DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
2. The Examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 05/21/2026.
- Claims 1, 5-11 and 17-18 have been amended.
- Claim 19 has been added.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on 05/21/2026 with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 22-23, 32 and 52 of U.S. Patent No. 10,645,294 in view of Lee et al. (US-PGPUB 2022/0046172).
Note the following similarities between the application claims and patent claims.
Instant Application No. 18/823,551
US Patent 10,645,294
Claim 1
An electronic device, comprising: a display device; one or more cameras; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture:
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras;
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level;
and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras.
Claim 1
An electronic device, comprising: a display device; one or more cameras; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 10
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and
in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
Claim 17
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display device and one or more cameras, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and
in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras;
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level;
and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras.
Claim 22
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display device and one or more cameras, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 32
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein
the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
Claim 18
A method, comprising: at an electronic device having a display device and one or more cameras:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras;
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level;
and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras.
Claim 23
A method, comprising: at an electronic device having a display device and one or more cameras:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 52
The method of claim 23, wherein the
representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the method further comprises:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
However, US Patent 10,645,294 does not recite in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras.
On the other hand, Lee discloses in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type (Swipe; see paragraph 0138), different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance (When third icon 625c (1025c) is selected by a second gesture (a swipe); see fig. 10A and paragraph 0138), displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays a zoom control region 1027 comprising a zoom bar 1027a including a plurality of zoom levels and the plurality of icons 1025a, 1025b, and 1025c rearranged in position based on the second position information; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138), wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication (Bold darker marker; see figs. 10B, 17D) of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays, in the zoom control region 1027, the zoom bar 1027a including the plurality of zoom levels having, as a reference zoom level A, the current zoom level of magnification of ×1.0; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify US Patent 10,645,294 by specifically providing in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type, different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras, as taught by Lee for the purpose of easily enlarging or reducing a captured scene through a user friendly manipulation of displayed objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US-PGPUB 2022/0046172).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device (Electronic device 101; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0035), comprising:
a display device (Display device 160; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0042);
one or more cameras (Camera module 180; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0048);
one or more processors (Processor 120; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035-0036); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Memory 130 storing program 140; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0038-0039), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface (Display 160 displays screens 610-630 upon switchover to a first photographing mode in response to selection of the icon corresponding to a camera application; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display an image obtained through camera module 180 on the second screen 620 at a zoom level x1.0; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances (Displaying icons 625a, 625b and 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114-0116), the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance (Magnification of ×0.5 corresponding to the first icon 625a; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) and a second zoom affordance (Magnification of ×2.0 corresponding to the third icon 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114, 0116);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances (see figs. 6A-6C and paragraphs 0114-0116); and
in response to receiving the first gesture (Tap, see paragraph 0114):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type (Tap, see paragraph 0114) directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (From FIG. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the first icon 625a by a first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image reduced at a zoom level (magnification of ×0.5) of the first lens (e.g., an ultra lens) corresponding to the first icon 625a on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6B and paragraph 0114);
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (From fig. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the third icon 625c by the first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image enlarged at a zoom level (magnification of ×2.0) of the third lens (e.g., a tele lens) corresponding to the third icon 625c on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6C and paragraphs 0114, 0116); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type (Swipe; see paragraph 0138), different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance (When third icon 625c (1025c) is selected by a second gesture (a swipe); see fig. 10A and paragraph 0138), displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays a zoom control region 1027 comprising a zoom bar 1027a including a plurality of zoom levels and the plurality of icons 1025a, 1025b, and 1025c rearranged in position based on the second position information; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138), wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication (Bold darker marker; see figs. 10B, 17D) of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays, in the zoom control region 1027, the zoom bar 1027a including the plurality of zoom levels having, as a reference zoom level A, the current zoom level of magnification of ×1.0; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for: in accordance with the determination that the first gesture is the gesture directed to the first zoom affordance (Magnification x0.5; see fig. 6B), maintaining a visual characteristic of the second zoom affordance and changing a visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance (While displaying the image received at the zoom level ×0.5 corresponding to the first icon 625a on the second screen 620, the processor differently displays the first icon 625a selected by the first gesture among the three icons 625a, 625b, and 625c displayed in the specific region 625; see fig. 6B and paragraph 0114); and in accordance with the determination that the first gesture is the gesture directed to the second zoom affordance (Magnification x2.0; see fig. 6C), maintaining the visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance and changing the visual characteristic of the second zoom affordance (While displaying the image received at the zoom level ×2.0 corresponding to the third icon 625c on the second screen 620, the processor differently displays the third icon 625c selected by the first gesture among the three icons 625a, 625b, and 625c displayed in the specific region 625; see fig. 6C and paragraph 0116).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Lee discloses changing the visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance includes one or more of**: changing a size of the first zoom affordance from a first size to a second size, wherein the second size of the first zoom affordance is different from a current size of the second zoom affordance; and changing a color of the first zoom affordance from a first color to a second color, wherein the second color of the first zoom affordance is different from a current color of the second zoom affordance (While displaying the image received at the zoom level ×0.5 corresponding to the first icon 625a on the second screen 620, the processor differently displays the first icon 625a selected by the first gesture among the three icons 625a, 625b, and 625c displayed in the specific region 625; see fig. 6B and paragraph 0114. A shaded different tone bubble is provided over icon 625a of magnification x0.5; see fig. 6B).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation, receiving a third gesture directed to the control for changing the zoom level; and in response to receiving the third gesture directed to the control for changing the zoom level: displaying a second indication of a fifth zoom level on the control for changing the zoom level; and displaying, at the fifth zoom level, a fourth representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (Upon detection of a pinch-zoom-out c2 on the second screen, the processor may obtain an image reduced at a zoom level ×0.9 corresponding to a zoom level selected by the pinch-zoom-out c2 from among the plurality of levels provided in the zoom bar. Upon detection of a pinch-zoom-in c3 on the second screen, the processor may obtain an image enlarged at a zoom level ×2.3 corresponding to a zoom level selected by the pinch-zoom-in c3 from among the plurality of levels provided in the zoom bar; see paragraphs 0165-0166 and figs. 17B, 17D).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the first indication (Bold darker marker; see figs. 10B, 17D) of the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation is displayed at a position that corresponds to a selected zoom level on the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation (The processor displays, in the zoom control region 1027, the zoom bar 1027a including the plurality of zoom levels having, as a reference zoom level A, the selected current zoom level; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses displaying the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation includes replacing display of the plurality of zoom affordances with the display of the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation (Replacing icon 625 (1025) with control 1027 having zoom bar 1027a; see figs. 10A, 10B and paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5). In addition, Lee discloses the first gesture includes movement in a first direction (Swipe; see paragraph 0138); and the third gesture includes movement in a second direction that is different from the first direction (pinch-zoom-in and pinch-zoom-out; see paragraphs 0165-0166).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the second representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is a representation of at least a portion of the field-of-view of a first camera of the one or more cameras (Ultra lens camera; see paragraph 0114); the third representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is a representation of at least a portion of the field-of-view of a second camera of the one or more cameras (Tele lens camera; see paragraph 0116); and the first camera is different from the second camera (see paragraphs 0114-0116, 0048).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs (Memory 130 storing program 140; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0038-0039) configured to be executed by one or more processors (Processor 120; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035-0036) of an electronic device (Electronic device 101; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0035) with a display device (Display device 160; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0042) and one or more cameras (Camera module 180; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0048), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface (Display 160 displays screens 610-630 upon switchover to a first photographing mode in response to selection of the icon corresponding to a camera application; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display an image obtained through camera module 180 on the second screen 620 at a zoom level x1.0; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances (Displaying icons 625a, 625b and 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114-0116), the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance (Magnification of ×0.5 corresponding to the first icon 625a; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) and a second zoom affordance (Magnification of ×2.0 corresponding to the third icon 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114, 0116);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances (see figs. 6A-6C and paragraphs 0114-0116); and
in response to receiving the first gesture (Tap, see paragraph 0114):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type (Tap, see paragraph 0114) directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (From FIG. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the first icon 625a by a first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image reduced at a zoom level (magnification of ×0.5) of the first lens (e.g., an ultra lens) corresponding to the first icon 625a on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6B and paragraph 0114);
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (From fig. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the third icon 625c by the first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image enlarged at a zoom level (magnification of ×2.0) of the third lens (e.g., a tele lens) corresponding to the third icon 625c on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6C and paragraphs 0114, 0116); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type (Swipe; see paragraph 0138), different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance (When third icon 625c (1025c) is selected by a second gesture (a swipe); see fig. 10A and paragraph 0138), displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays a zoom control region 1027 comprising a zoom bar 1027a including a plurality of zoom levels and the plurality of icons 1025a, 1025b, and 1025c rearranged in position based on the second position information; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138), wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication (Bold darker marker; see figs. 10B, 17D) of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays, in the zoom control region 1027, the zoom bar 1027a including the plurality of zoom levels having, as a reference zoom level A, the current zoom level of magnification of ×1.0; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses a method (see figs. 7-8), comprising:
at an electronic device (Electronic device 101; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0035) having a display device (Display device 160; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0042) and one or more cameras (Camera module 180; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0035, 0048):
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface (Display 160 displays screens 610-630 upon switchover to a first photographing mode in response to selection of the icon corresponding to a camera application; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display an image obtained through camera module 180 on the second screen 620 at a zoom level x1.0; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances (Displaying icons 625a, 625b and 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114-0116), the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance (Magnification of ×0.5 corresponding to the first icon 625a; see fig. 6A and paragraph 0114) and a second zoom affordance (Magnification of ×2.0 corresponding to the third icon 625c; see fig. 6A and paragraphs 0114, 0116);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances (see figs. 6A-6C and paragraphs 0114-0116); and
in response to receiving the first gesture (Tap, see paragraph 0114):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type (Tap, see paragraph 0114) directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (From FIG. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the first icon 625a by a first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image reduced at a zoom level (magnification of ×0.5) of the first lens (e.g., an ultra lens) corresponding to the first icon 625a on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6B and paragraph 0114);
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of the first type directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (From fig. 6A, when image is at x1.0, upon selection of the third icon 625c by the first gesture (a tap), the processor displays an image enlarged at a zoom level (magnification of ×2.0) of the third lens (e.g., a tele lens) corresponding to the third icon 625c on the second screen 620; see figs. 6A, 6C and paragraphs 0114, 0116); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type (Swipe; see paragraph 0138), different from the first type of gesture, directed to the second zoom affordance (When third icon 625c (1025c) is selected by a second gesture (a swipe); see fig. 10A and paragraph 0138), displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays a zoom control region 1027 comprising a zoom bar 1027a including a plurality of zoom levels and the plurality of icons 1025a, 1025b, and 1025c rearranged in position based on the second position information; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138), wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes a first indication (Bold darker marker; see figs. 10B, 17D) of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation of the field-of- view of the one or more cameras (The processor displays, in the zoom control region 1027, the zoom bar 1027a including the plurality of zoom levels having, as a reference zoom level A, the current zoom level of magnification of ×1.0; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Lee discloses the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation is a user interface element (Zoom bar 1027a; see fig. 10B and paragraph 0138).
Thus, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide a rotatable user interface element, since applicant has not disclosed that a rotatable user interface element solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a zoom bar user interface element that allows more intuitive user motion commands.
**Note: The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office considers Applicant’s “or”, “one of”, and “at least one of” language to be anticipated by any reference containing one of the subsequent or preceding corresponding elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 06/04/2026