DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the rejection set forth below addressing the amendments to the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 -2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11141308 in view of Lowery et al (US 5374247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 9 of Patent 11141308 recites all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application except for a hormone instead of an IUD. Lowery et al (hereafter Lowery) discloses it was known in the art at the time of the invention for a system for delivering a device into the reproductive tract of a female to comprise a hormone (embryos contain hormones) in the second catheter to be delivered to the reproductive tract (C:2, L:18-22) in order to deal with problems of infertility. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art to further replace the IUD with a hormone in the second catheter in the claims of Patent 11141308, as taught by Lowery, in order to deal with problems of infertility.
Claims 1 -2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and of U.S. Patent No. 11583436 in view of Lowery et al (US 5374247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2 and 10 of Patent 11583436 recites all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application except for a hormone instead of an IUD deliverable in the second catheter. Lowery et al (hereafter Lowery) discloses it was known in the art at the time of the invention for a system for delivering a device into the reproductive tract of a female to comprise a hormone (embryos contain hormones) in the second catheter to be delivered to the reproductive tract (C:2, L:18-22) in order to deal with problems of infertility. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art to further replace the IUD with a hormone in the second catheter in the claims of Patent 11583436, as taught by Lowery, in order to deal with problems of infertility.
Claims 1 -2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 and of U.S. Patent No. 12414873 in view of Lowery et al (US 5374247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 13 of Patent 12414873 recites all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application except for the everting balloon comprising a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration and a hormone instead of an IUD deliverable in the second catheter. Lowery et al (hereafter Lowery) discloses it was known in the art at the time of the invention for a system for delivering a device into the reproductive tract of a female to have the everting balloon comprise a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration as well as a hormone (embryos contain hormones) in the second catheter to be delivered to the reproductive tract (C:2, L:18-22) in order to deal with problems of infertility. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art to further have the everting balloon comprise a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration as well as replace the IUD with a hormone in the second catheter in the claim of Patent 12414873, as taught by Lowery, in order to deal with problems of infertility.
Claims 1 -2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 and of U.S. Patent No. 9101391 in view of Lowery et al (US 5374247). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of Patent 9101391 recites all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2 of the instant application except for the everting balloon comprising a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration and that the reproductive material is a hormone deliverable in the second catheter. Lowery discloses it was known in the art at the time of the invention for a system for delivering a device into the reproductive tract of a female to have the everting balloon comprise a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration as well as a hormone (embryos contain hormones) in the second catheter to be delivered to the reproductive tract (C:2, L:18-22) in order to deal with problems of infertility. Therefore, it would have been within the level of one with ordinary skill in the art to further have the everting balloon comprise a check valve when the first catheter is in the extended configuration as well as replace the IUD with a hormone in the second catheter in the claim of Patent 9101391, as taught by Lowery, in order to deal with problems of infertility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lowery et al (US 5374247).
Regarding claim 1, Lowery et al (hereafter Lowery) discloses a system for delivering a device (61) into the reproductive tract of a female comprising: a first catheter (15, 33) having a lumen (41) and a distal lumen port (43), wherein the first catheter (15, 33) has a retracted configuration (figure 3) and an extended configuration (figure 2); an everting balloon (17) attached to the first catheter, wherein at least a length of the everting balloon extends past a distal end of the first catheter when the first catheter is in the extended configuration (figure 2), wherein the length of the everting balloon that extends past the distal end of the first catheter comprises a check valve (49, at figure 2, distal opening of balloon can close due to pressure within everting balloon forcing the distal end 49 of the everting balloon to form the balloon check valve) when the first catheter is in the extended configuration (figure 2); a second catheter (61, 69) slidably located in the first catheter; a piston coupled to the second catheter (65) a third catheter ( 13, 19) radially outside of the first catheter (figure 5), wherein a first end of the everting balloon is attached to the third catheter (C:5,L:22-30), wherein a second end of the everting balloon is attached to the first catheter (at 45, figure 2); and a hormone (C:2, L:18-22; embryos contain and secrete hormones) in the second catheter (figure 5, C:7, L:3-10; L:38-65), wherein the piston is configured to push the hormone in the second catheter to deliver the hormone (C:6, L:30-45).
Regarding claim 2, Lowery discloses a system for delivering a device into the reproductive tract of a female comprising: a first catheter (15, 33) having a lumen (41) and a distal lumen port (43), wherein the first catheter has a retracted configuration (figure 3) and an extended configuration (figure 2); an everting balloon (17) attached to the first catheter, wherein at least a length of the everting balloon extends past a distal end of the first catheter when the first catheter is in the extended configuration (figure 2); a second catheter (61) slidably located in the first catheter (figure 5); a piston coupled to the second catheter (65), a third catheter (13, 19)radially outside of the first catheter, wherein a first end of the everting balloon is attached to the third catheter (figures 2-3, C:5, L:22-30), wherein a second end of the everting balloon is attached to the first catheter (at 45, figure 2); and a hormone (C:2, L:18-22; embryos contain and secrete hormones) , wherein the piston is configured to push the hormone (C:6, L:30-45) in the second catheter to deliver the hormone (figure 5, C:7, L:3-10; L:38-65).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Lowery discloses all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2, further comprising a handle (21, 35, 65) configured to control eversion of the everting balloon, wherein the handle is configured to control translation of the second catheter.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lowery discloses all of the limitations set forth in claims 1 and 2, wherein the second catheter has a first length (61) having a first diameter, and a second length (69) having a second diameter, and wherein the first diameter is larger than the second diameter (figure 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771