Claim Status
Pending claims 1-20 are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 0559042) in view of Mommsen (US4679734).
Regarding claim 1, Potter discloses a fluid applicator for applying fluid to first and second adjacent rows of plants in a field comprising:
at least one applicator arm including a first applicator arm and a second applicator arm;
each of the first applicator arm and the second applicator arm can move laterally outward a first position (see annotation below) for no fluid application (the arms can be placed in first position when there is no flow) in a middle of a row between the first and second adjacent rows of plants to a second position (see annotation below) with a distal end of the first applicator arm adjacent to plants of one of the first and second adjacent rows of plants to apply fluid to plants of one of the first and second adjacent rows of plants (see annotated figure of Potter);
wherein the fluid applicator is disposed in-row between the first and second adjacent rows of plants in operation (see fig. 3 of Potter).
Potter does not teach a linkage system including an actuator and a gear box, the actuator is configured to actuate the first applicator arm laterally with an outward bias from the first position to the second position, wherein the gear box is connected to the actuator (Potter has manual adjustments).
However, Mommsen discloses a fluid applicator, in a form of a paint gun, having a linkage system (at 18; figs. 4-6) including an actuator (68, 80) and a gear box (38), the actuator is configured to actuate the applicator arm (22) laterally with an outward bias from a first position (shown in fig. 4) to a second position (fig. 5 or 6), wherein the gear box (38) is connected to the actuator (68, 80). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to assess the teaching of Mommsen to consider utilization of a linkage system with actuator and gearbox to each of Potter’s applicator arm to manipulate the arm adjustment via the linkage system in order to alleviate the need of manual adjustment for convenience and efficiency. No inventive effort would have been required.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Potter to incorporate the teachings of Mommsen to provide a linkage system including an actuator and a gear box, the actuator is configured to actuate the first applicator arm laterally with an outward bias from the first position to the second position, wherein the gear box is connected to the actuator. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating increased efficiency (See col. 1, ln 8), as such linkage system would alleviate the need for manual adjustment by the operator.
Regarding claim 7, Potter discloses an application unit (see figs. 1-3), comprising:
a downwardly extending frame (see annotation below) to be positioned in operation between first and second adjacent rows of plants;
a base or bracket (see annotation below) coupled to the downwardly extending frame, the base or bracket to be positioned in proximity to a ground surface while in operation (see annotation below); and
at least one applicator arm coupled to the base or bracket (see figs. 1-2), the at least one applicator arm can move from a first position for no fluid application in a middle of a row between first and second adjacent rows of plants to a second position with a distal end of the applicator arm adjacent to plants of one of the first and second adjacent rows of plants to apply fluid to plants of one of the first and second adjacent rows of plants (see annotation below).
Potter does not teach the at least one applicator arm is actuated by at least one actuator to move the applicator arm laterally with an outward bias.
However, Mommsen discloses a fluid applicator, in a form of a paint gun, having a linkage system (at 18; figs. 4-6) including an actuator (68, 80) and a gear box (38), the actuator is configured to actuate the applicator arm (22) laterally with an outward bias from a first position (shown in fig. 4) to a second position (fig. 5 or 6), wherein the gear box (38) is connected to the actuator (68, 80). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to assess the teaching of Mommsen to consider utilization of a linkage system with actuator and gearbox to each of Potter’s applicator arm to manipulate the arm adjustment via the linkage system in order to alleviate the need of manual adjustment for convenience and efficiency. No inventive effort would have been required.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Potter to incorporate the teachings of Mommsen to provide the at least one applicator arm is actuated by at least one actuator to move the applicator arm laterally with an outward bias. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating increased efficiency (See col. 1, ln 8), as such system would alleviate the need for manual adjustment by the operator.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Potter, as modified above, discloses a nozzle (G) that is disposed on a distal end of at least one applicator arm for dispensing liquid (see Potter, fig. 2).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Potter, as modified above, discloses at least one applicator arm has more than one fluid delivery tube for applying more than one fluid (see Potter, fig. 2; two fluid delivery tubes are shown, which are capable of applying a mix of more than one fluid in each of the tube or applying different fluid at different time; the current claim language does not require the “more than one fluid” to be un-mixed or to be delivered via different tube).
Claims 3, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 0559042) in view of Mommsen (US4679734), further in view of Funseth (US20150367358).
Regarding claims 3, 12, 14, Potter, as modified above, does not teach the actuator includes a solenoid.
However, Funseth discloses a fluid applicator (fig. 10) with a rotatable actuator (not shown) to rotate the nozzle turret that can be a rotary solenoid (par. 80: “Rotatable actuators (not shown) include electric stepper motors, servo motors, rotary solenoids or piezo based rotators”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Potter and Mommsen to incorporate the teachings of Funseth to utilize the actuator that includes a solenoid. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities to utilize one of the known actuators to yield the predictable result of facilitating movement of the parts, including nozzle or applicator arm(s).
Claims 4, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 0559042) in view of Mommsen (US4679734), further in view of Mayfield (US 6010079).
Regarding claims 4, 13 and 15, Potter, as modified above, does not teach the actuator includes an electric motor.
However, Mayfield discloses a fluid applicator, wherein the arm maneuvering means may comprise any one of a number of different types of actuators, such as an hydraulic actuator, an electric motor driven actuator and a pneumatic actuator (col. 2, ln 7-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Potter and Mommsen to incorporate the teachings of Mayfield to provide the actuator including an electric motor. Choosing one of the known types of actuator would yield the predictable result of facilitating an arm maneuvering means (see col. 2, ln 7-11).
Claims 6, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Potter (US 0559042) in view of Mommsen (US4679734), further in view of Miller (US 10004175).
Regarding claims 6, 17, 18, Potter, as modified, does not teach the fluid applicator is disposed on a frame connected to a bar/toolbar, and a coulter is connected to the frame.
However, Miller discloses a comparable unit having a fluid applicator (see annotation below) disposed on a frame connected to a bar/toolbar, and a coulter is connected to the frame (see annotation below; col. 5, ln 15-20, 34-44).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Potter and Mommsen to incorporate the teachings of Miller to provide the fluid applicator is disposed on a frame connected to a bar/toolbar, and a coulter is connected to the frame. Doing so would yield the predictable result of facilitating sealing when the fertilizer is applied and reduce loss from leaching, runoff or volatilization (See col. 5, ln 45-49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 10, 11, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752