DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/18/2026 has been entered. Claim 20-21, 23-26, and 28-30 has been amended. No Claims have been newly added. Claims 1-19 have been/remains canceled. Claims 20-33 remain pending in the application.
Applicant amendments towards to Specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/24/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Specifications.
Applicant amendments to the Claims have overcome the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/24/2026. The objection has been withdrawn in view of the amended Claims.
Applicant Terminal Disclaimer to the Claims have overcome the Double Patenting rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/24/2026. The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 12-21 of the remark filed on 05/18/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent Claims 1: “the unenrolled lightweight node connected on to a decentralized network with at least a trusted node and a plurality of peers that include at least one enrolled lightweight node, the unenrolled lightweight node and the peers running a lightweight blockchain consensus algorithm,.”, arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 15 that the cited references fail to teach publicly authenticating one another during a second stage of enrollment which follows a first stage of enrollment. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner states that as the claims are present there is no limitations that describes a second stage of enrollment following a first stage of enrollment. Avetisov teaches on Par. (0233-0236) blockchain registration and authenticating users. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
However Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 12-21 of the remark filed on 05/18/2026, on the newly amended limitations of independent claim 1 “the unenrolled lightweight node initialized with a T0 transaction token comprising: a T0 token transaction body comprising a first identifier and a public key of a trusted node; a header comprising a hash of the transaction body and the transaction body signature; and the T1 transaction including containing at least: a first field comprising a second identifier that is associated with at least a public key of the unenrolled lightweight node and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node; a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node; a second field comprising the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the respective unenrolled lightweight node; a hash of the first field, the T1 token, and the second field..”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154) and Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976) further in view of Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722)), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Pagani et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250240171) and Sundaresan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20250240171) in conjunction Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154) and Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976) further in view of Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722)). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 12-21, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 20-33 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Bacher- Pagani- Avetisov- Stöcker-Sundaresan teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claim 20 and Bacher- Pagani- Avetisov- Stöcker teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claim 29 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 23-26 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”), Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) , Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”) and Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”) further in view of Sundaresan et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190036700, hereinafter referred to as “Sundaresan”)
In regards to Claim 20, Bacher teaches a process for an unenrolled lightweight node having memory and a processor executing lightweight blockchain consensus instructions, (Par. (0098-0100); registering/ registration of Light nodes SN nodes start registration process)), (Par. (0027, 0047); consensus protocol of blockchain))
the unenrolled lightweight node connected to a decentralized network with a plurality of peers that include at least one enrolled lightweight node, (Par. (0080); SN light node with at least one security node i.e. SN full node and master node in blockchain)), (Par. (0098-0101); trusted node and a plurality of peers that include at least one enrolled lightweight node (during registration process trusted node (SN full nodes) with peers of unenrolled lightweight nodes (SN light nodes that are in registration process and awaiting successful registration))
the unenrolled lightweight node and the peers running a lightweight blockchain consensus algorithm, the process comprising: (Par. (0103); SN light node running on consensus protocol))
Bacher does not explicitly teach the unenrolled lightweight node initialized with a T0 transaction token comprising: a T0 token transaction body comprising a first identifier and a public key of a trusted node; a transaction body signature that includes at least a signature of at least the first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; a header comprising a hash of the transaction body and the transaction body signature; and broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node to the plurality of peers, including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, the request for blockchain enrollment comprising a T1 transaction, the T1 transaction containing at least: a first field comprising a second identifier that is associated with at least a public key of the unenrolled lightweight node and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node; a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node; a second field comprising the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the respective unenrolled lightweight node; a hash of the first field, the T1 token, and the second field.
Wherein Pagani teaches the unenrolled lightweight node initialized with a T0 transaction token comprising: (Par. (0131); lightweight nodes in blockchain), (Par. (0059); transaction with number of tokens)
a T0 token transaction body comprising a first identifier and a public key of a trusted node; (Par. (0097); transaction with public key and transaction identifier corresponding to token)
a header comprising a hash of the transaction body and the transaction body signature; and (Par. (0059); block headers with transaction body (transaction data) contain fields with hash), (Par. (0033); block headers of transaction with outputs and outputs contain signature)
the T1 transaction including containing at least: a first field comprising a second identifier that is associated with at least a public key of the unenrolled lightweight node and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node; (Par. (0059-0060 and 0064); transaction with input fields that contain transaction identifier and transaction ID corresponding to public key))
a second field comprising the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the respective unenrolled lightweight node; (Par. (0059-0060 and 0064); second field comprising second identifier and public key (generated new transaction with input and output fields that contain transaction ID corresponding to public key))( Par. (0067); all signed by the private key of the respective unenrolled lightweight node (Alice node signs transaction with private key))
a hash of the first field, the T1 token, and the second field. (Par. (0059-0060); transaction with input field of hash of transaction and second field as output field))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher to incorporate the teaching of Pagani to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain systems, with the motivation of proving validity within nodes in a blockchain based conditions. (Pagani Par. (0008))
Bacher and Pagani do not explicitly teach a transaction body signature that includes at least a signature of at least the first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node to the plurality of peers, including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, the request for blockchain enrollment comprising a T1 transaction, a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node;
Wherein Avetisov teaches a transaction body signature that includes at least a signature of at least the first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, (Par. (0120) “a token for one or more associated identifiers, and the server 145 may store the token within the UID repository 160 in association with one or more identifiers. [..] The token may include an associated timestamp or time-stamps that indicate when the token was created or when it expires. [..]The server 145 may determine, from information stored within the UID repository 160 in response to receiving a token from the client device 135, whether the received token matches a valid token received from the authentication server 155. The server 145 may also determine, from an association between the valid token and an identifier [..] to cryptographically hash a specific set (and optionally order) of determinable information received from or about the client device 135 to create an identifier.”; storing a token that includes a signature of at least a first identifier signed (storing token associated with identifier that is signed/hashed)), (Par. (0101) “the authentication application 120 may request the TEE 103 output signed data with a timestamp or include identifying information associated with a particular notification such that signed data may be considered valid for a particular notification or at a particular point in time to prohibit reuse.[..] one stored by the server during a registration process), and 3) signed 3) signed data, which may be a signature of an output data string of (1) and (2), e.g., {representation, notification ID or timestamp}, is verifiable by a public key provided by the TEE during a registration process.”; signature of a first identifier (signed data or signature corresponding to notification ID)), (Par. (0269); notification ID corresponding to User ID, credentials and identifying information of mobile device)), (Par. (0048) “For example, a private key may be used to sign data and a corresponding public key used to verify the data was signed by the holder of the private key.”; signed with private key)), (Par. (0209); trusted node (mobile device with Trusted execution environment that has private key))
the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; (Par. (0103) “the authentication application 120 may provide the identifier encrypted with the public key [..]the identifier may be a public key of a key pair, and the TEE 103 may return a shared key to the authentication application 120, encrypted with the identifier (public key),”; first identifier being associated with a public key)), (Figure 1A label 101, 103 and Par. (0092-0093); lightweight node (module of mobile device corresponding to lightweight)), (Par. (0008-0010); unenrolled lightweight node (registering the lightweight node (mobile device with lightweight))
the request for blockchain enrollment comprising a T1 transaction, (Par. (0233, 0236); request to authenticate includes transaction for blockchain enrollment (blockchain registration))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher and Pagani to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of enhancing the authentication process to prevent illegitimate access of devices that are not registered to mitigate vulnerabilities, attacks on identity and attempts by sending information such as tokens, credentials and notification to registered devices using blockchain systems. (Avetisov Par. (0002-0004 and 0014))
Bacher, Pagani and Avetisov do not explicitly teach broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node to the plurality of peers, including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node;
Wherein Stöcker teaches broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node to the plurality of peers, including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, (Par. (0151-0152); broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment (peer-to peer module transmitting registering request) to plurality of peers (peer-to-peer application 220), (Par. (0098); peer-to-peer module is light node)), (Par. (0027-0028); of the unenrolled lightweight node (process of registering nodes corresponding to peer-to-peer module by first sending registering request message), (Figure 2 labels 226.1 and 220; broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node (unenrolled peer-to-peer module send registration request) to plurality of peers (registration request message sent to plurality of peer-to-peer modules 220), (Par. (0041); including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, (already registered peer-to-peer modules))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani and Avetisov to incorporate the teaching of Stöcker to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system, with the motivation of preventing data being tampered and promoting high security by using blockchain network to preserve transactions and attest data based on registration process that containing identifying information. (Stöcker Par. (0008-0009, 0027 and 0101)
Bacher, Pagani and Avetisov in view of Stöcker do not explicitly teach a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node;
Wherein Sundaresan teaches a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, all signed by the private key of the trusted node; (Par. (0009); attestation token with public key is all signed with private key of device), (Par. (0012 and 0032); a T1 token comprising at least the second identifier (attestation token with identification ID and second set of credentials with token))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov and Stöcker to incorporate the teaching of Sundaresan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain systems, with the motivation of preventing compromise in the network for users accounts and mitigating hacking. (Sundaresan Par. (0004-0005))
In regards to Claim 23, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan teach the process of claim 20, Avetisov further teaches wherein the T1 token further comprises a timestamp, each being signed with the private key of the trusted node; (Par. (0048); token that is signed with corresponding timestamp and signature by private key and associated identifier))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of creating a verification of proofs using public keys to indicate a successful or failed authentication and to help verify signatures as a form of comparison to disseminate public key encryption more effectively. (Avetisov Par. (0048 and 0079))
In regards to Claim 24, the combination of Bacher, Avetisov and Stöcker teach the process of claim 20, Avetisov further teaches wherein the first identifier comprises a hash of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node. (Par. (0010)”; authentication request including an identifier (second data corresponding identifier associated with authentication request)), ((Par. (0103) “the authentication application 120 may provide the identifier encrypted with the public key in a transmission to the TEE 103, and the identifier may serve as a shared key for encrypted data transmitted during the session. In some embodiments, the identifier may be a public key of a key pair, and the TEE 103 may return a shared key to the authentication application 120, encrypted with the identifier (public key),”; second identifier being associated with a public key)), (Par. (0055); authentication request (request for credentials for authentication application) includes public key of the unenrolled lightweight node (public key provided with request of TEE of mobile device)), (Figure 1A label 101, 103 and Par. (0092-0093); of the enrolled lightweight node (TEE module of mobile device corresponding to lightweight)), (Par. (0008-0010); unenrolled lightweight node (registering the lightweight node (mobile device with lightweight)), (Par. (0079, 0100); hash of credential values that include public key ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of creating a verification of proofs using public keys to indicate a successful or failed authentication and to help verify signatures as a form of comparison to disseminate public key encryption more effectively. (Avetisov Par. (0048 and 0079))
In regards to Claim 25, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan teach the process of claim 20, Avetisov further teaches receiving from at least one peer decentralized network a blockchain enrollment request accompanied by a block for authentication and inclusion in a blockchain, (Par. (0285); entity in blockchain publishing transactions and blocks by consensus based on determined authentication))
the block including at least a transaction for enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node, (Figure 2 labels 23; block with transaction 4)), (Par. (0285); block that is inclusion in a blockchain (published block with transaction) corresponding to unenrolled lightweight node (mobile device)), (Par. (0008-0010); unenrolled lightweight node (registering the lightweight node (mobile device with lightweight))
the transaction including at least the request for blockchain enrollment. (Par. (0054, 0232, 0251); request for blockchain enrollment.(registration process for devices) with transaction)), (Par. (0358-0360); transaction (record) in request for registration))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of publishing and including block and transaction data into blockchain to create a better consensus and allow nodes to determine authentication based on committed records and better authenticate a user in decentralized system. (Avetisov Par. (0203-0204 and 0233))
In regards to Claim 26, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan teach the process of claim 20, Bacher further teaches the process of clam 25, further comprising utilizing the lightweight blockchain consensus algorithm to reach a consensus with the plurality of peers of the decentralized network, (Par. (0103); SN light node running on consensus protocol)), (Par. (0098-0101); with the plurality of peers of the decentralized network (SN light nodes that are in registration process and awaiting successful registration))
Bacher and Pagani do not explicitly teach the consensus being a consensus to approve the block and to add the block to the blockchain or to reject the block and to not add the block to the blockchain.
Wherein Avetisov teaches the consensus being a consensus to approve the block and to add the block to the blockchain or to reject the block and to not add the block to the blockchain. (Par. (0023); consensus of nodes to commit and publication of transaction record))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of implementing a consensus to publish validated transaction records and blocks into blockchain to allow plurality of nodes to identify verification results to trigger and flag possible invalid data and protect the impact and integrity of data. (Avetisov Par. (0245, 0249 and 0256))
In regards to Claim 28, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan teach the process of claim 20, Avetisov further teaches receiving a T1 transaction and performing an enrollment step if a T1 token signature verification and a TO token signature verification are both successful. (Par. (0050-0051); token corresponding to one account and token corresponding to another account are tested under signature verification and access is granted))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of creating a verification of proofs using public keys to indicate a successful or failed authentication and to help verify signatures as a form of comparison to disseminate public key encryption more effectively. (Avetisov Par. (0048 and 0079))
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”), Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”) further in view of Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”)
In regards to Claim 29, Bacher teaches an enrollment process for an enrolled lightweight node having a memory and a processor executing lightweight blockchain consensus instructions on a decentralized network with at least one unenrolled lightweight node and one trusted node, process comprising: (Par. (0098-0100); registering/ registration of Light nodes SN nodes start registration process)), (Par. (0027, 0047); consensus protocol of blockchain)), (Par. (0080); SN light node with at least one security node i.e. SN full node and master node in blockchain)), (Par. (0098-0101); trusted node and at least one enrolled lightweight node (during registration process trusted node (SN full nodes) with peers of unenrolled lightweight nodes (SN light nodes that are in registration process and awaiting successful registration)), (Par. (0146); processor and memory))
the enrollment process comprising: receiving from the unenrolled lightweight node a request for blockchain enrollment that includes at least: (Par. (0098 and 0103); accepting a request from light node))
Bacher does not explicitly teach where the enrolled lightweight node is initialized with a TO transaction comprising: a transaction body having a TO token comprising a first identifier and the public key of the trusted node, the TO token having a signature that includes at least a signature of at least a first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; a signature of the TO token by the private key of the trusted node; a header comprising a hash of the transaction body and the signature of the TO token; a first field comprising an identifier of the unenrolled lightweight node and a public key of the unenrolled lightweight node; a T1 token that includes a first signature of the identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node ad a timestamp, the first signature using a private key of the trusted node; a second signature of the identifier and the public key of the first field, the second signature using the private key of the unenrolled lightweight node; and broadcasting the request for blockchain enrollment to at least one other enrolled lightweight node of the decentralized network.
Wherein Pagani teaches where the enrolled lightweight node is initialized with a TO transaction comprising: (Par. (0131); lightweight nodes in blockchain), (Par. (0059); transaction with number of tokens)
a transaction body having a TO token comprising a first identifier and the public key of the trusted node, (Par. (0097); transaction with public key and transaction identifier corresponding to token)
a header comprising a hash of the transaction body and the signature of the TO token; (Par. (0059); block headers with transaction body (transaction data) contain fields with hash), (Par. (0033); block headers of transaction with outputs and outputs contain signature)
a first field comprising an identifier of the unenrolled lightweight node and a public key of the unenrolled lightweight node; (Par. (0059-0060 and 0064); transaction with input fields that contain transaction identifier and transaction ID corresponding to public key))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher to incorporate the teaching of Pagani to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of blockchain systems, with the motivation of proving validity within nodes in a blockchain based conditions. (Pagani Par. (0008))
Bacher and Pagani do not explicitly teach the TO token having a signature that includes at least a signature of at least a first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; a signature of the TO token by the private key of the trusted node; a T1 token that includes a first signature of the identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node and a timestamp, the first signature using a private key of the trusted node; a second signature of the identifier and the public key of the first field, the second signature using the private key of the unenrolled lightweight node; and broadcasting the request for blockchain enrollment to at least one other enrolled lightweight node of the decentralized network.
Wherein Avetisov teaches the TO token having a signature that includes at least a signature of at least a first identifier signed with a private key of the trusted node, (Par. (0120) “a token for one or more associated identifiers, and the server 145 may store the token within the UID repository 160 in association with one or more identifiers. [..] The token may include an associated timestamp or time-stamps that indicate when the token was created or when it expires. [..]The server 145 may determine, from information stored within the UID repository 160 in response to receiving a token from the client device 135, whether the received token matches a valid token received from the authentication server 155. The server 145 may also determine, from an association between the valid token and an identifier [..] to cryptographically hash a specific set (and optionally order) of determinable information received from or about the client device 135 to create an identifier.”; storing a token that includes a signature of at least a first identifier signed (storing token associated with identifier that is signed/hashed)), (Par. (0101) “the authentication application 120 may request the TEE 103 output signed data with a timestamp or include identifying information associated with a particular notification such that signed data may be considered valid for a particular notification or at a particular point in time to prohibit reuse.[..] one stored by the server during a registration process), and 3) signed 3) signed data, which may be a signature of an output data string of (1) and (2), e.g., {representation, notification ID or timestamp}, is verifiable by a public key provided by the TEE during a registration process.”; signature of a first identifier (signed data or signature corresponding to notification ID)), (Par. (0269); notification ID corresponding to User ID, credentials and identifying information of mobile device)), (Par. (0048) “For example, a private key may be used to sign data and a corresponding public key used to verify the data was signed by the holder of the private key.”; signed with private key)), (Par. (0209); trusted node (mobile device with Trusted execution environment that has private key))
the first identifier being associated with a public key of the trusted node; a signature of the TO token by the private key of the trusted node; (Par. (0103) “the authentication application 120 may provide the identifier encrypted with the public key [..]the identifier may be a public key of a key pair, and the TEE 103 may return a shared key to the authentication application 120, encrypted with the identifier (public key),”; first identifier being associated with a public key)), (Figure 1A label 101, 103 and Par. (0092-0093); lightweight node (module of mobile device corresponding to lightweight)), (Par. (0008-0010); unenrolled lightweight node (registering the lightweight node (mobile device with lightweight)), (Par. (0048); signature of token value that is signed by node))
a signature of the TO token by the private key of the trusted node; (Par. (0048); signature of token value that is signed by node using private key))
a T1 token that includes a first signature of the identifier and the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node and a timestamp, the first signature using a private key of the trusted node;(Par. (0048); token that is signed with corresponding timestamp and signature by private key and associated identifier))
a second signature of the identifier and the public key of the first field, the second signature using the private key of the unenrolled lightweight node; and (Par. (0048-0050); plurality of signatures with associated identifiers and public keys with signing using private keys))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher and Pagani to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of enhancing the authentication process to prevent illegitimate access of devices that are not registered to mitigate vulnerabilities, attacks on identity and attempts by sending information such as tokens, credentials and notification to registered devices using blockchain systems. (Avetisov Par. (0002-0004 and 0014))
Bacher, Pagani and Avetisov do not explicitly teach a second signature of the identifier and the public key of the first field, the second signature using the private key of the unenrolled lightweight node; and broadcasting the request for blockchain enrollment to at least one other enrolled lightweight node of the decentralized network.
Wherein Stöcker teaches broadcasting the request for blockchain enrollment to at least one other enrolled lightweight node of the decentralized network. (Par. (0151-0152); broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment (peer-to peer module transmitting registering request) to plurality of peers (peer-to-peer application 220), (Par. (0098); peer-to-peer module is light node)), (Par. (0027-0028); of the unenrolled lightweight node (process of registering nodes corresponding to peer-to-peer module by first sending registering request message), (Figure 2 labels 226.1 and 220; broadcasting a request for blockchain enrollment of the unenrolled lightweight node (unenrolled peer-to-peer module send registration request) to plurality of peers (registration request message sent to plurality of peer-to-peer modules 220), (Par. (0041); including to the at least one enrolled lightweight node, (already registered peer-to-peer modules))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani and Avetisov to incorporate the teaching of Stöcker to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system, with the motivation of preventing data being tampered and promoting high security by using blockchain network to preserve transactions and attest data based on registration process that containing identifying information. (Stöcker Par. (0008-0009, 0027 and 0101)
In regards to Claim 30, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker teach the process of claim 29, Avetisov further teaches authenticating the first signature at least in part with the public key of the trusted node; and (Par. (0058); verifying signature based on public key of trusted node (trusted execution environment of mobile device)
authenticating the second signature at least in part with the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node. (Par. (0269-0270); second signature (one or more signatures corresponding to public keys and unenrolled node (confirming registration of device)), (Par. (0058); verifying signature based on public key of trusted node (trusted execution environment of mobile device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, and Stöcker to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of using digital signatures, signed data and tokens to enhance a trusted environment and grant proper access based on data with indications. By verifying signatures with the corresponding keys a secure environment can be retained and used as form of comparison. (Avetisov Par. (0048 and 0055))
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”), Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”) Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) and Sundaresan et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190036700, hereinafter referred to as “Sundaresan”) further in view of Wang et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210136042, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”)
In regards to Claim 21, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan do not explicitly teach wherein the first identifier includes at least a hash of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, and wherein the second identifier includes at least a hash of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node.
Wherein Wang teaches wherein the first identifier includes at least a hash of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node, and (Par. (0176); identifier of unenrolled lightweight node (DLS account) may be hash of public key)), (Par. (0043); of the unenrolled lightweight node (DLS corresponding to light DLN node of distributed ledger)), (Par. (0102, 0136-0137); unenrolled lightweight node (DLS registration of nodes)),
wherein the second identifier includes at least a hash of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node. (Par. (0165-0166 and 0270); the second identifier (plurality of identifier corresponding to list of DLS and identifier with public key of each DLS)), (Par. (0176); identifier of unenrolled lightweight node (DLS account) may be hash of public key)), (Par. (0043); of the unenrolled lightweight node (DLS corresponding to light DLN node of distributed ledger)), (Par. (0102, 0136-0137); unenrolled lightweight node (DLS registration of nodes))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Wang to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of hash-based verification and exchanging of keys using light nodes in a blockchain system, with the motivation of using light nodes and hashing of public keys to prevent single points of failure and tampering for only permissioned users as well as using identifier of records to indicate to nodes in the network confirmation. (Wang Par. (0050-0056 and 0119))
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”), Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”) Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”), Sundaresan et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190036700, hereinafter referred to as “Sundaresan”)
and Wang et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210136042, hereinafter referred to as “Wang”) further in view of Pettit et al. (U.S Patent No. 20230006840, hereinafter referred to as “Pettit”)
In regards to Claim 22, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker, Sundaresan and Wang do not explicitly teach wherein the hashes of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node were created with a SHA-3 hash algorithm.
Wherein Pettit teaches wherein the hashes of the public key of the unenrolled lightweight node were created with a SHA-3 hash algorithm. (Par. (0042) “the address associated with a transaction output is a hash of a public key.”; hashes of the public key))(Par. (0037) “The result of a hash function may be called a hash value, fingerprint, hash result, or equivalent. Examples include, but are not limited to, SHA-2, SHA-3, and BLAKE2.”; SHA-3 hash algorithm)), (Par. (0079) “This enables lightweight SPVs and similar nodes to collaborate with other nodes in generating transactions that incorporate automatic digital certificate validation”; lightweight node))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker, Sundaresan and Wang to incorporate the teaching of Pettit to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain network, with the motivation of providing secure validation using public keys to easily verify data recorded on blockchain and hash based verification to determine accurate outputs and results. (Pettit Par. (0015-0016 and 0045))
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”), Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”) Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) and Sundaresan et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190036700, hereinafter referred to as “Sundaresan”)
further in view of Yang et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210160053, hereinafter referred to as “Yang”)
In regards to Claim 27, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan teach the process of claim 20, Bacher further teaches the process of claim 26, further comprising wherein the unenrolled lightweight node thereupon becomes enrolled in the decentralized network; and (Par. (0100); light nodes registering and successful registration in blockchain))
now enrolled lightweight node. (Par. (0100); light nodes registering and successful registration in blockchain))
Bacher and Pagani do not explicitly teach adding the block to a blockchain responsive to a consensus to add the block to the blockchain, storing a block identifier of the block and an intermediate Merkle tree hash associated with the block in memory of the … lightweight node.
Wherein Avetisov teaches adding the block to a blockchain responsive to a consensus to add the block to the blockchain, (Par. (0023); consensus of nodes to commit and publication of transaction record))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of implementing a consensus to publish validated transaction records and blocks into blockchain to allow plurality of nodes to identify verification results to trigger and flag possible invalid data and protect the impact and integrity of data. (Avetisov Par. (0245, 0249 and 0256))
Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan do not explicitly teach storing a block identifier of the block and an intermediate Merkle tree hash associated with the block in memory of the … lightweight node.
Wherein Yang teaches storing a block identifier of the block and an intermediate Merkle tree hash associated with the block in memory of the … lightweight node. (Par. (0113); transaction identifier recorded on each node), (Par. (0084); light node with transaction and block identifier and Merkle tree)), (Par. (0036); an intermediate Merkle tree hash associated with the block in memory of the now enrolled lightweight node (root hash of merkle tree of block stored in light node))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, Stöcker and Sundaresan to incorporate the teaching of Yang to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of lightweight nodes in a blockchain system and authentication using hashes and identifiers, with the motivation of preventing stolen secrets and damage to reputation using blockchain to record data and keep normal operations as well as using Merkle paths and hashes to enhance verification and a form of comparison when deeming successful blocks in network. (Yang Par. (0003-0005 and 0036-0039))
Claim(s) 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”), Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”), and Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”) further in view of Iyer et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200244652, hereinafter referred to as “Iyer”)
In regards to Claim 31, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker teach the process of claim 29, Avetisov further teaches utilizing the lightweight blockchain consensus algorithm for reaching consensus regarding whether to accept or reject the block. (Par. (0023); consensus of nodes to commit and publication of transaction record))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, and Stöcker to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of implementing a consensus to publish validated transaction records and blocks into blockchain to allow plurality of nodes to identify verification results to trigger and flag possible invalid data and protect the impact and integrity of data. (Avetisov Par. (0245, 0249 and 0256))
Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker do not explicitly teach responsive to successful authentication of the first and second signatures, creating a block that includes at least the authentication request, and
Wherein Iyer teaches responsive to successful authentication of the first and second signatures, (Par. (0158); validating signatures))
creating a block that includes at least the authentication request, and (Par. (0146); validating signature then generating blocks in distributed ledger), (Par. (0125); authentication of the first and second signature (verifying digital signature of each block) with successful results that are affirmed of verification process))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker to incorporate the teaching of Iyer to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of digital signature verification in blockchain system, with the motivation of creating multifactor authentication by verifying payloads and signature to return authentication results to users in blockchain network for assessment. (Yang Par. (0014 and 0125))
In regards to Claim 32, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker teach the process of claim 29, Bacher further teaches the process of claim 31, further comprising: wherein the unenrolled lightweight node thereupon becomes enrolled in the decentralized network. (Par. (0100); light nodes registering and successful registration in blockchain))
Bacher does not explicitly teach adding the block to a block chain responsive to a consensus to add the block to the blockchain,
Wherein Avetisov teaches adding the block to a block chain responsive to a consensus to add the block to the blockchain, (Par. (0023); consensus of nodes to commit and publication of transaction record))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Stöcker, and Iyer to incorporate the teaching of Avetisov to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using consensus protocol, with the motivation of implementing a consensus to publish validated transaction records and blocks into blockchain to allow plurality of nodes to identify verification results to trigger and flag possible invalid data and protect the impact and integrity of data. (Avetisov Par. (0245, 0249 and 0256))
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bacher et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200372154, hereinafter referred to as “Bacher”), Pagani et al. (U.S Patent No. 20250240171, hereinafter referred to as “Pagani”) Avetisov et al. (U.S Patent No. 20210044976, hereinafter referred to as “Avetisov”), and Stöcker et al. (U.S Patent No. 20190393722, hereinafter referred to as “Stöcker”)
further in view of Nandakumar et al. (U.S Patent No. 20200201964, hereinafter referred to as “Nandakumar”)
In regards to Claim 33, the combination of Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker do not explicitly teach wherein the at least one enrolled node is configured to store at least a lightweight blockchain with at least one block with a block header that includes a data Merkle root computed at least in part from a least one Merkle tree node containing a hash value computed directly or indirectly from a hash value computed from a combination of a public key and a validity value for the public key.
Wherein Nandakumar teaches wherein the at least one enrolled node is configured to store at least a lightweight blockchain with at least one block with a block header that includes a data Merkle root computed at least in part from a least one Merkle tree node containing a hash value computed directly or indirectly from a hash value computed from a combination of a public key and a validity value for the public key. (Par. (0105-0106); at least one enrolled node (blockchain with enrolling users as nodes), (Par. (0161 and 0163); lightweight blockchain (thin client corresponding to blockchain)), (Par. (0056); store at least a lightweight blockchain with at least one block with a block header that includes a data Merkle root (storing in block of blockchain root from nodes of merkle tree)), (Par. (0075); store at least a lightweight blockchain with at least one block with a block header that includes a data Merkle root computed at least in part from a least one Merkle tree node (transaction of blockchain with root hashes of nodes from merkle tree)), (Par. (0044); block headers with hash)), (Par. (0069-0075); Merkle tree with leaf nodes that contain hash value (chameleon hash) that is computed directly from a hash value computed from a combination of a public key and a validity value for the public key. (chameleon hash includes public key and validity value (number “-1” of chameleon hash))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bacher, Pagani, Avetisov, and Stöcker to incorporate the teaching of Nandakumar to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of enrolling lightweight nodes in a blockchain system using digital signatures and verifications, with the motivation of making sure all nodes are consistent in the blockchain with blocks that link hashes and append to blockchain more efficiently. (Nandakumar Par. (0044))
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CONLEY; JOHN P. (U.S Pub. No. 20210073212) “BLOCKCHAIN METHODS, NODES, SYSTEMS AND PRODUCTS”. Considered this reference because it addressed enrolling nodes in a blockchain environment using token based verification.
RUIZ; Emmanuel. (U.S Pub. No. 20210073795) “DEVICE FOR STORING DIGITAL KEYS FOR SIGNING TRANSACTIONS ON A BLOCKCHAIN”. Considered this application because it relates hashing or digitally signing keys in a blockchain network using SHA-3 hashing algorithms
WATANABE; Hiroshi (U.S Pub. No. 20230370264) “IC CHIP WITH AUTO-IDENTIFICATION”. Considered this application because it addressed registering devices in a blockchain network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497