DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/15/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The amendment to the Specification received on 10/15/2026 are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 113640164; hereinafter “Zhang”; English translation provided by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus (Figures 1 and 2) for erosion testing ([0001]) of an article (51 or 52; Figure 2; [0038]), the apparatus comprising:
a container (112; [0029-0030]; Figure 1);
a propellant stored in the container (liquid oxygen is stored in storage tank 112; [0029-0030]), wherein the propellant (liquid oxygen) is a gas stored under pressure in the container in a liquid phase (liquid oxygen is stored in the tank under pressure in order to maintain the oxygen in a liquid state/phase; [0029-0030]);
an applicator (3; Figure 1; [0029]), the applicator (3) being in fluid communication with the container ([0029]; Figure 1), the applicator (3) comprising a heater (the applicator 3 will have fuel and oxygen burn therein in order to produce a flame stream; therefore, the applicator in itself is a heater; [0029]); and
a controller (9; Figure 1; [0036]) for controlling the heater and the flow of propellant from the applicator (the controller 9 will adjust the amount of liquid oxygen based on the temperature of the article being tested; therefore, controlling the amount liquid oxygen will result in controlling the temperature generated by the applicator 3, i.e. heater, and also the flow of the liquid oxygen, i.e. flow of the propellant from the applicator 3; [0036]); and
wherein the applicator (3) is structured to discharge the propellant at a velocity ([0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the applicator (3) introduces media into the propellant (erosion particles; [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus further comprise an enclosure (chamber 6; Figure 1) comprising a retainer (5; [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches wherein the apparatus further comprises an evacuation unit (chamber 6 collects erosion particles after said particles impact the article 51 or 52).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the enclosure (chamber 6; Figure 1) comprises an evacuation unit (6) to collect media introduced by the applicator into the propellant (chamber 6 collects erosion particles after said particles impact the article 51 or 52).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the applicator (3) comprises a mechanical manipulator (4; Figures 1 and 2; [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches wherein the propellant (liquid oxygen; [0029-0030]) comprises a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, helium and oxygen and mixtures thereof ([0029-0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches wherein the applicator (3) is structured to discharge the propellant at a velocity of at least transonic or higher ([0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jenkins et al. (US 8,047,048; hereinafter “Jenkins”; previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a method for erosion testing ([0001, 0005]) of an article (51 or 52; Figure 2; [0038]) in a testing device (Figures 1 and 2), the method comprising:
storing propellant in a container (liquid oxygen is stored in storage tank 112; [0029-0030]), wherein the propellant (liquid oxygen) is a gas stored under pressure in the container in a liquid phase (liquid oxygen is stored in the tank under pressure in order to maintain the oxygen in a liquid state/phase; [0029-0030]);
discharging the propellant ([0029-0030]) from the container to an applicator (3);
heating the propellant ([0029]);
discharging the propellant from the applicator at a controlled speed ([0031-0032]); and
exposing the article (51 or 52) to the propellant discharged from the applicator ([0031, 0038]).
Zhang teaches exposing the article to the propellant discharged from the applicator but does not expressly teach that exposing the article to the propellant discharged from the applicator for a predetermined time period.
However, Jenkins teaches exposing the article to the propellant discharged from the applicator for a predetermined time period (Column 2, Lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Jenkins time period of exposing propellant to the article implemented and performed by Zhang’s system in order to examine the erosion of the test material or specimen during different erosion phases, and to also determine how long it would take for a test material or specimen to completely erode.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches prior to the second discharging step, introducing media into the propellant (the flame stream is already produced before sending erosion particles, i.e. media, into the liquid nitrogen within the gun 3; [0031]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches collecting media (erosion particles) in an evacuation unit (chamber 6 collects erosion particles after said particles impact the article 51 or 52).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches wherein the propellant (liquid oxygen; [0029-0030]) comprises a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, helium and oxygen and mixtures thereof ([0029-0030]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches wherein the controlled speed of the propellant discharged from the applicator (3) is at least transonic or higher ([0032]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Jenkins teaches wherein the predetermined time period exceeds twenty minutes (Column 2, Lines 25-34: Jenkins).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY W MEGNA FUENTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855