Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,078,269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US 12,078,269 encompasses the subject matter of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210247007, Artsiely.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3C-F and paragraphs detailing said figures, Artsiely discloses a fitting assembly comprising: a pipe fitting comprising a first fitting segment (10a) and a second fitting segment (10b); and an indicator assembly configurable in a loosened configuration and a tightened configuration, the indicator assembly comprising: a fastener coupling (22) the first fitting segment to the second fitting segment; a positive installation indicator (see Figure 3C below) mounted between the first fitting segment and the second fitting segment, the positive installation indicator defining a first feature (90); and a negative installation indicator (30) mounted between the first fitting segment and the second fitting segment, the negative installation indicator comprising a second feature (the tip) engaging the first feature; wherein, in the loosened configuration, the negative installation indicator is visible, and in the tightened configuration, the positive installation indicator first feature substantially covers the second feature and the second feature is hidden.
[AltContent: textbox (Tip)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect][AltContent: connector][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Positive installation indicator)]
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 3C-F and paragraphs detailing said figures, Artsiely discloses a height of the second feature is less than a height of the first feature.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 3C-F and paragraphs detailing said figures, Artsiely discloses a color of the second feature is different than a color of the first feature (not exactly identical).
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 3C-F and paragraphs [0105]-[0111], Artsiely discloses a method of tightening a fitting assembly, comprising: providing the fitting assembly, the fitting assembly comprising: a pipe fitting comprising a first fitting segment and a second fitting segment; and an indicator assembly configurable in a loosened configuration and a tightened configuration, the indicator assembly comprising:a fastener coupling the first fitting segment to the second fitting segment;a positive installation indicator mounted between the first fitting segment and the second fitting segment, the positive installation indicator defining a first feature; and a negative installation indicator mounted between the first fitting segment and the second fitting segment, the negative installation indicator comprising a second feature engaging the first feature; wherein, in the loosened configuration, the negative installation indicator is visible, and in the tightened configuration, the positive installation indicator substantially covers the negative installation indicator and the negative installation indicator is hidden; tightening the fitting assembly from the loosened configuration to the tightened configuration by tightening the fastener to draw the first fitting segment toward the second fitting segment until the first feature visibly covers the second feature.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 3C-F and paragraphs [0105]-[0111], Artsiely discloses in the loosened configuration, the second feature is visible, and, in the tightened configuration, the first feature substantially covers the negative installation indicator and the negative installation indicator is hidden.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679