DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/24/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because label “134” crosses with an indicator line. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0048] states “container 11”. This should be written as “container 110”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “discharge the propellant at a high-velocity”. Paragraph [0027] of the specification filed on 09/03/2024 states “As used herein, "high velocity" refers to controlled aerodynamic speed regimes including, without limitation, subsonic, transonic, hypersonic, and supersonic speeds”. Subsonic speeds occur when an object or airflow moves slower than the speed of sound (typically Mach < 0.75), transonic speeds occur approximately between Mach 0.75 and Mach 1.20, supersonic speeds are those faster than the speed of sound, typically between Mach 1.20 and Mach 5, and hypersonic speeds exceed Mach 5. Based on the paragraph [0027], the applicant is stating that any amount of velocity is considered “high velocity”. It is unclear how a velocity such as 1 m/s and a velocity of Mach 5 (which is approximately 1,715 m/s) are both be considered “high velocity”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the limitation in question as “discharge the propellant at a velocity”.
Claims 2-8 are also rejected due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim 8 states “the fluid” and has dependency on claim 1. However, claim 1 does not previously state “a fluid”; in fact, it is claim 7 that states “a fluid”. It is unclear whether the dependency of claim 8 is proper. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret claim 8 as having dependency on claim 1 rather than on claim 1.
Claim 9 states “exposing the article to high-velocity flow for a predetermined time period”. Paragraph [0027] of the specification filed on 09/03/2024 states “As used herein, "high velocity" refers to controlled aerodynamic speed regimes including, without limitation, subsonic, transonic, hypersonic, and supersonic speeds”. Subsonic speeds occur when an object or airflow moves slower than the speed of sound (typically Mach < 0.75), transonic speeds occur approximately between Mach 0.75 and Mach 1.20, supersonic speeds are those faster than the speed of sound, typically between Mach 1.20 and Mach 5, and hypersonic speeds exceed Mach 5. Based on the paragraph [0027], the applicant is stating that any amount of velocity is considered “high velocity”. It is unclear how a velocity such as 1 m/s and a velocity of Mach 5 (which is approximately 1,715 m/s) are both be considered “high velocity”. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the limitation in question as “exposing the article to a velocity flow for a predetermined time period”.
Claims 10-14 are also rejected due to dependency on claim 9.
Claim 13 states “the fluid” and has dependency on claim 9. However, claim 9 does not previously state “a fluid”; in fact, it is claim 12 that states “a fluid”. It is unclear whether the dependency of claim 13 is proper. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret claim 13 as having dependency on claim 12 rather than on claim 9.
**Note**: Claims 1 and 9 also contain the term “high velocity” in the respective preambles and contain the same 112 issue as presented above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenkins et al. (US 8,047,048; hereinafter “Jenkins”).
Regarding claim 9, teaches Jenkins a method (Column 4, Lines 27-49) for high velocity erosion testing (Abstract) of an article (10; Figure 1) in a testing device (Figure 1), the method comprising:
storing propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) stored in the container (50; Column 4, Lines 33-44) in a container (50; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 33-44);
discharging (Column 4, Lines 33-44) the propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) from the container (50; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 33-44) to an applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1);
heating the propellant (Column 4, Lines 17-44);
discharging the propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) from the applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1) at a controlled speed (the pressurized air and the media are both mixed in order to be both discharged a particular velocity to the specimen 10; See Figure 1; Column 2, Lines 61-64; Column 4, Lines 27-44); and
exposing the article to high-velocity flow (the pressurized air and the media are both mixed in order to be both discharged a particular velocity to the specimen 10; See Figure 1; Column 2, Lines 61-64; Column 4, Lines 27-44) for a predetermined time period (Column 2, Lines 25-34).
Regarding claim 10, Jenkins teaches comprising, prior to the second discharging step, introducing media into the propellant (Column 4, Lines 27-64).
Regarding claim 11, Jenkins teaches collecting media in an evacuation unit (housing 25 collects evacuated particles of the abrasive media 48 or 49 after said abrasive media particles impact the test specimen 10; See Figure 1),
Regarding claim 12, Jenkins teaches wherein the propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) comprises a fluid (air is a gas; Column 4, Lines 33-44) selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, helium, and oxygen, and mixtures thereof (the air contains at least nitrogen, carbon dioxide and oxygen).
Regarding claim 13, Jenkins teaches wherein the fluid (air; Column 4, Lines 33-44), when stored under pressure in the container (Column 4, Lines 33-44), is a gaseous phase (air is a gas; Column 4, Lines 33-44).
Regarding claim 14, Jenkins teaches wherein the predetermined time period exceeds twenty minutes (Column 2, Lines 25-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenkins in view of Drew (US 7,347,768).
Regarding claim 1, Jenkins teaches an apparatus (Figure 1) for high velocity erosion testing (Abstract) of an article (10; Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 15-18), the apparatus comprising:
a container (50; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 33-44);
a propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) stored in the container (50; Column 4, Lines 33-44), wherein the propellant (pressurized air) is stored under pressure in the container (Column 4, Lines 33-44);
an applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1), the applicator being in fluid communication with the container (tube 46, tubing that permits flow of pressurized air is in fluid communication with the compressor 50 and regulator 78 are in fluid communication with the compressor 50; See Figure 1), the applicator comprising a heater (42; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 17-44); and
a controller (21; Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 53-64) for controlling the heater (32); and wherein the applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1) is structured to discharge the propellant at a velocity (the pressurized air and the media are both mixed in order to be both discharged a particular velocity to the specimen 10; See Figure 1; Column 2, Lines 61-64; Column 4, Lines 27-44).
Jenkins teaches the controller but does not expressly teach the controller for controlling the flow of propellant from the applicator.
However, Drew teaches that is known in the art to use a controller (50; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 28-54) for controlling the flow of propellant (air; Figure 1; Column 4, Lines 28-54).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Drew’s propellent flow control to be performed by Jenkins controller in order to simulate different air speeds, which leads to different simulated abrasiveness of the test sample; this permits a better understanding of test specimen wearing in different scenarios (See Drew Column 4, Lines 28-54).
Regarding claim 2, Janks teaches wherein the applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1) introduces media (48 or 49; Figure 1) into the propellant (air; Column 4, Lines 30-46).
Regarding claim 3, Jenkins teaches wherein the apparatus (Figure 1) further comprises an enclosure (25; Figure 1) comprising a retainer (12; Figure 1; Column 3, Lines 6-14).
Regarding claim 4, Jenkins teaches wherein the apparatus (Figure 1) comprises an evacuation unit (housing 25 collects evacuated particles of the abrasive media 48 or 49 after said abrasive media particles impact the test specimen 10; See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jenkins teaches wherein the enclosure (25; Figure 1) comprises an evacuation unit (25) to collect media introduced by the applicator into the propellant (housing 25 collects evacuated particles of the abrasive media 48 or 49 after said abrasive media particles impact the test specimen 10; See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Jenkins teaches the applicator (tubing through which pressurized air 44 travels, 78, 44, 42, 48-19, 66, 68 and tubing that connects funnel 68 to the tube 46; See Figure 1) comprises a mechanical manipulator (regulator 78 is a mechanical component which controls the flow of pressurized air 44, i.e. manipulates flow passage and thus, air flow; Column 5, Lines 7-12).
Regarding claim 7, Jenkins teaches wherein the propellant (pressurized air; Column 4, Lines 33-44) comprises a fluid (air is a gas; Column 4, Lines 33-44) selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, hydrogen, carbon dioxide, helium, and oxygen, and mixtures thereof (the air contains at least nitrogen, carbon dioxide and oxygen).
Regarding claim 8, Jenkins teaches wherein the fluid (air; Column 4, Lines 33-44), when stored under pressure in the container (Column 4, Lines 33-44), is a gaseous phase (air is a gas; Column 4, Lines 33-44).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY W MEGNA FUENTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855