DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schiers (US 9,346,319).
In reference to Claim 1, Schiers discloses using a mold for a carbon fiber and epoxy product (4:62-5:6) (a pre-forming mold for a carbon fiber composite material), comprising clamshell type mold (11:21-23, and Fig. 4) (a pre-forming shell mold detachably spliced), wherein the material while inside the mold cavity is pressed against the side by a bladder (11:23-27) (the pre-forming shell mold is provided with a pre-forming cavity adapted to a structure of a formed product, an inner wall of the pre-forming cavity is used for laying a pre-forming layer), and creating prepregs (7:23-26) (the pre-forming layer is used for forming a pre-forming piece of a product) using a mold for a carbon fiber and epoxy product (4:62-5:6) (a forming mold for a carbon fiber composite material), comprising curing while in the mold (11:21-33) (a curing mold), the bladder uses an access port to be filled with pressurized air (14:32-59) (an air pipe), wherein curing while in the mold (11:21-33) (the curing mold is provided with a curing cavity used for containing the pre-forming shell mold), while the bladder is filled (11:21-33) (the air pipe is arranged in the pre-forming cavity), and the bladder is filled to press the material to the side of the mold throughout the curing process (14:32-59) (the air pipe supports the pre-molding layer to be tightly attached to the inner wall of the pre-molding cavity in an inflated state) inflating against the walls while heat is applied (11:21-33) (the pre-forming shell mold is placed into the curing cavity of the curing mold; heating process of the curing mold and pressurization process of the air pipe are performed at the same time until the temperature and the pressure reach the requirement of curing forming).
In reference to Claim 10, Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 1, as described above.
Schiers discloses clamshell type mold (11:21-23, and Fig. 4) with four cap pieces (11:34-40) (the curing mold comprises an upper curing mold and a lower curing mold, the upper curing mold is arranged right above the lower curing mold in a lifting mode, a bottom side of the upper curing mold is provided with an upper curing groove, a top side of the lower curing mold is provided with a lower curing groove, and the upper curing groove and the lower curing groove are matched to form the curing cavity used for containing the pre-forming shell mold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiers (US 9,346,319) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Rydin, et al. (US 2008/0308960).
In reference to Claim 2, Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 1, as described above.
Schiers discloses a tool in the art normally transfers a surface texture from the tool onto the surface of the resulting structure (3:26-28) and for this embodiment that texture is smooth with a planar surface nearer the spoke positions which is traditionally hard to achieve (4:52-5:35) (a first texture is provided on an inner wall surface of the pre-forming cavity).
Schiers does not disclose a second texture.
Rydin discloses a second texture being added to a final product to have some high and some low profile textures ([0039]) (the first texture is used for forming a second texture on an appearance surface of the pre-forming piece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the mold of Schiers using the dual texture option of Rydin because the sets of textures accomplish different goals. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the mold of Schiers and the textural changes of Rydin to achieve varying degrees of friction flow. The reasonable expectation of success for using the textures of Rydin on the mold of Schiers would be a final product with different sections capable of different abilities.
In reference to Claim 3, modified Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 2, as described above.
Schiers discloses the sidewall portions can be convexly or concavely shaped (8:27-30) (the first texture is arranged convex or concave).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiers (US 9,346,319) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ritchie, et al. (US 5,753,164).
In reference to Claim 4, Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 1, as described above.
Schiers does not disclose the pre-forming shell mold comprises a plurality of groups of split shell molds spliced together, a plurality of anti-overflow cavities are provided on the pre-forming shell mold, and the anti-overflow cavities are communicated with the pre-molding cavity.
Ritchie discloses an upper and lower mold with overflow channels formed in the mold to allow passage of excess charge material (11:11-23) (the pre-forming shell mold comprises a plurality of groups of split shell molds spliced together, a plurality of anti-overflow cavities are provided on the pre-forming shell mold, and the anti-overflow cavities are communicated with the pre-molding cavity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the molding apparatus of Schiers using the overflow channel system of Ritchie because it allows for a full mold without overstressing the filling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Ritchie’s overflow system in Schiers’ molding apparatus to not overfill the mold. The reasonable expectation of success combining the overflow channels of Ritchie in Schiers’ apparatus will be a molded cured final product.
In reference to Claim 5, modified Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 4, as described above.
Ritchie discloses an upper and lower mold with overflow channels formed in the mold to allow passage of excess charge material (11:11-23) (an anti-overflow groove is provided on the split shell mold, and the anti-overflow cavity is formed by cooperation between the anti-overflow grooves on adjacent groups of the split shell molds, or by cooperation between the anti-overflow grooves and splicing surfaces on adjacent groups of the split shell molds).
In reference to Claim 6, modified Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 4, as described above.
Ritchie discloses an upper and lower mold with overflow channels formed in the mold to allow passage of excess charge material (11:11-23) (the anti-overflow cavity is arranged along a contour line of the pre-forming cavity).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 4, as described above.
Schiers discloses aligning the clamshell parts and connecting them for the curing process (12:13-24) (two adjacent groups of the split shell molds are detachably spliced by means of an engaging structure).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiers (US 9,346,319) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Downs, et al. (US 2014/0134378) and Li, et al. (WO 2019/233929 using US 2021/0245418 for translation and citations).
In reference to Claim 8, Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 1, as described above.
Schiers does not disclose the inner wall surface of the pre-forming cavity is one or a combination of a matte surface and a polishing surface.
Downs discloses a matte or glossy finish on the inner mold wall ([0188]) (the inner wall surface of the pre-forming cavity is one or a combination of a matte surface and a polishing surface).
Li discloses portions of texture for matte or glossy effect being machined into the mold portion depending on the desired final outcome ([0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the molding apparatus of Schiers using the surface finishes of Downs because the final product’s finish can be imparted during molding, with the support of Li describing machining the mold to add to the frictional texture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Downs’ mold finish in Schiers’ molding apparatus to apply a preferred finish like Li describes achieving by machining the mold. The reasonable expectation of success combining the finish of Downs in Schiers’ apparatus will be either a matte and/or polished final product in the sections as discussed in Li.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schiers (US 9,346,319) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Gerardi, et al. (US 2016/0263781).
In reference to Claim 11, Schiers discloses the mold of Claim 1, as described above.
Schiers discloses a carbon fiber and epoxy product (4:62-5:6) (the pre-forming layer comprises a plurality of layers and is made of the carbon fiber composite material);
Schiers does not disclose the pre-forming shell mold is made of a plastic material, and the curing mold is made of a metal material.
Gerardi discloses inner and outer molds, with the inner mold made of plastic and the outer mold made of metal, and both removed after curing ([0025]) (the pre-forming shell mold is made of a plastic material, and the curing mold is made of a metal material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the molding apparatus of Schiers using the dual molds with the metal and plastic of Gerardi because the metal outer mold is used for curing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Gerardi’s metal and plastic molds in Schiers’ molding apparatus to retain the shape for the final product. The reasonable expectation of success combining the dual molds of Gerardi in Schiers’ apparatus will be a molded cured final product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art of record does not disclose a section of claim language from claim 1, without going into specifics of how the prior art does not meet the claim language, then describes how the current application differs from the prior art of record but not in a way that is commensurate within the scope of the claims. Examiner recommends amending the claims to bring in language to overcome the prior art of record including the subject matter of the remarks dated April 27, 2026. Examiner is available for an interview to forward prosecution efficiently.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742