DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 16, 21-24, 26-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (Pub. No.: US 2022/0201605 A1) and further in view of Cheng (Pub. No.: US 2023/0015652 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
YANG discloses a method of wireless communications, comprising: monitoring, by a user device (fig. 4, item 400 which is a user equipment, parag. 0287), power saving indications transmitted from a network device (fig. 3, item 300 which is a network device, parag. 0244) during monitoring occasions predefined or configured by a higher layer parameter (parag. 0055), the power saving indications including a first type of a power saving indication transmitted outside an active time period of the user device or a second type of a power saving indication transmitted within the active time period (parag. 0085-0089 discloses the first and second type of power saving indications);
YANG does not explicitly disclose performing a next action that includes determining whether to feedback the monitoring of the power saving indications based on power saving information indicated by the power saving indications or values of one or more indication domains in the power saving indications in response to satisfying a predefined condition on a reception of a downlink channel.
Cheng discloses performing a next action that includes determining whether to feedback the monitoring of the power saving indications based on power saving information indicated by the power saving indications or values of one or more indication domains in the power saving indications in response to satisfying a predefined condition on a reception of a downlink channel (parag. 0056-0061);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng into the teaching of YANG in order to determine an application delay based on a predefined value.
With respect to claim 12:
YANG discloses a method of wireless communications, comprising: transmitting, by a network device (parag. 0014), to a user device, power saving indications including a first type of a power saving indication transmitted outside an active time period of the user device or a second type of the power saving indication transmitted within the active time period (parag. 0085-0089 discloses the first and second type of power saving indications transmitted);
YANG does not explicitly disclose wherein the power saving indication causes the user device to perform a next action that includes causing the user device to determine whether to feedback monitoring of the power saving indications based on power saving information indicated by the power saving indications or values of one or more indication domains in the power saving indications in response to satisfying a predefined condition on a reception of a downlink channel.
Cheng disclose wherein the power saving indication causes the user device to perform a next action that includes causing the user device to determine whether to feedback monitoring of the power saving indications based on power saving information indicated by the power saving indications or values of one or more indication domains in the power saving indications in response to satisfying a predefined condition on a reception of a downlink channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Cheng into the teaching of YANG in order to determine an application delay based on a predefined value.
With respect to claim 16:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated; YANG further discloses a wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor (fig. 15, item 151) and a memory (fig. 15, item 153), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to perform the function of claim 1.
With respect to claims 21, 27, 33:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the next action further includes switching minimum offset to 0 or a default value in case that the second type of the power saving indication with an updated minimum offset is not detected (parag. 0056-0058).
With respect to claims 22, 28, 34, 36:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein feedback on the monitoring of the power saving indications includes HARQ-ACK information indicating whether the power saving indications have been successfully received (parag. 0014).
With respect to claims 23, 29, 35:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the type of power saving information indicates whether to activate or deactivate SCell dormant state (parag. 0063, 0064 and 0069).
With respect to claims 24, 30:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the user device feeds back a HARQ-ACK information bit value indicating ACK in case that the power saving indications have been successfully received (0072).
With respect to claims 26, 32, 38:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the active time period is defined in a MAC layer (parag. 0048, 0084).
With respect to claims 31, 37:
Cheng discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the power saving indication further causes the user device to determine to feedback HARQ-ACK information of the power saving indication in case that all of one or more indication domains in the power saving indication have a first value (parag.0061).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649