CTNF 18/823,669 CTNF 82662 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: DATA PROCESSING APPARATUS, DATA PROCESSING METHOD, PROGRAM, TEST APPARATUS, AND PRINTING SYSTEM COMPRISING ESTIMATING ONE OR MORE DEFECTIVE PRINTING ELEMENTS IN A PRINTING HEAD AND PROVIDING A NOTIFICATION OF THE DEFECTIVE PRINTING CANDIDATE INFORMATION INCLUDING A DEFECTIVE ELEMENT PROBABILITY . . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not include a written description of a moving apparatus that relatively moves the printing head and a printing medium. A head moving apparatus is specific to the ink jet head and not the movement of the printing medium. Thus, the specification fails to comply with the written description requirement regarding this claim term. Claims 13-17 are rejected based on their dependency. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-23 Claim limitation “moving apparatus” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not contain a description of a moving apparatus that moves the printing head and the printing medium. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 13-17 are rejected based on their dependency. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Ueshima (US Pub 2013/0208042) . Re claim 1: A data processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories in which a program executed by the one or more processors is stored (e.g. a CPU can operation a control program with the use of a ROM or RAM, which is taught in ¶ [81].), [0081] The system controller 160 functions as a control device which performs overall control of the respective units of the inkjet recording apparatus 10, and also functions as a calculation device which performs various calculation processes. This system controller 160 includes a CPU, a ROM, a RAM and the like, and operates in accordance with a prescribed control program. A control program which is executed by the system controller 160 and various data required for control purposes are stored in a ROM. wherein the one or more processors are configured to: by executing an instruction of the program, acquire captured data generated by capturing a printed image printed on a printing medium (e.g. the image capturing unit is used to capture the image of a test pattern in order to acquire density data, which is taught in ¶ [128]-[130].); [0128] Here, the variable i is incremented to i=2, and the procedure transfers to step S105. The image recording unit 100 records a test pattern by the head having "order_2" (head 120K) on the test pattern recording region 220 of the second sheet of paper P. Furthermore, the image recording unit 100 records an output image on an output image recording region 222 of the paper P (step S106). [0129] Thereafter, similarly, an image of a test pattern is captured by the image capturing unit 130 (step S107), density data for each nozzle is calculated in the density data conversion unit 203 and the density calculation unit 204, and defective nozzles are detected by the comparison calculation unit 205 (step S108). [0130] In this way, inspection of m test patterns is carried out while printing output images onto m sheets of paper P. In this case, the m test patterns are assigned to each head, and the evaluation order is set so as to make the evaluation frequency higher, the higher the occurrence frequency of defective nozzles. Therefore, it is possible to make a greater number of evaluations for a head, the higher the occurrence frequency of defective nozzles in that head. As a result of this, it is possible to raise the statistical probability of detecting a defective nozzle at an early stage. specify a defect position indicating a position of a defect in the printed image by analyzing the captured data (e.g. the system specifies a pixel row that is used as a basis for determining the defect with the ink ejection, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108].); [0104] The comparison calculation unit 205 compares density data calculated by the density calculation unit 204 with a prescribed density threshold value which is set arbitrarily. If the density data is lower (weaker) than the density threshold value, then the nozzle corresponding to the one pixel row used as a basis for calculating the average value of the density is judged to be have an ink ejection defect or landing deviation. On the other hand, if the density data is higher (darker) than the density threshold value, then the nozzle is judged to be a normally functioning nozzle which is in a normally depositing state. In this way, the comparison calculation unit 205 functions as a test pattern analysis device for detecting defective nozzles in the recording head. [0105] For each inkjet head, the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 records information, such as the nozzle position in the main scanning direction, as an ink ejection defect and landing deviation inspection history, in respect of nozzles judged to be suffering an ink ejection defect or landing deviation in the comparison calculation unit 205. Moreover, the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 is also able to record ink viscosity information, ink vapor pressure information, nozzle diameter data and recording head installation angle data, by inputs from the operating unit 170. [0106] The priority order setting unit 207 calculates an occurrence frequency for each inkjet head from the defective nozzle information stored in the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206, and sets a priority order for each of the heads 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K in the defective nozzle inspection, on the basis of this occurrence frequency. [0107] The evaluation frequency setting unit 208 sets an evaluation frequency for defective nozzle inspection of each of the heads 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K on the basis of the priority order set by the priority order setting unit 207. [0108] The evaluation order setting unit 209 (which corresponds to a control device) sets an evaluation order for defective nozzle inspection of the heads 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K, on the basis of the evaluation frequency set by the evaluation frequency setting unit 208. estimate one or more defective printing element candidates as candidates of a defective printing element from a plurality of printing elements provided in a printing head, from the defect position in the printed image (e.g. the system determines the nozzle or nozzles that contain the ink ejection defect based on the comparison of the image data with a prescribed density within a location of the image. The occurrence frequency is used to determine which ink jet heads have a certain occurrence frequency, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); derive a probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes occurrence of the defect (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the frequency of occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130] above, [144] and [177].); and [0143] Here, as shown in FIG. 10, if there is error in the installation of the heads 120, and the installation angle of a head is 90.degree.+.gamma..degree., in other words, a head installation error angle of .gamma. occurs, then lengthening and shortening of the nozzle pitch in the main scanning direction occurs and the nozzle pitch ceases to be uniform. Therefore, setting the priority order in sequence from the head having the largest installation error angle .gamma. is effective in achieving rapid detection of ink ejection defects or landing deviation. [0144] As described above, in a step of designating an analysis frequency when inspecting ink ejection defects and landing deviation, it is possible to use ink viscosity information, ink vapor pressure information, nozzle diameter data and head installation angle data. In this way, even if there is no inspection history information, by using information about factors which give rise to recording defects, it is possible to raise the evaluation frequency of heads which have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect. [0175] More specifically, in the case of the flowcharts shown in FIG. 8, FIG. 12 and FIG. 14, processing is carried out sequentially from the head module having the highest defective nozzle occurrence frequency, by using the inspection history 206b. Furthermore, it is also possible to carry out processing sequentially from the head module having the highest maximum value of the defective nozzle occurrence frequency, by using the inspection history 206c. Moreover, it is also possible to carry out processing sequentially from the nozzle having the highest defective nozzle occurrence frequency. [0176] In the case of the flowchart shown in FIG. 11, the processing in step S108 is carried out sequentially from the nozzle having the highest defective nozzle occurrence frequency, by using the inspection history 206c. [0177] By preferentially inspecting head modules or nozzles having a high statistical probability of producing a recording defect, using an ink ejection defect and landing deviation inspection history, when detecting defective nozzles on the basis of inspection image data, it is possible to further raise the statistical probability of detecting a defective nozzle at an early stage. provide notification of defective printing element candidate information including the probability of actually causing the occurrence of the defect for each defective printing element candidate (e.g. a report is issued that a recording defect is detected, which is taught in ¶ [23] and [124]-[126]. The system controller notifies the defective nozzle detection control unit to store defect information. Based on the defect occurrence, the priority order setting unit is provided with the candidate with the highest frequency of defect as the primary nozzle to be inspected for causing the defect. This is taught in ¶ [104]-[108], [143], [144] and [175]-[177] above.). [0023] It is preferable that the method further includes a reporting step of immediately issuing a report that a recording defect has been detected, when a recording defect is detected in the analysis step. Moreover, the analysis step may immediately terminate analysis, when a recording defect has been detected. [0124] The system controller 160 judges whether or not all of the nozzle are functioning normally, on the basis of these detection results (step S109). [0125] If a defective nozzle is detected, then this detection result is stored in the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 and the image recording process (printing process) is terminated. By immediately suspending the image recording process in this way when a defective nozzle has been detected, wastage of paper is avoided. Furthermore, immediately after detecting a defective nozzle, image conversion processing is carried out anew for the purpose of ejection failure correction and density correction, and a cleaning operation (nozzle restoration operation), such as preliminary ejection, suctioning, wiping, or the like, can be carried out in respect of the defective nozzle. [0126] Desirably, as well as terminating the printing process, a notification that the printing process has been terminated is displayed to the user via the display unit 172, or reported via speakers (not illustrated) (corresponding to a reporting step). Re claim 2: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: derive a peak position in a profile of the defect from the captured data; and derive the probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes the occurrence of the defect, based on the peak position (e.g. the processor derives a peak or primary position in the defect frequency profile based on captured data and assigns the most defective nozzle, based on frequency of occurrence, to the priority position representing the most probable nozzle to create a defect that should be inspected. This is taught in ¶ [104]-[108], [143], [144], [175]-[177] above and [145]-[147].). [0145] FIG. 11 is a flowchart showing a defective nozzle detection process according to a second embodiment. Parts which are the same as or similar to the flowchart shown in FIG. 8 are labeled with the same reference symbols and detailed explanation thereof is omitted here. In the present embodiment, the evaluation frequency is set on the basis of the maximum value of the occurrence frequency for each head, and the evaluation order is set on the basis of this evaluation frequency. [0146] Firstly, the priority order setting unit 207 reads in the ink ejection defect and landing deviation inspection history stored in the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 (step S201). In the present embodiment, the priority order setting unit 207 reads in an inspection history 206c as shown in FIG. 9. In the example shown here, one head is constituted by six head modules and furthermore, one head module is constituted by 636 nozzles. The inspection history 206c shows the number of occurrences of ink ejection defects and landing deviations for each nozzle. [0147] Next, the priority order setting unit 207 sets a priority order, priority, in sequence from the head including the nozzle having the highest value of the occurrence frequency (number of occurrences) of an ink ejection defect or landing deviation, on the basis of the inspection history 206c which is read out from the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 in step S201 (step S202). In other words, the priority order is set to: priority order "priority_1" for the head including the nozzle having the highest maximum value of the occurrence frequency, priority order "priority_2" for the head including the nozzle having the second highest maximum value of the occurrence frequency, . . . , and priority order "priority_n" for the head including the nozzle having the nth highest maximum value of the occurrence frequency. Re claim 4: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide notification of a position of the defective printing element candidate in the printing head (e.g. the system ranks the particular print head in a priority order of inspection based on the frequency occurrence of defects. This notification is to the defective nozzle detection control unit and to the priority order setting unit by the system controller. The particular print head identifies the position of the print head, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.). Re claim 5: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide notification of a printing element number assigned to the printing elements provided in the printing head for the defective printing element candidate (e.g. the system ranks the particular print head in a priority order of inspection based on the frequency occurrence of defects. This notification is to the defective nozzle detection control unit and to the priority order setting unit by the system controller. The particular print head identifies the element number of the print head, such as cyan head or 120C, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above and [115]-[117].). [0115] Thereupon, the evaluation frequency setting unit 208 sets an evaluation frequency for each of the heads, on the basis of the priority orders set by the priority order setting unit 207 (corresponding to an evaluation frequency setting step). Here, for example, the evaluation frequency of the head having priority order "priority_1" (head 120C) is set to 40%, the evaluation frequency of the head having priority order "priority_2" (head 120K) is set to 30%, the evaluation frequency of the head having priority order "priority_3" (head 120Y) is set to 20% and the evaluation frequency of the head having priority order "priority_4" (head 120M) is set to 10%. The method of setting the evaluation frequency is not limited to the example described above, and can use an optimal method, as appropriate. [0116] Next, the evaluation order setting unit 209 sets an evaluation order, order, for each head on the basis of the evaluation frequency for each head set by the evaluation frequency setting unit 208 (corresponding to an evaluation order setting step; step S103). Here, since m output images are printed and a test pattern of one color is recorded on one sheet of paper P, then in total m test patterns are recorded. The evaluation order setting unit 209 sets the evaluation order, "order", for each head by assigning the m test patterns in accordance with the evaluation frequencies of the heads (corresponding to a control step). [0117] Here, for example, the head having priority order "priority_1" (head 120C) is set at evaluation order, "order_1", the head having priority order "priority_2" (head 120K) is set at evaluation order, "order_2", the head having priority order "priority_3" (head 120Y) is set at evaluation order, "order_3", the head having priority order "priority_1" (head 120C) is set at evaluation order, "order_4", the head having priority order "priority_4" (head 120M) is set at evaluation order, "order_5", the head having priority order "priority_2" (head 120K) is set at evaluation order, "order_6", . . . , and the head having priority order "priority_3" (head 120Y) is set at evaluation order, "order_m". Re claim 6: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide notification of a color printed by the defective printing element candidate (e.g. the system ranks the particular print head in a priority order of inspection based on the frequency occurrence of defects. This notification is to the defective nozzle detection control unit and to the priority order setting unit by the system controller. The particular print head identifies the color of the print head, such as cyan head or 120C, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] and [115]-[117] above.). Re claim 7: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide notification of an occurrence frequency of the defective printing element candidate (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the frequency of occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. The priority order setting unit is notified of the frequency occurrence of the defect associated with the print heads, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130], [144] and [177] above.). Re claim 8: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to provide notification of an occurrence count of the defective printing element candidate (e.g. the priority order setting unit sets a priority order for the print head with the highest counted occurrence frequency, which is taught in ¶ [112].). [0112] The priority order setting unit 207 sets a priority order, priority, in sequence from the head having the highest occurrence frequency (number of occurrences) of an ink ejection defect or landing deviation, on the basis of the inspection history 206a which is read out from the defect occurrence frequency storage unit 206 in step S101 (step S102). In other words, the priority order is set to: priority order "priority_1" for the head having the highest occurrence frequency, priority order "priority_2" for the head having the second highest occurrence frequency, etc., and priority order "priority_n" for the head having the nth highest occurrence frequency. Re claim 9: Ueshima discloses a data processing method comprising: via a computer, acquiring captured data generated by capturing a printed image printed on a printing medium (e.g. the image capturing unit is used to capture the image of a test pattern in order to acquire density data, which is taught in ¶ [128]-[130] above.); specifying a defect position indicating a position of a defect in the printed image by analyzing the captured data (e.g. the system specifies a pixel row that is used as a basis for determining the defect with the ink ejection, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); estimating one or more defective printing element candidates as candidates of a defective printing element from a plurality of printing elements provided in a printing head, from the defect position in the printed image (e.g. the system determines the nozzle or nozzles that contain the ink ejection defect based on the comparison of the image data with a prescribed density within a location of the image. The occurrence frequency is used to determine which ink jet heads have a certain occurrence frequency, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); deriving a probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes occurrence of the defect (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the frequency of occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130], [144] and [177] above.); and providing notification of defective printing element candidate information including the probability of actually causing the occurrence of the defect for each defective printing element candidate (e.g. a report is issued that a recording defect is detected, which is taught in ¶ [23] and [124]-[126] above. The system controller notifies the defective nozzle detection control unit to store defect information. Based on the defect occurrence, the priority order setting unit is provided with the candidate with the highest frequency of defect as the primary nozzle to be inspected for causing the defect. This is taught in ¶ [104]-[108], [143], [144] and [175]-[177] above.). Re claim 10: Ueshima discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable tangible recording medium on which a program for causing, when read by a computer, the computer to execute the data processing method according to claim 9 is recorded (e.g. a CPU is utilized with RAM or ROM to execute a program, which is taught in ¶ [81] above.). Re claim 11: Ueshima discloses a test apparatus comprising: an imaging apparatus (interpretation: The scanner 32 comprises an imaging device that captures a test pattern image printed on the printing surface of the film substrate 1 and that converts a captured image into an electric signal, which is taught in ¶ [68]. Examples of the imaging device include a CCD image sensor and a color CMOS image sensor. CMOS is the abbreviation for Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor, which is taught in ¶ [71]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) that captures a printed image printed on a printing medium (e.g. an image capturing unit is used to capture an image recorded by heads onto a sheet, which is taught in ¶ [55].); [0055] The image capturing unit 130 is an image capturing device which captures an image recorded by the heads 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K and is arranged on the downstream side of the head 120K which is disposed in the last position in the direction of conveyance of paper P by means of the image recording drum 110. The image capturing unit 130 includes a line sensor constituted by a solid image capturing element, such as a CCD or a CMOS, and a fixed-focus image capturing optical system, for example. one or more processors; and one or more memories in which a program executed by the one or more processors is stored (e.g. a CPU is utilized with RAM or ROM to execute a program, which is taught in ¶ [81] above.), wherein the one or more processors are configured to: by executing an instruction of the program, acquire captured data generated using the imaging apparatus (e.g. the image capturing unit is used to capture the image of a test pattern in order to acquire density data, which is taught in ¶ [128]-[130] above.); specify a defect position indicating a position of a defect in the printed image by analyzing the captured data (e.g. the system specifies a pixel row that is used as a basis for determining the defect with the ink ejection, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); estimate one or more defective printing element candidates as candidates of a defective printing element from a plurality of printing elements provided in a printing head, from the defect position in the printed image (e.g. the system determines the nozzle or nozzles that contain the ink ejection defect based on the comparison of the image data with a prescribed density within a location of the image. The occurrence frequency is used to determine which ink jet heads have a certain occurrence frequency, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); derive a probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes occurrence of the defect (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the frequency of occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130], [144] and [177] above.); and provide notification of defective printing element candidate information including the probability of actually causing the occurrence of the defect for each defective printing element candidate (e.g. a report is issued that a recording defect is detected, which is taught in ¶ [23] and [124]-[126] above. The system controller notifies the defective nozzle detection control unit to store defect information. Based on the defect occurrence, the priority order setting unit is provided with the candidate with the highest frequency of defect as the primary nozzle to be inspected for causing the defect. This is taught in ¶ [104]-[108], [143], [144] and [175]-[177] above.). Re claim 12: Ueshima discloses a printing system comprising: one or more printing heads (e.g. print heads are used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [48].); [0047] (Image Recording Unit) [0048] The image recording unit 100 forms a color image on the printing surface of the paper P by ejecting droplets of inks (aqueous inks) of the respective colors of C, M, Y and K onto the printing surface of the paper P. The image recording unit 100 is principally constituted by an image recording drum 110 which conveys paper P, a paper pressing roller 112 which presses the paper P conveyed by the image recording drum 110 and causes the paper P to make tight contact with the image recording drum 110, inkjet heads (corresponding to a recording head, simply called "head" below) 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K which eject ink droplets of respective color of cyan (C), magenta (M), yellow (Y) and black (K) on paper P, an image capturing unit 130 which reads in an image recorded on the paper P, a mist filter 140 which captures ink mist, and a drum temperature adjustment unit 142. a moving apparatus that relatively moves the printing head and a printing medium (e.g. the image recording drum moves the sheet of paper in relation to the ink jet heads, which is taught in ¶ [49].); [0049] The image recording drum 110 is a conveyance device for paper P in the image recording unit 100. The image recording drum 110 is formed in a round cylindrical shape and is caused to rotate by being driven by a motor (not illustrated). A gripper 110A is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the paper supply drum 110, and a leading end of the paper P is gripped by this gripper 110A. The image recording drum 110 conveys the paper P while the paper P is wrapped about the circumferential surface of the drum, by gripping a leading end of the paper P with the gripper 110A and rotating. Furthermore, a plurality of suction holes (not illustrated) are formed in a prescribed pattern in the circumferential surface of the image recording drum 110. The paper P which is wrapped about the circumferential surface of the image recording drum 110 is conveyed while being held by suction on the circumferential surface of the image recording drum 110, by being suctioned via the suction holes. Consequently, it is possible to convey the paper P with a high degree of flatness. an imaging apparatus that captures a printed image printed on the printing medium using the printing head (e.g. an image capturing unit is used to capture an image recorded by heads onto a sheet, which is taught in ¶ [55] above.); a data processing apparatus ( interpretation: The read data processing portion 130 detects a defective nozzle by analyzing the read data of the test pattern image generated using the scanner 32, which is taught in ¶ [129]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action. ) that processes captured data generated using the imaging apparatus (e.g. the CPU or system controller processes the captured data using the data from the image capturing unit, which is taught in ¶ [60].); [0060] The paper P on which an image has been recorded by the heads 120C, 120M, 120Y and 120K then passes the image capturing unit 130. The image recorded on the printing surface of the paper is read in while the paper passes the image capturing unit 130. This reading of the recorded image is carried out according to requirements, and inspection for ejection defects, and the like, is carried out on the basis of the read image. The image is read out while in a state of being suctioned and held on the image recording drum 110, and therefore it is possible to read the image with high accuracy. Furthermore, since the image is read immediately after image recording, then it is possible to detect abnormalities, such as ejection defects, straight away, and to take corresponding countermeasures swiftly. Consequently, it is possible to prevent wasteful recording, as well as being able to minimize the occurrence of wasted paper. one or more first processors; and one or more first memories in which a first program executed by the one or more first processors is stored (e.g. a CPU is utilized with RAM or ROM to execute a program, which is taught in ¶ [81] above.), wherein the one or more first processors are configured to: by executing an instruction of the first program, acquire captured data generated by capturing the printed image printed on the printing medium (e.g. the image capturing unit is used to capture the image of a test pattern in order to acquire density data, which is taught in ¶ [128]-[130] above.); specify a defect position indicating a position of a defect in the printed image by analyzing the captured data (e.g. the system specifies a pixel row that is used as a basis for determining the defect with the ink ejection, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); estimate one or more defective printing element candidates as candidates of a defective printing element from a plurality of printing elements provided in the printing head, from the defect position in the printed image (e.g. the system determines the nozzle or nozzles that contain the ink ejection defect based on the comparison of the image data with a prescribed density within a location of the image. The occurrence frequency is used to determine which ink jet heads have a certain occurrence frequency, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.); derive a probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes occurrence of the defect (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the frequency of occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130], [144] and [177] above.); and provide notification of defective printing element candidate information including the probability of actually causing the occurrence of the defect for each defective printing element candidate (e.g. a report is issued that a recording defect is detected, which is taught in ¶ [23] and [124]-[126] above. The system controller notifies the defective nozzle detection control unit to store defect information. Based on the defect occurrence, the priority order setting unit is provided with the candidate with the highest frequency of defect as the primary nozzle to be inspected for causing the defect. This is taught in ¶ [104]-[108], [143], [144] and [175]-[177] above.). Re claim 13: Ueshima discloses the printing system according to claim 12, further comprising: a recovery processing apparatus that performs recovery processing on the printing head (e.g. a recovery operation, such as cleaning, can occur to the ink jet head, which is taught in ¶ [124]-[126] above.). Re claim 14: Ueshima discloses the printing system according to claim 13, further comprising: one or more second processors; and one or more second memories in which a second program executed by the one or more second processors is stored, wherein the one or more second processors are configured to, by executing an instruction of the second program, perform the recovery processing of the defective printing element candidate using the recovery processing apparatus (e.g. a nozzle restoration operation can occur, such as preliminary ejection, suctioning, wiping the defective nozzle, which is taught in ¶ [124]-[126] above. The system controller works with the defective nozzle detection control unit and its storage units to perform the operations for recovery.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueshima in view of Ukishima (US Pub 2021/0114368) . Re claim 3: Ueshima discloses the data processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to derive the probability that the defective printing element candidate actually causes the occurrence of the defect (e.g. an ink jet head is set to have a higher priority in the defective nozzle inspection based on the occurrence, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above. Ink jet heads with a higher occurrence frequency are determined to have a high logical probability of producing a recording defect, which is taught in ¶ [130], [144] and [177] above.). However, Ueshima fails to specifically teach the features of by applying a trained learning model. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ukishima. Similar to the primary reference, Ukishima discloses applying a machine learning model to determine a defective nozzle (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Ukishima discloses by applying a trained learning model (e.g. a machine learning model is applied in order to determine a defect within an image, which is taught in ¶ [103]-[106].). [0103] The model generation unit 44 is an arithmetic unit that performs model generation processing P2. The model generation processing P2 is processing of generating a machine learning model D5 using an original data comparison method, from the learning inspection data D2 and the second learning reference data D4 as learning input information and the learning defect information D3 as learning output information. In the model generation processing P2, as the learning input information, at least information based on the learning inspection data D2 and information based on the second learning reference data D4 may be used, and, as the learning output information, at least information based on the learning defect information D3 may be used. [0104] For machine learning, any method such as multiple regression analysis, support vector machine, a partial least-square method, and deep learning may be used. In deep learning, feature data used for pattern recognition is also automatically extracted. By using a large amount of the high-quality learning defect information D3 acquired by the learning information generation device 20, it is possible to generate a machine learning model having high inspection performance. Here, in the model generation processing P2, a machine learning model D5 is generated by deep learning. [0105] The learning inspection data D2 is used in both of the comparison processing P1 in the learning information generation device 20 and the model generation processing P2 in the model generation device 40. On the other hand, the learning inspection data D2 used for the comparison processing P1 and the learning inspection data D2 used for the model generation processing P2 do not necessarily have to be subjected to the same pre-processing. That is, the learning inspection data D2 used for the comparison processing P1 and the learning inspection data D2 used for the model generation processing P2 may be data obtained by performing different pre-processing on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of a printed matter without a defect by an image capturing device. The greatest advantage of the present embodiment is that a large amount of the learning defect information D3 can be accurately generated by the comparison processing P1. Thus, there is no problem even in a case where different pre-processing is respectively performed. [0106] Further, the learning defect information D3 generated in the comparison processing P1 and the learning defect information D3 used in the model generation processing P2 do not necessarily have to be the same, and the learning output information used in the model generation processing P2 may be generated based on the learning defect information D3. Since the comparison processing P1 and the model generation processing P2 are different processing, the learning defect information D3 generated in the comparison processing P1 and the learning defect information D3 used in the model generation processing P2 may be defined in a format suitable for each processing. Therefore, in view of Ukishima, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of by applying a trained learning model, incorporated in the device of Ueshima, in order to apply a machine learning model, which can improve the accuracy of defect inspection (as stated in Ukishima ¶ [06]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueshima in view of Common Knowledge Print element notifications (Official Notice) . Re claim 15: However, Ueshima fails to specifically teach the features of the printing system according to claim 12, wherein the one or more first processors are configured to provide notification indicating that replacement of the printing head provided with the defective printing element candidate is required. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge Print element notifications (Official Notice). Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Print element notifications disclose notifying a user when print elements are in need of replacing (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Print element notifications discloses wherein the one or more first processors are configured to provide notification indicating that replacement of the printing head provided with the defective printing element candidate is required (e.g. it is well-known, routine and conventional to have a printer, via display or a printer driver on a connected computer, notify a user of when to replace am ink jet head or nozzle. This can occur during an error or when it is detected the nozzle or ink jet head is defective a certain amount of times.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Print element notifications, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the one or more first processors are configured to provide notification indicating that replacement of the printing head provided with the defective printing element candidate is required, incorporated in the device of Ueshima, in order to notify a user of when print elements should be replaced when printing compensation may not be available, which can aid in improving overall image quality in later print requests . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueshima in view of Fujita (USP 6733100) . Re claim 16: Ueshima discloses the printing system according to claim 12, further comprising: one or more third processors; and one or more third memories in which a third program executed by the one or more third processors is stored, wherein the one or more third processors are configured to: by executing an instruction of the third program (e.g. several functions occur within the MFP that allows for the system controller to perform various operations and the defective nozzle detection control unit to perform several operations associated with a program function. The CPU, ROM and RAM is taught in ¶ [81] above.). However, Ueshima fails to specifically teach the features of perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element candidate as an unused printing element; and perform printing at a printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using a normal printing element. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Fujita. Similar to the primary reference, Fujita discloses compensating for defective nozzles (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Fujita discloses perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element candidate as an unused printing element; and perform printing at a printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using a normal printing element (e.g. the invention discloses a complementary printing method of a non-printable nozzle being replaced by adjacent nozzles to print the image of the non-printable nozzle. This involves adjacent nozzles operating while the non-printable nozzle data is assigned to the printable nozzles, which is explained in col. 16, ll. 35-61 and col. 18, ll. 11-39.). (121) However, in a printing apparatus having a high resolution of 1,200 dpi, like the first embodiment, the presence/absence of dots can be confirmed, but the color difference cannot be confirmed. Thus, it is effective for the image quality to complement omitted black printing data with cyan ink. (122) In some cases, the image quality is important even in the black mode, like a monochrome photograph. Further, cyan ink which complements omitted black data may stand out depending on the printing medium. In this case, printing is completed using not only cyan ink but also other color inks. For example, since the tint of a mixture of three, cyan, yellow, and magenta color inks is close to black ink, printing data of a raster in FIG. 15 may be copied to cyan, magenta, and yellow rasters. If three color inks simultaneously print one pixel to cause ink overflow or extremely increase the density at this portion, the Bk raster may be alternately distributed to three color rasters, as shown in FIG. 16. To make the tint of the ink mixture much closer to the black tint, the printing ratio of three color inks is changed, or other light cyan and light magenta inks may be mixed. This method can be developed in many ways, and a method suitable for a printing apparatus and printing mode can be employed. In any case, image degradation by a white stripe formed by an undischargeable nozzle can be reduced. This data control may be executed by the hardware of the printing apparatus main body, or by the printer driver in the printing apparatus or in a host computer connected to the printing apparatus. (134) FIG. 20 is a view showing the printing data distribution method in multipass printing of the first embodiment. (135) A non-discharge complementary mask of 16 columns is held separately from a normal printing mask. The normal printing mask has a size as large as 256.times.256 pixels, whereas the non-discharge complementary mask has a size as small as 1 raster.times.16 columns. Reference numerals 2401 to 2404 denote printing data of respective nozzles corresponding to respective scanning operations when a target raster is printed by four scanning operations. These printing data are complemented with each other, and overlapped to complete an original image. (136) For example, the printing data 2401 of the 15th nozzle of an even-numbered line is erased from the raster of the 15th nozzle when the 15th nozzle is confirmed to be unprintable. At the same time, the printing data 2401 is distributed to 4-pass non-discharge complementary masks (2405 to 2407). The three masks are complementary with each other, and all columns are necessarily ON (printed) on any masks. In FIG. 20, black portions represent "ON (printed)". The printing data 2401 and the non-discharge complementary masks are ANDed to extract data 2408 to 2410. (137) These data represent printing data which should be newly printed by the 47th, 79th, and 101st nozzles instead of the 15th nozzle. Hence, the final printing data of the 15th, 47th, 79th, and 101st nozzles are printing data 2411 to 2414 attained by ORing the data 2402 and 2408, the data 2403 and 2409, and the data 2404 and 2410. As a result, printino data of the target raster is divisionally printed by the three nozzles. Therefore, in view of Fujita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element candidate as an unused printing element; and perform printing at a printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using a normal printing element, incorporated in the device of Ueshima, in order to perform complementary printing of a defective nozzle, which aid in providing stable and efficient printing (as stated in Fujita col. 3, ll. 22-40.). Re claim 17: Ueshima discloses the printing system according to claim 16, wherein the one or more third processors are configured to: acquire information about a defective printing element stored in advance (e.g. the system detects defect frequency occurrence in advance of further print and scanning operations, which is taught in ¶ [104]-[108] above.). However, Ueshima fails to specifically teach the features of perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element as the unused printing element; and perform printing at the printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using the normal printing element. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Fujita. Similar to the primary reference, Fujita discloses compensating for defective nozzles (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Fujita discloses perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element as the unused printing element; and perform printing at the printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using the normal printing element (e.g. the invention discloses a complementary printing method of a non-printable nozzle being replaced by adjacent nozzles to print the image of the non-printable nozzle. This involves adjacent nozzles operating while the non-printable nozzle data is assigned to the printable nozzles, which is explained in col. 16, ll. 35-61 and col. 18, ll. 11-39.). Therefore, in view of Fujita, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of perform masking processing of masking the defective printing element as the unused printing element; and perform printing at the printing position at which the unused printing element performs printing, using the normal printing element, incorporated in the device of Ueshima, in order to perform complementary printing of a defective nozzle, which aid in providing stable and efficient printing (as stated in Fujita col. 3, ll. 22-40.) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Qian discloses adjacent nozzles printing on behalf of a non-uniform nozzle. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD S DICKERSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at 571-270-5254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 18 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 19 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 20 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 21 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 22 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/823,669 Page 23 Art Unit: 2683