DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-8 of U.S. Patent #12,530,822. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a broader scope from the ‘822 patent.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-16 of U.S. Patent #12,530,822. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a broader scope from the ‘822 patent.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 18-20 of U.S. Patent #12,530,822. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a broader scope from the ‘822 patent.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“image generation model configured to …” in claim 14,
“text encoder configure to …” in claim 15,
“aesthetic classifier configured to …” in claim 16,
“style classifier configured to …” in claim 17, and
“user interface configured to …” in claim 20.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
(1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Couleaud (US 12,602,847) in view of Ramesh (US 11,922,550).
Referring to claims 1 and 14, Couleaud discloses a method comprising:
obtaining an input text prompt (fig. 1, prompt 102, textural prompts 127/128/129/130/131), wherein the input text prompt describes an image quality level (fig. 2, text prompt 202) and an object (fig. 2, building 211, woman 213, cat 215; 7:8-9) in an image (fig. 2, image 210; fig. 1, image 110/114/118/120), and
wherein the image quality level represents an overall visual appearance quality (fig. 2, text prompt 202) based on a plurality of image attributions (fig. 2, such as high quality, soft focus, style of Renoir 202); and
wherein the [machine learning] model (fig. 5C, machine learning model 520; fig. machine learning model 108) is trained to generate input for an image generation model (fig. 1, machine learning model 108/126) based on a prompt (fig. 1, prompt 102/127/128/129/130/131/132) including a target image quality level (fig. 2, text prompt 202).
Ramesh discloses:
generating, using a diffusion prior model (fig. 2, first sub-model 208; 10:61-62, diffusion prior), an image embedding (fig. 2, image embedding 210) based on the input prompt,
wherein the image embedding represents the object and the image quality level in a vector space (10:64-65, latent space; 2:49-52, vector representation), and
generating, using the image generation model (fig. 2, second sub-model 212), a synthetic image (fig. 2, output image 214) based on the image embedding,
wherein the synthetic image depicts the object and has the image quality level (fig. 1, output image 216 has image quality of text description 202).
Couleaud and Ramesh are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor in text-to-image generation. Before the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Couleaud and Ramesh before him or her to modify the machine learning model of Couleaud to include the diffusion prior model of Ramesh, thereafter the training is completed with diffusion prior model. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so would be obtaining the advantage of learn structure in data by modeling the diffusion of the data in a latent space (10:61-65) as suggested by Ramesh. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Couleaud with Ramesh to obtain the invention as specified in the instant application claims.
As to claim 2, Couleaud discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the text input prompt comprises:
obtaining a preliminary prompt (fig. 1, prompt 102) and an indication of the image quality level (fig. 1, text prompt 202/227/228/229/230/231/232); and
generating the text input prompt based on the preliminary prompt and the indication (fig. 1, prompt 127/128/129/130/131/132).
As to claim 3, Couleaud discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the input text prompt comprises:
obtaining a style input (fig. 2, text prompt 202),
wherein the input text prompt includes a value (fig. 2, such as f/18, 60mm 202) indicating a level of a style (fig. 2, image 210 style; 11:3-8, style qualifiers of textual prompts) corresponding to the style input.
As to claim 4, Ramesh discloses the method of claim 1, comprising:
generating a text embedding (fig. 1A, text embedding 112) based on the input text prompt,
wherein the image embedding is generated based on the text embedding (fig. 2, generate image embedding 210). (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 5, Ramesh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthetic image comprises:
obtaining a noise map (11:8-11, noise); and
denoising (11:5-8, denoising) the noise map based on the image embedding to generate the synthetic image. (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 6, Ramesh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the diffusion prior model is trained to generate image embedding using
a training set (fig. 4, training data 402a) comprising a training image (fig. 1A, image data set 102) and a training prompt (fig. 1A, text data set 104) that includes the image quality level. (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 15, Ramesh discloses the apparatus of claim 14, comprising:
a text encoder (fig. 1A, text encoder 108) to generate a text embedding (fig. 1A, text embedding 112) based on the input text prompt,
wherein the image embedding is generated based on the text embedding (fig. 1A, text data set 104, encoder 108, embedding 112). (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 16, Couleaud discloses the apparatus of claim 14, comprising: an aesthetic classifier (15:36-44, classifier by machine learning model 500) to compute the image quality level.
As to claim 17, Couleaud discloses the apparatus of claim 14, comprising:
a style classifier (fig. 5, machine learning model 500; 15:36-44, classifier by machine learning model 500) to compute a value indicating a level of a style (fig. 6, textural prompt 608),
wherein the input prompt includes the level of the style (fig. 6, such as Renaissance art).
As to claim 18, Ramesh discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the diffusion prior model includes a diffusion model (fig. 2, first sub-model 208; 10:61-62, diffusion prior). (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 19, Ramesh discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the image generation model includes a diffusion model (fig. 2, first sub-model 208; 10:61-62, diffusion prior). (See TSM analysis above).
As to claim 20, Couleaud discloses the apparatus of claim 14, comprising:
a user interface (fig. 9, user equipment 907/908/910; 6:39-49, user interface) to obtain a preliminary prompt (fig. 2, text description 202),
wherein the input text prompt is based on the preliminary prompt and the image quality level (fig. 1, text prompt 102, textural text prompt 127/128/129/130/131/132).
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. §121:
Claims 1-6 and 14-20, drawn to generating image from text prompt input using trained diffusion model, classified in class G06T3/00.
Claims 7-13, drawn to training a diffusion model from training images with aesthetic scores and generated training prompts, classified in class G06N20/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because invention group I does not require invention group II, and invention group II does not limit to be used only by invention group I. The subcombination has separate utility such as I. generating image, and II generating training data/model.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Because these inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious burden on the examiner if restriction is not required because 1) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification, 2) the inventions require a different field of search, see MPEP § 808.02, and 3) the invention have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 C.F.R 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors if no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 C.F.R. 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 C.F.R. 1.17(i).
Newly submitted claims 7-13 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Previously, the claimed invention has scope of obtaining text prompt and images to generate images. However, the new claims 7-13 are diverted and directed to “generate an aesthetic score …” and “generating a training prompt based on the aesthetic score …”. Also see interview discussion, dated May 29, 2026.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 7-13 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims 14-17 and 20 should not be interpreted with 35 USC 112(f) (pp.8-11).
As explained during interview held on May 29, 2026, Examiner considered those claims invoking 35 USC 112(f) with following reasons:
In WSOU v. Google, the claim term “a processor configured to …” in claim 1 of the US 8,965,045 patent is considered with invoking 35 USC 112(f). Although the claim in the ‘045 patent was determined indefinite, examiner finds applicant’s specification containing passages to sufficiently describe the scope of the claims. (See https://www.cafc.uscourts.gov/opinions-orders/22-1063.OPINION.10-19-2023_2208347.pdf)
Simply use a structure-like word (such as “aesthetic classifier”, “image generation model”, “text encoder”, or “user interface”) is not directly bypass the three-prong test and a generic placeholder word test. (See MPEP 2181(I)(A)).
In the claimed invention, the functional language is what the placeholder word performing rather than defining the placeholder word without using structure. Therefore, each of the functional language in those claims is analyzed as an algorithm performed by the placeholder word. (See MPEP 2181(II)(B)).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is made final. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire in THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filled within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date of the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136 (a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than six months from the date of this final action.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615