DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 1-12 are rejected herein. This is a First Action on the Merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6-12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-12: These claims all contain language of action stating what is done to the structures in apparatus claims. The Examiner recommends replacing this language with language that does use action verbs. For instance, in claim 1, replacing “the mechanical low-pass filter is placed” with --the mechanical low-pass filter is located--. Similarly, in claim 11, replacing “wherein at least one hole is formed penetrating an interior of the mechanical low-pass filter” with --wherein the low-pass filter further comprises at least one hole…--. For the language “is compressed” in claims 3 and 12, the Examiner recommends explicitly reciting the structure that is doing the compressing as is done in claim 6. Please note the following language “is placed” in claim 1, “is formed” in claim 1, “is compressed” in claim 3, “placed” (2x) in claim 4, “placed” in claim 6, “is placed” in claim 7, “is pressed” in claim 7, “is placed” in claim 8, “is pressed” in claim 8, “is placed” in claim 9, “is pressed” in claim 9, “is placed” in claim 10, “is pressed” in claim 10, “is formed” in claim 11, “is compressed” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The scope of claim 1 is unclear. The claim is directed toward “a mechanical low-pass filter” however the only limitation that appears to be placed on this structure is that it “is formed of an elastomer.” All the rest of claim 1 is statements of intended use. Claim 1 states what structures the filter is positioned between (vibration source and acceleration sensor) and what its purpose is (to filter out high frequencies), but the scope of the claim appears to only be a piece of elastomer. The subject matter of claim 1 might be better represented by a method claim for removing an influence of high-frequency vibration from an acceleration sensor. Then the steps can be: providing and filter formed of an elastomer and positioning it between the acceleration sensor and the source of vibration.
Regarding claim 3: It is unclear what it means when claim 3 states that the filter “is compressed.” This sounds like a method step because there has to be something doing the compressing. However, as stated above, the only structure within the scope of claim 1 is a piece of elastomer. Therefore it seems like claim 3 is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: whatever structure is doing the compressing.
Regarding claim 4: Claim 4 is indefinite because it contains a logical contradiction. Claim 4 states that the filter is “configured to absorb an external vibration transmitted to the acceleration sensor.” However, the vibration cannot be both absorbed by the filter and transmitted to the acceleration sensor. The Examiner recommends using language such as “configured to absorb vibrations above a cut-off frequency” or something similar.
Regarding claims 7-10: Claims 7-10 are indefinite because one skilled in the art would not understand two separate pieces of elastomer (such as the pieces 122 in FIGS. 5-8 of the present application) as a single low-pass filter. Claims 4-6 refer to a single piece of elastomer as a low-pass filter, therefore for claims 7-10 to call two separate, potentially identical, pieces of elastomer a “low-pass filter” is indefinite. The Examiner recommends using language such as “further comprising an additional low-pass filter, wherein the low-pass filter is located on a lower portion of the acceleration sensor and the additional low-pass filter is located on an upper portion of the acceleration sensor” or something similar. This language has support in FIGS. 7-10 of the Applicant’s original disclosure. The Applicant may also consider using language such as “first” and “second.”
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 5-12: These claims are rejected as indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by LEBRON et al. (US 20200057088).
Regarding claim 1: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: A mechanical low-pass filter (elastic material 104B best seen in FIG. 4A; para. 35) positioned between a vibration source, which generates a high-energy phenomenon, and an acceleration sensor (This is a statement of intended use and does not limit the structure of the filter because the sensor is not within the scope of the claim. Also, the elastic material 104B is between the bottom of the assembly, where vibrations could enter the Printed circuit Board Assembly (PBA 106) having MEMS sensor 114, which is an acceleration sensor as discussed in para. 21. The purpose of this elastic layer is to attenuate high-frequency energy as discussed in para. 35.), wherein the mechanical low-pass filter is placed on one side of the acceleration sensor (Again stating where the filter is located when in use does not limit its structure, but FIG. 3 does show the elastic material on one side of the acceleration sensor 106.), and is formed of an elastomer (para. 25) and configured to absorb an external vibration transmitted to the acceleration sensor (This is a property of the elastomer and not a structural limitation, but this is also the purpose of the elastic material of LEBRON as discussed in para. 35.), to filter out a frequency higher than a cut-off frequency, and to remove an influence of a high-frequency excitation (para. 35).
Regarding claim 3: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter is compressed (para. 35, 39, 53) in a direction parallel to a direction of a transmission of a vibration (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 4: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: A frequency cut-off apparatus (FIG. 3; para. 35) comprising: a housing portion (102, 110); and a sensing portion (PBA 106 having MEMS sensor 114) placed in an interior of the housing portion (FIG. 3) and configured to measure acceleration (para. 21), wherein the sensing portion comprises: an acceleration sensor configured to sense acceleration (PBA 106 having MEMS sensor 114; para. 21); and a mechanical low-pass filter (104B; para. 35) placed on one side of the acceleration sensor (FIG. 3), formed of an elastomer (para. 25), and configured to absorb an external vibration transmitted to the acceleration sensor (para. 35).
Regarding claim 5: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the housing portion comprises: a lower frame (110 in FIG. 3) comprising an accommodating space (122) in an interior and an open upper end (FIG. 3); and an upper frame (102) configured to cover the open upper end of the lower frame (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 6: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the sensing portion further comprises: a compression means placed in an interior of the housing portion and configured to compress the mechanical low-pass filter (Para. 35, 39, and 53 describe how the flanges and structures shown in FIG. 4A cooperate to compress the bottom elastic material 104B.).
Regarding claim 7: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter (104B, 104A) is placed on an upper portion (position of 104A in FIG. 4B) and a lower portion (position of 104B) of the acceleration sensor (PBA 106), a portion of the upper frame protrudes toward the lower frame (right side of top housing 102 in FIG. 3; The deposited material 127A, discussed in para. 64 [FIG. 4B], also protrudes from upper frame/top housing), and the sensing portion is pressed and fixed in a position by the lower frame and the protruding portion of the upper frame (FIG. 4B; para. 35, 39, 53).
Regarding claim 8: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter (104B, 104A) is placed on an upper portion (position of 104A in FIG. 4B) and a lower portion (position of 104B) of the acceleration sensor (PBA 106), a portion of the lower frame protrudes toward the upper frame (part of bottom housing 110 that ends in bottom housing inner shelf 128 best seen in FIG. 4B; Deposited material 127B also protrudes upward from the bottom housing.), and the sensing portion (PBA 106) is pressed and fixed in a position by the upper frame and the protruding portion of the lower frame (para. 35, 39, 53).
Regarding claim 9: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter (104B, 104A) is placed on an upper portion (position of 104A in FIG. 4B) and a lower portion (position of 104B) of the acceleration sensor (PBA 106), a portion of the lower frame protrudes toward the upper frame (part of bottom housing 110 that ends in bottom housing inner shelf 128 best seen in FIG. 4B; Deposited material 127B also protrudes upward from the bottom housing.), a portion of the upper frame protrudes toward the lower frame (right side of top housing 102 in FIG. 3; Deposited material 127A, discussed in para. 64, also protrudes from upper frame/top housing.), and the sensing portion is pressed and fixed in a position by the protruding portion of the lower frame and the protruding portion of the upper frame (para. 35, 39, 53).
Regarding claim 10: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter (104B, 104A) is placed on an upper portion (position of 104A in FIG. 4B) and a lower portion (position of 104B) of the acceleration sensor (PBA 106), and the sensing portion is pressed and fixed in a position by the lower frame and the upper frame (para. 35, 39, 53).
Regarding claim 12: As best understood, LEBRON discloses: the mechanical low-pass filter is compressed (para. 35, 39, 53) in a direction parallel to a direction of a transmission of a vibration (The entire assembly 100 is mounted on its bottom with screws through holes 109A and 109B in FIG. 3. Therefore the vibrations will be transmitted upwards from the bottom and the compression between top housing 102 and bottom housing 110 will be parallel to the direction of transmission.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEBRON.
Regarding claims 2 and 11: As best understood, LEBRON does not disclose a hole in the filter (104A and 104B). Rather LEBRON discloses holes in the surfaces that mate with the filter, both on the PBA (106) and the top and bottom housings (102, 110) as discussed in para. 50, 61, 62, for the purposes of making a secure connection such that the elastic material “may grab, or bite onto, the three dimensional features” (para. 62). LEBRON also discloses protrusions (127A and 127B in FIG. 4B) to mate with the filter/elastic material. Therefore it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to have holes in the elastic material of LEBRON for the purpose of making a better mechanical connection between the elastic material and the surfaces that are being clamped onto as discussed in para. 62-63 of LEBRON as it only constitutes an obvious rearrangement of parts (See MPEP 2144.04 VI C). In the present case what is being moved are the “three dimensional features” of LEBRON from one surface on either the PBA or the housing to their corresponding surface on the filter/elastic material. In both cases it will produce a stronger mechanical connection as discussed in para. 61-63.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. BRAMAN et al. (US 20160103145) teaches an elastomer 610 (para. 23 FIG. 6) disposed above and below a sensor such as accelerometer (para. 15) to damp the transmission of high frequency energy into the sensor (para. 23). Several other references have been added to the Notice of References Cited for teaching sensors with damping members used to prevent the transmission of vibrations into the sensor.
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855