DETAILED ACTION
The present Office action is in response to the amendments filed on 24 NOVEMBER 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 claims “performed by decoder” and should read --performed by a decoder--
Claim 31 claims “performed by a encoder” and should read --performed by an encoder--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 26, the claim defines N as being “16 or less” and it is unclear whether it means N of claim 23 or N of claim 25. For examination purposes, the interpretation includes either N.
Examiner’s Interpretation: Each independent claim recites “an exponential function having a form
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
in which the
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
is computed using a lookup table.” Such a form of an exponential function is mathematically equivalent to a standard exponential function (i.e.,
e
x
). Therefore, whether the mathematical function is presented in a standard exponential function or in the form of
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
, they are considered equivalent and both valid for interpretation. The use of a “lookup table” is also indicative that the broadest reasonable interpretation requires the result of an exponential function and not an express presentation and calculation of the entire exponential function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-26, 29, 31-36, 39, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wennersten et al., “AHG10: Encoder-only GOP-based temporal filter” (hereinafter “Wennersten”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0077090 A1 (hereinafter “Andersson”).
Regarding claim 21, Wennersten discloses a method
applying a temporal filter to a current picture (Abstract, p. 1, “Samples in the original picture are temporally filtered”), the applying comprising:
obtaining an exponential function having a form
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
in which the
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
is computed (Section 2.1, p. 3, “
w
r
i
,
a
=
0.4
∙
s
0
∙
s
r
i
,
a
∙
e
-
∆
I
i
2
2
∙
σ
I
Q
P
2
.” Note, the exponential function is
e
and a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily be able to express the exponential function in the equivalent format of
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
);
obtaining a weight of at least one neighboring picture by multiplying a scaling function with the exponential function (Section 2.1, p. 3, “
w
r
i
,
a
=
0.4
∙
s
0
∙
s
r
i
,
a
∙
e
-
∆
I
i
2
2
∙
σ
I
Q
P
2
.” Note, the weight is
w
r
i
,
a
);
obtaining a filtered sample value of the current picture based on a sample value of the current picture and the weight of the at least one neighboring picture (Section 2.1, p. 3, “
I
n
=
I
o
+
∑
i
=
0
3
w
r
i
,
a
I
r
i
1
+
∑
i
=
0
3
w
r
i
,
a
, I0 is the original sample value, Ir is the co-located sample value in the neighboring picture I after motion compensation and wr(I,a) is the weight of neighboring picture I when the number of available neighboring pictures is equal to a”); and
replacing the sample value of the current picture with the filtered sample value (Section 2.1, p. 2, “Step 5: All sample values
I
o
of the original picture are replaced by filtered sample values
I
n
before encoding”); and
(Section 2.1, “Step 6: The filtered picture is encoded”).
Wennersten fails to expressly disclose decoder;
receiving an encoded video bitstream comprising a current picture;
decoding the encoded current picture to generate a decoded picture;
using a lookup table;
reconstructing the decoded current picture.
However, Andersson teaches decoder (FIG. 8, video decoder 60);
receiving an encoded video bitstream comprising a current picture ([0260], “The video decoder 60 comprises a decoder 61, such as entropy decoder, for decoding a bitstream comprising an encoded representation of a sample block”);
decoding the encoded current picture to generate a decoded picture (FIG. 8, video decoder 60 used for decoding the input picture. [0261], “The resulting decoded sample block output from the adder 64 is input to a device 100 for filtering a picture in order to suppress and combat any ringing artifacts”);
using a lookup table ([0084], “An alternative approach is to have one or more look-up tables (LUTs) comprising pre-computed weights.” [0178], “implemented with filtering in float or integers […] a table lookup is used to determine respective weight”);
reconstructing the decoded current picture (FIG. 8, video decoder 60 depicts the steps for reconstructing a picture and applying filtering at device 100).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the steps for decoding and using a table, as taught by Andersson (FIG. 8), in Wennersten’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Wennersten’s invention, by incorporating Andersson’s invention, because it is an obvious combination of prior-arts elements for including a decoding method to predictably reconstruct a current picture and the use of look-up tables allow for well-known techniques for faster computation.
Regarding claim 22 Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 21, as outlined above. Additionally, Andersson teaches wherein the
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
is determined using a logical shift operation ([0179] describes a logical shift as equivalent to a multiplication/division (left-shift/right-shift) factor 2). The same motivation of claim 21 applies to claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 21, as outlined above. Additionally, Andersson discloses wherein each value stored in the lookup table is less than or equal to N-bits wide ([0029] describes 8 bits used for filtering, meaning the result from a table is as large as 8 bits can represent. [0041] describes an embodiment with five bits enough to represent the largest value. Note, N-bits represents a maximum size, which is inherent to any computer implemented table). The same motivation of claim 21 applies to claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 23, as outlined above. Additionally, Andersson teaches wherein N is equal to 8 or less ([0029] describes 8 bits used for filtering, meaning the result from a table is as large as 8 bits can represent. [0041] describes an embodiment with five bits enough to represent the largest value). The same motivation of claim 21 applies to claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 23, as outlined above. Additionally, Andersson teaches wherein a size of the lookup table is equal to N values or less ([0030] describes a lookup table size with 1040 bytes and the data within is restricted to 8 bits. Note, N values or less represents a maximum size, which is inherent to any computer implemented table). The same motivation of claim 21 applies to claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 25, as outlined above. Additionally, Andersson teaches wherein N is 16 or less ([0029-0030] describes data size of N and a lookup table size with 1040 bytes (less than 16 bits)). The same motivation of claim 21 applies to claim 26.
Regarding claim 29, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 21, as outlined above. Additionally, Wennersten discloses wherein the obtaining the weight further comprises: obtaining one or more values that are multiplied with the exponential function from the lookup table (Section 2.1 discloses functions multiplying the exponential function with multiple values).
Regarding claim 31, the limitations are the same as those in claim 21. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 21 apply equally as well to claim 31.
Regarding claim 32, the limitations are the same as those in claim 22. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 22 apply equally as well to claim 32.
Regarding claim 33, the limitations are the same as those in claim 23. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 23 apply equally as well to claim 33.
Regarding claim 34, the limitations are the same as those in claim 24. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 24 apply equally as well to claim 34.
Regarding claim 35, the limitations are the same as those in claim 25. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 25 apply equally as well to claim 35.
Regarding claim 36, the limitations are the same as those in claim 26. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 26 apply equally as well to claim 36.
Regarding claim 39, the limitations are the same as those in claim 29. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 29 apply equally as well to claim 39.
Regarding claim 40, the limitations are the same as those in claim 21. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 21 apply equally as well to claim 40.
Claim(s) 27, 28, 30, 37, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wennersten et al., “AHG10: Encoder-only GOP-based temporal filter” (hereinafter “Wennersten”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0077090 A1 (hereinafter “Andersson”), and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2013/0121416 A1 (hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 27, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 21, as outlined above. Additionally, Wennersten discloses further comprising:
wherein the obtaining the weight further comprises: converting, using the scaling factor, one or more values to corresponding one or more fixed point values that are multiplied with the exponential function (Section 2.1, p. 3, “
w
r
i
,
a
=
0.4
∙
s
0
∙
s
r
i
,
a
∙
e
-
∆
I
i
2
2
∙
σ
I
Q
P
2
.” Note, the weight is
w
r
i
,
a
is a product of the scaling function
s
r
by the exponential function
e
).
Wennersten and Andersson fail to expressly disclose converting to one or more fixed point values.
However, He teaches converting to one or more fixed point values ([0124], “scaling factors w and o may be converted from floating point precision to integer precision or fixed point precision”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have converted factors of the scaling function to fixed point, as taught by He ([0124]), in Wennersten and Andersson’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Wennersten and Andersson’s invention, by incorporating He’s invention, to simplify the encoding process and the computation process ([0124]).
Regarding claim 28, Wennersten, Andersson, and He disclose every limitation of claim 27, as outlined above. Additionally, Wennersten discloses wherein the scaling factor is a power of 2 (Section 2.1 discloses scaling in multiples of 2).
Regarding claim 30, Wennersten and Andersson disclose all of the limitations of claim 29, as outlined above. Additionally, Wennersten discloses wherein the obtaining the weight further comprises: converting the one or more values obtained from the lookup table to corresponding one or more (Section 2.1, p. 3, “
w
r
i
,
a
=
0.4
∙
s
0
∙
s
r
i
,
a
∙
e
-
∆
I
i
2
2
∙
σ
I
Q
P
2
.” Note, the weight is
w
r
i
,
a
is a product of the scaling function
s
r
by the exponential function
e
).
Wennersten and Andersson fail to expressly disclose converting to one or more fixed point values.
However, He teaches converting to one or more fixed point values ([0124], “scaling factors w and o may be converted from floating point precision to integer precision or fixed point precision”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have converted factors to fixed point, as taught by He ([0124]), in Wennersten and Andersson’s invention. One would have been motivated to modify Wennersten and Andersson’s invention, by incorporating He’s invention, to simplify the encoding process and the computation process ([0124]).
Regarding claim 37, the limitations are the same as those in claim 27. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 27 apply equally as well to claim 37.
Regarding claim 38, the limitations are the same as those in claim 28. Therefore, the same limitations of claim 28 apply equally as well to claim 38.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,495 (hereinafter “Patent ‘495”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is entirely anticipated by Patent ‘495. The instant application defines an exponential function as
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
, which is a standard well-known expression of an exponential function and therefore anticipated.
The table below exemplifies the similarities between the instant application and Patent ‘495.
Instant Application
Patent ‘495
Claim 31. A method performed by a encoder, the method comprising:
Claim 1. A method performed by an encoder, the method comprising:
applying a temporal filter to a current picture, the applying comprising:
applying a temporal filter to a current picture, the applying comprising:
obtaining an exponential function having a form
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
in which the
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
is computed using a lookup table;
obtaining an exponential function, that includes an exponent with a numerator with at least one first factor and a denominator with at least one second factor, by computing the exponent of the exponential function as fixed-point values or by using at least one lookup table;
obtaining a weight of at least one neighboring picture by multiplying a scaling function with the exponential function;
obtaining a weight of at least one neighboring picture by multiplying a scaling function with the exponential function;
obtaining a filtered sample value of the current picture based on a sample value of the current picture and the weight of the at least one neighboring picture; and
obtaining a filtered sample value of the current picture based on a sample value of the current picture and the weight of the at least one neighboring picture; and
replacing the sample value of the current picture with the filtered sample value; and
replacing the sample value of the current picture with the filtered sample value; and
encoding the current picture after the temporal filter is applied.
encoding the current picture after the temporal filter is applied.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,081,746 (hereinafter “Patent ‘746”. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is entirely anticipated by Patent ‘746. The instant application defines an exponential function as
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
, which is a standard well-known expression of an exponential function and therefore anticipated. Additionally, Patent ‘746 describes the use of a lookup table in claim 5.
The table below exemplifies the similarities between the instant application and Patent ‘746.
Instant Application
Patent ‘746
Claim 21. A method performed by decoder, the method comprising:
Claim 1. A method performed by a decoder, the method comprising:
receiving an encoded video bitstream comprising a current picture;
receiving an encoded video bitstream comprising a current picture;
decoding the encoded filter to a current picture, the applying comprising:
decoding the encoded current picture to generate a decoded picture;
applying a temporal filter to a current picture, the applying comprising:
applying a temporal filter to the decoded picture, the applying comprising:
obtaining an exponential function having a form
2
i
n
t
e
g
e
r
*
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
in which the
2
f
r
a
c
t
i
o
n
is computed using a lookup table;
obtaining an exponential function, that includes a numerator with one or more factors corresponding to a motion estimation error and a denominator associated with a quantization parameter;
obtaining a weight of at least one neighboring picture by multiplying a scaling function with the exponential function;
obtaining a weight of at least one neighboring picture by multiplying a scaling function with the exponential function;
obtaining a filtered sample value of the current picture based on a sample value of the current picture and the weight of the at least one neighboring picture; and
obtaining a filtered sample value of the current picture based on a sample value of the current picture and the weight of the at least one neighboring picture; and
replacing the sample value of the current picture with the filtered sample value; and
replacing the sample value of the current picture with the filtered sample value; and
reconstructing the decoded current picture after the temporal filter is applied.
reconstructing the decoded the current picture after the temporal filter is applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STUART D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2481