DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 3/5/2025 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palenius et al (Palenius), US 2019/0069192.
As per claim 1, Palenius teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (pp. 0153), comprising:
One or more memories (pp. 0155, 0157); and
One or more processors (pp. 0155-0156), coupled to the one or more memories, which, in dividually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to:
Receive system information that indicates a total number of high priority carrier frequencies (pp. 0253: Nlayer);
Receive an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) configuration that indicates an eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: UE is configured with eDRX cycle shows that the configuration is received); and
Perform, during a high priority cell search with eDRX, measurements for high priority frequency layers in accordance with a time period, wherein the time period is based at least in part on the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and the eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: search every layer of higher priority at least every Thigher_priority_search).
As per claim 2, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Palenius further teaches wherein the eDRX cycle length is an eDRX idle cycle length, and the eDRX idle cycle length is a core network configured eDRX cycle length (pp. 0116, 0253, 0290).
As per claim 3, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle) seconds).
As per claim 5, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value multiplied by the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle)).
As per claim 12, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Palenius further teaches wherein the eDRX cycle length is an eDRX idel cycle length or an eDRX inactive cycle length (pp. 0253).
As per claim 17, Palenius teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (pp. 0164), comprising:
One or more memories (pp. 0165); and
One or more processors (pp. 0165), coupled to the one or more memories, which, in dividually or in any combination, are operable to cause the apparatus to:
Transmit system information that indicates a total number of high priority carrier frequencies (pp. 0253: Nlayer); and
Transmit an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) configuration that indicates an eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: UE is configured with eDRX cycle shows that the configuration is received); wherein a high priority cell search with eDRX is based at least in part on measurements for high priority frequency layers in accordance with a time period, and the time period is based at least in part on the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and the eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: search every layer of higher priority at least every Thigher_priority_search).
As per claim 18, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. Palenius further teaches wherein the eDRX cycle length is an eDRX idle cycle length, and the eDRX idle cycle length is a core network configured eDRX cycle length (pp. 0116, 0253, 0290).
As per claim 19, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 18. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle) seconds).
As per claim 20, Palenius teaches the invention including a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (pp. 0153), comprising:
Receiving system information that indicates a total number of high priority carrier frequencies (pp. 0253: Nlayer);
Receiving an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) configuration that indicates an eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: UE is configured with eDRX cycle shows that the configuration is received); and
Performing, during a high priority cell search with eDRX, measurements for high priority frequency layers in accordance with a time period, wherein the time period is based at least in part on the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and the eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: search every layer of higher priority at least every Thigher_priority_search).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 10, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenius et al (Palenius), US 2019/0069192, in view of Li et al (Li), US 2024/0323721.
As per claim 7, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Palenius does not teach wherein the eDRX cycle length is an eDRX inactive cycle length, and the eDRX inactive cycle length is a radio access network configured eDRX cycle length. Li teaches wherein the eDRX cycle length is an eDRX inactive cycle length, and the eDRX inactive cycle length is a radio access network configured eDRX cycle length (pp. 0049-0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Palenius and Li in order to configure the UE with an eDRX_INACTIVE cycle when the UE is in the inactive state.
As per claim 8, Palenius and Li teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle) seconds). Li teaches to configure the UE with an eDRX_INACTIVE cycle length (pp. 0049-0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to combine the teaching of Palenius and Li and further set a time period based on a defined value multiplied by the eDRX_INACTIVE cycle length when the UE is in inactive state.
As per claim 10, Palenius and Li teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value multiplied by the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle)). Li teaches to configure the UE with an eDRX_INACTIVE cycle length when the UE is in the inactive state (pp. 0049-0063). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to combine the teaching of Palenius and Li and further set a time period based on at least in part on a maximum of a default time value multiplied by the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and a defined value multiplied by the eDRX inactive cycle length when the UE is in the inactive state instead of multiplying by the eDRX idle cycle length used in idle state.
As per claim 13, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value, a first defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle)). Palenius does not teach a second defined value multiplied by the eDRX inactive cycle length. Li teaches to configure the UE with an eDRX_INACTIVE cycle length when the UE is in the inactive state (pp. 0049-0063). Palenius and Li do not teach a second defined value multiplied by the eDRX inactive cycle length. However, it is obvious to apply the same process for both eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle to determine the time periods for the UE configured with both eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to combine the teaching of Palenius and Li and further defines time periods based on two default values corresponding to eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle respectively.
As per claim 15, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Palenius further teaches wherein the time period is based at least in part is based at least in part on a maximum of a default time value multiplied by the total number of high priority carrier frequencies and a first defined value multiplied by the eDRX idle cycle length (pp. 0253: MAX(60*Nlayer, one eDRX_IDLE cycle)). Palenius does not teach a second defined value multiplied by the eDRX inactive cycle length. Li teaches to configure the UE with an eDRX_INACTIVE cycle length when the UE is in the inactive state (pp. 0049-0063). It is obvious to apply the same process for both eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle to determine the time periods for the UE configured with both eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was file to combine the teaching of Palenius and Li and further defines time periods based on two default values corresponding to eDRX idle cycle and eDRX inactive cycle respectively.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenius et al (Palenius), US 2019/0069192, in view of Tang et al (Tang), WO 2023/069004A1, published on April 27, 2023.
As per claim 4, Palenius teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3. Palenius does not teach wherein the defined value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, different defined values are associated with different eDRX idle cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX idle cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification. Tang teaches wherein the defined value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (page 22, lines 8-10, 29-32), different defined values are associated with different eDRX idle cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX idle cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification (page 23, lines 8-16; Table 6: eDRX cycle grouped with at least two groups based on the length of eDRX cycle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Palenius and Tang in order to for the UEs to be configured with multiple measurement criteria and corresponding eDRX cycle lengths.
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenius and Li as applied to claims 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Tang et al (Tang), WO 2023/069004A1, published on April 27, 2023.
As per claim 9, Palenius and Li teach the invention as claimed in claim 7. Li wherein the default value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (pp. 0047-0048, 0229-0230). Palenius and Li do not teach different defined values are associated with different eDRX inactive cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX inactive cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification. Tang teaches wherein the defined value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (page 22, lines 8-10, 29-32), different defined values are associated with different eDRX inactive cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX inactive cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification (page 23, lines 8-16; Table 6: eDRX cycle grouped with at least two groups based on the length of eDRX cycle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Palenius, Li and Tang in order to for the UEs to be configured with multiple measurement criteria and corresponding eDRX cycle lengths.
As per claim 14, Palenius and Li teach the invention as claimed in claim 13. Li wherein the default value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (pp. 0047-0048, 0229-0230). Palenius and Li do not teach different defined values are associated with different eDRX idle cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX idle cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification. Tang teaches wherein the defined value is configured via the system information or via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (page 22, lines 8-10, 29-32), different defined values are associated with different eDRX idle cycle lengths, different defined values are associated with different groups of eDRX idle cycle lengths, or the defined value is predefined in a specification (page 23, lines 8-16; Table 6: eDRX cycle grouped with at least two groups based on the length of eDRX cycle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teachings of Palenius, Li and Tang in order to for the UEs to be configured with multiple measurement criteria and corresponding eDRX cycle lengths.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu et al, US 2026/0230886
Hu et al, US 2024/0324059
Liu et al, US 2024/0214892
He, US 2023/0388966
Ai et al, US 2023/0292288
Kazmi et al, US 2017/0273022
Siomina et al, WO2017/134561A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
August 11, 2026