig. 2, element 20) having a surrounding wall and an interior volume;
(b) at least one inlet (element 54) in air-flow communication with the hopper interior volume conveying a debris-entrained air stream;
(c) an outlet (Fig. 3, element 53) in air-flow communication with the hopper interior volume conveying a filtered air stream;
(d) partition walls (Fig. 2, elements 141, 110, and 101) dividing the hopper interior volume into three compartments sequentially separating debris by mass and size (pg. 3, line 105 – pg. 4, line 27), wherein the three compartments are constructed substantially across a length of the hopper; the hopper having an openable end (at element 31) in communication with each of the three compartments; and
(e) a door (element 56/57) covering the openable end of the hopper.
Young does not expressly disclose (f) a pivot and actuator to selectively tilt the hopper for emptying through the openable end. However, Linville teaches a similar debris collection and storage hopper system comprising a pivot and actuator to selectively tilt the hopper for emptying through its openable end to assist thorough evacuation of the debris from the hopper (Fig. 3, col. 11, ll. 7-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Young with a pivot and actuator to tilt the hopper to enhance the removal efficiency of the hopper, as suggested by Linville.
Regarding Claim 2: Young and Linville teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Young further teaches that the three compartments include:
(a) a first compartment (e.g., Fig. 2, at element D) positioned to receive the air stream directly from the inlet and to collect heavy and bulky debris;
(b) a second compartment (Fig. 2, at element 51) having a throat and tuning profile to provide a low-pressure-drop separator to separate and retain coarse dust; and
(c) a third compartment (Fig. 2, at element 100) housing one or more filters for fine dust separation and retaining.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4: Young in view of Linville teaches a vehicle (Young, Fig. 1, element T) comprising the debris collection and storage hopper system of claims 1 or 2.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7: Young teaches the elements of Claim 5 as discussed above. Young further teaches wherein the hopper has an openable end in communication with each of the three compartments and covered by a door (element 56/57), but does not expressly disclose selectively tilting the hopper with a pivot and actuator to empty the hopper through the openable end. However, Linville teaches a similar method for picking up debris from road surfaces wherein the hopper is tilted via a pivot and actuator for emptying through its openable end to assist thorough evacuation of the debris from the hopper (Fig. 3, col. 11, ll. 7-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Young by tilting the hopper to enhance the removal efficiency of the hopper, as suggested by Linville.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanase (US 4,885,817) teaches a road cleaning vehicle having a pneumatic pickup head held against the road surface for collecting debris therefrom as a current of air is supplied from a blower. Carrying the collected debris, the air flows from the pickup head to a hopper in which the debris is deposited. Dust-laden air flows from the hopper to an air-dust separation chamber, in which the dust is separated from the carrier air.
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714