DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukuda et al. (US 20140043455 A1) (hereon referred to as Fukuda).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuda teaches a video imaging system, comprising:
a monitor (352) comprising a display screen (see Para. [0023]);
an internal scope (200) comprising a camera (212) that acquires internal images of a patient (see Para. [0022]); and
an environmental camera (213) that acquires environmental images of a patient environment (see Para. [0022]);
wherein the monitor (352) operates to:
receive the internal images from the internal scope (200) and the environmental images from the environmental camera (213);
receive an internal scope clock time (synchronization signal) from the internal scope (see Para. [0047]);
determine a first difference between the internal scope clock time (synchronization signal) and a monitor clock time (clock time, see Para. [0047]);
synchronize the internal images (video stream) and the environmental images (event stream) based on the first difference (see Para. [0047]); and
combine the synchronized internal and environmental images into a combined video file (see Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuda teaches the video imaging system of claim 1, wherein the internal scope is one of an endoscope (see Para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuda teaches the video imaging system of claim 1, wherein the monitor (352) operates to use the first difference to synchronize the internal images to the monitor clock time (see Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuda teaches the video imaging system of claim 1, wherein the environmental camera is housed in or on the monitor (see Para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Fukuda teaches the video imaging system of claim 1, wherein one or both of the monitor or the environmental camera is coupled to a portable stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda as applied in the rejection of claim 1 above, and further in view of Tata et al. (US 20210127949 A1) (hereon referred to as Tata).
Fukuda teaches the video imaging system as outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above, however fails to teach wherein the monitor comprises a portable tablet.
Tata teaches a video endoscope device (400) with a camera (see Para. [0049]) and a monitor (416), wherein the monitor may be a handheld portable tablet (see Para. [0052]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the monitor of Fuduka to be a handheld portable tablet as taught by Tata, as this would enable ease of use in a OR setting where various medical professionals may require access to the display screen during the procedure (see Para. [0052]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
Claims 2, 5-6, 9, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in independent claims 12 and 16. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest the limitations “shift the internal images relative to the environmental images based on the first and second differences, to time-synchronize the internal images and the environmental images to each other”, or “acquiring, by the monitor, environmental images from a room-facing environmental camera on the monitor, wherein the environmental images are acquired simultaneously with the internal images” as required by claims 12 and 15, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773