Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,12 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 is unclear as written. In claim 1, the “parameter” was claimed to being corresponding to the second orientation. However, now in claim 21, it is claimed “the parameter corresponds to a connection between an encoded view direction and an output of the view branch.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozkan et al (2024/0303883) in view of Zhang et al (US2024/0119582-A1)
Regarding claims 1, OZKAN teaches: A method comprising:
determining a viewpoint; generating a first image using an image generator, the first image including an object in a first orientation based on the viewpoint; See claim 1 and paragraph 0034 (obtaining an image depicting at least one human face and using the trained ML model to: determine, for the obtained image, visual features of one human face in the image; generate, using the determined visual features, at least one representation in vector space which encodes a specific attribute of the human face in the image)
modifying the image generator based on a second orientation of the object; ( modify, in vector space, one or more of the at least one generated representation)
and generating a second image based on the first image using the modified image generator.( and generate, using the or each modified generated representation, a modified image.)
However, Ozkan does not disclose or teach “modifying a parameter of the image generator”
Zhang et al an analogous art teaches see para. [0095] In an operation P804, parameters of the post-OPC image generator 450 (e.g., weights or biases of the machine learning model) are adjusted such that the cost function 803 is reduced. The parameters may be adjusted in various ways. For example, the parameters may be adjusted based on a gradient descent method. In some embodiments, the input data of composite image 702a, reference post-OPC image 712a could actually be a set including multiple images of different clips/locations.
Thus, one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of replacing or modifying the image generator of Ozkan with image generator of Zhang since it would have further provided additional functionality and improve the generated image.
claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the image generator includes a neural network, and modifying of the image generator includes changing a weight associated with the neural network that corresponds to a viewing direction of the object. See paragraph 0049 ( The AI model may consist of a plurality of neural network layers. Each layer has a plurality of weight values, and performs a layer operation through calculation of a previous layer and an operation of a plurality of weights. Examples of neural networks include, but are not limited to, convolutional neural network (CNN), deep neural network (DNN), recurrent neural network (RNN), restricted Boltzmann Machine (RBM), deep belief network (DBN), bidirectional recurrent deep neural network (BRDNN), generative adversarial networks (GAN), and deep Q-networks.)
See also para 0071 of Zhang[ 0071] In some embodiments, the post-OPC image generator 450 may be a machine learning model (e.g., a deep convolutional neural network (CNN)) that is trained to predict a post-OPC image of a mask pattern. The present disclosure is not limited to any specific type of neural network of the machine learning model. The post-OPC image generator 450 may be trained using a number of images of each pattern (e.g., such as images 512 and 514a-n) as training data, or using a number of composite images. In some embodiments, the post-OPC image generator 450 is trained using the composite image as it may be less complex, and less time consuming to build or train a machine learning model with a single input than multiple inputs. A type of input provided to the post-OPC image generator 450 during a prediction process may be similar to the type of input provided during the training process. For example, if the post-OPC image generator 450 is trained with a composite image as the input 402, then for the prediction, the input 402 is a composite image as well. Additional details with respect to the training process are described below at least with reference to FIGS. 7 and 8 below.
claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the image generator is a model that is trained to generate a 3D image using two-dimensional images. See paragraph 0110 ( Here, 3D morphable face models are used as a relaxed data generation pipeline for the generative model, since multiple face renderings can be generated for the same person by preserving or discarding some of the facial attribute)
claim 10. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a third image including a human head, wherein the first image is generated based on the third image and the object includes a portion of the human head. ( 0010] The present techniques allow individual aspects of an image of a face to be edited independently. For example, head pose can be edited without impacting facial expression. )
claim 11. The method of claim 1, wherein determining a viewpoint includes at least one of: determining an association between a light ray and a pixel, determining a focal length, determining a pixel size, determining an image origin, or determining a pose.( 0010] The present techniques allow individual aspects of an image of a face to be edited independently. For example, head pose can be edited without impacting facial expression. The present techniques involve projecting an image into vector space, where the vector space (also referred to herein as representation space) encodes contents or aspects of the image of the face, such as pose, expression, illumination, and likeness. In the present techniques, the representation space is used for editing images of faces and generating new versions of the original image of a face, while enabling human-understandable/human-controllable parameterisation. As noted above, at least one representation may be generated, where each representation encodes a specific attribute. In cases where multiple representations are generated, each representing a different specific attribute, the ML model may be used to modify one or more than one of the representations. That is, it is not necessary to modify all representations that are generated.)
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected same rational as claim 1 since both claims include the same clamed limitations.
claim 19 is rejected same as claim 10.
Claim(s) 1,12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Theobald et al (2012/0097730) in view of Zhang et al (US2024/0119582-A1)
Regarding claims 1,12 and 20, Theobald et al. teaches: A method comprising: determining a viewpoint; generating a first image using an image generator, the first image including an object in a first orientation based on the viewpoint (0073] Operation 651 includes obtaining an input image that depicts a face of a subject. The face of subject has an initial facial expression and an initial pose. The input image in operation 651 may be the input image 102 as previously described. The initial facial expression and the initial pose are the facial expression and pose that are observable in the input image.)
modifying the image generator based on a second orientation of the object;( [0074] Operation 652 includes determining a reference shape description based on the input image. The reference shape description may be a statistical representation of face shape determined using a trained machine learning model as described with respect to the reference shape description 228. [0075] Operation 653 includes determining a target shape description based on the reference shape description, a facial expression difference (e.g., the expression difference 226), and a pose difference (e.g., the pose difference 227). [0076] Operation 654 includes generating a rendered target shape image using the target shape description. The rendered target shape image represents face shape, expression, and pose)
and generating a second image based on the first image using the modified image generator.( [0077] Operation 655 includes generating an output image based on the input image (e.g., the input image 102) and the rendered target shape image (e.g., the rendered target shape 333) using an image generator, such as the image generator 112. The output image in operation 655 may be consistent with the description of the generated image 541 and is a simulated image of the subject of the input image that has a final expression that is based on the initial facial expression and the facial expression difference, and a final pose that is based on the initial pose and the pose difference. The image generator in operation 655 may be a machine learning model that is trained to constrain generation of the output image based on the input image such the output image appears to depict the subject of the input image. The image generator may be a trained generator from a generative adversarial network that is trained using a discriminators that determine whether a person depicted in the output image is the subject of the input image as described with respect to the image generator training system 440. )
However, Ozkan does not disclose or teach the modifying a parameter of the image generator.
Zhang et al an analogous art teaches see para. [0095] In an operation P804, parameters of the post-OPC image generator 450 (e.g., weights or biases of the machine learning model) are adjusted such that the cost function 803 is reduced. The parameters may be adjusted in various ways. For example, the parameters may be adjusted based on a gradient descent method. In some embodiments, the input data of composite image 702a, reference post-OPC image 712a could actually be a set including multiple images of different clips/locations.
Thus, one ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of replacing or modifying the image generator of Theobald et al with image generator of Zhang since it would have further provided additional functionality and improve the generated image.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozkan et al (2024/0303883) in view of Zhang et al (US2024/0119582-A1) and further in view of Gautam et al (W)2024/091969)
Ozkan, in view of Zhang et al teaches claim 1 as described above. See claim 1 rejection. However, Ozkan in view Zhang do not teach wherein the image generator is configured to predict a relationship between a pixel channel and a density in a three-dimensional (3D) plane as claimed in claim 2 and
wherein the density indicates a 3D spatial smoothness as claimed in claim 3. However, GAUTAM et al. WO 2024091969 the same analogs art (i.e. image processing) teaches: Neural Radiance Field (NeRF) [0018] Under the neural-field framework, field quantities are produced by sampling coordinates and feeding the sampled coordinates into a neural network. For example, Neural Radiance Field (NeRF) is an implicit 3D scene representation that takes the spatial location (x, y, z) and the viewing direction (θ, ϕ) as inputs and generates the corresponding predicted color texture and volume density as outputs. The corresponding neural network can be trained, e.g., using a set of 2D images with known camera poses and pertinent intrinsic information. After having been trained, the neural network can be used to render arbitrary views of the 3D scene by (i) querying the corresponding 3D positions and viewing directions for the various pixels in the views and (ii) performing volume rendering to construct a projected 2D image.
Ozkan, Zhang and Gautam are related to image generating device, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the image generator of Ozkan and Zhang with Gautam’s teaching of predicting a relationship between a pixel channel and a density in a three-dimensional (3D) plane since it would have further provided additional functionality and improve generated image.
Claims 13-14 are rejected same rational as claims 2 and 3 respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 16-18 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626