DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment / Request for Reconsideration-After Non-
Final Rejection filed on December 2, 2025 wherein claim(s) 1-2, 5-16 were amended. Examiner notes amendments in claims are directed to overcome rejections under 35 USC § 112. Therefore, claim(s) 1-16 are pending and will be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-Al A 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15, recites --wherein magnetic attraction between the third magnetic insert and the fourth magnetic insert-- [lines 3-4] since --third magnetic insert-- is vague and indefinite. For purposes of examination --third magnetic insert-- will be interpreted as --second magnetic insert-- [claim 9, line 4].
Claim 16, recites --the fourth magnetic insert is configured to be in close proximity to the third magnetic insert-- [line 4] since --third magnetic insert-- is vague and indefinite. For purposes of examination --third magnetic insert-- will be interpreted as --second magnetic insert-- [claim 9, line 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gautreaux et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20200115103A1) hereinafter GAUTREAUX, in view of Cooper (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20230031592A1) hereinafter COOPER.
Regarding claim 1, GAUTREAUX teaches (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D below) a beverage container 102 comprising:
an inner wall G2C-01;
an outer wall G2C-02, wherein the inner G2C-01 and outer G2C-02 walls create an insulating layer G2C-03;
a first magnetic insert 208 positioned within a space G2C-04 defined by the inner wall G2C-01 and outer wall G2C-02.
GAUTREAUX fails to teach a first magnetic insert 208 positioned within a recess defined by the outer wall G2C-02.
GAUTREAUX fails to teach a resilient insert configured to at least partially encapsulate the first magnetic insert 208 and being interposed between the first magnetic insert 208 and the outer wall G2C-02 to fit respective surface contours of the outer wall G2C-02 and the first magnetic insert 208 to secure the first magnetic insert 208 in place.
However, COOPER teaches (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 below) a cooler 10 / patch 50 / tumbler 28 combination wherein magnet 52 is positioned within a recess 46 defined by the outer wall C6-01 for securement purposes.
Moreover, COOPER teaches a resilient insert 54 configured to at least partially encapsulate the magnet 52 and being interposed between the magnet 52 and the outer wall C6-01 to fit respective surface contours of the outer wall C6-01 and the magnet 52 to secure the magnet 52 in place for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified first magnetic insert 208 / outer wall G2C-02 in the beverage container 102 of GAUTREAUX with magnet 52 / outer wall C6-01 as taught in the cooler 10 / patch 50 / tumbler 28 combination of COOPER for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 2, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the resilient insert 54 offers cushioning to the magnetic insert 208, preventing the magnetic insert 208 from rattling relative to the outer wall G2C-02.
Regarding claim 3, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the resilient insert 54 is inert, durable, and resistant to a wide range of temperatures.
Regarding claim 4, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) fails to teach beverage container 102, wherein the resilient insert 54 is comprised of silicone.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified resilient insert 54 to be comprised of silicone in the beverage container 102 of GAUTREAUX, and COOPER to meet design requirements. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the resilient insert 54 does not compromise insulating properties of the container 102.
Regarding claim 6, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the first magnetic insert 208 is situated at a bottom of the container 102.
Regarding claim 7, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 6 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, further comprising a first tumbler 110 sized and shaped to fit over the bottom of the container 102 and having a third magnetic insert 210b therein,
wherein a magnetic attraction between the first magnetic insert 208 and the third magnetic insert 210b is configured to hold the first tumbler 110 to the bottom of the container 102 when the first tumbler 110 is fit over the bottom of the container 102.
Regarding claim 8, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 7 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the third magnetic insert 210b is positioned in a bottom of the first tumbler 110 such that when the first tumbler 110 is fit over the bottom of the container 102, the third magnetic insert 210b is configured to the in close proximity to the first magnetic insert 208 to enable the magnetic attraction.
Regarding claim 9, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 6 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, further comprising;
a neck G2A-01 that defines a pouring opening G2A-02;
a cap 104 configured to attach to the neck G2A-01 and having a second magnetic insert 206 disposed within the cap 104.
The combination of GAUTREAUX, and COOPER fails to teach a second resilient insert configured to at least partially encapsulate the second magnetic insert 206 and being interposed between the second magnetic insert 206 and an outer wall of the cap 104 to fit respective surface contours of the outer wall and the second magnetic insert 206 to secure the second magnetic insert 206 in place.
However, COOPER teaches (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) a cooler 10 / patch 50 / tumbler 28 combination wherein magnet 52 is positioned within a recess 46 defined by the outer wall C6-01 for securement purposes.
Moreover, COOPER teaches a resilient insert 54 configured to at least partially encapsulate the magnet 52 and being interposed between the magnet 52 and the outer wall C6-01 to fit respective surface contours of the outer wall C6-01 and the magnet 52 to secure the magnet 52 in place for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified second magnetic insert 206 / outer wall of the cap 104 in the beverage container 102 of GAUTREAUX, and COOPER with magnet 52 / outer wall C6-01 as taught in the cooler 10 / patch 50 / tumbler 28 combination of COOPER for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 10, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102 wherein the second resilient insert 54 offers cushioning to the second magnetic insert 206, preventing the magnetic insert 206 from rattling relative to the outer wall.
Regarding claim 11, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the second resilient insert 54 is inert, durable, and resistant to a wide range of temperatures.
Regarding claim 12, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) fails to teach beverage container 102 of claim 9, wherein the second resilient insert 54 is comprised of silicone.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified second resilient insert 54 to be comprised of silicone in the beverage container 102 of GAUTREAUX, and COOPER to meet design requirements. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the second resilient insert 54 does not compromise the insulating properties of the container 102.
Regarding claim 14, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the second magnetic insert 206 is situated at a top of the container 102 when the cap 104 is attached to the neck G2A-01.
Regarding claim 15, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 14 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, farther comprising a second tumbler 100 sized and shaped to fit over the top of the container 102 and having a fourth magnetic insert 210a therein, wherein magnetic attraction between the [[second magnetic insert 206]] third magnetic insert 210b and the fourth magnetic insert 210a is configured to hold the second tumbler 100 to the top of the container 102 when the second tumbler 100 is fit over the top of the container 102.
Regarding claim 16, GAUTREAUX, and COOPER (as applied to claim 15 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of GAUTREAUX (see FIG. 1E - FIG. 1F, FIG. 2A - FIG. 2D above) and COOPER (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 6 above) further teaches beverage container 102, wherein the fourth magnetic insert 210a is positioned in a bottom of the tumbler 100 such that when the second tumbler 100 is fit over the top of the container 102, the fourth magnetic insert 210a is configured to be in close proximity to the [[second magnetic insert 206]] third magnetic insert 210b to enable the magnetic attraction.
Response To Arguments
Applicant's arguments / amendments regarding rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) of claim(s) 1-14 in the reply filed December 2, 2025 have been considered and found persuasive. However, upon further examination, rejection of amended claim(s) 15-16 under 35 USC § 112(b) stand.
Applicant's arguments / amendments have been further considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections under 35 USC § 103 does not rely on exactly all references / arguments applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the Applicant’s arguments.
With respect to the art rejections, in accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the
claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of
Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 70 USPQ2D 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
MAKOSINSKI et al. (U. S. Patent US10573799B2): Teaches a “device” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Conti (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20170086580A1): Teaches an “apparatus” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Beadles (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20160176607A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735