DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)as being anticipated by Funamoto (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0116632).
Regarding claim 18.
A display panel comprising:
Funamoto Fig. 18 discloses:
a substrate (10)including an active area(200) that displays an image and a non-active(A) area that does not display the image;
an insulating film(240) on the substrate(10);
a first electrode(141) on the insulating film(240), the first electrode(141) including a first portion(141 bottom) that is substantially flat and a second portion(141 portion along 150) that extends from the first portion(141 bottom) and is inclined with respect to the substrate(141 inclined with respect to 10);
a bank(149) including an end(149 on bottom of 141) that is on the first portion of the first electrode(149 end on bottom of 141) and an inclined portion(149 inclined portion of 141 along 150) that is on the second portion of the first electrode(149 on 141), wherein an angle of an inclined surface of the end of the bank(bottom of 149 long bottom of 141) with respect to the substrate(10) is different from an angle of an inclined surface of the inclined portion of the bank with respect to the substrate(inclined portion of 149 along 141 and 150 different than bottom of 149 along bottom of 141);
a light emitting layer(140) on the first electrode(140 on 141 and 149) and the bank; and a second electrode(154) on the light emitting layer(154 on 140 and 149) and the bank.
Regarding claim 19.
Funamoto Fig. 18 discloses:
The display panel of claim 18, wherein the insulating film(240) includes at least one concave portion(141 along bottom of 140) in the active area(140), the concave portion having a flat portion(240), an inclined portion that extends from the flat portion and surrounds the flat portion(240 along incline), and a side portion(240 left and right) that extends from the inclined portion(240 portion along top of 240a) and is farther from the substrate than the flat portion(portion on top of bottom of 141).
Regarding claim 20.
Funamoto Fig. 18 discloses:
The display panel of claim 19, wherein the first electrode(141) further includes a third portion that extends from the second portion(141 extending to right from inclined portion) and is farther from the substrate than the first portion(141 portion on top of 240 further from substrate than bottom of 141)of the first electrode, wherein the first portion of the first electrode is on the flat portion of the concave portion(141 bottom on flat portion of 240), the second portion of the first electrode(141 on inclined portion) is on the inclined portion of the concave portion, and the third portion of the first electrode is on the side portion of the concave portion(141 at top of incline of the 240).
Regarding claim 21.
Funamoto Fig. 18 discloses:
The display panel of claim 20, wherein an area in which the bank (inclined portion of 141)and the first portion of the first electrode(141 bottom) are non-overlapping is a first light emitting area(140), and an area in which the bank and the first portion of the first electrode overlap (141 edges of incline top)each other in the flat portion of the concave portion is a first non-light emitting area(140b emitting), and wherein an area in which the bank and the inclined portion of the first electrode overlap is a second light emitting area(140B emitting along incline area), and an area in which the bank overlaps the third portion of the first electrode is a second non-light emitting area(top of incline at 141 being non emitting.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are hereby allowed.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
the prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
a substrate including an active area that displays an image and a non-active area that does not display the image; an insulating film disposed on the substrate, the insulating film including at least one concave portion in the active area, the concave portion having a flat portion, an inclined portion that extends from the flat portion and surrounds the flat portion, and a side portion that extends from the inclined portion and is farther from the substrate than the flat portion; a first electrode on the side portion, the inclined portion, and the flat portion of the concave portion of the insulating film; a bank including a first part, a second part, and a third part, wherein the first part is disposed on the first electrode and overlaps a portion of the flat portion of the concave portion, the second part extends from the first part and overlaps the inclined portion of the concave portion, and the third part extends from the second part and overlaps the side portion, wherein an angle of an inclined surface of the first part of the bank with respect to the flat portion is different from an angle of an inclined surface of the second part of the bank with respect to the flat portion; an organic light emitting layer on the first electrode and the bank, the organic light emitting layer overlapping the concave portion of the insulating film; and a second electrode disposed on the organic layer and the bank, the second electrode overlapping the concave portion of the insulating film, as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898