DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment was filed on 10/15/2026. Claims 32 and 44-45 have been amended. Currently, claims 32-51 are pending and are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 32 and 44 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of art applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Notably, another embodiment of de Juan Jr demonstrates a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, the applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been considered and are persuasive, and thus the respective rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-35 and 44-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan Jr (US 20120095439).
Regarding claim 32, de Juan Jr discloses a drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous (paragraph 0239, “The therapeutic device can be positioned so as to extend from the pars plana region into the vitreous humor 30 to release the therapeutic agent”), the device comprising:
a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye (fig. 7B-5, distal region defined in annotated figure below), the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir (fig. 7B-5, reservoir 140 formed by internal surfaces) having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent (paragraph 0040, wherein the amount of doses is also dependent on the size of each dose), wherein a drug release element (150) is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet (fig. 7B-5, porous structure to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir, paragraph 0308);
a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye (fig. 7B-5, neck as defined in annotated figure below), a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter (fig. 7B-1 and 7B-2 show a narrow portion 120NP having a short distance 120NS and a long distance 120 NL), wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous (fig. 7B-6E2 more clearly shows that the major axis of the neck narrows down and forms a pinched area. As best understood by the instant specification, the prevention of the neck region rotating relative to the penetration site is inherent to the structure of the pinched region);
a flange element proximal to the neck region (fig. 7B-1, flange 122/retention structure 120)
and a septum (184) positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region (fig. 7B-6F shows a penetrable barrier 184 as a septum inserted into access port 180, paragraph 0401).
The embodiment of fig. 7B of de Juan Jr does not teach a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, an embodiment of de Juan Jr teaches wherein a penetrable barrier (184) has a proximal face positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element (120) (fig. 7C-1, penetrable barrier 184 recessed below retention structure 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the embodiment of de Juan Jr in fig. 7B such that a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 7C-1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention with no evidence of it modifying the operation of the device is considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this instance, de Juan Jr appears to suggest that having the septum’s proximal face tangent to a proximal face of the retaining member is equivalent in performance to having the septum’s proximal face being distal to the proximal face of the retaining member.
Regarding claims 33-35, de Juan Jr does not explicitly teach wherein the minor diameter is sized to allow tissue edges at the penetration site to return to a relaxed state around the neck region following implantation of the device through the pars plana region [claim 32], wherein the minor diameter is no greater than 3.3 mm [claim 34], wherein the minor diameter is about 1.0 mm to about 2.6 mm [35].
However, de Juan Jr teaches wherein the cross-sectional width of the device (including the minor diameter) can be within the range of 0.6 mm to 7.0 mm (paragraph 0541). A cross-sectional width of the device within this range would suit the minor diameter being sized to allow tissue edges to return to a relaxed state, as the instant specification recites this width being about 1.0-2.6 mm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that the minor diameter is sized to allow tissue edges at the penetration site to return to a relaxed state around the neck region following implantation of the device through the pars plana region [claim 32], wherein the minor diameter is no greater than 3.3 mm [claim 34], wherein the minor diameter is about 1.0 mm to about 2.6 mm [claim 35], as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (instant paragraph 00117 describes a range between 1.0-2.6 mm, and further cites a diameter less than 3.3 mm would suffice) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 44, de Juan Jr discloses method of treating an ocular condition of an eye (abstract), the method comprising:
creating a penetration site through a sclera of the eye, the penetration site having a width and a length that is greater than the width (paragraph 0017 describes the incision being a slot, oval, elliptical, wherein one width is greater than another width);
urging a drug delivery device through the penetration site (paragraph 0017 describes fitting the implanted device through the incision), the drug delivery device comprising:
a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent (fig. 7B-5, reservoir 140, paragraph 0040 describes the reservoir holding doses);
a drug release element (150) positioned within an outlet from the reservoir, the drug release element having a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet (fig. 7B-5, porous structure to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir, paragraph 0308);
a flange element proximal to the neck region (fig. 7B-1, flange 122/retention structure 120)
a neck region extending proximal of the reservoir having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally (fig. 7B-5, neck as defined in annotated figure below), a cross-sectional shape of the external surface comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter (fig. 7B-1 and 7B-2 show a narrow portion 120NP having a short distance 120NS and a long distance 120 NL);
a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region (fig. 7B-6F shows a penetrable barrier 184 as a septum inserted into access port 180, paragraph 0401)
seating the neck region of the drug delivery device within the penetration site so the major diameter of the neck region aligns with the length and the minor diameter of the neck region aligns with the width (paragraph 0384 describes the retention structure having a cross-section sized to fit an elongate incision), wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to the penetration site upon seating the neck region within the penetration site (fig. 7B-6E2 more clearly shows that the major axis of the neck narrows down and forms a pinched area. As best understood by the instant specification, the prevention of the neck region rotating relative to the penetration site is inherent to the structure of the pinched region); and
diffusing therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the drug release element into the vitreous of the eye for a plurality of days (paragraph 0229 describes an agent being provided for at least 30 days, 180 days, 1 year, etc.).
The embodiment of fig. 7B of de Juan Jr does not teach a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, an embodiment of de Juan Jr teaches wherein a penetrable barrier (184) has a proximal face positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element (120) (fig. 7C-1, penetrable barrier 184 recessed below retention structure 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the embodiment of de Juan Jr in fig. 7B such that a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 7C-1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention with no evidence of it modifying the operation of the device is considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this instance, de Juan Jr appears to suggest that having the septum’s proximal face tangent to a proximal face of the retaining member is equivalent in performance to having the septum’s proximal face being distal to the proximal face of the retaining member.
Regarding claim 45, de Juan Jr discloses the method further comprising filling the reservoir with the therapeutic agent through the septum (paragraph 0364 describes injection of therapeutic agent being performed before implantation into the eye and when the therapeutic device is implanted into the eye).
Regarding claim 46, de Juan Jr discloses wherein filling the reservoir comprises filling the reservoir with therapeutic agent after seating the neck region (paragraph 0364 describes injection of therapeutic agent being performed before implantation into the eye and when the therapeutic device is implanted into the eye).
Regarding claim 47, de Juan Jr discloses wherein filling the reservoir comprises filling the reservoir with therapeutic agent before seating the neck region (paragraph 0364 describes injection of therapeutic agent being performed before implantation into the eye and when the therapeutic device is implanted into the eye).
Regarding claim 48, de Juan Jr discloses the method further comprising refilling the reservoir with therapeutic agent at intervals after diffusing therapeutic agent from the reservoir, wherein the reservoir is refilled while the drug delivery device is implanted in the eye (pg. 40, table 4E shows time between refills as 180 days, which is between 3-12 months).
Regarding claim 49, de Juan Jr discloses wherein the intervals comprise every 3 months up to every 12 months (paragraph 0229 describes the time period being 90 days or more, 180 days, 1 year, etc.).
Regarding claim 50, de Juan Jr discloses wherein the therapeutic agent is selected from the group consisting of triamcinolone acetonide, bimatoprost, latanoprost, ranibizumab, travoprost, timolol, levobunalol, brimonidine, dorzolamide, and brinzolamide (paragraph 0301 describes an example therapeutic agent as a Triamcinolone acetonide).
Regarding claim 51, de Juan Jr discloses wherein the ocular condition is selected from the group consisting of glaucoma, dry or wet age-related macular degeneration, neuroprotection of retinal ganglion cells, cataract or presbyopia prevention, cancers, angiogenesis, neovascularization, choroidal neovascularization (CNV) lesions, retinal detachment, proliferative retinopathy, proliferative diabetic retinopathy, degenerative disease, vascular diseases, occlusions, infection caused by penetrating traumatic injury, endophthalmitis, post-operative infections, posterior uveitis, retinitis, choroiditis, neoplasms, and retinoblastoma (paragraph 0225 describes the use of an agent used in treatment against certain cancers).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan Jr in view of Doud (US 20130165860).
Regarding claim 36, de Juan Jr discloses wherein the device has a supra-scleral region, a trans-scleral region, and a sub-scleral region upon implantation through the pars plana region of the eye (fig. 1A-1-1 shows an example implant 100 having regions above, through, and below the sclera), but does not teach wherein a portion of the septum located in the sub-scleral region of the device is greater than a portion of the septum located in either the supra-scleral region or the trans-scleral region such that upon implantation of the device into the vitreous a bulk of the septum is recessed relative to the sclera.
However, Doud teaches an ocular implant (abstract) wherein a penetrable barrier (184) has the vast majority of its bulk underneath the sclera (24) than above the sclera or in between the sclera (fig. 8D1, penetrable element 184 far below sclera 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that a portion of the septum located in the sub-scleral region of the device is greater than a portion of the septum located in either the supra-scleral region or the trans-scleral region such that upon implantation of the device into the vitreous a bulk of the septum is recessed relative to the sclera, as taught by Doud, as such as shift in location does not appear to change the fundamental operation of the device, and it has been held that a rearrangement of parts involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Claims 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan Jr in view of Varner (US 20130304031).
Regarding claim 37, the embodiment of de Juan Jr of fig. 7B is silent to wherein the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape.
However, Varner teaches an ocular implant (abstract) wherein a distal region (figs. 1A-1B, distal region defined as area comprising reservoir 2) is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape (figs 1A-1B shows the transition of reservoir 2 going from insertion size to expanded size, paragraph 0030 describes the material for the reservoir 2 being pliable so as to be compressed before expanding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape, as taught by Varner, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that minimizes the size of the required incision (see Varner, paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 38, de Juan Jr does not teach wherein the material is non-compliant material that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape.
However, Varner teaches wherein the material is non-compliant (paragraph 0031, “For example, some suitable include thin-walled nondistensible materials, such as PET”) that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape (paragraph 0031 describes using PET, which is the same material described within the instant specification in paragraph 0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that the material is non-compliant material that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape, as taught by Varner, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can be contracted and later expanded to minimize the size of the required incision (see Varner, paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 39, de Juan Jr does not teach wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume.
However, Varner teaches wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume (fig. 1B, reservoir expanding sideways has it expand away from a lens of the eye).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume, as taught by Varner, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can be contracted and later expanded to minimize the size of the required incision (see Varner, paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 40, de Juan Jr, as modified by Varner, is silent to wherein the first portion and the remaining portion in the expanded configuration are located outside the visual axis of the eye.
However, the embodiment disclosed in Fig. 7C-1D of de Juan Jr. teaches an expanded reservoir that remains outside the visual axis of the eye (Fig. 7C-1D, reservoir 160 outside of optical range OP, see annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reservoir disclosed in fig. 7B-5 of de Juan Jr., as modified by Varner, to be outside the visual axis of the eye for the purposes of user comfort in order to not inhibit vision (see de Juan Jr., col. 50 lines 17-19, “In the expanded configuration, the device is substantially clear from a majority of the optical path OP of the patient”).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan Jr in view of Varner, and further in view of Valley (US 5766151).
Regarding claim 41, de Juan Jr, as modified by Varner, does not teach wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device.
However, Valley teaches wherein expandable reservoirs that asymmetrically expand into a second three-dimensional configuration are known in the art (fig. 14, eccentric balloon 710, expanded in 710’, the balloon is interpreted as being a reservoir for fluid).
Valley is considered pertinent prior art because the balloon is interpreted as a reservoir for holding fluid that is located in the patient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr in view of Varner such that the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device, as taught by Valley, for the purposes of better positioning the device within the patient (see Valley, col. 32, lines 7-20, “The eccentric inflated profile of the balloon 732 assists in centering the distal tip 738 of the catheter 730 within the aortic lumen when the ascending aorta B is curved.”).
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan Jr in view of Erikson (US 20140296800).
Regarding claim 42, de Juan Jr does not teach the device further comprising a penetrable cover material over the neck region designed to supplement engagement of the septum within the inlet
However, Erikson teaches a cover (110) over the neck region designed to supplement engagement of a septum within an inlet (fig. 4A shows a cover 110, paragraph 0052 describes the cover being used to secure the septum structure within the access portion. Paragraph 0005 described the cover being capable of being penetrated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr to include a penetrable cover material over the neck region designed to supplement engagement of the septum within the inlet, as taught by Erikson, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can assist in maintaining a seal of the reservoir chamber volume (see Erikson, paragraph 0005)
Regarding claim 43, de Juan Jr does not teach wherein the septum further comprises a proximal skirt region sized to extend into the reservoir to supplement engagement of the septum within the inlet
However, Erikson teaches a septum (140) with a proximal skirt region (142) sized to extend into the reservoir to supplement engagement of the septum (140) within the inlet (fig. 4B, distal region 142 of penetrable barrier 140 having a tab, flared skirt, or enlarged diameter to prevent withdrawal of the barrier outside the access region, paragraph 0045). It is noted that the “proximal” skirt region is interpreted as being proximal to the reservoir, and not at a proximal end of the septum, as the structure going into the reservoir would be the distal end of the septum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in de Juan Jr such that the septum further comprises a proximal skirt region sized to extend into the reservoir to supplement engagement of the septum within the inlet, as taught by Erikson, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that helps to prevent withdrawal of the penetrable barrier out of the access region (see Erikson, paragraph 0045).
Double Patenting
Claims 32 and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11617680 in view of de Juan Jr. The similarities between instant claim 1 and patented claim 16 are described below.
Instant claim 32
Claim 16 of US 11617680 (containing the limitations of claim 1)
A drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous, the device comprising: a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye, the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent, wherein a drug release element is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet; a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; a flange element proximal to the neck region and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
A drug delivery device configured to be at least partially implanted in an eye through the sclera, the device comprising: a retention structure positioned near a proximal end region of the device comprising: a proximal flange element defining an access port into the device; and a neck having a proximal region and a distal extension, the proximal region of the neck having a major axis dimension and a minor axis dimension, such that upon implantation through a penetration site in the sclera of the eye the proximal flange element is configured to remain outside the sclera, the proximal region of the neck is configured to span the penetration site in the sclera, and the distal extension is configured to be positioned inside the sclera, wherein the access port of the proximal flange element extends through the proximal region of the neck defining a trans-scleral access port region of the access port and extends through the distal extension of the neck defining a sub-scleral access port region of the access port; a penetrable element coupled to and extending within at least a portion of the access port, wherein the penetrable element has a proximal end positioned within the proximal flange element, a first portion positioned within the trans-scleral access port region, and a second portion positioned within the sub-scleral access port region, wherein a maximum distance across the proximal end and the first portion along the major axis dimension of the neck are less than a maximum distance across the second portion along the major axis dimension of the neck; a porous drug release element positioned in fluid communication with an outlet of the device; and a reservoir having a volume configured to contain one or more therapeutic agents and to be in fluid communication with the outlet through the porous drug release element, wherein a proximal end of the reservoir forms a shoulder configured to capture scleral tissue in a region between an inner surface of the retention structure and an upper surface of the shoulder, and wherein the device is configured to be at least partially inserted into the eye along an axis of insertion [claim 1], wherein the proximal region of the neck has a cross-sectional shape that is substantially cylindrical and an access port extending through the proximal region into the reservoir is substantially cylindrical or has a cross-sectional shape that is substantially lenticular forming a pair of outer pinched regions on either side of the major diameter [claim 16].
The patented claim does not teach wherein the device is implanted within the pars plana region, wherein the pinched regions are designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, de Juan Jr detaches wherein the device is implanted within the pars plana region (paragraph 0239, “The therapeutic device can be positioned so as to extend from the pars plana region into the vitreous humor 30 to release the therapeutic agent”), wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous (fig. 7B-6E2 more clearly shows that the major axis of the neck narrows down and forms a pinched area. As best understood by the instant specification, the prevention of the neck region rotating relative to the penetration site is inherent to the structure of the pinched region);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the patented claim 16 such that the device is implanted within the pars plana region, wherein the pinched regions are designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous, as taught by de Juan Jr, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can maintain the implant in place, and for a location to target a specific area of the eye.
The embodiment of fig. 7B of de Juan Jr does not teach a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, an embodiment of de Juan Jr teaches wherein a penetrable barrier (184) has a proximal face positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element (120) (fig. 7C-1, penetrable barrier 184 recessed below retention structure 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the embodiment of de Juan Jr in fig. 7B such that a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 7C-1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention with no evidence of it modifying the operation of the device is considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this instance, de Juan Jr appears to suggest that having the septum’s proximal face tangent to a proximal face of the retaining member is equivalent in performance to having the septum’s proximal face being distal to the proximal face of the retaining member.
Instant claim 44, as a method of utilizing the device of claim 32, is rejected under nonstatuatory double patenting for similar reasons as shown above.
Claim 32, 37-41, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9, 20-22, and 26 of U.S. Patent No. US 12102560 in view of de Juan Jr. The similarities between instant claim 32 and patented claim 1 are shown below.
Instant claim 32
Patented claim 1
A drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous, the device comprising: a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye, the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent, wherein a drug release element is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet; a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; a flange element proximal to the neck region and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
A drug delivery device configured to be at least partially implanted in an eye through the sclera along an axis of insertion, the device comprising: a retention structure positioned near a proximal end region of the device comprising: a proximal flange element configured to remain outside the sclera upon implantation of the device in the eye, the proximal flange element defining an access port into the device; and a neck having a proximal region and a distal extension, the proximal region of the neck having a major axis dimension and a minor axis dimension, wherein the access port of the proximal flange element extends through the proximal region of the neck defining a trans-scleral access port region of the access port and extends through the distal extension of the neck defining a sub-scleral access port region of the access port; a penetrable element coupled to and extending within at least a portion of the access port, wherein the penetrable element has a proximal end positioned within the proximal flange element, a first portion positioned within the trans-scleral access port region, and a second portion positioned within the sub-scleral access port region, wherein a maximum distance across the proximal end and the first portion along the major axis dimension of the neck are less than a maximum distance across the second portion along the major axis dimension of the neck; a porous drug release element positioned in fluid communication with an outlet of the device; and a reservoir having a volume configured to contain one or more therapeutic agents and to be in fluid communication with the outlet through the porous drug release element.
The patented claim does not teach wherein the device is implanted within the pars plana region, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, de Juan Jr detaches wherein the device is implanted within the pars plana region (paragraph 0239, “The therapeutic device can be positioned so as to extend from the pars plana region into the vitreous humor 30 to release the therapeutic agent”), wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous (fig. 7B-6E2 more clearly shows that the major axis of the neck narrows down and forms a pinched area. As best understood by the instant specification, the prevention of the neck region rotating relative to the penetration site is inherent to the structure of the pinched region);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the patented claim 16 such that the device is implanted within the pars plana region, wherein the pinched regions are designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous, as taught by de Juan Jr, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that can maintain the implant in place, and for a location to target a specific area of the eye.
The embodiment of fig. 7B of de Juan Jr does not teach a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
However, an embodiment of de Juan Jr teaches wherein a penetrable barrier (184) has a proximal face positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element (120) (fig. 7C-1, penetrable barrier 184 recessed below retention structure 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in the embodiment of de Juan Jr in fig. 7B such that a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element, as taught by the embodiment in fig. 7C-1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention with no evidence of it modifying the operation of the device is considered obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this instance, de Juan Jr appears to suggest that having the septum’s proximal face tangent to a proximal face of the retaining member is equivalent in performance to having the septum’s proximal face being distal to the proximal face of the retaining member.
Claim 32 is also rejected under patented claim 19 for similar reasons as highlighted above.
Regarding claim 37, the patent discloses wherein the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape (claims 2 and 20).
Regarding claim 38, the patent discloses wherein the material is non-compliant material that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape (claims 9 and 24).
Regarding claim 39, the patent discloses wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume (claims 3 and 21).
Regarding claim 40, the patent discloses wherein the first portion and the remaining portion in the expanded configuration are located outside the visual axis of the eye (claims 4 and 22).
Regarding claim 41, the patent discloses wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device (claims 6 and 26).
Instant claim 44, as a method of utilizing the device of claim 32, is rejected under nonstatuatory double patenting for similar reasons as shown above.
Claim 32, 37-41, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 10500091 in view of de Juan Jr. The similarities of instant claim 32 and patented claim 1 are shown below.
Instant claim 32
Patented claim 1
A drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous, the device comprising: a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye, the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent, wherein a drug release element is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet; a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; a flange element proximal to the neck region and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
A drug delivery device configured to be at least partially implanted in an eye, the device comprising: a retention structure positioned near a proximal end region of the device; a penetrable element coupled to and extending within at least a portion of the retention structure; a porous drug release element positioned in fluid communication with an outlet of the device; an elongated core element having a longitudinal axis; and a reservoir positioned around the elongated core element, the reservoir having a volume configured to contain one or more therapeutic agents and to be in fluid communication with the outlet through the porous drug release element, wherein the device is configured to be at least partially inserted into the eye, and wherein the reservoir is configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to a deployed configuration having a second three-dimensional shape, wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to the longitudinal axis of the elongated core element, and wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the deployed configuration unfolds away from the lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume.
The patent does not teach a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous
However, as highlighted in the rejection of claim 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103, de Juan Jr teaches the deficient limitations above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the patented device such that it cures the above deficiencies, as taught by de Juan Jr., for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that assists in having the implant for a narrow incision, and to have a suitable location to grant infusion of a drug into a targeted area of the eye.
Regarding claim 37, the patent discloses wherein the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape (claim 1, claim 4)
Regarding claim 38, the patent discloses wherein the material is non-compliant material that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape (claim 3)
Regarding claim 39, the patent discloses wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume (claim 1)
Regarding claim 40, the patent discloses wherein the first portion and the remaining portion in the expanded configuration are located outside the visual axis of the eye (claim 2).
Regarding claim 41, the patent discloses wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device (claim 1).
Instant claim 44, as a method of utilizing the device of claim 32, is rejected under nonstatuatory double patenting for similar reasons as shown above.
Claim 32, 37-41, and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11110001 in view of de Juan Jr. The similarities between the claims are highlighted below.
Instant claim 32
Patented claim 1
A drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous, the device comprising: a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye, the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent, wherein a drug release element is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet; a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; a flange element proximal to the neck region and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
A drug delivery device configured to be at least partially implanted in an eye, the device comprising: a retention structure positioned near a proximal end region of the device; a porous drug release element positioned in fluid communication with an outlet of the device; an elongated core element having a longitudinal axis; and a reservoir formed of a non-compliant material positioned around the elongated core element, the reservoir having a volume configured to contain one or more therapeutic agents and to be in fluid communication with the outlet through the porous drug release element, wherein the device is configured to be at least partially inserted into the eye, and wherein the reservoir is configured to enlarge in a non-distensible manner from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to a deployed configuration having a second three-dimensional shape, such that the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to the longitudinal axis of the elongated core element
The patented claim does not teach a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region.
However, as highlighted in the rejection of claim 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103, de Juan Jr teaches the deficient limitations above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the patented device such that it cures the above deficiencies, as taught by de Juan Jr., for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that assists in having the implant for a narrow incision, to have a suitable location to grant infusion of a drug into a targeted area of the eye, and to keep the internal reservoir safe from contaminants.
Regarding claim 37, the patent discloses wherein the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape (claim 1)
Regarding claim 38, the patent discloses wherein the material is non-compliant material that does not stretch beyond the second three-dimensional shape (claim 1)
Regarding claim 39, the patent discloses wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume (claim 2)
Regarding claim 40, the patent discloses wherein the first portion and the remaining portion in the expanded configuration are located outside the visual axis of the eye (claim 3).
Regarding claim 41, the patent discloses wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device (claim 1).
Instant claim 44, as a method of utilizing the device of claim 32, is rejected under nonstatuatory double patenting for similar reasons as shown above.
Claims 32, 37, 39-41 and 44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 12251336 in view of de Juan Jr. The similarities of the two independent claims are highlighted below.
Instant claim 32
Patented claim 1
A drug delivery device sized for at least partial implantation through a pars plana region of an eye into a vitreous, the device comprising: a distal region for positioning within the vitreous of the eye, the distal region having an internal surface forming a reservoir having a volume sized to contain a plurality of doses of a therapeutic agent, wherein a drug release element is positioned within an outlet from the distal region and has a porosity to diffuse therapeutic agent from the reservoir through the outlet; a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; a flange element proximal to the neck region and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region, a proximal face of the septum being positioned distally in relation to a proximal face of the flange element.
A drug delivery device configured to be at least partially implanted in an eye, the device comprising: a retention structure positioned near a proximal end region of the device; a porous drug release element positioned in fluid communication with an outlet of the device; an elongated core element having a longitudinal axis extending from a proximal end of the elongated core element to a distal end of the elongated core element; and a reservoir wall positioned around and eccentric to the longitudinal axis of the elongated core element, the reservoir wall defining a reservoir volume configured to contain one or more therapeutic agents, the reservoir volume in fluid communication with the outlet through the porous drug release element, wherein the reservoir wall is configured to transition from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to a deployed configuration having a second three-dimensional shape such that the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to the longitudinal axis of the elongated core element.
The patented claim does not teach a neck region extending proximal of the distal region having an external surface for positioning trans-sclerally within the pars plana region of the eye, a cross-sectional shape of the external surface of the neck region comprises a minor diameter and a major diameter arranged perpendicular to the minor diameter, wherein pinched regions are located at each side of the major diameter forming features designed to prevent rotation of the neck region relative to a penetration site in the pars plana region of the eye upon at least partial implantation of the drug delivery device in the vitreous; and a septum positioned within an inlet formed by an internal surface through the neck region.
However, as highlighted in the rejection of claim 32 under 35 U.S.C. 103, de Juan Jr teaches the deficient limitations above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the patented device such that it cures the above deficiencies, as taught by de Juan Jr., for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that assists in having the implant for a narrow incision, to have a suitable location to grant infusion of a drug into a targeted area of the eye, and to keep the internal reservoir safe from contaminants.
Regarding claim 37, the patent discloses wherein the distal region is formed of a material configured to enlarge from an insertion configuration having a first three-dimensional shape to an expanded configuration having a second three-dimensional shape that is larger than the first three- dimensional shape (claim 1)
Regarding claim 39, the patent discloses wherein a first portion of the volume of the reservoir in the expanded configuration enlarges away from a lens of the eye and is greater than a remaining portion of the volume (claim 2)
Regarding claim 40, the patent discloses wherein the first portion and the remaining portion in the expanded configuration are located outside the visual axis of the eye (claim 3).
Regarding claim 41, the patent discloses wherein the second three-dimensional shape is eccentrically positioned relative to an axis of insertion of the device (claim 1).
Instant claim 44, as a method of utilizing the device of claim 32, is rejected under nonstatuatory double patenting for similar reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781