DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted from 09/13/2024 to 01/13/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1, 17 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, 22-23, 32 and 52 of U.S. Patent No. 10,645,294.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both claiming substantially the same features.
Note the following similarities between the application claims and patent claims.
Instant Application No. 18/823,551
US Patent 10,645,294
Claim 1
An electronic device, comprising: a display device; one or more cameras; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture:
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level.
Claim 1
An electronic device, comprising: a display device; one or more cameras; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 10
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and
in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
Claim 17
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display device and one or more cameras, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and
in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level.
Claim 22
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display device and one or more cameras, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 32
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein
the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
Claim 18
A method, comprising: at an electronic device having a display device and one or more cameras:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes
a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level, the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance;
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level.
Claim 23
A method, comprising: at an electronic device having a display device and one or more cameras:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface, the camera user interface including: a camera display region, the camera display region including a representation of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and a camera control region, the camera control region including a plurality of camera mode affordances at a first location; while displaying the camera user interface, detecting a first gesture on the camera user interface; and in response to detecting the first gesture, modifying an appearance of the camera control region, including: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a first type, displaying one or more additional camera mode affordances at the first location; and in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture of a second type different from the first type, ceasing to display the plurality of camera mode affordances and displaying a plurality of camera setting affordances at the first location, wherein the camera setting affordances are settings for adjusting image capture for a currently selected camera mode.
Claim 52
The method of claim 23, wherein the
representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at a first zoom level, and wherein the method further comprises:
while displaying the representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is displayed at the first zoom level, receiving a first request to change the zoom level of the representation; and in response to receiving the first request to change the zoom level of the representation: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to increase the zoom level of the representation, displaying a second representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a second zoom level larger than the first zoom level; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level of the representation corresponds a request to decrease the zoom level of the representation, displaying a third representation field-of-view of the one or more cameras at a third zoom level smaller than the first zoom level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 12-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US-PGPUB 2018/0069983).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses an electronic device (Mobile device 100; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0083-0084), comprising:
a display device (Display 151; see fig. 1A and paragraph 0089);
one or more cameras (Camera 121 that can include a plurality of cameras 121a-121b-2; see figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 0086, 0173, 0183-0184);
one or more processors (Controller 180; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0093, 0325); and
memory (Memory 170; see fig. 1A) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Application programs to be stored in the memory 170, installed in the mobile terminal 100, and executed by the controller 180 to perform an operation for the mobile terminal 100; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0092, 0325), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display a preview image 410; see figs. 4, first image, and paragraph 0202), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance (Figure 4 illustrates a plurality of selectable zoom options are displayed on the right side of the preview image 410, from zoom x1 to zoom x32; see fig. 4);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture (While displaying preview image 410 and the plurality of zoom options x1-x32, touching with a finger zoom icon x16; see fig. 4, second image and paragraph 0202):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance (When touching or tapping on icon x16, fig. 4, second/middle image), displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (If obtaining an input for selecting a magnification of 16 (×16), the controller 180 can display an ×16 enlarged image 420 on the display unit 151; see fig. 4, third image and paragraph 0202); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (When a different zoom icon is selected from x1-x8 or x32, the controller then displays a magnified image corresponding to the selected different zoom icon; see fig. 4 and paragraph 0202).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Cho discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for: in accordance with the determination that the first gesture is the gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, maintaining a visual characteristic of the second zoom affordance and changing a visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance; and in accordance with the determination that the first gesture is the gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, maintaining the visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance and changing the visual characteristic of the second zoom affordance (The outer border of the selected zoom icon x16 becomes bolded (highlighted with a thicker darker border frame) as compared to the unselected zoom icons x1-x8 and x32; see fig. 4, second/middle image).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Cho discloses changing the visual characteristic of the first zoom affordance includes one or** more of: changing a size of the first zoom affordance from a first size to a second size, wherein the second size of the first zoom affordance is different from a current size of the second zoom affordance; and changing a color of the first zoom affordance from a first color to a second color, wherein the second color of the first zoom affordance is different from a current color of the second zoom affordance (The outer border of the selected zoom icon x16 becomes bolded (highlighted with a thicker darker border frame) as compared to the unselected zoom icons x1-x8 and x32; see fig. 4, second/middle image).
Regarding claim 12, Cho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Cho discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is not directed to at least one of the plurality of zoom affordances and directed to a first portion of the first representation, configuring the electronic device to focus at a location of the first gesture (The controller 180 obtains an input for selecting a single object from the preview image 410 and display a focus on the selected object 450; see fig. 4, first image and paragraph 0202).
Regarding claim 13, Cho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Cho discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the first gesture: in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is not directed to at least one of the plurality of zoom affordances and directed to a second portion of the first representation, forgoing configuring the electronic device to focus at a location of the first gesture (Obtaining an input of touching the full image shot button 1464 for taking both an image corresponding to the enlarged image 1430 and an image corresponding to a mini map; see fig. 14 and paragraph 0236).
Regarding claim 14, Cho discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Cho discloses the second representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is a representation of at least a portion of the field-of-view of a first camera of the one or more cameras; the third representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras is a representation of at least a portion of the field-of-view of a second camera of the one or more cameras; and the first camera is different from the second camera (The terminal 100 includes a plurality of cameras provided to a front and/or rear side of the terminal. And, each of a plurality of the cameras may have a different field of view. The terminal 100 obtains a plurality of images in a prescribed direction through a plurality of the cameras, and performs an optical zoom processing based on a plurality of the obtained images. The controller 180 creates a single image from integrating a plurality of the images respectively captured by the third camera 121b-1 and the fourth camera 121b-2; see paragraphs 0181-0184. Thus, the selected zoom represents a portion of a view of one of the provided cameras).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Memory 170; see fig. 1A) storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors (Controller 180; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0092-0093, 0325) of an electronic device (Mobile device 100; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0083-0084) with a display device (Display 151; see fig. 1A and paragraph 0089) and one or more cameras (Camera 121 that can include a plurality of cameras 121a-121b-2; see figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 0086, 0173, 0183-0184), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display a preview image 410; see figs. 4, first image, and paragraph 0202), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance (Figure 4 illustrates a plurality of selectable zoom options are displayed on the right side of the preview image 410, from zoom x1 to zoom x32; see fig. 4);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture (While displaying preview image 410 and the plurality of zoom options x1-x32, touching with a finger zoom icon x16; see fig. 4, second image and paragraph 0202):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance (When touching or tapping on icon x16, fig. 4, second/middle image), displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (If obtaining an input for selecting a magnification of 16 (×16), the controller 180 can display an ×16 enlarged image 420 on the display unit 151; see fig. 4, third image and paragraph 0202); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (When a different zoom icon is selected from x1-x8 or x32, the controller then displays a magnified image corresponding to the selected different zoom icon; see fig. 4 and paragraph 0202).
Regarding claim 18, Cho discloses a method (see fig. 4), comprising: at an electronic device (Mobile device 100; see fig. 1A and paragraphs 0083-0084) having a display device (Display 151; see fig. 1A and paragraph 0089) and one or more cameras (Camera 121 that can include a plurality of cameras 121a-121b-2; see figs. 1A-2 and paragraphs 0086, 0173, 0183-0184):
displaying, via the display device, a camera user interface that includes a first representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras displayed at a first zoom level (Display a preview image 410; see figs. 4, first image, and paragraph 0202), the camera user interface including a plurality of zoom affordances, the plurality of zoom affordances including a first zoom affordance and a second zoom affordance (Figure 4 illustrates a plurality of selectable zoom options are displayed on the right side of the preview image 410, from zoom x1 to zoom x32; see fig. 4);
while displaying the plurality of zoom affordances, receiving a first gesture directed to one of the plurality of zoom affordances; and in response to receiving the first gesture (While displaying preview image 410 and the plurality of zoom options x1-x32, touching with a finger zoom icon x16; see fig. 4, second image and paragraph 0202):
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the first zoom affordance (When touching or tapping on icon x16, fig. 4, second/middle image), displaying, at a second zoom level, a second representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras (If obtaining an input for selecting a magnification of 16 (×16), the controller 180 can display an ×16 enlarged image 420 on the display unit 151; see fig. 4, third image and paragraph 0202); and
in accordance with a determination that the first gesture is a gesture directed to the second zoom affordance, displaying, at a third zoom level, a third representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras, wherein the third zoom level is different from the first zoom level and the second zoom level (When a different zoom icon is selected from x1-x8 or x32, the controller then displays a magnified image corresponding to the selected different zoom icon; see fig. 4 and paragraph 0202).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4-11 and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the specific limitation of “while displaying, at the second zoom level, the second representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras, receiving a second gesture directed to the first zoom affordance; and in response to receiving the second gesture directed to the first zoom affordance: in accordance with a determination that the first zoom affordance satisfies first respective criteria is satisfied, displaying, at a fourth zoom level, a fourth representation of at least a portion of a field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and in accordance with a determination that the first zoom affordance satisfies second respective criteria: forgoing displaying, at the fourth zoom level, the fourth representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras; and maintaining display, at the second zoom level, of the second representation of the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras.” in the combination as claimed is neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Regarding claim 5, the specific limitation of “the first gesture is a first type of gesture, and wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: receiving a third gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, wherein the third gesture is a second type of gesture that is different from the first type of gesture; in response to receiving the third gesture directed to the first zoom affordance, displaying a control for changing a zoom level of a first currently displayed representation, wherein the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation includes a first indication of a current zoom level of the first currently displayed representation; while displaying the control for changing the zoom level of the first currently displayed representation, receiving a fourth gesture directed to the control for changing the zoom level; and in response to receiving the fourth gesture directed to the control for changing the zoom level: displaying a second indication of a fifth zoom level on the control for changing the zoom level; and displaying, at the fifth zoom level, a fourth representation of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras” in the combination as claimed is neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Regarding claim 6-11, they are objected to for depending on claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the specific limitation of “displaying, at the second zoom level, the second representation of at least the portion of the field-of-view of the one or more cameras includes: in accordance with a determination that the second zoom level is a sixth zoom level, displaying a portion of the second representation with a first visual appearance; and in accordance with a determination that the second zoom level is a seventh zoom level that is different from the sixth zoom level, displaying a portion of the second representation with a second visual appearance that is different from the first visual appearance” in the combination as claimed is neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Regarding claim 16, the specific limitation of “the plurality of zoom affordances includes a third zoom affordance; the one or more programs further include instructions for: receiving a request to change a zoom level of a second currently displayed representation; and in response to receiving the request to change the zoom level of the second currently displayed representation to an eighth zoom level: in accordance with a determination that the eighth zoom level is within a first range of zoom values, replacing display of the first zoom affordance with display of a fourth zoom affordance that corresponds to the eighth zoom level; in accordance with a determination that the eighth zoom level is within a second range of zoom values, replacing display of the second zoom affordance with display of the fourth zoom affordance that corresponds to the eighth zoom level; and in accordance with a determination that the eighth zoom level is within a third range of zoom values, replacing display of the third zoom affordance with display of the fourth zoom affordance that corresponds to the eighth zoom level.” in the combination as claimed is neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Citation of Pertinent Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
O’Leary et al. (US Patent 12,267,622) discloses obtaining image data including a third gesture; and in response to obtaining the image data including the third gesture: in accordance with a determination that the third gesture satisfies zooming criteria, changing a zoom level of a respective representation of a portion of the scene from a first zoom level to a second zoom level that is different from the first zoom level.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 03/13/2026