Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim language is difficult to follow/ grammatically incorrect and would be easier understood as: “… wherein the connecting portions of the band element pieces each have the spring function component and there are connecting portions disposed both above and below the pair of third connecting members.” The examiner also notes that the phrase “are each disposed above and below” may be understood to mean that each connecting portion is disposed such that it is both above and below the pair of third connecting members, i.e. that they each straddle them vertically, but this is not consistent with the applicant’s disclosure- see Fig. 1 where there is at least one instance of the connecting portions (the combination of parts 16-19) that is fully above and at least one instance that is fully below the third connecting members (20C), as recited in the examiner’s suggestion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Such claim limitation, and its interpreted structure is:
“spring function component” introduced in claim 13 (because A – “component” is a nonce / placeholder term; B-“spring function/ connects… with spring elasticity” represents the function, and C-no structural limitations are recited, that may perform said function; in other words, the phrase is equivalent to “means for providing a spring function/ connecting with spring elasticity”). Based on at least paragraphs [0009], [0033], [0043], and [0049] “spring function component” will be interpreted as a guide rod and compression spring, or equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HONDA (JP-2011088550-A).
Regarding Claim 11, HONDA teaches a tank holding portion structure of a vehicle (Tank Support Structure 10 of Vehicle 12, Fig. 1) which holds a substantially cylindrical tank (Tank 22, Fig. 2) disposed below a floor panel (Vehicle Body Frame 16, Fig. 1) of a vehicle body (Vehicle Body 14, Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of tank bands (Band Units 32, Fig. 2) which are disposed at a plurality of locations spaced apart from each other in an axial direction (along axis H, Fig. 2) of the tank (22) and each of which restrains an outer circumferential surface of the tank (Figs. 2 and 4); and
a plurality of connecting members (Side Cross Member 42 and Rear Cross Member 44, Figs. 2 and 3) extending in the axial direction of the tank and connecting the adjacent tank bands to each other on an outer circumferential portion of the tank (22).
Regarding Claim 12, HONDA further teaches that each of the tank bands (32) is formed by connecting a plurality of band element pieces (Bands 34, Fig. 2) arranged in an outer circumferential direction of the tank (22) in an annular shape (Fig. 4), and
wherein the plurality of connecting members (42 and 44) include a first connecting member (42) that connects connecting ends (Connectors 36, Fig. 2) of the band element pieces (34) of the adjacent tank bands (32) to each other (Connectors 36 of the left and right instances of Band 34 being connected to each other by Side Cross Member 42 via Brackets 54a and Bands 34, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, HONDA further teaches that a connecting portion (Connectors 36) of the band element pieces (34) includes a first fixing piece (“FP1”, Fig. 2 Annotated) that is fixed to one of the band element pieces (34),
a second fixing piece (“FP2”, Fig. 2 Annotated) that is fixed to the other one of the band element pieces (34), and
a spring function component (Compression Spring 38, Fig. 2; comprising a compression spring and guide rod as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) above) that connects the first fixing piece (FP1) and the second fixing piece (FP2) with spring elasticity, and
wherein the first connecting member (42) connects at least either the first fixing pieces (FP1) or the second fixing pieces (FP2) of the adjacent tank bands (32) in the connecting portions (36) of at least some of the band element pieces (Side Cross Member 42 connecting First Fixing Pieces FP1 via Brackets 54a and Bands 34, Fig. 2; First Fixing Pieces FP1 being a part of and located at Connectors 36).
Regarding Claim 15, HONDA further teaches that the first connecting member (42) includes a band fixing wall (“BFW”, Fig. 2 and 4 Annotated) that is overlapped and fixed to an outer surface of each of the band element pieces (34) of the adjacent tank bands (32), and
a standing wall (“SW”, Fig. 2 and 4 Annotated) that stands up outward from the band fixing wall (BFW) in a radial direction of the tank (22), and
wherein the spring function component (38) is connected to the standing wall (Compression Spring 38 being connected to Standing Wall SW via First and Second Fixing Pieces FP1 and FP2 and Bands 34).
Regarding Claim 17, HONDA further teaches that the plurality of connecting members include a second connecting member (Rear Cross Member 44) that connects portions (“P”, Fig. 3 Annotated) of the band element pieces (34) of the adjacent tank bands (32) other than the connecting ends (36) to each other (Portions P of Bands 34 being separate from Connectors 36 and connected by Rear Cross Member 44 via Brackets 54b, Fig. 3 Annotated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONDA in view of TOYOTA (JP-2009101865-A).
Regarding Claim 14, HONDA does not teach that the first connecting member is formed integrally with one of the fixing pieces.
TOYOTA teaches, in another tank mount for a vehicle (Title), a first fixing piece (Bracket 132, Fig. 3) and a first connecting member (Frame 111, Fig. 3) that is formed integrally with a second fixing piece (Frame 111 connecting Side Fixing Bands 130 to each other and integrally forming a fixing piece that connects with Bracket 132, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the separate first connecting part and first or second fixing piece of HONDA’s tank holding portion structure integral, since it has been held that making separate parts of an invention integral involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347 and MPEP 2144.04(V)(B). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation. Further, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of HONDA and TOYOTA in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HONDA’s tank holding portion structure such that the first connecting member is formed integrally with one of the fixing pieces as suggested by TOYOTA. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of reducing the total number of parts in the assembly that would beneficially make an easier assembly to manufacture.
Regarding Claim 16, HONDA, as modified by TOYOTA, teaches all limitations (see the 102 rejection of claim 15 above, which has different dependencies but similar limitations).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONDA in view of CAMPKO (“CAMPKO gas bottle holder, gas cylinder stand...”).
Regarding Claim 18, HONDA does not teach that the second connecting member is plate-shaped and has a lightening hole.
CAMPKO, in another tank holding device (Title), teaches a connecting member (“CM”, Time 0:05 Annotated) that is formed of a plate-shaped member which substantially conforms to the outer circumferential surface of a tank (“TK”, Time 0:24 Annotated), and wherein a lightening hole (a plurality of holes “HL”, Time 0:05 Annotated) is formed at a position on the connecting member (CM) which does not overlap adjacent tank bands (“TB”, Time 0:05 Annotated) between the tank bands (Holes HL being formed between and not overlapping Tank Bands TB and being understood to make the Connecting Member CM lighter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of HONDA and CAMPKO in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HONDA’s tank holding portion structure such that the second connecting member is plate-shaped and has a lightening hole as suggested by CAMPKO. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of forming a connecting member such that it conformed to a tank that would beneficially make a lighter and more compact assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102/103 is not made because the claims are patentably distinguishable from the prior art of record. Every element of the claims is not taught by any of the references individually and the prior art of record fails to permissibly teach the overall combination as claimed. Even if one could construe the prior art of record such that the combination disclosed each and every limitation of the claims, the ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references in reference to themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The closest prior art of record, as highlighted above, HONDA, TOYOTA, and CAMPKO, generally disclose a tank holding portion structure of a vehicle with similar components to the claimed invention.
However none of these specifically disclose first, second, and third connecting members that connect portions of band element pieces which are arranged as claimed, particularly in that a pair of connecting members, being connected to a vehicle body frame, are in addition to first and second connecting members.
Even if each and every element of the present invention were taught individually by the aforementioned references, combining the references as an ordered combination would not have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art because doing so would require improper hindsight reasoning in view of the present Specification, and furthermore there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the aforementioned references present in the aforementioned references themselves or in knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
For at least these reasons, claims 19-21, as far as they include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, are indicated as reciting allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611