DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., US Patent Publication 2021/0333884 in view of Krivoruchko et al., US Patent Publication 2024/0256049.
Regarding independent claim 1, Li et al. teaches a method comprising:
obtaining hand tracking data for a hand based on one or more camera frames (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 tracks the hand based on a video frame and subsequent frames from a camera of the gesture-controlled device 100);
detecting, at a first frame, a change in motion characteristics of the hand satisfies a threshold change in motion characteristics (as given in paragraph 0066 where changes in location of hand and threshold to be determined change are detected by the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0066 explains the use of the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 and allowing changes in the location of the hand within subsequent frames to be interpreted as corresponding changes to the location of the hand);
detecting, at a second frame, a change in hand gesture status (changes to the location of the hand that are the movement of the hand as given in paragraph 0066) corresponding to a hand gesture associated with a user input action (paragraph 0059 explains that the hand movements are classified as hand gestures that are used as command inputs); and
in response to the determination, adjusting a hand location for a user input action in accordance with a hand location at the first frame (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand location is determined based on the actions and gestures of the user and adjusted appropriately).
Although implied, Li et al. does not specify the method determining that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame based on the hand tracking data for the hand.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the method determining that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame (paragraph 0174 describes the pinch gesture as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0154 explains that the hand location is determined by the image sensors 314 that are the hand-tracking camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to define the pinch gesture based on time thresholds as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to determine if the gesture is an immediate gesture and to differentiate between different gestures based on the timing (paragraph 0174 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Krivoruchko et al. teaches further the method of claim 1, wherein the user input action is a markup action comprising adding or removing a markup on a user interface in accordance with the change in motion characteristics (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture and paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first frame is captured before the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from a pinch to an unpinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
removing markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with a hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
removing markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with a hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first frame is captured after the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from an unpinch to a pinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
removing markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface the hand location associated with the second frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
removing markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface the hand location associated with the second frame (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 4, and
obtaining historic hand locations for frames captured between the first frame and the second frame (paragraph 0073 explains the capture of historic hand locations at all of the different time points).
Li et al. does not specify that wherein removing markup comprises: removing markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches wherein removing markup comprises: removing markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other to be historic hand locations in other frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first frame is captured after the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from a pinch to an unpinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
adding markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko teaches the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
adding markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first frame is captured before the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from an unpinch to a pinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
adding markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko et al. the method further comprising, in response to the determination:
adding markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teaches the method of claim 7, and
obtaining historic hand locations for frames captured between the first frame and the second frame (paragraph 0073 explains the capture of historic hand locations at all of the different time points); and
Li et al. does not specify wherein adding markup comprises: adding the markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches wherein adding markup comprises: adding the markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other to be historic hand locations in other frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding independent claim 9, Li et al. teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors (paragraphs 0023, 0055, 0099, and 0173 describe the use) to:
obtain hand tracking data for a hand based on one or more camera frames (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 tracks the hand based on a video frame and subsequent frames from a camera of the gesture-controlled device 100);
detect, at a first frame, a change in motion characteristics of the hand satisfies a threshold change in motion characteristics (as given in paragraph 0066 where changes in location of hand and threshold to be determined change are detected by the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0066 explains the use of the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 and allowing changes in the location of the hand within subsequent frames to be interpreted as corresponding changes to the location of the hand);
detect, at a second frame, a change in hand gesture status (changes to the location of the hand that are the movement of the hand as given in paragraph 0066) corresponding to a hand gesture associated with a user input action (paragraph 0059 explains that the hand movements are classified as hand gestures that are used as command inputs); and
in response to the determination, adjust a user input action in accordance with a hand location at the first frame (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand location is determined based on the actions and gestures of the user and adjusted appropriately).
Although implied, Li et al. does not specify the medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors to determine that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame based on the hand tracking data for the hand.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors (as given in paragraph 0052) to determine that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame (paragraph 0174 describes the pinch gesture as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0154 explains that the hand location is determined by the image sensors 314 that are the hand-tracking camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to define the pinch gesture based on time thresholds as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to determine if the gesture is an immediate gesture and to differentiate between different gestures based on the timing (paragraph 0174 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Krivoruchko et al. teaches further the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the user input action is a markup action comprising adding or removing a markup on a user interface in accordance with the change in motion characteristics (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture and paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first frame is captured after the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from an unpinch to a pinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
remove markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface the hand location associated with the second frame.
Krivoruchko teaches the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
remove markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface the hand location associated with the second frame (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 12, Li et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first frame is captured after the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from a pinch to an unpinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first frame is captured before the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from an unpinch to a pinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the medium further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, and to
obtain historic hand locations for frames captured between the first frame and the second frame (paragraph 0073 explains the capture of historic hand locations at all of the different time points).
Li et al. does not specify the medium wherein the computer readable code to add markup comprises computer readable code to: add the markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the medium wherein the computer readable code to add markup comprises computer readable code to: add the markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other to be historic hand locations in other frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding independent claim 15, Li et al. teaches a system comprising:
one or more processors (paragraphs 0023, 0055, 0099, and 0173 describe the use); and
one or more computer readable media comprising computer readable code executable by the one or more processors (paragraphs 0023, 0055, 0099, and 0173 describe the use) to:
obtain hand tracking data for a hand based on one or more camera frames (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 tracks the hand based on a video frame and subsequent frames from a camera of the gesture-controlled device 100);
detect, at a first frame, a change in motion characteristics of the hand satisfies a threshold change in motion characteristics (as given in paragraph 0066 where changes in location of hand and threshold to be determined change are detected by the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0066 explains the use of the hand detection and tracking subsystem 516 and allowing changes in the location of the hand within subsequent frames to be interpreted as corresponding changes to the location of the hand);
detect, at a second frame, a change in hand gesture status (changes to the location of the hand that are the movement of the hand as given in paragraph 0066) corresponding to a hand gesture associated with a user input action (paragraph 0059 explains that the hand movements are classified as hand gestures that are used as command inputs); and
in response to the determination, adjust a user input action in accordance with a hand location at the first frame (paragraph 0066 explains how the hand location is determined based on the actions and gestures of the user and adjusted appropriately).
Although implied, Li et al. does not specify the system comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors to determine that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame based on the hand tracking data for the hand.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the system comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors (as given in paragraph 0052) to determine that the second frame is within a threshold time period of the first frame (paragraph 0174 describes the pinch gesture as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other) based on the hand tracking data for the hand (paragraph 0154 explains that the hand location is determined by the image sensors 314 that are the hand-tracking camera).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to define the pinch gesture based on time thresholds as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to determine if the gesture is an immediate gesture and to differentiate between different gestures based on the timing (paragraph 0174 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 16, Krivoruchko et al. teaches further the system of claim 15, wherein the user input action is a markup action comprising adding or removing a markup on a user interface in accordance with the change in motion characteristics (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture and paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture).
Regarding claim 17, Li et al. teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the first frame is captured before the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from a pinch to an unpinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. teaches the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
remove markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with a hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
remove markup on the user interface from a location on the user interface associated with a hand location in the first frame to a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. teaches the system of claim 16, and to
obtain historic hand locations for frames captured between the first frame and the second frame (paragraph 0073 explains the capture of historic hand locations at all of the different time points); and
Li et al. does not specify the system wherein the computer readable code to remove the markup comprises computer readable code to: remove markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations.
Krivoruchko et al. the system wherein the computer readable code to remove the markup comprises computer readable code to: remove markup on the user interface in accordance with the historic hand locations (paragraph 0236 describes removing the markup of the line 766 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other to be historic hand locations in other frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 19, Li et al. teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the first frame is captured after the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from a pinch to an unpinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the first frame is captured before the second frame, and wherein the change in hand gesture status comprises a transition from an unpinch to a pinch (paragraph 0065 explains the gesture as going between the pinch open shape 36 and the pinch closed shape 38).
Li et al. does not specify the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame.
Krivoruchko et al. teaches the system further comprising computer readable code to, in response to the determination:
add markup on the user interface between a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the second frame and a location on the user interface associated with the hand location in the first frame (paragraphs 0212 and 0274 discuss adding things in a markup mode and paragraphs 0233 and 0235 describes adding the markup of the line 760 based on the pinch gesture which is described in paragraph 0174 as being changes in hand location in frames within threshold times of each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to adjust markup based on gesture as taught by Krivoruchko et al. in the system of Li et al. The rationale to combine would be to reduce the number, extent, and/or the nature of the inputs from a user and produce a more efficient human-machine interface (paragraph 0007 of Krivoruchko et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that Li is silent regarding a change in hand gesture status based on the hand gesture because there is no discussion of the threshold change in motion characteristics being satisfied to yield an adjustment. The examiner disagrees. Paragraph 0066 explains that the hand is tracked and defined relatively to the other objects in the frame and Krivoruchko et al. is cited for teaching the threshold as explained above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627