DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (EP 3327295 A1).
Claim 1: Chen discloses a system (FIG.4A/4B is exploded view of air pump 22 in FIG.2B, as all components are stacked together on each other, after components are combined together, the cross sectional view of resulting structure of the air pump 22 is shown in FIG.6), comprising:
a tile (plate 2241 used as tile; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another) including a plurality of cooling cells (channels 221b used as cooling cells), each of the plurality of cooling cells (221b) including
a support structure (2242) and a cooling element (223 used as cooling element) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another), the cooling element (223) being supported by the support structure (2242),
the cooling element (223) being configured to undergo vibrational motion when actuated to drive a fluid (plate 222 vibrates along vertical direction in reciprocating manner, therefore causing components like 223 undergo vibration motion) toward a heat-generating structure (paragraph [7]: electric component 3 used as heat generating structure) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another); and
a hood (plate 222) coupled to the tile and directing the fluid around the plurality of cooling cells (channels 221b), wherein each of the plurality of cooling cells has a vent (vent is inherent in order for fluid flows through channels) for admitting the fluid opposite to the heat-generating structure (functional language), and wherein the hood (222) includes:
a cover plate (plate 221 used as cover plate) including at least one fluid inlet (221a) therein, where the tile (2241) is between the cover plate (221) and the heat-generating structure (electronic component 3 is located at lower section of structure 22 above plate 2242 and surface of electronic component attached to conducting plate 225); and
a frame (2232) surrounding a portion (inherent) of the plurality of cooling cells (221b) such that a fluid channel (chamber 220 is fluid channel formed between 221b and 221 and 2232 shown in FIG.2B which the cross sectional view of resulting structure is shown in FIG.6) is formed between the plurality of cooling cells (221b), the cover plate (221), and the frame (2232).
Claim 2: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the hood (222) includes the heat-generating structure (electric component 3) coupled to the tile (2241), the heat-generating structure (electric component 3) being a heat spreader (3), a fluid channel being formed between the heat spreader (3) and the tile (2241) (to clarify, chamber 200/201 together formed fluid channel between 2241 and 3 shown in FIG.2B which the cross sectional view of resulting structure is shown in FIG.6).
Claim 3: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the hood (222) includes fencing (movable part 222a used as fencing; plate 222 comprises movable part 222a, convergence chamber for converging air defined by movable part 222a of plate 222 and gas inlet plate 211 collaboratively) that guides the fluid from the plurality of cooling cells (221b) in the fluid channel (chamber 200/201 together formed fluid channel between 2241 and 3) along the heat spreader (electric component 3).
Claim 4: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the fencing (222a) is integrated with the heat spreader (electric component 3).
Claim 5: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the heat spreader (electric component 3) includes a pedestal (annotated FIG.2B), the tile (2241) being coupled to the heat spreader (3) at the pedestal (annotated FIG.2B).
Claim 8: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the hood (i.e., 222) further incudes: a lower frame (2232) between the heat spreader (electronic component located at lower section of air pump 22) (FIG.4A is exploded view of air pump 22 in FIG.2B, the cross sectional view of resulting structure of the air pump 22 is shown in FIG.6) and the plurality of cooling cells (221b).
Claim 9: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the frame (2232) is integrated into the cover plate (221).
Claim 10: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: an electrical connector (conducting pin 2232c used as electrical connector is protruding outward from frame 2232 to be electrically connected with an external circuit) coupled to the plurality of cooling cells (221b), the hood (222) having an aperture therein (as shown in FIG.6 222 has central aperture 2220), the electrical connector (2232c) passing through the aperture (as shown in FIG.6 222 has central aperture 2220).
Claim 11: Chen discloses a method, comprising:
providing a tile (plate 2241 used as tile; based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another) including a plurality of cooling cells (221b), each of the plurality of cooling cells (221b) including
a support structure (2242) and a cooling element (223 used as cooling element) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another), the cooling element being supported by the support structure (2242),
the cooling element (223) being configured to undergo vibrational motion when actuated to drive a fluid (plate 222 vibrates along vertical direction in reciprocating manner, therefore causing components like 223 undergo vibration motion) toward a heat-generating structure (paragraph [7]: electric component 3 used as heat generating structure) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, since all components of structure 22 are stacked together therefore components are connected to each other one way or another); and
providing a hood (plate 222) configured to direct the fluid around the plurality of cooling cells (channels 221b), wherein each of the plurality of cooling cells has a vent (vent is inherent in order for fluid flows through channels) for admitting the fluid opposite to the heat-generating structure (functional language), and wherein the hood (222) includes:
a cover plate a cover plate (plate 221 used as cover plate) including at least one fluid inlet (221a) therein, where the tile (2241) is between the cover plate (221) and the heat-generating structure (electronic component 3 is located at lower section of structure 22 above plate 2242 and surface of electronic component attached to conducting plate 225); and
a frame (2232) surrounding a portion (inherent) of the plurality of cooling cells (221b) such that a fluid channel (chamber 220 is fluid channel formed between 221b and 221 and 2232 shown in FIG.2B which the cross sectional view of resulting structure is shown in FIG.6) is formed between the plurality of cooling cells (221b), the cover plate (221), and the frame (2232).
Claim 12: Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the hood (222) includes the heat-generating structure (electronic component 3 is located at lower section of structure 22 above plate 2242 and surface of electronic component attached to conducting plate 225) coupled to the tile (2241),
the heat-generating structure being a heat spreader (electronic component 3), the providing the hood further including:
providing fencing (movable part 222a used as fencing; plate 222 comprises movable part 222a, convergence chamber for converging air defined by movable part 222a of plate 222 and gas inlet plate 211 collaboratively),
the fluid channel (chamber 220 is fluid channel formed between 221b and 221 and 2232) being formed between the heat spreader (3) and the tile (2241), the fencing (222a used as fencing) guiding the fluid from the plurality of cooling cells (221b) in the fluid channel (chamber 220 is fluid channel formed between 221b and 221 and 2232 shown in FIG.2B which the cross sectional view of resulting structure) along the heat spreader (3).
Claim 13: Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the fencing (222a) is integrated with the heat spreader (3).
Claim 14: Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the heat spreader (3) includes a pedestal (annotated FIG.2B), further including: coupling the tile (2241) to the heat spreader (3) at the pedestal (annotated FIG.2B).
Claim 15: Chen discloses the method as claimed in claim 11, further comprising: providing an electrical connector (conducting pin 2232c used as electrical connector is protruding outward from frame 2232 to be electrically connected with an external circuit) coupled to the plurality of cooling cells (221b), the hood (222) having an aperture (as shown in FIG.6 222 has central aperture 2220) therein, the aperture (central aperture 2220) admitting the electrical connector ( 2232c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (EP 3327295 A1).
Claim 6: Chen discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, except for an additional tile including an additional plurality of cooling cells, each of the additional plurality of cooling cells including an additional support structure and an additional cooling element, the additional cooling element being supported by the additional support structure, the additional cooling element being configured to undergo the vibrational motion when actuated to drive the fluid toward the heat spreader; and the additional tile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Chen to include an additional tile including an additional plurality of cooling cells, each of the additional plurality of cooling cells including an additional support structure and an additional cooling element, the additional cooling element being supported by the additional support structure, the additional cooling element being configured to undergo the vibrational motion when actuated to drive the fluid toward the heat spreader; and where the additional tile in order to enhance cooling the electronic component by transferring additional heat from the electronic component, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B).
Claim 7: Chen as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, except for, wherein the heat spreader includes a wall between the tile and the additional tile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Chen to include the additional tile in order to enhance cooling the electronic component by transferring additional heat, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a known device involves only routine skill in the art (Duplication of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-B).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to further modify the apparatus of Chen to include the heat spreader includes a wall between the tile and the additional tile in order to enhance cooling the electronic component by transferring additional heat from the electronic component, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (Location of parts: MPEP 2144.04 VI-C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to electronic device package:
Balakrishnan (2019/0206839 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763