In claim 8, the phrase “the first direction” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding the limitation of “… are integrally molded …”, in accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself since determination of patentability is based on the product itself because this limitation is directed to the product-by-process. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight because a product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ooi et al. (8,757,384; hereinafter Ooi).
As to claim 1, Ooi discloses a packaging cushion material (100; Figs. 1 & 6-9) to be housed in a box body together with an article (Fig. 4), the packaging cushion material comprising a holder portion (102, 104, 107) adapted to accommodate the article, a holder support portion (106a, 106c; 106b, 106d) adapted to support the holder portion, and a hinge portion (105) connecting the holder portion and the holder support portion to each other. Ooi further discloses the holder portion, the holder support portion, and the hinge portion are integrally molded as one component (column 5, lines 1-29), the holder support portion supports the holder portion with the hinge portion interposed therebetween such that the holder portion is movable relative to the holder support portion, and the holder portion is spaced from the holder support portion such that the holder portion is supported only through the hinge portion in an unloaded state, and the holder support portion includes a facing surface (112) positioned to contact the holder portion upon (column 7, lines 17-27) deformation of the hinge portion in a loaded state.
As to claim 2, Ooi discloses the packaging cushion material is housed in the box body (the box body 512 with the packaging cushion material as in Figs. 6-9) in a state where the hinge portion is folded, the holder portion is supported by the holder support portion with the hinge portion interposed therebetween so as to be movable relative to the holder support portion in a first direction (Fig. 8; a straight up direction from a cavity 104), and when the packaging cushion material is housed in the box body in a state where the hinge portion is folded, the holder support portion faces the holder portion at a portion of the holder support portion in one side in the first direction and is in contact with the box body at a portion of the holder support portion in the other side in the first direction (Figs. 7 & 9).
As to claim 6, see Figs. 7-9.
As to claim 8, Ooi discloses the holder support portion comprises a first holder support portion (106a) and a second holder support portion (106c), the hinge portion includes a first hinge portion (105) connecting the holder portion and the first holder support portion to each other, and a second hinge portion (105) connecting the holder portion and the second holder support portion to each other, and the first holder support portion and the second holder support portion face each other in a second direction (straight line from the first holder support portion to the second holder support portion) intersecting the first direction (a straight up direction from the cavity 104), when viewed in the first direction.
As to claims 9-11, Ooi further discloses the packaging cushion material comprises a pulp molded body (column 5, lines 1-29 & Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooi in view of Tanaka et al. (7,981,493; hereinafter Tanaka).
As to claim 3, Ooi discloses the holder portion comprises a cavity/portion opened in the first direction and adapted to accommodate the article, and a flange portion extending outward from an opening end of the cavity/portion, and the hinge portion connects the flange portion of the holder portion and the holder support portion to each other. However, Ooi fails to show the cavity/portion comprises a cylindrical portion as claimed. Tanaka teaches a packaging cushion material (300) comprising a cylindrical portion (390) opened upward in a first direction and adapted to accommodate an article (100-130). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Tanaka to modify the packaging cushion material of Ooi so the cavity/portion comprises a cylindrical portion as claimed for holding a circular shape article and because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 4, the packaging cushion material of Ooi as modified includes the holder support portion (106a; 106c) comprises a first facing surface (Fig. 7 shows each buffer member 112 comprises a step portion) adapted to face a bottom portion (Figs. 7 & 9) and an outer peripheral surface of the cylindrical portion of the holder portion when the hinge portion is folded.
As to claim 5, the packaging cushion material of Ooi as modified includes the holder support portion (106a; 106c) comprises a second facing surface (Fig. 7 shows each buffer member 112 comprises a step portion) adapted to face the flange portion of the holder portion when the hinge portion is folded (Figs. 7 & 9) and one of the flange portion and the second facing surface is provided with a protruding portion protruding toward the other (Fig. 7).
As to claim 7, Ooi further discloses the hinge portion (105; Figs. 10-12) has a band shape having a C-shaped cross section (Fig. 11 shows a C-shaped cross section 105 (the hinge portion of the holder support portion 106a)). To the extent that Ooi fails to show the hinge portion comprises a band shape with a C-shaped cross section as claimed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge portion of Ooi so the hinge portion is constructed with a band shape having a C-shaped cross section as claimed to facilitate folding the holder support portion and because the selection of a specific hinge portion such as the hinge portion as disclosed by Ooi or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant’s argument with respect to Ooi in the remarks such as “… Ooi discloses a configuration in which the holder portion is supported by the support portions in a manner that includes direct structural support, rather than hinge-mediate suspension” is noted. This is not persuasive because there is no such “hinge-mediated suspension” in the claims and also not persuasive because claim 1 recites “the holder support portion includes a facing surface positioned to contact the holder portion upon deformation of the hinge portion in a loaded state” which indicates that the holder support portion supports the holder portion by directly contact between the holder portion and the holder support portion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736