DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant has amended claim 17 and added new claims 21-32.
The rejections 103 of claims 13-16, 18, and 20 as set forth in the previous Office Action are maintained.
New 103 rejections of claims 13-32 over newly cited prior art references are set forth below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claim 13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that “A person having ordinary skill in the art would not modify Matsushita to decrease a flow rate of fluid through the stack and/or increase the fuel supply to the coke oven battery in response to determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold.”
Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Independent claim 13 does not require decreasing a flow rate of fluid through the stack and/or increasing the fuel supply to the coke oven battery in response to determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold. Instead, claim 13 merely requires a step determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold and a step decreasing a flow rate of fluid through the stack and/or increasing the fuel supply to the coke oven battery.
There is nothing in claim 13 or its dependents which requires that said step of decreasing flow rate and/or increasing fuel supply be performed in response to the step of determining. Beyond the fact that said steps must both performed in the same broad method of operating a coke oven, there is nothing claim 12 or its dependents which requires any connection between said two steps.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant alleges that “the only teaching, suggestion, motivation, or other obviousness factor to modify the method of Matsushita to include the steps of 1) determining that the opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold, and 2) decreasing a flow rate of fluid through the stack and/or increasing the fuel supply to the coke oven battery must have been derived from the present application”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The combination of Matsushita and 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021), as described in the rejection of claim 13 maintained below, at suggests a method including both of said steps. It is reiterated that there is nothing in claim 13 or its dependents which requires that said step of decreasing flow rate and/or increasing fuel supply be performed in response to the step of determining.
Applicant’s arguments against claim 13 are moot with respect to the new claims, as they do not apply to the combination of references relied upon in the rejections of said claims set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments against claim 13 are also moot with respect to the new rejection of claim 13 over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748), as they do not apply to the combination of references relied upon in said rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claim 15 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Matsushita does not disclose adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven in response to the oxygen level of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery”.
Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive.
Dependent claim 15 does not require adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven in response to the oxygen level of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery. Instead, claim 15 merely requires a step determining that the oxygen level of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is less than the third predetermined threshold and a step of decreasing the fuel supply to the coke oven.
There is nothing in claim 15 which requires that said step of adjusting the fuel supply be performed in response to said step of determining. Beyond the fact that said steps must both performed in the same broad method of operating a coke oven, there is nothing claim 15 which requires any connection between said two steps.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments against claim 15 are moot with respect to the new claims, as they do not apply to the combination of references relied upon in rejecting said claims.
Applicant’s arguments against claim 15 are also moot with respect to the new rejection of claim 15 over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748), as they do not apply to the combination of references relied upon in said rejection.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the prior art rejections of claim 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Specifically, applicant has argued that the combination of Matsushita (US 4,045,292) and 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021) relied upon in the previous Office Action does not teach or suggest a step of increasing the fluid flow rate of the fluid through the stack based on the determination that the temperature of the exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold, as is required by claim 17 as amended. Accordingly, the 103 rejection of claim 17 over has been withdrawn.
However, following further search and consideration, the amendments to claim 17 have been found to necessitate a new rejection over Matsushita (US 4,045,292) in view of 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021) and in further view of Quanci (US 10,947,455), as well as an additional rejection on separate grounds over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748) as applied to claims 21-23, 29, and 30 above, and in further view of Quanci (US 10,947,455). See 103 rejections of claim 17 below for details.
Applicant’s arguments against claim 17 are moot with respect to the new claims, as they do not apply to the combination of references relied upon in rejecting said claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/5/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claim 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Specifically, it is the following argument by Applicant which Examiner finds persuasive:
CFR 7324 specifically teaches using a continuous opacity monitoring system to measure and record the opacity of emissions from each battery stack, and calculating hourly averages and daily averages from that data. 40 C.F.R. §§ 63.7324(b)(1)-(3). Thus, federal statute requires that the data be collected and averaged out without any removal of outlier data point. In fact, removing opacity data would constitute a breach of this federal statute. Applicant respectfully asserts that since removing data points from the opacity data prior to calculating the hourly and daily averages teaches away from CFR 7324 and may actually breach federal law, that a person having skill in the art would not do it.
Accordingly, the 103 rejection of claim 19 over Matsushita (US 4,045,292) and 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021) has been withdrawn.
However, following further search and consideration, a new rejection of claim 19 over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748) is set forth below.
Applicant has asserted that “the practice of disregarding data points is not, and has never been, used when calculating opacities in coke oven batteries.”
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s position on this matter, but maintains the practice of removing obviously erroneous outlier data when calculating averages is known in the art. By no means is it inventive to disregard obvious erroneous outlier data when calculating averages
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. (US 4,045,292), hereafter referred to as Matsushita, in view of 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021).
With regard to claim 13: Matsushita teaches a method for monitoring a coke oven batter system including a coke oven battery, a stack, a fuel (fuel gas) supply, and a combustion air supply (Figure 1, Column 2 Line 65-Column 3 Line 25, Column 3 Line 39-Column 4 Line 65, Column 5 Lines 50-68), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from a plurality of sensors (e.g. waste gas analyzers) (Figure 1, Column 2 Line 65-Column 3 Line 25, Column 3 Line 39-Column 4 Line 65, Column 5 Lines 50-68).
And controlling the fuel supply (i.e. the flow rate of fuel gas) to the coke oven battery and a flow rate of fluid through the stack (i.e. the stack draft) (Figure 1, Column 2 Line 65-Column 3 Line 25, Column 3 Line 39-Column 4 Line 65, Column 5 Lines 50-68).
It is implicit that controlling the fuel supply will, at times, involve increasing the fuel supply. Likewise, it is implicit that controlling the flow rate of fluid through the stack (i.e. the stack draft) will, at times, involve decreasing said flow rate.
In the unlikely alternative, Matsushita’s teachings to control of fuel supply (flow rate of fuel gas) and flow rate of fluid through the stack (stack draft) would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, suggest that the method should comprise increasing fuel supply and decreasing stack flow rate (draft) if and when necessary to maintain the desired conditions within the coke oven battery.
Matsushita is silent to determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a first threshold of a “Daily average of 15 percent opacity for a battery on a normal coking cycle,” 40 CFR 63.7296(a) (Jan. 20, 2021).
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art a would have been compelled, before the effective filing date, to determine that an opacity of the stack, i.e. the opacity of waste gas issuing therefrom, is less than a first predetermined threshold, daily average of 15 percent opacity, in order to ensure compliance with federal regulations.
With regard to claim 14: Matsushita teaches maintaining a target excess air ratio by correcting stack draft in response to a target excess air ratio and a measured excess air ratio, wherein the measured excess air ratio is calculated based on oxygen levels in the exhaust fluid as determined by a sensor (O2 analyzer) (Column 5 Lines 50-68). Accordingly, it is understood that Matsushita’s method implicitly comprises a step of determining if an oxygen level of in of an exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery (combustion waste gases) is less than, equal to, or above a third predetermined threshold, said third predetermined threshold being an oxygen level corresponding to that of the target excess air ratio.
In the unlikely alternative, Matsushita’s teachings to control of stack draft based on a target excess air ratio and a measured excess air ratio would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, suggest that the oxygen level measured by the sensor should be analyzed to determine whether or not said oxygen level is below, above, or equal to a third predetermined threshold corresponding to the target excess air ratio.
Matsushita is silent to determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than the first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold greater than the first.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a second threshold of a “Daily average of 20 percent opacity for a battery on batterywide extended coking,” 40 CFR 63.7296(b) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said second threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by adding a step of determining, when appropriate, that the stack opacity has exceeded a second predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 20 percent opacity, so that battery operators are made aware that their battery is violating federal regulations, such that compliance can be expediently regained. Note: In determining that the stack opacity has exceeded the second predetermined threshold, it is implicit that the stack opacity has also been determined to be greater than the first predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 15 percent opacity.
With regard to claim 15: Matsushita teaches controlling the fuel supply (i.e. the flow rate of fuel gas) to the coke oven battery (Figure 1, Column 2 Line 65-Column 3 Line 25, Column 3 Line 39-Column 4 Line 65, Column 5 Lines 50-68).
It is implicit that controlling the fuel supply will, at times, involve decreasing the fuel supply.
In the unlikely alternative, Matsushita’s teachings to control of fuel supply (flow rate of fuel gas), to one of ordinary skill in the art, suggest that the method should comprise decreasing the fuel supply if and when necessary to maintain the desired conditions within the coke oven battery.
Matsushita teaches maintaining a target excess air ratio by correcting stack draft in response to a target excess air ratio and a measured excess air ratio, wherein the measured excess air ratio is calculated based on oxygen levels in the exhaust fluid as determined by a sensor (O2 analyzer) (Column 5 Lines 50-68). Accordingly, it is understood that Matsushita’s method implicitly comprises a step of determining, when appropriate, that an oxygen level of in of an exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery (combustion waste gases) is less than the third predetermined threshold, said third predetermined threshold being an oxygen level corresponding to that of the target excess air ratio.
In the unlikely alternative, Matsushita’s teachings to control of stack draft based on a target excess air ratio and a measured excess air ratio would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, suggest that the oxygen level measured by the sensor should be analyzed to determine, when appropriate, that said oxygen level is above the third predetermined threshold corresponding to the target excess air ratio.
With regard to claim 16: Matsushita teaches measuring flue temperature and determining (calculating) the deviation of measured flue temperatures from target flue temperature (Column 3 Lines 40-60). The temperature of the flues is measured at “the hairpin tops of individual flues” (Column 3 Lines 48-53). Accordingly, it is understood that Matsushita comprises determining if a temperature of an exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery, i.e. combustion gas in said flues, is greater than a fourth predetermined threshold, said fourth predetermined threshold being the target flue temperature.
In the alternative, Matsushita’s teaching to measuring flue temperature and determining deviation of measured flue temperature from target temperature would at least suggest measuring the temperature of exhaust fluid (combustion gas) within the flues and determining if it is greater than a fourth threshold (i.e. a target value).
Matsushita is silent to determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than the first predetermined threshold and a second predetermined threshold greater than the first.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a second threshold of a “Daily average of 20 percent opacity for a battery on batterywide extended coking,” 40 CFR 63.7296(b) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said second threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by adding a step of determining, when appropriate, that the stack opacity has exceeded a second predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 20 percent opacity, so that battery operators are made aware that their battery is violating federal regulations, such that compliance can be expediently regained. Note: In determining that the stack opacity has exceeded the second predetermined threshold, it is implicit that the stack opacity has also been determined to be greater than the first predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 15 percent opacity.
With regard to claim 20: Matsushita teaches measuring oxygen levels in an exhaust fluid (Column 5 Lines 50-68).
Matsushita teaches measuring flue temperature (Column 3 Lines 40-60). The temperature of the flues is measured at “the hairpin tops of individual flues” (Column 3 Lines 48-53). Accordingly, it is understood that Matsushita comprises measuring the temperature of an exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery, i.e. combustion gas in said flues.
In the alternative, Matsushita’s teaching to measuring flue temperature would at least suggest measuring the temperature of exhaust fluid (combustion gas) from the coke oven battery.
Matsushita is silent to calculating rolling averages of said oxygen levels and temperatures.
However, calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by calculating the rolling averages of the exhaust fluid oxygen levels and the exhaust fluid temperatures in order to attain a better picture of how said properties are behaving on a long-term basis.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Quanci (US 10,947,455).
With regard to claim 17: Matsushita does not explicitly teach determining that the temperature of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold; and based on the determination that the temperature of the exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold, increasing the fluid flow rate of the fluid through the stack.
However, it is known in the coke oven art to increase the feed of excess air in response to an overheat condition detected by a temperature sensor within a conduit supporting a flow of combustion exhaust gas. For example, Quanci teaches or at least suggests supplying excess combustion air to a coke oven in response to an overheat condition detected within an exhaust gas duct, e.g. an uptake duct, a common tunnel, a HRSG inlet, etc., in order to cool the coke plant and eliminate the overheat condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by adding steps of:
1) detecting an overheat condition somewhere in the flow path of the exhaust fluid, i.e. the combustion gas/flue gas, for example in one or more of the flues and/or the stack, wherein detecting the overheat condition involves determining that the temperature of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold; and
2) in response to said overheat condition being detected, supplying excess (i.e. an increased amount of) combustion air to the coke oven battery, thereby increasing the flow rate of the fluid through the stack;
in order to eliminate overheat conditions which arrive in the coke oven.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of 40 CFR 63.7324 (Jan. 20, 2021).
With regard to claim 18: Matsushita does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold comprises: receiving opacity data from the one or more sensors; and calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data.
However, since at least January 2021, it has been required that one demonstrate compliance with opacity limits by using a continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) to measure opacity and, using measured opacity data, calculating hourly and 24 hour averages (40 CFR 63.7324 (Jan. 20, 2021).
Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art a would have been compelled, before the effective filing date, to determine the opacity of the stack by receiving opacity data from at least one sensor (i.e. a continuous opacity monitoring system) and calculating opacity as an hourly and daily average of the opacity data.
As for the requirement that the average be a rolling average, because it is required that one calculate hourly and daily averages, the data for calculating various rolling averages (e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc.) would be readily available. Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by calculating rolling average(s), e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc., from the opacity data, in order to gauge the long term behavior of the coke oven stack opacity.
Claim(s) 13-15, 18-19, 21-23, 26, 27, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748).
With regard to claims 13-15, 21-23, 29, and 30: Shibahara teaches a method for monitoring a coke oven battery system including a coke oven battery (furnace group/serries of coke ovens) 8, a stack (chimney) 12, a fuel supply 2, and a combustion air supply 1 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and [0016] of Espacenet translation), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from one or more sensors (combustion exhaust gas analyzer) 10 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0016], and [0018] of Espacenet translation).
Determining based on the input from the one or more sensors 10 the oxygen content in exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery in a conduit 9 connecting the coke oven battery 8 to the stack 12 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0016], and [0018] of Espacenet translation).
Based on the determined oxygen level of the exhaust fluid, adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven battery using valve 4 in order to maintain a desired air to fuel ratio (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0011], [0017]-[0018] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0011] and [0018]).
Shibahara does not explicitly teach determining the oxygen level of the exhaust fluid is less than a third predetermined threshold and, based on the determination that the oxygen level is less than the predetermined threshold, decreasing the fuel supply to the coke oven. However, as discussed above, Shibahara teaches adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven battery using valve 4 Based on the determined oxygen level of the exhaust fluid in order to maintain a desired air to fuel ratio (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0011], [0017]-[0018] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0011] and [0018]). Accordingly, it is understood that, in service of maintaining a desired air to fuel ratio, Shibahara’s method implicitly comprises decreasing the fuel supply rate in response the oxygen level in the exhaust gas falling below a third threshold (oxygen content below said threshold being an indicator that air to fuel ratio is too low).
In the alternative, Shibahara’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the desired air to fuel ratio.
Shibahara is silent to, in response to determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold, decreasing a flow rate of fluid through the stack and/or increasing the fuel supply to the coke oven battery; determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than or equal to the first predetermined threshold; and determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than a second predetermined threshold, the second predetermined threshold being greater than the first predetermined threshold.
However, controlling combustion processes based on exhaust gas opacity is well-known in the art. For example, Livios teaches a combustion control process comprising determining the opacity of a combustion exhaust gas (flue gas) in a stack (flue gas outlet) 5 using a sensor (opacitimer) 5f and, in response to the opacity measured by the sensor 5f, increasing or decreasing the flow rate of combustion air into the combustion process using servo-motor 2c in order to maintain a constant stack (flue gas) opacity at the site of the sensor 5f (Figures 1-4, Column 2 Line 55-Column 4 Line 11). By increasing and decreasing the flow rate of combustion air into the process, the flow rate of fluid through the stack necessarily increases and decreases in turn. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that decreasing air supply rate (and thus flow rate of fluid through the stack) will result in increased stack (exhaust gas) opacity. Likewise a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that increasing air supply rate (and thus flow rate of fluid through the stack) will result in decreased stack (exhaust gas) opacity. Thus, to one of ordinary skill in the art, Livios teachings would at least suggests a method wherein a constant stack opacity is maintained by steps of:
1a) determining, using sensor 5f, that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold;
1b) in response to determining that the opacity stack is less than the first predetermined threshold, decreasing a flow rate combustion air and thus, a flow rate of fluid through the stack;
2a) determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than a second predetermined threshold, the second predetermined threshold being greater than the first predetermined threshold; and
2b) in response to determining, using said sensor 5f, that the opacity stack is greater than the second predetermined threshold, increasing the flow rate combustion air and thus, a flow rate of fluid through the stack.
Livios teaches that regulating excess combustion air based on exhaust opacity has several advantages (Column 2 Lines 12-40, especially lines 17-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Shibahara in view of Livios by adding steps of:
1a) determining, using an opacity sensor, that an opacity of the stack (i.e. the flue gas therein) is less than a first predetermined threshold;
1b) in response to determining that the stack opacity is less than the first predetermined threshold, decreasing a flow rate combustion air and thus, a flow rate of fluid through the stack;
2a) determining, using the opacity sensor, that the opacity of the stack is greater than a second predetermined threshold, the second predetermined threshold being greater than the first predetermined threshold; and
2b) in response to determining that the stack opacity is greater than the second predetermined threshold, increasing the flow rate combustion air and thus, a flow rate of fluid through the stack;
In order obtain the advantages (disclosed by Livios) associated with control based on stack opacity.
With regard to claim 26: In modified Shibahara, the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold comprises receiving data from the opacity sensor (see rejection of claim 21 above).
Modified Shibahara does not necessarily involve calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data.
However, Livios teaches that “the average measurement of the opacity of the flue gases can be effected much more easily in a representative manner; in particular, it is relatively insensitive to the admission of parasitic air occurring outside the combustion zone,” (Column 2 Lines 23-27). This teaching at least suggests that one should measure average stack (flue gas) opacity for the purposes of process control.
Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a rolling average of the opacity as a basis for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the opacity data measured by the sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Shibahara by calculating a rolling average of the opacity data, in order to: 1) attain a better picture of the stack opacity on a long-term basis, and 2) dampen noise in the opacity data measured by the sensor.
With regard to claims 18, 19, 27 and 31: In modified Shibahara, the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold comprises receiving data from the opacity sensor (see rejection of claim 21 above).
Modified Shibahara does not necessarily involve removing opacity readings from the opacity data that exceed a fifth predetermined threshold; and calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data without the opacity readings that exceed the fifth predetermined threshold.
However, Livios teaches that “the average measurement of the opacity of the flue gases can be effected much more easily in a representative manner; in particular, it is relatively insensitive to the admission of parasitic air occurring outside the combustion zone,” (Column 2 Lines 23-27). This teaching at least suggests that one should measure average stack (flue gas) opacity for the purposes of process control.
Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a rolling average of the opacity as a basis for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the opacity data measured by the sensor.
As for removing opacity reading that exceed a fifth predetermined threshold, such removal of data would be satisfied by merely removing obviously erroneous outlier data when calculating average opacity. The practice of removing obviously erroneous outlier data when calculating averages is known in the art. For example, one might chose to disregard a single, instantaneous reading that exceeds a threshold value from what is expected 1, as such a reading would be regarded as obviously erroneous, and including said reading when calculating an average would skew the average.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Shibahara by: 1) removing opacity readings from the opacity data that exceed a fifth predetermined threshold, , i.e. a predetermined threshold from what is expected, thereby removing data which would erroneously skew a calculated average; and 2) calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data without the opacity readings that exceed the fifth predetermined threshold, in order to dampen noise in the opacity data measured by the sensor.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 20, 24, 25, 28, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A) in view of Livois (US 3,369,748) as applied to claims 13-15, 21-23, 29, and 30 above, and in further view of Quanci (US 10,947,455).
With regard to claims 16, 17, 24, 25, and 32: Shibahara does not explicitly teach determining that the temperature of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold; and based on the determination that the temperature of the exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold, increasing the fluid flow rate of the fluid through the stack.
However, it is known in the coke oven art to increase the feed of excess air in response to an overheat condition detected by a temperature sensor within a conduit supporting a flow of combustion exhaust gas. For example, Quanci teaches or at least suggests supplying excess combustion air to a coke oven in response to an overheat condition detected within an exhaust gas duct, e.g. an uptake duct, a common tunnel, a HRSG inlet, etc., in order to cool the coke plant and eliminate the overheat condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Shibahara by adding steps of:
1) detecting an overheat condition somewhere in the flow path of the exhaust fluid, i.e. the combustion gas/flue gas, for example in one or more of the flues and/or the stack, wherein detecting the overheat condition involves determining that the temperature of exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery is greater than the fourth predetermined threshold; and
2) in response to said overheat condition being detected, supplying excess (i.e. an increased amount of) combustion air to the coke oven battery, thereby increasing the flow rate of the fluid through the stack;
in order to eliminate overheat conditions which arrive in the coke oven.
With regard to claim 20 and 28: Modified Shibahara as described in the rejection of claims 17, 24, 25, and 32 above includes measuring the level of oxygen in the exhaust fluid of the coke oven battery and the temperature of said exhaust fluid (see rejection claims 21-23, 29, and 30 and rejection of claims 17, 24, 25, and 32 above for details).
Modified Shibahara does not necessarily include calculating a rolling average of the level of oxygen in the exhaust fluid and a rolling average of the temperature of the exhaust fluid.
Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using rolling averages of the level of oxygen and the temperature as a bases for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the temperature and oxygen content data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Shibahara by calculating rolling averages of the level of oxygen in the exhaust fluid and the temperature of the exhaust fluid, in order to dampen noise in the temperature and oxygen content data.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibahara (JP H07126627 A).
With regard to claim 29: Shibahara teaches a method for monitoring a coke oven battery system including a coke oven battery (furnace group/serries of coke ovens) 8, a stack (chimney) 12, a fuel supply 2, and a combustion air supply 1 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004] and [0016] of Espacenet translation), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from one or more sensors (combustion exhaust gas analyzer) 10 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0016], and [0018] of Espacenet translation).
Determining based on the input from the one or more sensors 10 the oxygen content in exhaust fluid from the coke oven battery in a conduit 9 connecting the coke oven battery 8 to the stack 12 (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0016], and [0018] of Espacenet translation).
Based on the determined oxygen level of the exhaust fluid, adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven battery using valve 4 in order to maintain a desired air to fuel ratio (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0011], [0017]-[0018] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0011] and [0018]).
Shibahara does not explicitly teach determining the oxygen level of the exhaust fluid is less than a first predetermined threshold and, based on the determination that the oxygen level is less than the predetermined threshold, decreasing the fuel supply to the coke oven. However, as discussed above, Shibahara teaches adjusting the fuel supply to the coke oven battery using valve 4 Based on the determined oxygen level of the exhaust fluid in order to maintain a desired air to fuel ratio (Figures 1 and 5, paragraphs [0003]-[0004], [0011], [0017]-[0018] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0011] and [0018]). Accordingly, it is understood that, in service of maintaining a desired air to fuel ratio, Shibahara’s method implicitly comprises decreasing the fuel supply rate in response the oxygen level in the exhaust gas falling below a first threshold (oxygen content below said threshold being an indicator that air to fuel ratio is too low).
In the alternative, Shibahara’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the desired air to fuel ratio.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
1 By “single, instantaneous reading that exceeds a threshold value from what is expected”, Examiner means a single data point which deviates vastly from previous data points, and is followed, for example, by subsequent data points showing a return to more normal values.