Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN218413174U) in view of Sawai (JP2010089957A).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a projector (Fig. 4) comprising:
a first light source (240G) configured to output first light in a first wavelength band;
a second light source (240R) configured to output second light in a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band;
a third light source (240B) configured to output third light in a third wavelength band different from the first and second wavelength bands;
a first light guiding part (251) having a first light incident end on which the first light output from the first light source is incident and a first light exiting end via which the first light exits, the first light guiding part configured to homogenize in-plane illuminance of the first light;
a second light guiding part (251) having a second light incident end on which the second light output from the second light source is incident and a second light exiting end via which the second light exits, the second light guiding part configured to homogenize in-plane illuminance of the second light;
a third light guiding part (251) having a third light incident end on which the third light output from the third light source is incident and a third light exiting end via which the third light exits, the third light guiding part configured to homogenize in-plane illuminance of the third light;
a first parallelizing part (252) configured to parallelize the first light output from the first light guiding part;
a second parallelizing part (252) configured to parallelize the second light output from the second light guiding part;
a third parallelizing part (252) configured to parallelize the third light output from the third light guiding part;
a first light modulator (241) configured to modulate the first light output from the first parallelizing part based on image information;
a second light modulator (242) configured to modulate the second light output from the second parallelizing part based on image information;
a third light modulator (243) configured to modulate the third light output from the third parallelizing part based on image information;
a light combiner (250) configured to combine the first light output from the first light modulator, the second light output from the second light modulator, and the third light output from the third light modulator with one another and outputs the combined light;
a projection system (270, 260) configured to project the combined light output from the light combiner, wherein a first focal length of the first parallelizing part is longer than a first length from the first light incident end to the first light exiting end, a second focal length of the second parallelizing part is longer than a second length from the second light incident end to the second light exiting end, and a third focal length of the third parallelizing part is longer than a third length from the third light incident end to the third light exiting end (note the focal length of the lens 252 is longer than the length dimension of the conical light homogenizing device 251 because the lens 252 forms parallel light output); and
a focal point of the first parallelizing part is located at a side opposite from a light exiting side of the first light source via which the first light exits.
As shown in the drawing below, the focal point length of the parallelizing part, f1, is longer than the length, g1, from the light incident end to the light exiting end of the parallelizing part. This is true to all projection means 210, 220 and 230.
However, Hu does not disclose that the first light guiding part comprises a reflector comprising four plate-shaped members wherein each of the four plate-shaped members has a trapezoidal shape as now claimed.
Sawai, from the similar field of endeavor, teaches a light guiding part (5) comprises a reflector comprising four plate-shaped members wherein each of the four plate-shaped members has a trapezoidal shape.
The rod integrator 5 is configured by bonding four trapezoidal reflecting mirrors (reflecting surfaces 5a), and has a hollow structure. The opening 5b .sub.1 on the light incident side of the rod integrator 5 has substantially the same size as the light source unit 2, the dichroic mirror 3, and the quarter wavelength plate 4, and among these, the dichroic mirror 3 and the quarter wavelength plate 4 Is configured to be located in the hollow interior of the rod integrator 5. Page 7, second paragraph of the translated text.
The rod integrator 5 is interchangeable with the rod integrator 251 in Hu since they both are homogenizing device for reflecting the light back and forth so that the light beam can be fully utilized.
Therefore, knowing that rod integrators in Hu and Sawai are interchangeable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the rod integrator 251 of Hu with the integrator 5 of Sawai to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses the first light guiding part has a rectangular cross-sectional shape, the second light guiding part has a rectangular cross-sectional shape, and the third light guiding part has a rectangular cross-sectional shape (note Fig. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Hu discloses a first polarizer (260) disposed between the first parallelizing part (252) and the first light modulator (241) and configured to transmit part of the first light that is the first light containing a first polarized component and reflect another part of the first light;
a second polarizer (see Fig. 4 for color R) disposed between the second parallelizing part and the second light modulator and configured to transmit part of the second light that is the second light containing a second polarized component and reflect another part of the second light; and
a third polarizer (see Fig. 4 for color B) disposed between the third parallelizing part and the third light modulator and configured to transmit part of the third light that is the third light containing a third polarized component and reflect another part of the third light, wherein the other part of the first light enters the first light guiding part, the other part of the second light enters the second light guiding part, and the other part of the third light enters the third light guiding part (note translated text in page 13, 3rd par., regarding reflective polarizer).
Regarding claim 4, Hu discloses a cross-sectional area of the first light exiting end is greater than a cross-sectional area of the first light incident end, a cross-sectional area of the second light exiting end is greater than a cross-sectional area of the second light incident end, and a cross-sectional area of the third light exiting end is greater than a cross-sectional area of the third light incident end (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Hu does not disclose that the first length from the first light incident end to the first light exiting end is longer than or equal to 8 mm but shorter than or equal to 25 mm, the second length from the second light incident end to the second light exiting end is longer than or equal to 8 mm but shorter than or equal to 25 mm, and the third length from the third light incident end to the third light exiting end is longer than or equal to 8 mm but shorter than or equal to 25 mm. The length of the conical light homogenizing device 251 in Hu can be in any value. The claimed ranges are considered obvious design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ different lengths for the conical light homogenizing device 251 to perform the well known functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Hu does not disclose that 1.1 × g1 ≤ f1 ≤ 2.0 × g1 is satisfied, where g1 represents the first length, and f1 represents the first focal length, 1.1 × g2 ≤ f2 ≤ 2.0 × g2 is satisfied, where g2 represents the second length, and f2 represents the second focal length, and 1.1 × g3 ≤ f3 ≤ 2.0 × g3 is satisfied, where g3 represents the third length, and f3 represents the third focal length. It is understood that the conical light homogenizing device 251 and the lens 252 in Hu can have any value. It is a matter of obvious design choice. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the conical light homogenizing device 251 and the lens 252 so that they could have the same specifications as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses a focal point of the second parallelizing part is located at a side opposite from a light exiting side of the second light source via which the second light exits, and a focal point of the third parallelizing part is located at a side opposite from a light exiting side of the third light source via which the third light exits (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Hu does not disclose that a distance between a position of the focal point of the first parallelizing part and a light exiting surface of the first light source via which the first light exits is longer than or equal to 0.1 but shorter than or equal to 0.5. However, the dimensions of the optical elements in Fig. 4 can have any value. The claimed distance range is considered a matter of obvious design choice and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Hu inherently discloses that the first light guiding part, the second light guiding part, and the third light guiding part are made of glass or metal.
Regarding claim 10, Hu discloses that the first light guiding part, the second light guiding part, and the third light guiding part are hollow, and a reflection film is provided at an inner surface of each of the first light guiding part, the second light guiding part, and the third light guiding part (note last paragraph, page 12, of the translated text).
Regarding claim 11, Hu discloses that the first parallelizing part covers the first light exiting end when viewed along an optical axis of the first parallelizing part, the second parallelizing part covers the second light exiting end when viewed along an optical axis of the second parallelizing part, and the third parallelizing part covers the third light exiting end when viewed along an optical axis of the third parallelizing part (note Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Hu discloses the first light guiding part, the second light guiding part, and the third light guiding part are hollow, at least a portion of the first parallelizing part is accommodated in the first light guiding part, at least a portion of the second parallelizing part is accommodated in the second light guiding part, and at least a portion of the third parallelizing part is accommodated in the third light guiding part (see Fig. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 13, Hu discloses that the first polarizer is fixed to the first parallelizing part, the second polarizer is fixed to the second parallelizing part, and the third polarizer is fixed to the third parallelizing part (note Fig. 4-6).
Regarding claim 14, Hu discloses all the features as claimed except 7° ≤ α ≤ 22° is satisfied, where α represents an angle of a gradient of a side surface containing short sides of the first, second, and third light guiding parts, 14° ≤ β ≤ 36° is satisfied, where β represents an angle of a gradient of a side surface containing long sides of the first, second, and third light guiding parts, and 60° ≤ θin ≤ 90° is satisfied, where θin represents angles of incidence of the first light, the second light, and the third light to be incident on the reflection films, the angles maximizing reflectance of the reflection films. Similar to rejections as set forth above, such values are obvious design choice and would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, Hu discloses a fourth polarizer that is disposed between the first light modulator and the light combiner and configured to transmit part of the light output from the first light modulator that contains a fourth polarized component and absorb another part of the light; a fifth polarizer that is disposed between the second light modulator and the light combiner and configured to transmit part of the light output from the second light modulator that contains a fifth polarized component and absorb another part of the light; and a sixth polarizer disposed between the third light modulator and the light combiner and configured to transmit part of the light output from the third light modulator that contains a sixth polarized component and absorb another part of the light (note Fig. 9, the polarizers placed in between the LCD 241, 242 and 243 and the optical combiner 250).
Regarding claims 16-20, see similar rejections as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/20/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Hu have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sawai.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422