DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action in response to communications received on 09/03/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed on 09/03/2024 are acknowledged.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1-9, 13-18 and 20 are rejected. Claims 10-12, and 19 are Objected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Fox (US 5,161,104), Vance (US 2015/0352452), Head (US 7,458,689), Kitching (US 6,361,430), Fenelon (US 2011/0089304) are the closest prior arts of record. Neither of the prior arts teach a first coupler engaging plate, first and second couplers with engagement in different configurations, and biasing member coupled to a base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “ …. wherein the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to drive the movement of the plate toward the one or more actuators to drive the movement of the panel away from the base”, which makes the claims indefinite. It is not clear whether the plate moves toward actuators to drive the movement of the panel away from the base, or the controller instructs the actuators to move both the plate and the panel
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Fox (US 5,161,104) in view of Vance (US 2015/0352452), and further in view of Head (US 7,458,689).
Regarding claim 1, Fox discloses the limitations of claim 1 as follows:
A ride vehicle for an amusement park attraction system, the ride vehicle comprising: a plurality of walls cooperatively defining a volume configured to receive a guest into the ride vehicle; and a panel assembly comprising a panel and a wall of the plurality of walls, wherein the wall is configured to contain the panel in a first configuration of the panel assembly, and the panel is configured to move relative to the wall and actuate out of the wall in a second configuration of the panel assembly. Fox, Abstract, Col. 3, ll. 15-49, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 2-6, 9-10, teaches a ride vehicle for an amusement park attraction system comprising a passenger cabin (ride vehicle) having a plurality of walls defining a passenger receiving volume. And teaches passenger cabin 2 includes cabin door 8, and surrounded by cabin structure 44 including side walls 56 and 58, the cabin defining a passenger compartment containing passenger seats 12. And further teaches a panel assembly comprising a movable door and a wall of the passenger cabin. And discloses ingress doors 18 and 30 and egress doors 32 and 34 mounted in the cabin walls, the doors moving relative to the cabin walls between closed and open positions to permit passenger ingress and egress.
Fox does not explicitly disclose:
The wall in configured to contain the panel in a first configuration, and the panel is configured to move relative to the wall and actuate out of the wall in a second configuration of the panel assembly.
However, Vance, Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, teaches an amusement attraction including movable show door 30 (screen) positioned within a show wall 32. The show door is configured to display images while occupying a resting position within the wall (i.e., first configuration) and is moved along a compound trajectory by a robotic actuation system to permit passage of a ride vehicle while continuing to display images. And further teaches that the show door occupies a resting position aligned with the wall and subsequently moves away from the wall under control of the robotic actuation system (i.e., second configuration). The movement of the show door is coordinated with movement of the ride vehicle through the attraction. Therefore, teaches a movable display panel associated with an amusement attraction, having first and second configurations that is actuated during operation of an amusement attraction.
Vance does not explicitly disclose that the movable display panel is contained within a ride vehicle wall.
However, Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-27, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, Col. 8, ll. 18-35, teaches a concealed movable panel supported within a surrounding structure. And teaches a movable opaque mirror/panel 18 that is received within a cavity formed in the furniture structure and selectively moved between a concealed position within the structure and an exposed position by an electrically powered lift mechanism. And further teaches that the panel is vertically movable relative to the surrounding structure and is concealed within the structure when in its lowered position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the ride vehicle of Fox by incorporating the movable display panel as taught by Vance, and employing the concealed storage arrangement as taught by Head. Such modification would have provided a display panel housed within the ride vehicle wall when not in use, and protect the panel from damage, which permits selective deployment of the display panel during operation, in order to enhance guests experience and visual effects/entertainment.
Regarding claim 2, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Fox and Vance disclose:
The ride vehicle of claim 1, comprising one or more actuators and a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more actuators, wherein the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to adjust the panel relative to the wall to transition the panel assembly between the first configuration and the second configuration. Fox, Abstract, Col. 3, ll. 15-49, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 2-6, 9-10, teaches a controller for coordinating operation of the amusement ride, including controlling door actuating systems. And teaches a ride control computer 16 that controls the door actuating system 130, receives sensor inputs, and generates appropriate signals for opening and closing the cabin doors. And further teaches that the doors are opened and closed by an actuator system 114 under control of the ride control computer.
Vance, Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, teaches a control system 22 communicatively coupled with a robotic actuation system 28, wherein the control system coordinates operation of the robotic actuation system to move the show door 30 relative to the show wall 32 between a resting position and a displaced position during operation of the ride. And further teaches that the control system issues commands to the robotic actuation system to move the show door along a compound trajectory relative to the wall in synchronization with movement of the ride vehicle.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 6, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Fox discloses:
The ride vehicle of claim 1, wherein the panel comprises a first panel and the wall comprises a first wall, the panel assembly comprises a second panel and a second wall of the plurality of walls, the second wall is configured to contain the second panel in the first configuration of the panel assembly, the second panel is configured to actuate out of the second wall in the second configuration of the panel assembly. Fox as relied upon in the rejection of claim 1, teaches a ride vehicle including a plurality of walls and multiple doors. Head as relied upon in the rejection of claim 1, teaches that each panel is concealed within an enclosure/wall in a first configuration and actuates outward in a second configuration. Vance as relied upon in the rejection of claim 1, teaches amusement attraction and controlled panel movement. Fox, Abstract, Col. 3, ll. 15-49, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 2-6, 9-10, further teaches multiple door structures positioned on respective walls of the ride vehicle for passenger ingress and egress (ingress doors 8, and egress doors 32), and the ride vehicle includes multiple walls capable of supporting corresponding door structures.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Head discloses:
The ride vehicle of claim 1, comprising a guide, wherein the panel is coupled to the guide and is configured to move along the guide to actuate out of the wall in the second configuration of the panel assembly. Head, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, and Figs. 6A-6E, teaches a movable panel (mirror 18) coupled to a lift mechanism that is guided by guide rails or channels 27 within the surrounding structure. And teaches that the mirror is vertically movable within guide channels formed in the structure. And further teaches that the lift mechanism includes side panels having geared tracks that guide movement of the lift and the attached panel. Therefore, moving the panel between concealed and exposed positions relative to the surrounding structure.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 1 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Fox (US 5,161,104) in view of Vance (US 2015/0352452), and further in view of Head (US 7,458,689), and Kitching (US 6,361,430).
Regarding claim 3, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Kitching discloses:
The ride vehicle of claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to rotate the panel about a pivot to move the panel relative to the wall. Kitching, Col. 3, ll. 6-67, Col. 4, ll. 1-18, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 1-4, teaches rotating a panel about a pivot, door sections 20A, 20B are mounted to respective hinges 22A, 22B, where the door sections rotate about the hinge pivot axes in response to an electric actuator 31 acting through lever arms 27A, 27B, and connecting linkage 29.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the movable display panel of Fox and Vance, to employ the pivoting arrangement as taught by Kitching, so that the panel rotates about a pivot during actuation. Such modification would have provided a controller instructing the one or more actuators to rotate the panel about a pivot to move the panel relative to the wall, in order to enhance reliability and controlled movement.
Regarding claim 4, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Kitching discloses:
The ride vehicle of claim 2, comprising a linkage coupled to the one or more actuators and to the panel, and wherein the one or more actuators are configured to actuate the linkage to move the panel relative to the wall. Kitching, Col. 3, ll. 6-67, Col. 4, ll. 1-18, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 1-4, teaches an actuator 31 connected to lever arm 27B, where the actuator drives a connecting linkage 29 coupled to the arms 27A, 27B that are fixed to door sections 20A, 20B. the actuator actuates the linkage to move the door sections relative to the surrounding door frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the movable display panel of Fox and Vance, to include the linkage mechanism as taught by Kitching, to transmit motion from the actuator to the movable panel, in order to enhance reliability and controlled movement.
Regarding claim 5, Fox, Vance and Head disclose the limitations of claim1. Kitching discloses:
The ride vehicle of claim 2, wherein the one or more actuators are disposed external to the wall. Kitching, Col. 3, ll. 6-67, Col. 4, ll. 1-48, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 1-4, teaches an actuator 31 connected to a mounting bracket 32 beneath the lintel 24 of the door frame, where the actuator drives a connecting linkage 29 that operates the hinged door sections 20A, 20B. the actuator is positioned outside of the movable door sections and transmits motion through the linkage rather than being housed within the door section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the movable display panel of Fox and Vance, to include the position management as taught by Kitching, to facilitate installation, maintenance of the actuator, and reduce the space required within the wall, in order to enhance accessibility and ease of maintenance.
Claims 8-9, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Head (US 7,458,689) in view of Vance (US 2015/0352452).
Regarding claim 8, Head teaches limitations of claim 8 as follows:
A panel assembly for an amusement park attraction system, the panel assembly comprising: an enclosure; a support member positioned at least partially within the enclosure; a panel coupled to the support member; and one or more actuators positioned within the enclosure, wherein the one or more actuators are configured to move the support member relative to the enclosure, thereby moving the panel relative to the enclosure to actuate the panel out of the enclosure. Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-27, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, Col. 8, ll. 18-35, teaches a panel assembly including an enclosure in the form of a furniture housing configured to conceal a movable panel. And teaches a housing or enclosure defining an internal cavity. And further teaches a movable panel (mirror 18) coupled to a support member including a support arm 38, support bracket 43, and wall plate 39, wherein the support member is positioned within the enclosure. And additionally teaches one or more actuators positioned within the enclosure. The electrically powered lift mechanism includes engine 35 (motor),power gear 42, geared tracks, and associated lift components positioned within the enclosure and configured to move the support member relative to the enclosure. Therefore, moving the panel between a concealed position within the enclosure and an exposed position outside the enclosure.
Head does not explicitly disclose that the panel assembly is for an amusement park attraction system.
However, Vance Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, teaches an amusement attraction including a movable show door 30 forming a display panel within a show wall 32, the panel being actuated during operation of an amusement park attraction to display images to the riders. Therefore, teaches employing a movable panel assembly in an amusement park attraction system.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the movable panel assembly of Head for use in the amusement park as taught by Vance. Such modification would protect the panel when not in use, and permits selective deployment of the panel during operation, in order to enhance guests experience and visual effects/entertainment.
Regarding claim 9, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 8. Head discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 8, wherein the enclosure comprises a base, and one or more actuators are configured to move the support member away from the base to actuate the panel out of the enclosure. Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-27, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, Col. 8, ll. 18-35, teaches that the enclosure comprises a base section 12, and an electrically powered lift mechanism, including an engine 35, support arm 38, and lift structure is configured to move the support member and attached panel vertically upward from the base section. Therefore, actuating the panel out of the enclosure. The mirror 18 is initially positioned within the base section 12 in a concealed position and is driven upward by the lift mechanism away from the base section to an exposed viewing position.
And Vance teaches an amusement park attraction system.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 8 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 13, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 8. Head discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 8, wherein the one or more actuators are configured to actuate the support member at least partially out of the enclosure to actuate the panel out of the enclosure. Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-27, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, Col. 8, ll. 18-35, Figs. 6A-6D, teaches that the one or more actuators are configured to actuate a support member at least partially out of the enclosure to actuate panel out of the enclosure. And teaches an electrically powered lift mechanism including an engine 35, support arm 38, lift structure, and motor driven platform that raises the support member and attached panel/mirror 18 vertically from within the enclosure to an exposed position. The support arm is driven upward by the lift mechanism, therefore, moving the attached panel out of the enclosure to expose the panel for viewing.
And Vance teaches an amusement park attraction system.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 8 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 14, Head teaches limitations of claim 14 as follows:
A panel assembly for an amusement park attraction system, the panel assembly comprising: an enclosure defining a space, wherein the enclosure comprises a cover configured to extend over the space, and the enclosure comprises a base; a panel configured to be positioned in the space defined by the enclosure; one or more actuators configured to drive movement of the panel relative to the enclosure; and a controller communicatively coupled to the one or more actuators, wherein the controller is configured to: instruct the one or more actuators to drive movement of the panel toward the base of the enclosure to transition the panel assembly to a first configuration; and instruct the one or more actuators to drive movement of the panel away from the base of the enclosure to transition the panel assembly to a second configuration. Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-50, Col. 6, ll. 13-60, Col. 7, ll. 1-52, teaches a panel assembly including an enclosure in the form of a furniture housing configured to conceal a movable panel. And teaches a housing or enclosure defining an internal cavity. And further teaches a base section 12 and an upper section 16, a movable panel/mirror 18 positioned within the enclosure, one or more actuators including an electrically powered lift mechanism having an engine 35, motor, gears, and lift structure configured to move the panel relative to the enclosure, and a controller communicatively coupled to the actuators including a remote controller 52, receiver 50, controller circuit 54, and motor controllers for selectively driving movement of the panel between a lowered concealed position and a raised exposed position.
Head does not explicitly disclose that the panel assembly is for an amusement park attraction system.
However, Vance, Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, teaches an amusement attraction including a movable show door 30 forming a display panel within a show wall 32, wherein the show door is selectively actuated under control system 22 and robotic actuation system 28 to move between positions during operation of the attraction to present images to riders.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the movable panel assembly of Head for use in the amusement park as taught by Vance. Such modification would protect the panel when not in use, and permits selective deployment of the panel during operation, in order to enhance guests experience and visual effects/entertainment.
Regarding claim 17, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 14. Head and Vance discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 14, wherein the enclosure comprises a wall defining the space, the cover is coupled to the wall, the cover is configured to move relative to the wall to expose the space, and the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to drive the movement of the panel away from the base and out of the enclosure via the space exposed by the cover to transition the panel assembly to the second configuration. Head, Col. 2, ll. 15-39, Col. 3, ll. 8-27, Col. 4, ll. 42-68, Col. 5, ll. 28-67, Col. 6, ll. 13-55, Col. 8, ll. 18-35, as relied upon in the rejection of claim 14, teaches a panel assembly including an enclosure for concealing a movable panel, a panel movable relative to the enclosure by one or more actuators, and a controller configured to operate the actuators to move the panel between a concealed first configuration and an exposed second configuration. And further teaches that the enclosure includes walls defining an interior apace in which the panel is stored when concealed.
And Vance, Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0034]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, teaches a movable show door 30 coupled to a show wall 32, wherein the show door moves relative to the wall between a resting position and a displaced position to expose an opening, and a controller 22 coordinates operation of the robotic actuation system 28 to move the show door during operation of the attraction.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 14 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 18, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 17. Head and Vance discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 17, wherein the cover is configured to rotate relative to the wall about a hinge or to translate along the wall to expose the space. Head and Vance as applied in the rejection of claim 17, teach the panel assembly including an enclosure, a movable cover associated with the enclosure wall, and a controller configured to coordinate movement of the cover and panel to transition the panel assembly between the first and second configuration.
And Vance, Paras. [0018]-[0021], [0029]-[0030], [0033]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0053]-[0069], and Figs. 2-5, further teaches a movable show door 30 coupled to a show wall 32, being moved by a robotic actuation system 28 along a compound trajectory. And explains that the door undergoes translation and rotation to move between the resting and displaced position. the robotic system move the show door outward from the wall while changing its orientation (along a compound path including translational movement).
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 14 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Head (US 7,458,689) in view of Vance (US 2015/0352452), and further in view of Fenelon (US 2011/0089304).
Regarding claim 15, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 14. Fenelon discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 14, comprising a plate, wherein the panel is coupled to a plate, the one or more actuators are configured to drive a movement of the plate relative to the enclosure to drive the movement of the panel relative to the enclosure. Fenelon, Paras. [0057]-[0062], [0068]-[0071], mount 15 has tabs that fit into slots 65 of moving front plate 14, the television is first attached to apertures 59 in mount plate 15, once the television and mount plate 15 are connected to moving front plate 14, a security screw secures them together. Therefore, teaches a lift system including a stationary back plate 13, a moving front plate 14, a mount plate 15, and a motor 23 configured to drive movement of the moving front plate relative to the stationary back plate. Further teaches that a television or monitor is attached to the mount plate 15 before installation, and the mount plate is secured to the moving front plate, such that the movement of the moving front plate by the motor corresponding drives movement of the mount plate and the attached television relative to the stationary support structure. And teaches a panel coupled to a plate, where one or more actuators are configured to drive movement of the plate relative to the enclosure to drive movement of the panel relative to the enclosure.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to employ the mounting arrangement as taught by Fenelon, to modify the amusement park attraction system of Vance. Such modification would provide a secure and stable mounting interface for the movable panel, and permits controlled movement of the panel relative to the enclosure, in order to enhance guests experience and visual effects.
Regarding claim 16, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 14. Fenelon discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 15, wherein the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to drive the movement of the plate toward the one or more actuators to drive the movement of the panel away from the base. Fenelon, Paras. [0057]-[0062], [0068]-[0071], teaches that motor 23 drives movement of moving front plate 14, to which mount plate 15 is secured, therefore, moving the mount plate relative to the stationary back plate. The electronic controls operate the motor to raise and lower the mounted television. The controller instructs the actuator to drive movement of the mount plate toward and away from the actuator assembly, therefore, moving the attached panel relative to the base.
The same motivation to combine utilized in claim 15 is equally applicable in the instant claim.
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Head (US 7,458,689) in view of Vance (US 2015/0352452), and further in view of Kitching (US 6,361,430).
Regarding claim 20, Head and Vance disclose the limitations of claim 14. Kitching discloses:
The panel assembly of claim 14, wherein the controller is configured to instruct the one or more actuators to rotate the panel relative to the enclosure to transition the panel assembly between the first configuration and the second configuration. Head teaches: an enclosure, panel, actuators, controller, and transition between concealed and exposed positions. And Vance teaches: that controller issuing commands to actuators to move a panel between positions, as relied upon in the rejection of claim 14.
Kitching, Col. 3, ll. 6-67, Col. 4, ll. 1-18, Col. 5, ll. 4-67, Col. 6, ll. 9-43, and Figs. 1-4, teaches hinged door sections 20A, 20B, hinges 22A,22B, actuator 31, linkage 29, actuator driven rotation of the door sections about the hinges axes.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the Head-Vance panel assembly to employ the pivoting arrangement as taught by Kitching, so that the panel rotates relative to the enclosure rather than translating alone, in order to enhance controlled rotational deployment.
References Considered But Not Relied Upon
Stoker (US 2013/0032053) describes a simulation technology roller coaster car that visually encapsulates passengers of the car from the surrounding environment to the car during the normal operation of a roller coaster ride such that the roller coaster car's internal simulation technology uses a computer network system to produce video and audio outputs to passengers of the vehicle for presenting an internal simulated ride theme adventure environment.
Hazzard (US 2006/0261714) describes a Furniture for receiving, storing, and displaying a flat-panel TV includes a floor mounted cabinet having a top surface. A vertically moving flat-panel TV mount is utilized for moving a flat-panel TV vertically between a position enclosed within the cabinet and an elevated position overlying the top surface of the cabinet for viewing.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 9:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615