DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
The examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejection are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
The examiner has carefully considered applicant’s remarks filed 03/31/2026, with regards to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 101 have been considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, it is challenged that the claim cannot recite a mental process since the specification describes indicators such as QR codes, wireless beacons, and visual objects processed using computer vision. However, none of those features are recited in the claim. Instead, the claim language broadly requires, “detecting an indicator” located at a reference point, but does not require a scanner, camera, wireless receiver, computer vision processing, electronic communication with the indicator, or any decoding technique. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, the indicator may be a visible sign, marker, symbol, or label that is indicative of location information. The examiner believes that a person could observe an indicator, recognize the associated location, revise a previously determined location, and determine directions based on the revised location. The use of broadly recited control and processing circuitry to automate these observations and evaluations does not remove the claim from the mental process grouping.
Applicant remarks that the claim requires a specific transition between two locating systems. However, while the examiner has considered this, the claim does not require GPS, activation, or deactivation of either system, a handoff protocol, sensor fusion, or any particular interaction between the systems. Instead, it has been interpreted to merely retrieve information from a first locating system and a sparse map from a second locating system. The claim doesn’t define how the sparse map is generated or structured, how the indicator is detected or decoded, or how the updated location is calculated. With respect to the claim considered as a whole, the language of the claim clearly uses generic circuitry, memory, locating systems, and a display to collect location related information, analyze the retrieved information, update a location, and display directions on a user device. Given this, the claim does not appear to recite any technological improvements that provides an advancement, or improvement to the operation of the user device, or locating systems. Applicant draws reference to Desjardins, however the claims do not reflect the particular technical architecture responsible for the argued improvement. In the current application, the QR code, beacon, computer vision, and system transition features are not required by the claim. The reference to Core Wireless is also not persuasive as the claims in that instance recited a specific improved user interface arrangement. The present claims merely generate navigational directions for a display and do not recite any particular improvement to the display or interface. As such, the examiner respectfully disagrees and the rejection is maintained.
The examiner has carefully considered applicant’s remarks, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 103, however respectfully disagrees. It is challenged that the prior art of Schwartz does not teach detecting an indicator located at a reference point as the claims require detecting a specific indicator that is physically present at a reference point in the sparse map and that encodes location information. In light of the claim language, the claim broadly recites, “an indicator” located at a reference point and encoding location information. The examiner believes that it does not require the “specific indicator” as stated by the applicant as any mention of QR code, wireless transmission, or retrieval of information directly from the indicator are not presently required in the claims. The general disclosure of Mittal teaches detecting physical, visually identifiable features from ground-level images and associated those features with corresponding geographic locations. The detected features constitutes an indicator located at a reference point and encoding information as its detected identity and correspondence indicate the known geographic location of that reference point. The “encoding” language of the claims does not require that the indicator electronically transmit the information or contain a machine-readable code. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Yes, the claims are directed towards a method and system which each fall within at least one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A (Prong 1)
Claim 1
A method comprising:
determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system
detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map
detecting an indicator associated with the reference point
retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device
updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point
generate for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute at least one mental process because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. Emphasized above, the “determining” and “detecting” steps encompasses a person recognizing the presence of information, such as a reference point and indicator near a user, and evaluating the data to determine a condition, in this case, the user’s location. Similarly, the “updating” step consists of a person replacing former information in response to changes in the data. Additionally, the examiner would like to note that the incorporation of these abstract ideas through mediums such as, “control” and “processing” circuitry does not render the claim from being abstract. The circuitry is considered a generic computer component merely meant to implement the abstract idea, and is considered “apply it” level. Thus, claim 1 recites at least one mental process.
Claim 11
A system comprising control circuitry configured to:
determine a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieve, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system;
detect that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map
detect an indicator associated with the reference point;
retrieve updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device
update, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point
generate for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute at least one mental process because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. Emphasized above, the “determine” and “detect” steps encompasses a person recognizing the presence of information, such as a reference point and indicator near a user, and evaluating the data to determine a condition, in this case, the user’s location. Similarly, the “update” step consists of a person replacing former information in response to changes in the data. Additionally, the examiner would like to note that the incorporation of these abstract ideas through mediums such as, “control” and “processing” circuitry does not render the claim from being abstract. The circuitry is considered a generic computer component merely meant to implement the abstract idea, and is considered “apply it” level. Thus, claim 1 recites at least one mental process.
STEP 2A (Prong 2)
Claim 1
A method comprising:
determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system
detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map
detecting an indicator associated with the reference point
retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device
updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point
generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device
The examiner submits that the above identified additional limitation does not integrate the previously discussed abstract ideas into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of, “retrieving,” and “generating,” they are forms of insignificant extra- solution activity. The “retrieving” step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining etc., sensor data regarding an environment associated with a mobile structure) and amounts to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “generating” step is recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of information processing/rendering and execution of outputting, generating, displaying the received data) and is a post solution action which are also forms of insignificant extra-solution activities.
Additionally, the examiner submits that the identified additional limitations do not integrate the previously discussed abstract ideas into practical applications. The recited facilities such as the “control circuitry,” and “processing circuitry,” are generic computer components meant to implement the abstract ideas into a computer and merely “apply” the mental judgements in a general-purpose vehicle controls environment.
Claim 11
A system comprising control circuitry configured to:
determine a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieve, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system;
detect that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map
detect an indicator associated with the reference point;
retrieve updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device
update, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point
generate for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device
The examiner submits that the above identified additional limitation does not integrate the previously discussed abstract ideas into a practical application. Regarding the additional limitations of, “retrieve,” and “generate,” they are forms of insignificant extra- solution activity. The “retrieve” steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of receiving, obtaining etc., sensor data regarding an environment associated with a mobile structure) and amounts to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The “generate” step is recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of information processing/rendering and execution of outputting, generating, displaying the received data) and is a post solution action which are also forms of insignificant extra-solution activities.
Additionally, the examiner submits that the identified additional limitations do not integrate the previously discussed abstract ideas into practical applications. The recited facilities such as the “control circuitry,” and “processing circuitry,” are generic computer components meant to implement the abstract ideas into a computer and merely “apply” the mental judgements in a general-purpose vehicle controls environment.
STEP 2B
Claims 1 and 11 do not include additional elements (considered individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above. The additional elements such as “control circuitry” and “processing circuitry” to perform the steps amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using generic computer components. General application of an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Thus, since claims 1 and 11 are: (a) directed towards abstract ideas, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 do not recite further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The limitations of the dependent claims are directed towards additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For instance, the recitations of “retrieving updated mapping information,” (claim 3), “determining user device’s location,” (claim 5), “updating the location of the user device,” (claim 7), “determining that the user device,” (claim 10), “receiving updated mapping information,” (claim 13), “updating the location of the user,” (claim 15), are additional abstract ideas that have no been integrated into practical application. The “determining” and “detecting” steps encompasses a person recognizing the presence of information, such as a reference point and indicator near a user, and evaluating the data to determine a condition, in this case, the user’s location. Similarly, the “updating” step consists of a person replacing former information in response to changes in the data that can be done mentally through observation, or pen and paper.
As such, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and this are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz Maxim et al. (US20230392952A1), hereinafter referred to as Maxim, in view of, Mittal Anish et al. (US20200132472A1), hereinafter referred to as Anish.
Regarding claim 1, Maxim discloses: a method comprising: determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0200], [0397]-[0398], which discloses the determination of a location of a system which incorporates a user device (interface) by processing signals broadcasted by global positioning system satellites, this means determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system)
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system (see at least Maxim, Fig.8, 9B, 10; ¶¶ [0384]-[0388], [0430] discloses the vehicle navigation system determining that there is a detected delay in signals of acquiring the map section needed from the global positioning system, and switching to a sparse map from a second locating system; ¶¶ [0184]-[0186], [0188]-[0189], [0195]-[0197], which discloses utilizing a sparse map acquired from stored data relating to a road and potential landmarks on the road related to the area without requiring excessive data storage, or data transfer rates, this means based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system)
generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0433]-[0434] which discloses generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device)
Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish teaches: detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0003]-[0006], [0064] which discloses detection of reference points near the user device’s camera indicated in the location-corrected map features via the mapping platform, this means detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map)
detecting an indicator located at the reference point, the indicator encoding location information associated with the reference point (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0033]-[0034], [0048]-[0049], which discloses the detection of an identifiable feature with the reference point, this means detecting an indicator (reference source, localizer) associated with the reference point)
retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0033]-[0034], [0048]-[0049] which discloses the system retrieving mapping information associated with an identifiable feature by accessing stored image-to-ground correspondence data (geo-referencing) that links the detected features to a known geographic location with real-world coordinates, this means retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device)
updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point (see at least Anish, Fig.1, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052] which discloses the system updating location information by correcting, or adjusting the camera pose, where the device is and its orientation, using the retrieved image-to-ground correspondence associated with the identified feature, this means updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map, detecting an indicator associated with the reference point, retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device, and updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point as taught by Anish. The examiner would like to note that “an indicator” is briefly present in the disclosure of Maxim, however, it appears to mostly be associated with inertial measurements from the vehicle, and/or other vehicles via crowdsourcing, rather than indicators that localize certain mapping information. As such, the reference of Anish has been provided for indicator relevancy to the mapped invention. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 3, Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052], [0066]-[0067], wherein the indicator is a wireless signal and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal as taught by Anish. The examiner would like to note that “an indicator” is briefly present in the disclosure of Maxim, however, it appears to mostly be associated with inertial measurements from the vehicle, and/or other vehicles via crowdsourcing, rather than indicators that localize certain mapping information. As such, the reference of Anish has been provided for indicator relevancy to the mapped invention. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 4, Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052], [0066]-[0067], wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI as taught by Anish. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 5, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a visual object, and wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on determining the user device's location relative to the visual object (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [00179]-[0180] which discloses wherein the indicator is a visual object, and wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on determining the user device's location relative to the visual object such as lane markings, a detected vehicle, etc.)
Regarding claim 6, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) associated with the user device, IMU location information (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses receiving, from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) associated with the user device, IMU location information)
calibrating the IMU location information based on the updated location of the user device (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses calibrating the IMU location information based on the updated location of the user device)
Regarding claim 7, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 6, wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on the IMU location information (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses updating the location of the user device is further based on the IMU location information)
Regarding claim 6, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the first locating system is a global positioning system (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0200], [0397]-[0398], which discloses the determination of a location of a system which incorporates a user device (interface) by processing signals broadcasted by global positioning system satellites, this means determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system)
Regarding claim 7, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the navigational directions are displayed using a first application (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0077]-[0081], [0433]-[0434] which discloses generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device using a first application)
Regarding claim 8, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the first locating system is a global positioning system (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0200], [0397]-[0398], which discloses the determination of a location of a system which incorporates a user device (interface) by processing signals broadcasted by global positioning system satellites, this means determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system)
Regarding claim 9, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the navigational directions are displayed using a first application (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0077]-[0081], [0433]-[0434] which discloses generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device using a first application)
Regarding claim 10, Maxim discloses: the method of claim 9, further comprising,
switching, based on determining that the user device entered the area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, from displaying the navigational directions using the first application to displaying the navigational directions using a second application (see at least Maxim, Fig.8, 9B, 10; ¶¶ [0384]-[0388], [0430] discloses the vehicle navigation system determining that there is a detected delay in signals of acquiring the map section needed from the global positioning system, and switching to a sparse map from a second locating system; ¶¶ [0184]-[0186], [0188]-[0189], [0195]-[0197], which discloses utilizing a sparse map acquired from stored data relating to a road and potential landmarks on the road related to the area without requiring excessive data storage, or data transfer rates, this means based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system)
Regarding claim 11, Maxim discloses: a system comprising control circuitry configured to: determine a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0200], [0397]-[0398], which discloses the determination of a location of a system which incorporates a user device (interface) by processing signals broadcasted by global positioning system satellites, this means determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system)
based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieve, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system (see at least Maxim, Fig.8, 9B, 10; ¶¶ [0384]-[0388], [0430] discloses the vehicle navigation system determining that there is a detected delay in signals of acquiring the map section needed from the global positioning system, and switching to a sparse map from a second locating system; ¶¶ [0184]-[0186], [0188]-[0189], [0195]-[0197], which discloses utilizing a sparse map acquired from stored data relating to a road and potential landmarks on the road related to the area without requiring excessive data storage, or data transfer rates, this means based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system)
generate for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0433]-[0434] which discloses generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device)
Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish teaches:
detect that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0003]-[0006], [0064] which discloses detection of reference points near the user device’s camera indicated in the location-corrected map features via the mapping platform, this means detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map)
detect an indicator located at the reference point, the indicator encoding location information associated with the reference point, retrieve updated mapping information associated with the indicator (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0033]-[0034], [0048]-[0049], which discloses the detection of an identifiable feature with the reference point, this means detecting an indicator (reference source, localizer) associated with the reference point and retrieving updated mapping information)
the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0033]-[0034], [0048]-[0049] which discloses the system retrieving mapping information associated with an identifiable feature by accessing stored image-to-ground correspondence data (geo-referencing) that links the detected features to a known geographic location with real-world coordinates, this means retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device)
update, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point (see at least Anish, Fig.1, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052] which discloses the system updating location information by correcting, or adjusting the camera pose, where the device is and its orientation, using the retrieved image-to-ground correspondence associated with the identified feature, this means updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include detecting that the user device is near a reference point indicated in the mapping information of the sparse map, detecting an indicator associated with the reference point, retrieving, using processing circuitry, updated mapping information associated with the indicator, the updated mapping information including updated location information of the user device, and updating, using processing circuitry, the location of the user device based on the updated location information associated with the reference point as taught by Anish. The examiner would like to note that “an indicator” is briefly present in the disclosure of Maxim, however, it appears to mostly be associated with inertial measurements from the vehicle, and/or other vehicles via crowdsourcing, rather than indicators that localize certain mapping information. As such, the reference of Anish has been provided for indicator relevancy to the mapped invention. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 13, Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal, and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052], [0066]-[0067], wherein the indicator is a wireless signal and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises retrieving information from the wireless signal as taught by Anish. The examiner would like to note that “an indicator” is briefly present in the disclosure of Maxim, however, it appears to mostly be associated with inertial measurements from the vehicle, and/or other vehicles via crowdsourcing, rather than indicators that localize certain mapping information. As such, the reference of Anish has been provided for indicator relevancy to the mapped invention. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 14, Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Anish discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI (see at least Anish, ¶¶ [0027]-[0030], [0049]-[0052], [0066]-[0067], wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a wireless signal comprising information related to a uniform resource identifier (URI), and wherein retrieving updated mapping information comprises accessing information using the URI as taught by Anish. Incorporating the teachings would create an improvement to the base invention of Maxim that enables the system, in addition to the sparse mapping obtained via a second locating system, to correct positioning errors through known identifiable map indicators that may be detected by the user device.
Regarding claim 15, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the indicator is a visual object, and wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on determining the user device's location relative to the visual object (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [00179]-[0180] which discloses wherein the indicator is a visual object, and wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on determining the user device's location relative to the visual object such as lane markings, a detected vehicle, etc.)
Regarding claim 16, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
receive, from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) associated with the user device, IMU location information (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses receiving, from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) associated with the user device, IMU location information)
calibrate the IMU location information based on the updated location of the user device (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses calibrating the IMU location information based on the updated location of the user device)
Regarding claim 17, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 16, wherein updating the location of the user device is further based on the IMU location information (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0188]-[0189], [0202]-[0204], [0244], [0266]-[0267] which discloses updating the location of the user device is further based on the IMU location information)
Regarding claim 18, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the first locating system is a global positioning system (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0200], [0397]-[0398], which discloses the determination of a location of a system which incorporates a user device (interface) by processing signals broadcasted by global positioning system satellites, this means determining, using control circuitry, a location of a user device based on location information retrieved from a first locating system)
Regarding claim 19, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 11, wherein the navigational directions are displayed using a first application (see at least Maxim, ¶¶ [0077]-[0081], [0433]-[0434] which discloses generating for display navigational directions based on the updated location of the user device using a first application)
Regarding claim 20, Maxim discloses: the system of claim 19, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
switch, based on determining that the user device entered the area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, from displaying the navigational directions using the first application to displaying the navigational directions using a second application (see at least Maxim, Fig.8, 9B, 10; ¶¶ [0384]-[0388], [0430] discloses the vehicle navigation system determining that there is a detected delay in signals of acquiring the map section needed from the global positioning system, and switching to a sparse map from a second locating system; ¶¶ [0184]-[0186], [0188]-[0189], [0195]-[0197], which discloses utilizing a sparse map acquired from stored data relating to a road and potential landmarks on the road related to the area without requiring excessive data storage, or data transfer rates, this means based on determining that the user device is near an area with limited connectivity to the first locating system, retrieving, from a memory, a sparse map from a second locating system, wherein the sparse map includes mapping information related to the area with low connectivity to the first locating system)
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Maxim, in view of Ben-Shachar Ido et al. (WO20240173511A2), hereinafter referred to as Ido.
Regarding claim 2, modified Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Ido teaches: the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a quick response (QR) code comprising information related to spatial coordinates related to the area with limited connectivity (see at least Ido, ¶¶ [0385]-[0386] which discloses the indicator of mapping information associated with a reference point being a QR code comprising information related to spatial coordinates related to the traversed area)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further adapt modified Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a quick response (QR) code comprising information related to spatial coordinates related to the area with limited connectivity as taught by Ido. Incorporating this would create an improvement to the base invention of modified Maxim allows for a stable indicator to be utilized by the system that doesn’t require RF signals, and may be detected by a camera.
Regarding claim 12, modified Maxim is silent on, however, in the same field of endeavor, Ido teaches: the system of claim 11, wherein the indicator is a quick response (QR) code comprising information related to the area with limited connectivity (see at least Ido, ¶¶ [0385]-[0386] which discloses the indicator of mapping information associated with a reference point being a QR code comprising information related to spatial coordinates related to the traversed area)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to further adapt modified Maxim to include the method of claim 1, wherein the indicator is a quick response (QR) code comprising information related to spatial coordinates related to the area with limited connectivity as taught by Ido. Incorporating this would create an improvement to the base invention of modified Maxim allows for a stable indicator to be utilized by the system that doesn’t require RF signals, and may be detected by a camera.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTEN JADE M SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664