DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application with case number 18/823,424 filed on 09/03/2024, in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 03/07/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2022-034547 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. See Failure Status Report mailed on 10/24/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 06/13/2024 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
5. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, 3, 14 and 16
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A).
In regard to claim 1
, Takeichi discloses an object detection device comprising (Takeichi, in at least [0001-0003], discloses vehicle surroundings monitoring devices [i.e., an object detection device] that uses ultrasonic waves):
a plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits which, in operation, detects a received wave transmitted to and reflected from an object (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0019], discloses a vehicle surroundings monitoring device comprising sensors (20-23) each having a transceiver unit (20d) [i.e., a plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits] that transmits a transmission wave to the vicinity of the vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the transmitted transmission wave [i.e., detects a received wave transmitted to and reflected from an object]); and
a processing circuit connected to the wave transmission/reception circuits (Takeichi, in at least [0029], discloses the vehicle surroundings monitoring device is composed of an electronic control unit 10 [i.e., a processing circuit] and ultrasonic sensors 20 to 23 with calculation functions that are connected to this electronic control unit 10 [i.e., connected to the wave transmission/reception circuits] via an in-vehicle LAN, and the electronic control unit 10 is composed of a microcomputer 10a and a LAN communication circuit 10b (driver/reader)),
each of the wave transmission/reception circuits comprising:
a timing circuit which, in operation, measures time (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0038], discloses the distance calculation circuit 20e is a timer circuit that measures the time [i.e., a timing circuit which, in operation, measures time] required from when an ultrasonic wave is transmitted from the microphone 20d until when a reflected ultrasonic wave is received); and
a wave transmission/reception control circuit which, in operation, performs wave transmission or wave reception based on the time measured by the timing circuit (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0034-0035], discloses the ultrasonic sensor with calculation function 20 is composed of a LAN communication circuit 20a, a LAN control circuit 20b [i.e., a wave transmission/reception control circuit], a transmission circuit 20c, a microphone 20d, a distance calculation circuit 20e, a threshold adjustment circuit 20f, a gain adjustment circuit 20g, a comparator 20h, a non-volatile memory 20m, a regulator 20k, and a switch 20j. The LAN control circuit 20b is composed of a microcomputer, RAM, etc., and controls the transmission circuit 20c based on instructions from the electronic control unit 10, performs calculations to calculate the distance to obstacles around the vehicle based on the time measured [i.e., in operation, performs wave transmission or wave reception based on the time measured by the timing circuit] by the distance calculation circuit 20e), and
the processing circuit comprising:
an output circuit which, in operation, outputs the time (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0038], discloses the distance calculation circuit 20e is a timer circuit [i.e., an output circuit which, in operation, outputs the time to at least one wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits] that measures the time required from when an ultrasonic wave is transmitted from the microphone 20d until when a reflected ultrasonic wave is received); and
an object detection circuit which, in operation, detects the object by using distance measurement information based on the wave transmission and the wave reception input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0030], discloses the microcomputer 10a [i.e., an object detection circuit] is composed of a CPU (central processing unit), ROM, RAM, etc., and by communicating via the LAN communication circuit 10b and communication line 11, the microcomputer 10a instructs the ultrasonic sensors with calculation function 20-23 to calculate the distance to an obstacle (an object around the vehicle) [i.e., in operation, detects the object by using distance measurement information based on the wave transmission and the wave reception input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]).
Takeichi is silent on by using time adjusted based on time adjustment information;
the time adjustment information for adjusting time;
However, Matsuura teaches by using time adjusted based on time adjustment information (Matsuura, in at least [0005], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized [i.e., by using time adjusted based on time adjustment information] with that of other ultrasonic sensors using the infrared rays);
time adjustment information for adjusting time (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005 & 0012], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized [i.e., time adjustment information for adjusting time] with that of other ultrasonic sensors. A transmission control unit (14) that causes the transceiver unit to transmit the transmission wave, a distance calculation unit (15) that calculates the distance to the object based on the time difference between when the transceiver unit transmits the transmission wave and when it receives the reflected wave, and a transmission timing control unit (25, 125) that controls the timing at which the transmission control unit transmits the transmission wave, and is characterized in that the transmission timing control unit inserts an extra waiting time between a transmission/reception period in which the transceiver unit transmits a transmission wave and receives a reflected wave and the next transmission/reception period, based on the satisfaction of a preset interference identification condition, which is a condition related to the distance to the object and is met when it is necessary to identify whether interference is occurring);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for randomly changing the transmission interval of the ultrasonic waves, it is possible to distinguish interference (Matsuura, see at least [0008]).
In regard to claim 3
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Further, Matsuura teaches wherein
each of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits includes a communication circuit which, in operation, communicates with another wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Matsuura, in at least [0021-0025], teaches each ultrasonic sensor 10 includes a transmitter/receiver 11 , a transmission circuit 12 , a reception circuit 13 , a transmission control unit 14 , a distance calculation unit 15 , and a communication unit 16 [i.e., each of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits includes a communication circuit]. When the transmission control unit 14 receives the transmission instruction signal transmitted from the ECU 20 [i.e., in operation, communicates with another wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits] from the communication unit 16 , the transmission control unit 14 outputs the transmission instruction signal to the transmission circuit unit 12), and
the communication circuit, in operation, transmits the time adjustment information to the other wave transmission/reception circuit (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005 & 0012], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized with that of other ultrasonic sensors. A transmission timing control unit (25, 125) that controls the timing at which the transmission control unit transmits the transmission wave [i.e., the communication circuit, in operation, transmits the time adjustment information to the other wave transmission/reception circuit], and is characterized in that the transmission timing control unit inserts an extra waiting time between a transmission/reception period in which the transceiver unit transmits a transmission wave and receives a reflected wave and the next transmission/reception period, based on the satisfaction of a preset interference identification condition, which is a condition related to the distance to the object and is met when it is necessary to identify whether interference is occurring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for detecting an abnormality in an ultrasonic transmitter or an ultrasonic receiver for performing object detection (Matsuura, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 14
, Takeichi discloses an object detection method of detecting an object by an object detection device including a processing circuit connected to a plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits, the method comprising (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 3, and [0001-0003], discloses vehicle surroundings monitoring devices [i.e., an object detection device] that uses ultrasonic waves. The vehicle surroundings monitoring device comprising sensors (20-23) each having a transceiver unit (20d) [i.e., a plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits] that transmits a transmission wave to the vicinity of the vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the transmitted transmission wave [i.e., detects a received wave transmitted to and reflected from an object]. Examiner notes, Fig. 3 shows a flowchart, which is the representation of a method. As such, Takeichi teaches a method):
outputting, by the processing circuit, time (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0038], discloses the distance calculation circuit 20e is a timer circuit [i.e., outputting, by the processing circuit, time of a timing circuit included in at least one wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuit] that measures the time required from when an ultrasonic wave is transmitted from the microphone 20d until when a reflected ultrasonic wave is received);
performing, by the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits, wave transmission or wave reception (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0019], discloses a vehicle surroundings monitoring device comprising sensors (20-23) each having a transceiver unit (20d) that transmits a transmission wave to the vicinity of the vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the transmitted transmission wave [i.e., performing, by the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits, wave transmission or wave reception]); and
detecting, by the processing circuit, the object by using distance measurement information based on the wave transmission and the wave reception input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0030], discloses the microcomputer 10a [i.e., an object detection circuit] is composed of a CPU (central processing unit), ROM, RAM, etc., and by communicating via the LAN communication circuit 10b and communication line 11, the microcomputer 10a instructs the ultrasonic sensors with calculation function 20-23 to calculate the distance to an obstacle (an object around the vehicle) [i.e., detecting, by the processing circuit, the object by using distance measurement information based on the wave transmission and the wave reception input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]).
Takeichi is silent on adjustment information used for adjusting time,
adjusting, by the at least one wave transmission/reception circuit that receives the time adjustment information, the time of the timing circuit based on the time adjustment information;
based on the adjusted time.
However, Matsuura teaches adjustment information used for adjusting time (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005 & 0012], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized [i.e., adjustment information used for adjusting time] with that of other ultrasonic sensors),
adjusting, by the at least one wave transmission/reception circuit that receives the time adjustment information, the time of the timing circuit based on the time adjustment information (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005 & 0012], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized [i.e., adjusting, by the at least one wave transmission/reception circuit that receives the time adjustment information, the time of the timing circuit based on the time adjustment information] with that of other ultrasonic sensors. A transmission control unit (14) that causes the transceiver unit to transmit the transmission wave, a distance calculation unit (15) that calculates the distance to the object based on the time difference between when the transceiver unit transmits the transmission wave and when it receives the reflected wave, and a transmission timing control unit (25, 125) [i.e., an output circuit ] that controls the timing at which the transmission control unit transmits the transmission wave, and is characterized in that the transmission timing control unit inserts an extra waiting time between a transmission/reception period in which the transceiver unit transmits a transmission wave and receives a reflected wave and the next transmission/reception period, based on the satisfaction of a preset interference identification condition, which is a condition related to the distance to the object and is met when it is necessary to identify whether interference is occurring);
based on the adjusted time (Matsuura, in at least [0109], teaches the two front side ultrasonic sensors 10S(FL) and 10S(FR) are controlled in synchronization with each other and the two rear ultrasonic side sensors 10S(RL) and 10S(RR) are also controlled in synchronization. Examiner notes, as described above, the sensors are synchronized. That means, the wave transmission or wave reception is performed based on the adjusted time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for randomly changing the transmission interval of the ultrasonic waves, it is possible to distinguish interference (Matsuura, see at least [0008]).
In regard to claim 16
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection method according to claim 14.
Claim 16 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
8. Claim(s) 2, and 15
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US-20210096247-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, wherein
each of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits includes a wave detection circuit (Takeichi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0019], discloses a vehicle surroundings monitoring device comprising sensors (20-23) each having a transceiver unit (20d) [i.e., the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits includes a wave detection circuit that transmits a transmission wave to the vicinity of the vehicle and receives a reflected wave of the transmitted transmission wave), and
Further, Matsuura teaches the timing circuit, in operation, adjusts time with detection of the wave transmitted from the other wave transmission/reception circuit by the wave detection circuit as a trigger (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005 & 0012], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized with that of other ultrasonic sensors. A transmission timing control unit (25, 125) that controls the timing at which the transmission control unit transmits the transmission wave [i.e., the timing circuit, in operation, adjusts time with detection of the wave transmitted from the other wave transmission/reception circuit by the wave detection circuit as a trigger], and is characterized in that the transmission timing control unit inserts an extra waiting time between a transmission/reception period in which the transceiver unit transmits a transmission wave and receives a reflected wave and the next transmission/reception period, based on the satisfaction of a preset interference identification condition, which is a condition related to the distance to the object and is met when it is necessary to identify whether interference is occurring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as already modified by Matsuura, in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for randomly changing the transmission interval of the ultrasonic waves, it is possible to distinguish interference (Matsuura, see at least [0008]).
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on in operation, detects a wave transmitted by another wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits.
However, Ishikawa teaches in operation, detects a wave transmitted by another wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Ishikawa, in at least Fig. 13, and [0339], teaches one of the two ultrasonic transceivers 401 that served to receive ultrasonic waves is assigned to transmission of an ultrasonic wave [i.e., another wave transmission/reception circuit], the other two ultrasonic transceivers 401 are assigned to reception [i.e., detects a wave transmitted by another wave transmission/reception circuit of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits], and the process of the flowchart of FIG. 13 is repeated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Ishikawa with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for detecting an abnormality in an ultrasonic transmitter or an ultrasonic receiver for performing object detection (Ishikawa, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 15
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection method according to claim 14.
Claim 15 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
9. Claim(s) 4, 6, and 17
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Imagawa et al. (US-6279396-B1).
In regard to claim 4
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
While Takeichi discloses using a correction value (Takeichi , see at least [0066]), Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Imagawa teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a correction circuit which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Imagawa, in at least col. 16, lines 9-15, teaches as the method of correction by the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data in the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114, the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a correction circuit] is configured by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit 122 [i.e., which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Imagawa with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for stably measuring a distance (Imagawa, see at least col 2, lines 35-36).
In regard to claim 6
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
While Takeichi discloses using a correction value (Takeichi , see at least [0066]), Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Imagawa teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a correction circuit which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Imagawa, in at least col. 16, lines 9-15, teaches as the method of correction by the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data in the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114, the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a correction circuit] is configured by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit 122 [i.e., which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Imagawa with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for stably measuring a distance (Imagawa, see at least col 2, lines 35-36).
In regard to claim 17
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection method according to claim 14.
Claim 17 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
10. Claim(s) 5
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US-20210096247-A1) and further in view of Imagawa et al. (US-6279396-B1).
In regard to claim 5
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, teaches the object detection device according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
While Takeichi discloses using a correction value (Takeichi , see at least [0066]), Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Imagawa teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a correction circuit which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Imagawa, in at least col. 16, lines 9-15, teaches as the method of correction by the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data in the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114, the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a correction circuit] is configured by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit 122 [i.e., which, in operation, corrects a deviation of the distance measurement information input from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, in view of Imagawa with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for stably measuring a distance (Imagawa, see at least col 2, lines 35-36).
11. Claim(s) 7, 9, and 18
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Park (US-20210341603-A1).
In regard to claim 7
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Park teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0048-0050 & 0114], teaches a vehicle system including an obstacle recognition device 100 [i.e., the object detection device], a sensing device 200, an interface 300, a steering controller 400, a braking controller 500, and an engine controller 600 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit]. The obstacle recognition device 100 generates an occupancy grid map based on a sensing value of at least one ultrasonic sensor. The system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed]), and
the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0114], teaches the system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor [i.e., based on an output result of the object detection circuit] during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Park with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and the combination would provide for accurately estimating a shape and location of an obstacle based on an ultrasonic sensor (Park, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 9
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 3, accordingly the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Park teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0048-0050 & 0114], teaches a vehicle system including an obstacle recognition device 100 [i.e., the object detection device], a sensing device 200, an interface 300, a steering controller 400, a braking controller 500, and an engine controller 600 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit]. The obstacle recognition device 100 generates an occupancy grid map based on a sensing value of at least one ultrasonic sensor. The system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed]), and
the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0114], teaches the system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor [i.e., based on an output result of the object detection circuit] during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Park with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and the combination would provide for accurately estimating a shape and location of an obstacle based on an ultrasonic sensor (Park, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 18
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection method according to claim 14.
Claim 18 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 7 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7.
12. Claim(s) 8
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US-20210096247-A1) and further in view of Park (US-20210341603-A1).
In regard to claim 8
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, teaches the object detection device according to claim 2, accordingly the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, is silent on all limitations of the claim.
However, Park teaches wherein
the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0048-0050 & 0114], teaches a vehicle system including an obstacle recognition device 100 [i.e., the object detection device], a sensing device 200, an interface 300, a steering controller 400, a braking controller 500, and an engine controller 600 [i.e., the processing circuit includes a vehicle control circuit]. The obstacle recognition device 100 generates an occupancy grid map based on a sensing value of at least one ultrasonic sensor. The system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., which, in operation, controls a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed]), and
the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit (Park, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0114], teaches the system accurately estimates a shape of an obstacle based on a learning algorithm using a direct wave, an indirect wave, and a signal strength value among output values of an ultrasonic sensor [i.e., based on an output result of the object detection circuit] during low-speed driving control or parking control of the vehicle, thus improving accuracy of collision-avoidance assist control and minimizing incorrect braking [i.e., the vehicle control circuit, in operation, controls the vehicle based on an output result of the object detection circuit]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, in view of Park with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and the combination would provide for accurately estimating a shape and location of an obstacle based on an ultrasonic sensor (Park, see at least [0002]).
13. Claim(s) 10, 12, and 19
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Watts et al. (US-20230271628-A1).
In regard to claim 10
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 1, accordingly thew rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Further, Matsuura teaches includes the time adjustment circuit (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized with that of other ultrasonic sensors. Examiner notes, synchronizing the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves necessarily requires a time adjustment circuit. As such, Matsuura teaches including the time adjustment circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as already modified by Matsuura, in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for randomly changing the transmission interval of the ultrasonic waves, it is possible to distinguish interference (Matsuura, see at least [0008]).
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, is silent on the other limitations of the claim.
However, Watts teaches wherein
the object detection device further includes a plurality of other modules having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Watts, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0016 & 0036], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., the object detection device further includes a plurality of other modules]. The HPECU 104 includes one or more communication interfaces 206 [i.e., having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]. The first zone ECU 110(1) sends the results of the recognition processing as first recognition information 216(1) to the HPECU 104. Similarly, the second zone ECU 110(2) sends second recognition information 216(2) to the HPECU 104 based on results of recognition processing of the second sensor data 220(2) received from the second zone sensors 112(2). Likewise, the third zone ECU 110(3) sends third recognition information 216(3) to the HPECU 104, and the fourth zone ECU 110(4) sends fourth recognition information 216(4) to the HPECU 104. Examiner notes, as described above, the zone ECUs send the results of the recognition processing as first recognition information 216(1) to the HPECU 104. That means, each ECU or other module has its interface. Accordingly, Watts teaches a plurality of other modules having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits),
the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits are modules used for detection of the object (Watts, in at least Fig. 1, and [0021-0023], teaches the first zone 108(1) includes a first zone ECU 110(1) and one or more first zone sensors 112(1); the second zone 108(2) includes a second zone ECU 110(2) and one or more second zone sensors 112(2); the third zone 108(3) includes a third zone ECU 110(3) and one or more third zone sensors 112(3); and the fourth zone 108(4) includes a fourth zone ECU 110(4) and one or more fourth zone sensors 112(4). The zone sensor(s) 112 include one or more of cameras (mono and/or stereo, visible light and/or near infrared), lidar sensors, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, thermal imaging sensors, and so forth. Examiner notes, zone sensors, such as radar and ultrasonic sensor and lidar, are the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits are modules used for detection of the object),
the processing circuit includes:
a plurality of zone ECUs (electronic control units) to which the plurality of modules are connected, the plurality of zone ECUs being provided for each zone of a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed (Watts, in at least Fig. 1 and [0020-0023], teaches a vehicle 102 includes a higher-performance ECU (HPECU) 104 able to communicate over one or more networks with a plurality of zones 108 [i.e., a plurality of zone ECUs (electronic control units)], include a first zone 108(1) corresponding to a front of the vehicle 102; a second zone 108(2) corresponding to a rear of the vehicle 102; a third zone 108(3) corresponding to a right-side of the vehicle 102; and a fourth zone 108(4) corresponding to a left-side of the vehicle 102. Each zone 108 includes a respective zone ECU 110 and a set of one or more of zone sensors 112 [i.e., the plurality of zone ECUs being provided for each zone of a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed]. The first zone 108(1) includes a first zone ECU 110(1) and one or more first zone sensors 112(1); the second zone 108(2) includes a second zone ECU 110(2) and one or more second zone sensors 112(2); the third zone 108(3) includes a third zone ECU 110(3) and one or more third zone sensors 112(3); and the fourth zone 108(4) includes a fourth zone ECU 110(4) and one or more fourth zone sensors 112(4). The zone sensor(s) 112 include one or more of cameras (mono and/or stereo, visible light and/or near infrared), lidar sensors, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, thermal imaging sensors, and so forth. Examiner notes, zone sensors, such as an ultrasonic sensor are object detection devices); and
an ECU that is connected to the plurality of zone ECUs (Watts, in at least [0016], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., an ECU that is connected to the plurality of zone ECUs]. The HPECU is a first type of ECU that serves as a primary ECU and includes a relatively higher-performance processor that is capable of a greater capacity of data processing than the respective zone ECUs. The system further includes the plurality of zone ECUs, which are a second type of ECU, each having a relatively lower-power processor, as compared with the HPECU, and therefore having a lower capacity of data processing as compared with the HPECU),
each of the plurality of zone ECUs (Watts, in at least [0016], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., plurality of zone ECUs]), and
the ECU includes the object detection circuit (Watts, in at least Fig. 1, and [0076], teaches the HPECU 104 [i.e., the ECU] performs object recognition [i.e., includes the object detection circuit]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, in view of Watts with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and include the time adjustment circuit in each zone ECUs and the combination would provide for improving resistance to component failure, malware, viruses, hacking, and so forth (Watts, see at least [0015]).
In regard to claim 12
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection device according to claim 3.
Claim 12 recites an apparatus having substantially the same features of claim 10 above, therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
In regard to claim 19
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura, teaches the object detection method according to claim 14.
Claim 19 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 10 above, therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
14. Claim(s) 11
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US-20210096247-A1) and further in view of Watts et al. (US-20230271628-A1).
In regard to claim 11
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, teaches the object detection device according to claim 2, accordingly thew rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Further, Matsuura teaches includes the time adjustment circuit (Matsuura, in at least Figs. 1, 12, and [0005], teaches the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves is synchronized with that of other ultrasonic sensors. Examiner notes, synchronizing the timing of transmitting ultrasonic waves necessarily requires a time adjustment circuit. As such, Matsuura teaches including the time adjustment circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as already modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, in view of Matsuura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and the combination would provide for randomly changing the transmission interval of the ultrasonic waves, it is possible to distinguish interference (Matsuura, see at least [0008]).
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, is silent on the other limitations of the claim.
However, Watts teaches wherein
the object detection device further includes a plurality of other modules having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Watts, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0016 & 0036], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., the object detection device further includes a plurality of other modules]. The HPECU 104 includes one or more communication interfaces 206 [i.e., having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]. The first zone ECU 110(1) sends the results of the recognition processing as first recognition information 216(1) to the HPECU 104. Similarly, the second zone ECU 110(2) sends second recognition information 216(2) to the HPECU 104 based on results of recognition processing of the second sensor data 220(2) received from the second zone sensors 112(2). Likewise, the third zone ECU 110(3) sends third recognition information 216(3) to the HPECU 104, and the fourth zone ECU 110(4) sends fourth recognition information 216(4) to the HPECU 104. Examiner notes, as described above, the zone ECUs send the results of the recognition processing as first recognition information 216(1) to the HPECU 104. That means, each ECU or other module has its interface. Accordingly, Watts teaches a plurality of other modules having different interfaces from the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits),
the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits are modules used for detection of the object (Watts, in at least Fig. 1, and [0021-0023], teaches the first zone 108(1) includes a first zone ECU 110(1) and one or more first zone sensors 112(1); the second zone 108(2) includes a second zone ECU 110(2) and one or more second zone sensors 112(2); the third zone 108(3) includes a third zone ECU 110(3) and one or more third zone sensors 112(3); and the fourth zone 108(4) includes a fourth zone ECU 110(4) and one or more fourth zone sensors 112(4). The zone sensor(s) 112 include one or more of cameras (mono and/or stereo, visible light and/or near infrared), lidar sensors, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, thermal imaging sensors, and so forth. Examiner notes, zone sensors, such as radar and ultrasonic sensor and lidar, are the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits are modules used for detection of the object),
the processing circuit includes:
a plurality of zone ECUs (electronic control units) to which the plurality of modules are connected, the plurality of zone ECUs being provided for each zone of a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed (Watts, in at least Fig. 1 and [0020-0023], teaches a vehicle 102 includes a higher-performance ECU (HPECU) 104 able to communicate over one or more networks with a plurality of zones 108 [i.e., a plurality of zone ECUs (electronic control units)], include a first zone 108(1) corresponding to a front of the vehicle 102; a second zone 108(2) corresponding to a rear of the vehicle 102; a third zone 108(3) corresponding to a right-side of the vehicle 102; and a fourth zone 108(4) corresponding to a left-side of the vehicle 102. Each zone 108 includes a respective zone ECU 110 and a set of one or more of zone sensors 112 [i.e., the plurality of zone ECUs being provided for each zone of a vehicle in which the object detection device is installed]. The first zone 108(1) includes a first zone ECU 110(1) and one or more first zone sensors 112(1); the second zone 108(2) includes a second zone ECU 110(2) and one or more second zone sensors 112(2); the third zone 108(3) includes a third zone ECU 110(3) and one or more third zone sensors 112(3); and the fourth zone 108(4) includes a fourth zone ECU 110(4) and one or more fourth zone sensors 112(4). The zone sensor(s) 112 include one or more of cameras (mono and/or stereo, visible light and/or near infrared), lidar sensors, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, thermal imaging sensors, and so forth. Examiner notes, zone sensors, such as an ultrasonic sensor are object detection devices); and
an ECU that is connected to the plurality of zone ECUs (Watts, in at least [0016], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., an ECU that is connected to the plurality of zone ECUs]. The HPECU is a first type of ECU that serves as a primary ECU and includes a relatively higher-performance processor that is capable of a greater capacity of data processing than the respective zone ECUs. The system further includes the plurality of zone ECUs, which are a second type of ECU, each having a relatively lower-power processor, as compared with the HPECU, and therefore having a lower capacity of data processing as compared with the HPECU),
each of the plurality of zone ECUs (Watts, in at least [0016], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., plurality of zone ECUs]), and
the ECU includes the object detection circuit (Watts, in at least Fig. 1, and [0076], teaches the HPECU 104 [i.e., the ECU] performs object recognition [i.e., includes the object detection circuit]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Ishikawa, in view of Watts with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and include the time adjustment circuit in each zone ECUs and the combination would provide for improving resistance to component failure, malware, viruses, hacking, and so forth (Watts, see at least [0015]).
15. Claim(s) 13, and 20
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeichi et al. (JP-2005024255-A) in view of Matsuura et al. (JP-2016085036-A) and further in view of Watts et al. (US-20230271628-A1) and further in view of Imagawa et al. (US-6279396-B1).
In regard to claim 13
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Watts, teaches the object detection device according to claim 10, wherein
each of the plurality of zone ECUs (Watts, in at least [0016], teaches the system includes at least one higher-performance ECU (HPECU) and a plurality of zone ECUs [i.e., the plurality of zone ECUs]).
Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Watts, is silent on the other limitations of the claim.
However, Imagawa teaches includes a correction circuit which, in operation, outputs correction information related to correction of a deviation of the distance measurement information input from a corresponding one of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits (Imagawa, in at least col. 16, lines 9-15, teaches as the method of correction by the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data in the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114, the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114 [i.e., includes a correction circuit] is configured by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit 122 [i.e., which, in operation, outputs correction information related to correction of a deviation of the distance measurement information input from a corresponding one of the plurality of wave transmission/reception circuits]), and
the ECU detects the object by using the correction information and the distance measurement information input (Imagawa, in at least col. 16, lines 9-15, teaches as the method of correction by the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data in the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114, the distance measurement sensitivity correction circuit 114 is configured by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit 122 [i.e., the ECU detects the object by using the correction information and the distance measurement information input]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Watts, in view of Imagawa with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – object detection – and include a correction circuit in each zone ECU to detect the object by using the by a variable gain amplitude circuit and the gain is varied based on the ultrasonic-wave sensor sensitivity correction data from the distance measurement calculation control circuit and combination would provide for stably measuring a distance (Imagawa, see at least col 2, lines 35-36).
In regard to claim 20
, Takeichi, as modified by Matsuura and Watts, teaches the object detection method according to claim 19.
Claim 20 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 13 above, therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hirotsu et al. (US-20170264423-A1) teaches timing synchronization among ECUs of an electronic control device which is configured from a sensor ECU.
Sugae et al. (US-20210302573-A1) teaches an object detection system configured to sequentially transmit a plurality of transmission waves and receive a plurality of reception waves respectively corresponding to the plurality of transmission waves returned in response to reflection by an object after all the plurality of transmission waves are transmitted by the transmission unit.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661