DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in South Korea on 9/20/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0125249 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mounting protrusion protrudes further outward compared to the flange (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “and the mounting protrusion protrudes further outward compared to the flange” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “wherein an outwardly protruding flange is formed on an upper end of the inner container, and the mounting protrusion protrudes further outward compared to the flange” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Is this stating that the mounting protrusion protrudes further outward from the flange in an unmounted state? For either the unmounted and mounted configurations, this is not clearly depicted in any of the figures (figure 4 or 6). Specifically, for figure 6 in the mounted position, the mounting protrusion cannot protrude outward than the flange or it could impact threading. So this limitation does not seem to apply to the mounted position. For figure 4, the application shows mounting protrusions that appear to be in line with the flange. For the purposes of examination, it is assumed that the unmounted configuration is being described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by KR20220002468U, hereafter referred to as “Reference 1”.
With respect to claim 1, Reference 1 discloses a refillable container comprising: an outer container (10) having a coupling protrusion (12); and an inner container (20) configured to be inserted into the outer container and separably coupled to the coupling protrusion (12), wherein the coupling protrusion (12) comprises a mounting indentation (12b) and a detent hole (12c), the mounting indentation (12b) having an open top and having a particular depth, the detent hole (12c) formed below the mounting indentation with a particular distance in-between, and the inner container comprises a mounting protrusion (protrusion above 34) and a detent hook (34), the mounting protrusion configured to be inserted into the mounting indentation, the detent hook configured to be inserted into the detent hole .
With respect to claim 3, Reference 1 discloses the refillable container of claim 1, wherein the detent hook (34) is formed on an end portion of a detent piece (34 and relative area), and the detent piece is separated by a particular distance from an outer periphery of the inner container.
With respect to claim 4, Reference 1 discloses the refillable container of claim 3, wherein an outwardly protruding flange (32) is formed on an upper end of the inner container, and the detent piece (34 and relative area) is formed on a lower portion of the flange.
With respect to claim 5, Reference 1 discloses the refillable container of claim 1, wherein a lower end of the mounting protrusion is rounded (protrusion above 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20220002468U, hereafter referred to as “Reference 1” in view of Chadima (US 20080054059 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Reference 1 discloses wherein an outwardly protruding flange (32) is formed on an upper end of the inner container. Reference 1 failed to disclose wherein the mounting protrusion protrudes further outward compared to the flange. However, in a similar field of endeavor, namely containers with latches, Chadima taught of a container with a latching system in which a latch (202) is angled outwards from its respective flange. The respective angling allows for an outward force to constantly be applied to the outer container when in the secured position (pages 4-5 [0045] ). It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mounting protrusion of Reference 1 to extend out (be angled) further than the flange as taught by Chadima in order to allow for a securement force to exist between the coupling protrusion and the inner container.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR-20220002468-U OR KR-20240017587-A OR KR-20240017586-A OR JP-H0680630-U OR JP-2588201-Y2 OR KR-20240017461-A OR EP-4298953-A1 OR US-20080054059-A1
Conclusion
/S.K.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/ERNESTO A GRANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735