DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 16, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3, 6, 8-9, 11-12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sullivan (US 2003/0035386).
Regarding claim 2, Sullivan teaches a satellite terminal (FIG. 2), comprising:
a positioning signal receiver configured to receive a positioning signal (FIG. 2, [0070] “a GPS antenna 212 and GPS receiver 214 provide position data to router computer 202”);
a communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with a target satellite of a satellite communication system (FIG. 2 – transceiver 222, [0073]) and to obtain a measurement associated with an installation procedure signal communicated with the target satellite ([0079] “ router computer 202 drives antenna 224 such that it sweeps through its full azimuth range. While antenna 224 is so sweeping, router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel”);
one or more processors coupled with the communication signal transceiver and the positioning signal receiver; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory (FIG. 2 computer 202, [0069], [0092]) and executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal ([0078] “router computer 202 determines the current position of uplink 108 by reference to position data provided by GPS receiver 214”);
determine a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration [sic] of about 3 dB” It is understood in order to set the threshold minimum level such that the signal-to-noise ratio is 3 dB, the noise value must be determined);
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration of about 3 dB”) ; and
indicate a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the target satellite based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to a signal quality value associated with the measurement ([0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level… If uplink 108 is unable to lock-up with the satellite, the user is given a prompt indicated that the system was unable to find a satellite.” [0046] “If receiver will not lock or no peaks are detected, inform user of inability to find the satellite and stop”).
Regarding claim 3, Sullivan teaches claim 2 and further teaches a satellite terminal and further teaches cause the satellite terminal to: adjust the signal quality effect based at least in part on the position of the satellite terminal ([0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration of about 3 dB. It is understood the threshold is dynamically set depending on the nose such that signal threshold is set to be 3dB above the environmental noise level such as sky noise).
Regarding claim 6, Sullivan teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the environmental characteristics comprise a building, an antenna tower, vegetation, a meteorological condition, or any combination thereof ([0092] “the satellite router preferably provides key operational parameters to the Teleport, including receiver performance, temperature, and fan filter status. As such, potential maintenance issues (e.g., excess vegetation obscuring the antenna) are identified early”).
Regarding claim 8, Sullivan teaches claim 2 and further teaches to: determine an unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal; and adjust a transmission power or an alignment of the satellite terminal based at least in part on the unsuccessful installation procedure ([0079] “If the receiver locks, the process proceeds to the peaking process. If, after positioning the antenna at each detected signal peak no lock is achieved, router computer again positions the antenna on each detected signal peak and executes a peaking procedure (see FIG. 4) to attempt to achieve a lock with the desired satellite”).
Regarding claim 9, Sullivan teaches claim 2 and further teaches wherein the communication signal transceiver is further configured to: receive the installation procedure signal from the target satellite; and determine a measured signal quality of the installation procedure signal, wherein the measurement corresponds to the measured signal quality ([0079] “While antenna 224 is so sweeping, router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228)”).
Regarding claim 11, Sullivan teaches a method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, the method comprising:
receiving information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system, wherein the information comprises position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal (FIG. 2, [0070] “a GPS antenna 212 and GPS receiver 214 provide position data to router computer 202” [0078] “router computer 202 determines the current position of uplink 108 by reference to position data provided by GPS receiver 214”) and signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system ([0079] “ router computer 202 drives antenna 224 such that it sweeps through its full azimuth range. While antenna 224 is so sweeping, router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel”);
determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration [sic] of about 3 dB” It is understood in order to set the threshold minimum level such that the signal-to-noise ratio is 3 dB, the noise value must be determined);;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration of about 3 dB”); and
indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information ([0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level… If uplink 108 is unable to lock-up with the satellite, the user is given a prompt indicated that the system was unable to find a satellite.” [0046] “If receiver will not lock or no peaks are detected, inform user of inability to find the satellite and stop”).
Regarding claim 12, Sullivan teaches claim 11 and further teaches further comprising: adjusting the signal quality effect based at least in part on the position of the satellite terminal ([0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration of about 3 dB. It is understood the threshold is dynamically set depending on the nose such that signal threshold is set to be 3dB above the environmental noise level such as sky noise).
Regarding claim 15, Sullivan teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein the environmental characteristics comprise a building, an antenna tower, vegetation, a meteorological condition, or any combination thereof ([0092] “the satellite router preferably provides key operational parameters to the Teleport, including receiver performance, temperature, and fan filter status. As such, potential maintenance issues (e.g., excess vegetation obscuring the antenna) are identified early”).
Regarding claim 16, Sullivan teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein determining the signal quality effect comprises: collecting information associated with respective measured signal qualities of transmissions between the target satellite and a plurality of satellite terminals; storing characteristics of the respective measured signal qualities and positions of the plurality of satellite terminals ([0078] “router computer 202 determines the current position of uplink 108 by reference to position data provided by GPS receiver 214” [0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level”).
Regarding claim 17, Sullivan teaches claim 11 and further teaches wherein determining the signal quality effect comprises: applying spatial filtering to the stored characteristics of the respective measured signal qualities ([0079] “router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Rozmaryn (US 2014/0006869).
Regarding claim 4, Sullivan teaches claim 3 but fails to teach to adjust the signal quality effect are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: apply a time-based factor to the signal quality effect.
Rozmaryn teaches to adjust the signal quality effect are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: apply a time-based factor to the signal quality effect ([0083] “exemplary feedback scenario is for a threshold correction. For example, a customer's radio is deemed bad at the site diagnostic tool because the signal to noise ratio (Es/No) is less than a certain number of decibels (e.g., 7.5 dB). However, a technician may arrive onsite and discover that the radio is good and that the signal quality factor was actually reduced due to weather fading. Accordingly, for example, a bad radio threshold at the site diagnostic tool may be reduced to accommodate the unexpected signal fading due to the weather (e.g., reduced to 7.0 dB). It should be appreciated that the signal quality factor varies with the season and therefore, may require threshold adjustment on a regular basis”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to adjust the signal quality effect are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: apply a time-based factor to the signal quality effect, as taught by Rozmaryn in Sullivan to aid in quickly confirming the diagnosed problem.
Regarding claim 5, Sullivan teaches claim 3 but fails to teach to apply the time-based factor are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: correlate the signal quality effect to the position of the satellite terminal over a period of time.
Rozmaryn teaches to apply the time-based factor are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: correlate the signal quality effect to the position of the satellite terminal over a period of time ([0083] “exemplary feedback scenario is for a threshold correction. For example, a customer's radio is deemed bad at the site diagnostic tool because the signal to noise ratio (Es/No) is less than a certain number of decibels (e.g., 7.5 dB). However, a technician may arrive onsite and discover that the radio is good and that the signal quality factor was actually reduced due to weather fading. Accordingly, for example, a bad radio threshold at the site diagnostic tool may be reduced to accommodate the unexpected signal fading due to the weather (e.g., reduced to 7.0 dB). It should be appreciated that the signal quality factor varies with the season and therefore, may require threshold adjustment on a regular basis”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to adjust the signal quality effect are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: apply a time-based factor to the signal quality effect, as taught by Rozmaryn in Sullivan to aid in quickly confirming the diagnosed problem.
Regarding claim 13, Sullivan teaches claim 12 but fails to teach wherein adjusting the signal quality effect comprises: applying a time-based factor to the signal quality effect.
Rozmaryn teaches wherein adjusting the signal quality effect comprises: applying a time-based factor to the signal quality effect ([0083] “exemplary feedback scenario is for a threshold correction. For example, a customer's radio is deemed bad at the site diagnostic tool because the signal to noise ratio (Es/No) is less than a certain number of decibels (e.g., 7.5 dB). However, a technician may arrive onsite and discover that the radio is good and that the signal quality factor was actually reduced due to weather fading. Accordingly, for example, a bad radio threshold at the site diagnostic tool may be reduced to accommodate the unexpected signal fading due to the weather (e.g., reduced to 7.0 dB). It should be appreciated that the signal quality factor varies with the season and therefore, may require threshold adjustment on a regular basis”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature to adjust the signal quality effect are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: apply a time-based factor to the signal quality effect, as taught by Rozmaryn in Sullivan to aid in quickly confirming the diagnosed problem.
Regarding claim 14, Sullivan in view of Rozmaryn teaches claim 13 but Sullivan fails to teach wherein applying the time-based factor comprises: correlating the signal quality effect to the position of the satellite terminal over a period of time.
Rozmaryn teaches wherein applying the time-based factor comprises: correlating the signal quality effect to the position of the satellite terminal over a period of time ([0083] “exemplary feedback scenario is for a threshold correction. For example, a customer's radio is deemed bad at the site diagnostic tool because the signal to noise ratio (Es/No) is less than a certain number of decibels (e.g., 7.5 dB). However, a technician may arrive onsite and discover that the radio is good and that the signal quality factor was actually reduced due to weather fading. Accordingly, for example, a bad radio threshold at the site diagnostic tool may be reduced to accommodate the unexpected signal fading due to the weather (e.g., reduced to 7.0 dB). It should be appreciated that the signal quality factor varies with the season and therefore, may require threshold adjustment on a regular basis”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein applying the time-based factor comprises: correlating the signal quality effect to the position of the satellite terminal over a period of time, as taught by Rozmaryn in Sullivan to aid in quickly confirming the diagnosed problem.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Richardson (US 2017/0026110).
Regarding claim 7, Sullivan teaches claim 3 but fails to teach wherein the instructions to indicate the successful or unsuccessful installation procedure are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: transmit the indication to a device different from the target satellite.
However, Richardson teaches wherein the instructions to indicate the successful or unsuccessful installation procedure are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: transmit the indication to a device different from the target satellite ([0060] “The satellite modem 30 has in it software designed to provide a user interface through a browser of a device connected to it. Using screen scraping however, the vendor-agnostic installation application on the mobile device 10 intercepts data from the satellite modem 30 intended for the user interface, and converts it for used by the installation application and/or for display to the installer within the interface of the application. The application could also be configured with a combination of APIs and screen scraping for different vendors depending on whether they make their APIs available.” FIG. 8 shows message on mobile device 10 “Modem autocommission completed successfully”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the instructions to indicate the successful or unsuccessful installation procedure are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to: transmit the indication to a device different from the target satellite, as taught by Richardson in Sullivan to simplify the process for the installer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan in view of Schmid et al. (US 2003/0048222, “Schmid”).
Regarding claim 10, Sullivan teaches claim 2 but fails to teach wherein the communication signal transceiver is further configured to: transmit the installation procedure signal to the target satellite; and receive a measured signal quality of the installation procedure signal from the target satellite, wherein the measurement corresponds to the measured signal quality
However, Schmid teaches wherein the communication signal transceiver is further configured to: transmit the installation procedure signal to the target satellite; and receive a measured signal quality of the installation procedure signal from the target satellite, wherein the measurement corresponds to the measured signal quality ([0054] “the earth station transmits a signal to the satellite from each of the various angles in which it is moving… the satellite of choice has the capability to demodulate the signal, at site. In step 320, based on the demodulated signal obtained at the satellite, link characteristic information is obtained. Link characteristic information may correspond to bit-error-rate information (BER), for example. The link characteristic information provided is the received carrier to noise (C/N) ratio” [0056] “In step 325, the link characteristic information is transmitted from the satellite to the earth station”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the communication signal transceiver is further configured to: transmit the installation procedure signal to the target satellite; and receive a measured signal quality of the installation procedure signal from the target satellite, wherein the measurement corresponds to the measured signal quality, as taught by Schmid in Sullivan to identify the position of the earth station antenna from where the link characteristic information is best.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15 and 1 respectively of Patent 10,034,183 in view of Sullivan.
Application 18/823,456
Patent 10,034,183
Note:
2. A satellite terminal, comprising:
a positioning signal receiver configured to receive a positioning signal;
a communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with a target satellite of a satellite communication system and to obtain a measurement associated with an installation procedure signal communicated with the target satellite;
one or more processors coupled with the communication signal transceiver and the positioning signal receiver; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal;
determine a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicate a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the target satellite based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to a signal quality value associated with the measurement
15. A satellite terminal, comprising:
a positioning signal receiver;
[(*) receive a positioning signal at the positioning signal receiver];
a communication signal transceiver;
[(**) determine signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the communication signal transceiver and a target satellite; ]
a processor; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the satellite terminal to:
(*) receive a positioning signal at the positioning signal receiver;
determine a first position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal;
(**) determine signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the communication signal transceiver and a target satellite;
receive a signal quality map from a device of a satellite communication system that includes the satellite terminal, the device having constructed the signal quality map before the satellite terminal determined the signal quality information corresponding to the measurement of the installation procedure transmission;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the determined first position
and the received signal quality map; and
determine whether an installation procedure was successful based at least in part on the determined signal quality information and the determined signal quality threshold.
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
[limitation] copied from below for clarification.
The same (anticipated).
[limitation] copied from below for clarification.
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated). See (*) above.
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated). See (**) above.
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Additional limitations.
The same (anticipated).
Additional limitations.
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated)
11. A method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, the method comprising: receiving information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system, wherein the information comprises position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal and signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system;
determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information.
1. A method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, comprising: receiving information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system, wherein the information comprises position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal and signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system;
receiving a signal quality map from a second device of the satellite communication system, the second device having constructed the signal quality map before the first device received the information associated with the installation procedure;
determining a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the received position information and the received signal quality map; and
determining whether the installation procedure was successful based at least in part on the received signal quality information and the determined signal quality threshold.
The same (anticipated)
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated).
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated).
The claims of Patent 10,034,183 do not teach the limitations determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold… based at least in part on the signal quality effect, as claimed by claims 2 and 11 of the present Application.
However, Sullivan teaches determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold… based at least in part on the signal quality effect ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration [sic] of about 3 dB” It is understood in order to set the threshold minimum level such that the signal-to-noise ratio is 3 dB, the noise value must be determined).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature taught by Sullivan in Patent 10,034,183 to ensure sustained high data rate for optimum service.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 1 respectively of Patent 12,101,651 in view of Sullivan.
Application 18/823,456
Patent 12,101,651
Note:
2. A satellite terminal, comprising:
a positioning signal receiver configured to receive a positioning signal;
a communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with a target satellite of a satellite communication system and to obtain a measurement associated with an installation procedure signal communicated with the target satellite;
one or more processors coupled with the communication signal transceiver and the positioning signal receiver; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal;
determine a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicate a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the target satellite based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to a signal quality value associated with the measurement.
11. A satellite terminal, comprising:
a positioning signal receiver configured to receive a positioning signal;
a communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with a target satellite or to obtain a measurement regarding an installation procedure transmission with the target satellite;
a processor coupled with the positioning signal receiver and the communication signal transceiver; memory in electronic communication with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a first position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal;
determine signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the communication signal transceiver and a target satellite of a satellite communication system;
receive a signal quality map from a device of the satellite communication system;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the first position, the signal quality map, and at least one parameter associated with the satellite terminal or the target satellite; and
communicate with the target satellite based at least in part on successful completion of an installation procedure, wherein the installation procedure is based at least in part on the received signal quality information and the determined signal quality threshold.
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Additional limitations.
Additional limitations.
The same (anticipated).
Additional limitations.
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated) + additional limitations.
11. A method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, the method comprising: receiving information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system,
wherein the information comprises position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal and signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system;
determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information.
1. A method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, comprising: receiving signal quality information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system,
wherein the signal quality information corresponds to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system; determining position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal;
receiving a signal quality map from a second device of the satellite communication system;
determining a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on the position information, the signal quality map, and at least one parameter associated with the satellite communication system; and
enabling communications using the satellite communication system based at least in part on successful completion of the installation procedure, wherein the installation procedure is based at least in part on the received signal quality information and the determined signal quality threshold.
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated).
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated) + additional limitations.
The claims of Patent 12,101,651 do not teach the limitations determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold… based at least in part on the signal quality effect, as claimed by claims 2 and 11 of the present Application.
However, Sullivan teaches determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold… based at least in part on the signal quality effect ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration [sic] of about 3 dB” It is understood in order to set the threshold minimum level such that the signal-to-noise ratio is 3 dB, the noise value must be determined).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature taught by Sullivan in Patent 12,101,651 to ensure sustained high data rate for optimum service.
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 1 respectively of application 19/058,952 in view of Sullivan.
Application 18/823,456
Patent 12,652,556
Note:
2. A satellite terminal, comprising:
a positioning signal receiver configured to receive a positioning signal;
a communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with a target satellite of a satellite communication system and to
obtain a measurement associated with an installation procedure signal communicated with the target satellite;
one or more processors coupled with the communication signal transceiver and the positioning signal receiver; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a position of the satellite terminal based on the positioning signal;
determine a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicate a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the target satellite
based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to a signal quality value associated with the measurement.
1. (Currently Amended) A satellite terminal having an array of antenna elements configured for bi-directional communication, comprising:
a global positioning system receiver coupled to a satellite terminal auxiliary antenna, the global positioning system receiver configured to receive position information;
a communication signal transceiver coupled to the array of antenna elements, the communication signal transceiver configured to communicate with at least one target satellite of a satellite communication system and to
obtain one or more measurements associated with an installation procedure with the at least one target satellite;
one or more processors coupled with the communication signal transceiver and the global positioning system receiver; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory that when executable by the one or more processors cause the satellite terminal to:
determine a position of the satellite terminal based on the position information, wherein an initial alignment of the satellite terminal is based at least in part on the position;
obtain signal strength information for an adjusted alignment of the satellite terminal relative to the initial alignment based at least in part on the one or more measurements;
determine signal quality information for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal strength information;
determine a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the at least one target satellite
based at least in part on the signal quality information; and forward, to another device, an indication of the successful or unsuccessful installation procedure.
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
The same (anticipated).
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Additional limitations.
Additional limitations.
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
The same (anticipated).
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Additional limitations.
11. A method for use at a first device in a satellite communication system, the method comprising:
receiving information associated with an installation procedure of a satellite terminal that is to connect to the satellite communication system,
wherein the information comprises position information corresponding to a position of the satellite terminal and signal quality information corresponding to a measurement of an installation procedure transmission between the satellite terminal and a target satellite of the satellite communication system;
determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal;
determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect; and
indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal
based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information.
11. A method of aligning a satellite terminal having a first antenna that includes an array of antenna elements configured for bi-directional communication comprising:
receiving position information via a second antenna that is auxiliary to the first antenna of the satellite terminal; communicating with at least one target satellite of a satellite communication system via the array of antenna elements and obtaining one or more measurements associated with an installation procedure with the at least one target satellite;
determining a position of the satellite terminal based on the position information, wherein an initial alignment of the satellite terminal is based at least in part on the position;
obtaining signal strength information for an adjusted alignment of the satellite terminal relative to the initial alignment based at least in part on the one or more measurements;
determining signal quality information for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal strength information;
determining, by the satellite terminal, a successful or unsuccessful installation procedure for the satellite terminal to the at least one target satellite based at least in part on the signal quality information; and
forwarding, by the satellite terminal to another device, an indication of the successful or unsuccessful installation procedure.
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated) + additional limitation
Additional limitations
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079].
Additional limitations
The same (anticipated)
Additional limitations
Sullivan teaches the limitations. See [0079], [0046].
The claims of Patent 12,652,556 do not teach the limitations determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect, indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation…based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information as claimed by claims 2 and 11 of the present Application.
However, Sullivan teaches determining a signal quality effect due to environmental characteristics of a region associated with the position of the satellite terminal and determine a signal quality threshold for the satellite terminal based at least in part on the signal quality effect, indicating a successful or unsuccessful installation…based at least in part on a comparison of the signal quality threshold to the signal quality information ([0079] “router computer 202 monitors signal strength received in the downlink channel (i.e., via downlink converter 226 and demodulator/decoder 228). At steps 318-326, router computer 202 records signal peaks received above a threshold minimum level. The minimum threshold relates to sky noise and low-noise-block-downconverter noise, and the absolute value of this threshold depends on the gain levels in this equipment. It should generally be set so that the threshold corresponds to a signal-to-noise ration [sic] of about 3 dB” It is understood in order to set the threshold minimum level such that the signal-to-noise ratio is 3 dB, the noise value must be determined).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature taught by Sullivan in Patent 12,652,556 to ensure sustained high data rate for optimum service.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kelly et al. (US 2003/0050015) teaches a system for automated signal measurement.
Schmidt et al. (US 6,268,826) teaches a system for determining antenna pointing parameters.
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642