Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cutting portion" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim, line 25 recites, “the biasing portion.” It is unclear whether this is the same features as the “urging portion” in line 9?
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the cutting portion" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the cable holding portion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites “an opening portion” in line 1 and “an opening portion” in line 5. These appear to be the same opening portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Landes (U.S. Patent 7,243,429).
In regards to claim 5, Landes discloses a cable cutting tool structurally configured to cut a jacket of a cable at a set length without cutting elements contained by the jacket of the cable, comprising:
a body portion (handgrip 110) structurally configured to receive a fiber optic cable; a cutting portion holding portion (122/126/128) structurally configured to be supported by the body portion (110);
a sliding portion (thumb actuator 112) structurally configured to be slidingly received by a portion of the body portion (110);
wherein the cutting portion holding portion (122/126/128) is structurally configured to receive a biasing portion (springs 136/138) and to fixedly hold the cutting portion;
wherein the body portion (110) includes a cable guide portion (114) structurally configured to receive a fiber optic cable;
wherein the cable holding portion (126/128) and the cable guide portion (114) are structurally configured to hold the fiber optic cable;
wherein the cable guide portion (114) is structurally configured (via 233) to set a length of a jacket of a fiber optic cable to be cut by the cutting portion and
and wherein the sliding portion (112) is structurally configured to slide relative to the body portion (110) so as overcome a force of the biasing portion (springs 136/138) and urge the cutting portion (130’/ 130”) toward a cable held by the body portion (110) such that the cutting portion is configured to consistently cut a jacket of the cable held by body portion along the set length as the body portion (110) is slid relative to the cable without cutting elements contained by the jacket of the cable (“referably, after cutting die half portion 130' and cutting die half portion 130'' are locked onto twisted shielded wire 101, wire stripping tool 102 is pulled along twisted shielded wire 101, making two simultaneous longitudinal cuts within the outer jacket (at least embodying herein wherein such at least one first cutter and such at least one second cutter operate essentially contemporaneously”; col. 11, lines 7-21)
In regards to claim 13 Landes discloses a cable cutting tool structurally configured to cut a jacket of a cable at a set length without cutting elements contained by the jacket of the cable, comprising: a body portion (handgrip 110) structurally configured to receive a cable; a cutting portion holding portion (122/126/128) structurally configured to be supported by the body portion (110);
a sliding portion (thumb actuator 112) structurally configured to be slidingly received by a portion of the body portion (110);
wherein the cutting portion holding portion (122/126/128) is structurally configured to receive a biasing portion (springs 136/138) and to fixedly hold the cutting portion;
wherein the body portion (110) is structurally configured to set a length of a jacket of a cable to be cut by the cutting portion (via length gauge 233); and wherein the sliding portion (112) is structurally configured to slide relative to the body portion (110) so as overcome a force of the biasing portion (springs 136/138) and urge the cutting portion (130’/ 130”) toward a cable held by the body portion (110) such that the cutting portion is configured to consistently cut a jacket of the cable held by body portion along the set length as the body portion (110) is slid relative to the cable without cutting elements contained by the jacket of the cable (“referably, after cutting die half portion 130' and cutting die half portion 130'' are locked onto twisted shielded wire 101, wire stripping tool 102 is pulled along twisted shielded wire 101, making two simultaneous longitudinal cuts within the outer jacket (at least embodying herein wherein such at least one first cutter and such at least one second cutter operate essentially contemporaneously”; col. 11, lines 7-21)
In regards to claims 6 and 14, Landes discloses wherein the body portion (110) comprises a bottom portion and` a top portion structurally configured to receive the cable holding portion (126/128) therebetween (e.g. Fig. 6); and wherein the cable holding portion is structurally configured to pivot (at retaining pins 119) relative to the top portion and the bottom portion between an open position and a closed position.
In regards to claims 7 and 15, Landes discloses wherein the body portion (110) includes a cable guide portion (114) structurally configured to receive a cable.
In regards to claims 8 and 20, Landes discloses wherein the cable guide portion (114) includes an opening portion (146/148) configured to receive the cutting portion (126/128/130); and wherein the sliding portion (112) is structurally configured to slide relative to the body portion (110) so as overcome a force of the biasing portion (136/138) and urge the cutting portion through the opening portion (146/148) in the cable guide portion.
In regards to claims 9 and 16, Landes discloses wherein the cable guide portion (114) includes a stop portion (233) that is structurally configured to set a length of a jacket of a cable to be cut by the cutting portion.
In regards to claims 10 and 17, Landes discloses wherein the biasing portion (136/138) is structurally configured to bias the cutting portion (130’/130”) away from the cable guide portion (114).
In regards to claims 11 and 18, Landes discloses wherein the biasing portion (136/138) includes a pair of springs, and wherein the cutting portion (130’/130”) is disposed between the pair of springs (136/138).
In regards to claims 12 and 19, Landes discloses wherein the cutting portion (130’/130”) includes a linear edge portion arranged at an acute angle with respect to a longitudinal axis of the cable guide portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724