DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on October 2nd, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese Patent Application No. 2023-171531 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
It is noted that reference number “11” has been used in the specification for battery modules and for an exterior body. As best understood, the exterior body and battery module are the same and the exterior body becomes a battery module after manufacturing.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to.
It is recommended to amend the claims for clarity. Among other options, claim 1 could be amended as follows:
“A method for manufacturing a battery, the method comprising: a first step of supplying an electrolytic solution to an internal space of an exterior body in which an electrode body is accommodated; and a second step of taking out the electrolytic solution from the internal space of the exterior body and supplying the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body, to the internal space of the exterior body, wherein the second step includes removing bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body.”
Among other options, claim 5 could be amended as follows:
“An apparatus for manufacturing a battery, the apparatus comprising: a first supply section that supplies an electrolytic solution to an internal space of an exterior body in which an electrode body is accommodated; and a second supply section that receives the electrolytic solution from the internal space of the exterior body and supplies the electrolytic solution receivedreceived from the internal space of the exterior body.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akimoto et al. (Applicant provided translation of JP 2015005331A) in view of Teraguchi et al. (attached translation of Applicant disclosed JP 2005197087A) and Jamadar et al. (attached translation of DE 102021206572A1).
Regarding claim 1, Akimoto et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a battery (sealed electrochemical device, Abstract, such as a battery, para. [0002]) as outlined below:
Akimoto et al. discloses the method comprises: a first step of supplying an electrolytic solution (para. [0036], such as via nozzles 611a and 611b, para. [0045]) to an internal space of an exterior body (exterior body 301) in which an electrode body (electrode body 200) is accommodated; and
a second step of supplying the electrolytic solution that has been taken out (taken out via drainage tubes 501, para. [0046] and/or nozzle 611b, para. [0046], Fig. 10c) from the internal space of the exterior body, to the internal space of the exterior body (circulation pumps including 605, 606a and 606b circulate the electrolyte from the internal space, through piping and the electrolyte tank 609 as shown above).
Akimoto et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the second step includes removing bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body.
However, Teraguchi et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a battery (injects an electrolyte solution into a battery container, para. [0001]) and Teraguchi et al. teaches removing bubbles from the electrolyte (para. [0016]) using a vacuum defoamer (para. [0009]).
Further, Jamadar et al. discloses an electrolyte circuit/circulation (para. [0041], Fig. 1) wherein electrolyte is removed from a space (within battery module 1) and may be circulated back to the space after treatment (filtering, degassing, and cooling/heating, para. [0043]) where the treatment includes degassing/bubble removal (degassing unit 55, para. [0043], ultrasonic waves generate bubbles which are removed to degas the electrolyte, para. [0024], and any bubbles formed before ultrasonic treatment would also be removed) as shown below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Akimoto et al. wherein the second step includes removing bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the method wherein the second step includes removing bubbles in order to ensure air bubbles are eliminated (Akimoto et al., para. [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Akimoto et al. discloses wherein the second step includes circulating the electrolytic solution (continuously injected and discharged, pars. [0013] and [0016], using circulation pumps 605, 606a and 606b, shown above for claim 1). It is noted that Jamadar et al. also teaches circulating the electrolytic solution (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Akimoto et al. does not expressly disclose the bubbles are removed using a vacuum defoaming device.
However, Teraguchi et al. teaches vacuum defoaming (para. [0009]) and Jamadar et al. discloses vacuum defoaming at least in that Jamadar et al. teaches using a vacuum pump (vacuum pump 71) to remove bubbles/gas (pars. [0025] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Akimoto et al. wherein the bubbles are removed using a vacuum defoaming device.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a known device for removing gas and bubbles from electrolyte.
Regarding claim 4, Akimoto et al. discloses wherein an amount of the electrolytic solution in the internal space of the exterior body is an amount such that at least half of the electrode body is immersed (the electrolyte solution is injected and the amount is adjusted until it touches the tips of nozzles 611a and 611b and the level sensor 612, para. [0045], which as shown in Fig. 9, is an amount that immerses more than half of the electrode 200).
Regarding claim 5, Akimoto et al. discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a battery (sealed electrochemical device, Abstract, such as a battery, para. [0002]) as shown above for claim 1 and below:
Akimoto et al. discloses the apparatus comprises: a first supply section (such as comprising nozzle 611a and associated piping and pumps as shown above) that supplies an electrolytic solution to an internal space (Fig. 10b or 10c) of an exterior body (exterior body 301) in which an electrode body (electrode body 200) is accommodated; and a second supply section (such as nozzle 611b and electrolyte tank 609 and associated pumps and piping as shown above) that supplies the electrolytic solution (Fig. 10b or 10d) that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body (such as via drainage tubes 501 and circulation pump 605, Fig. 8), to the internal space of the exterior body.
Akimoto et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the second supply section includes a defoaming section that removes bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body.
However, Teraguchi et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a battery (injects an electrolyte solution into a battery container, para. [0001]) and Teraguchi et al. teaches removing bubbles from the electrolyte (para. [0016]) using a vacuum defoamer (para. [0009]).
Further, Jamadar et al. discloses an electrolyte circuit/circulation (para. [0041], Fig. 1) wherein electrolyte is removed from a space (within battery module 1) and may be circulated back to the space after treatment (filtering, degassing, and cooling/heating, para. [0043]) where the treatment includes degassing/bubble removal (degassing unit 55, para. [0043], ultrasonic waves generate bubbles which are removed to degas the electrolyte, para. [0024], and any bubbles formed before ultrasonic treatment would also be removed) as shown above for claim 1 and Jamadar et al. teaches a defoaming section (degassing unit 55) at least in that Jamadar et al. teaches using a vacuum pump (vacuum pump 71) to remove bubbles/gas (pars. [0025] and [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Akimoto et al. wherein the second supply section includes a defoaming section that removes bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution that has been taken out from the internal space of the exterior body.
The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include a defoaming section that removes bubbles contained in the electrolytic solution in order to ensure air bubbles are eliminated (Akimoto et al., para. [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (attached translation of KR 20220092312A) teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a battery (Abstract) accommodating an electrode body (electrode assembly 12) and having a degassing unit (with vacuum pump 132, Fig. 4, para. [0045]) and Kim et al. teaches a first supply section (storage device 111 with nozzles, para. [0032], Fig. 2).
/P.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1774 /CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774