DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on September 4, 2024.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 4, 2024 and May 5, 2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamehira et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2001/0009625 A1, hereinafter as “Tamehira”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to an image reading device (see Tamehira, i.e. fig. 3 and etc., disclose the image reading apparatus 51) comprising:
a reading section configured to read an image of a transported medium (see Tamehira, i.e. in para. 48, 53-55 and etc., disclose that “[0048] The original reading portion includes an original table 1 made of a transparent glass plate or the like on the top and a scanner portion 2 arranged below original table 1. Scanner portion 2 includes a light source 3 for illuminating the original placed on original table 1 with light, a photoelectric transducer (to be referred to hereinbelow as CCD) 8 for picking up the reflected light from the original, reflection mirrors 4, 5 and 6 for guiding the reflected light from the original to CCD 8 and a focusing lens 7 for forming the image on CCD 8….”);
a discharge section configured to discharge the transported medium in a discharge direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in para. 52, fig. 2A, 2B and etc., disclose that “[0052] The paper output portion has a paper output tray 24 for receiving image formed print paper P discharged by paper discharger rollers 9…”); and
a tapping member configured to tap downward a rear end portion of the medium discharged by the discharge section (see Tamehira, i.e. fig. 5, 8, para. 74, 77 and etc., disclose the printout presser 34, and “[0074] For performing one method for aligning the printed sheets of discharged paper P, the printout presser 34 is configured so that its end with rollers 34a and 34b provided will not abut the bottom of paper output tray 24 but stops at a predetermined position. The printed sheet of paper P is discharged as it is pressed downwards by printout presser 34. When the rear end of the printed sheet P departs from paper discharge roller 9, the paper is pressed down to paper output tray 24 and placed thereon. Thus, the rear ends of printed sheets of paper P can be positioned with respect to the discharging direction of printed paper P so that the printed sheets of paper P can be discharged aligned at the predetermined position on paper output tray 24.”, and “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming…”), wherein
the tapping member is not in contact with the medium when the medium is transported (see Tamehira, fig. 4, para. 70 and etc., disclose that “[0070] This printout presser 34 is laid out substantially parallel to the paper conveyance direction and is pivotally supported at its one end by a printout presser shaft 35 which is arranged above paper discharge roller 9 and substantially parallel with the plane on which the paper discharge roller is arranged. Printout presser 34 further has a pair of rotatably supported rollers 34a and 34b at the other end. These rollers 34a and 34b abut printout P when printout presser 34 presses printout P so that the printout P will be correctly conveyed and stored into paper output tray 24…”), and
taps the rear end portion when the rear end portion of the medium passes through the discharge section (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 77 and etc., disclose that “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming….”).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the image reading device, according to claim 1, wherein a position at which the tapping member taps the medium is a position that does not overlap the discharge section in the discharge direction (see Tamehira, fig. 4, para. 70 and etc., disclose that “[0070] This printout presser 34 is laid out substantially parallel to the paper conveyance direction and is pivotally supported at its one end by a printout presser shaft 35 which is arranged above paper discharge roller 9 and substantially parallel with the plane on which the paper discharge roller is arranged. Printout presser 34 further has a pair of rotatably supported rollers 34a and 34b at the other end. These rollers 34a and 34b abut printout P when printout presser 34 presses printout P so that the printout P will be correctly conveyed and stored into paper output tray 24…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the image reading device, according to claim 2, wherein the discharge section includes two roller pairs in a width direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 58 and etc., disclose that “[0058] Print paper P passes through and as it does activate, fixed paper detecting switch 11 arranged in the paper feed path and then activates paper discharge detecting switch 10. In response to the signal upon the activation of paper discharge detecting switch 10, paper discharge roller 9 starts rotating to discharge print paper P. The print paper P thus discharged is placed orderly onto paper output tray 24…”), which intersects the discharge direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 4-5, para. 64 and etc., disclose that “[0064] As shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, paper output tray 24 is laid out so that one end face of paper output tray 24 on the right side will abut the position above which paper discharge roller 9 of the main part of the image forming apparatus is located when paper output tray 24 is in its retracted position. Therefore, print paper P discharged from the main body is reliably placed onto paper output tray 24…”), the tapping member is located between the two roller pairs in the width direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 70 and etc., disclose that “[0070] This printout presser 34 is laid out substantially parallel to the paper conveyance direction and is pivotally supported at its one end by a printout presser shaft 35 which is arranged above paper discharge roller 9 and substantially parallel with the plane on which the paper discharge roller is arranged. Printout presser 34 further has a pair of rotatably supported rollers 34a and 34b at the other end. These rollers 34a and 34b abut printout P when printout presser 34 presses printout P so that the printout P will be correctly conveyed and stored into paper output tray 24”).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to the image reading device, according to claim 1, wherein the tapping member is located downstream of the discharge section in the discharge direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 5 and etc., wherein a perspective view showing in detail that the paper output portion shown in fig. 5. Fig. 8 is a front view showing the image forming apparatus with paper output tray 24 depicted in the outline. In the present invention, in order to align printed sheets or printouts P discharged by paper discharge rollers 9, a printout presser 34 for pressing printouts P is provided for the paper output portion”).
With regard to claim 12, the claim is drawn to the image reading device, according to claim 1, further comprising: a drive source configured to generate drive force for the discharge section (see Tamehira, i.e. in para. 79-80 and etc., disclose that “[0079] A flat plate aligner 37 is provided over the bottom face of paper output tray 24 substantially parallel with front shroud 32 of paper output tray 24. A drive mechanism 38 for aligner movement is arranged under paper output tray 24 on the main part side. [0080] Drive mechanism 38 is comprised of a motor 39 having a vertical rotational shaft, a vertically arranged rotational shaft 40 having a gear 40a and bevel gear 40b at the ends thereof, a cylindrical shaft 41 which is screw grooved with a bevel gear 41a at one end thereof and arranged substantially horizontal and in parallel with the moving direction of aligner 37, a gear 37a coupled to the aligner by means of a shaft 37b below aligner 37…”),
wherein the tapping member is retracted from a discharge path when a leading end portion of the medium is discharged into the discharge path by the discharge section, taps the rear end portion by advancing into the discharge path when the rear end portion of the medium passes through the discharge section, and enters a retracted state or an advancing state by drive force of the drive source (see Tamehira, fig. 4, para. 70 and etc., disclose that “[0070] This printout presser 34 is laid out substantially parallel to the paper conveyance direction and is pivotally supported at its one end by a printout presser shaft 35 which is arranged above paper discharge roller 9 and substantially parallel with the plane on which the paper discharge roller is arranged. Printout presser 34 further has a pair of rotatably supported rollers 34a and 34b at the other end. These rollers 34a and 34b abut printout P when printout presser 34 presses printout P so that the printout P will be correctly conveyed and stored into paper output tray 24…”; also in fig. 8, para. 77 and etc., disclose that “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming….”).
With regard to claim 17, the claim is drawn to an image reading device (see Tamehira, i.e. fig. 3 and etc., disclose the image reading apparatus 51) comprising:
a reading section configured to read an image of a transported medium (see Tamehira, i.e. in para. 48, 53-55 and etc., disclose that “[0048] The original reading portion includes an original table 1 made of a transparent glass plate or the like on the top and a scanner portion 2 arranged below original table 1. Scanner portion 2 includes a light source 3 for illuminating the original placed on original table 1 with light, a photoelectric transducer (to be referred to hereinbelow as CCD) 8 for picking up the reflected light from the original, reflection mirrors 4, 5 and 6 for guiding the reflected light from the original to CCD 8 and a focusing lens 7 for forming the image on CCD 8….”);
a discharge section configured to discharge the transported medium in a discharge direction (see Tamehira, i.e. in para. 52, fig. 2A, 2B and etc., disclose that “[0052] The paper output portion has a paper output tray 24 for receiving image formed print paper P discharged by paper discharger rollers 9…”); and
a tapping member configured to tap downward a rear end portion of the medium discharged by the discharge section (see Tamehira, i.e. fig. 5, 8, para. 74, 77 and etc., disclose the printout presser 34, and “[0074] For performing one method for aligning the printed sheets of discharged paper P, the printout presser 34 is configured so that its end with rollers 34a and 34b provided will not abut the bottom of paper output tray 24 but stops at a predetermined position. The printed sheet of paper P is discharged as it is pressed downwards by printout presser 34. When the rear end of the printed sheet P departs from paper discharge roller 9, the paper is pressed down to paper output tray 24 and placed thereon. Thus, the rear ends of printed sheets of paper P can be positioned with respect to the discharging direction of printed paper P so that the printed sheets of paper P can be discharged aligned at the predetermined position on paper output tray 24.”, and “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming…”); and
a contact portion that is located upstream of the tapping member in the discharge direction and comes into contact with the medium to be discharged (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 77 and etc., disclose that “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming…”), wherein
the contact portion contact with the medium and the tapping member is retract from the medium when the medium is transported (see Tamehira, fig. 4, para. 70 and etc., disclose that “[0070] This printout presser 34 is laid out substantially parallel to the paper conveyance direction and is pivotally supported at its one end by a printout presser shaft 35 which is arranged above paper discharge roller 9 and substantially parallel with the plane on which the paper discharge roller is arranged. Printout presser 34 further has a pair of rotatably supported rollers 34a and 34b at the other end. These rollers 34a and 34b abut printout P when printout presser 34 presses printout P so that the printout P will be correctly conveyed and stored into paper output tray 24…”),
the tapping member contact with the medium when the rear end portion of the medium passes through the discharge section (see Tamehira, i.e. in fig. 8, para. 77 and etc., disclose that “[0077] Further, an unillustrated drive mechanism for rotating cam 36 is coupled to the shaft of cam 36 so that the printout presser is positioned at the position indicated by the broken line in FIG. 8 until a printed sheet P comes out. When the leading end of printed sheet P reaches the point below rollers 34a and 34b disposed at the end of printout presser 34, the printout presser 34 is moved to the position indicated by the solid line. This arrangement makes it possible to avoid the printed sheet P jamming….”).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claim 4-10 and 13-16, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, the closest prior arts of record, Tamehira, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “the image reading device, according to claim 1, wherein a posture switching section configured to switch between a retracted posture, in which the tapping member is retracted from a discharge path of the medium, and an advanced posture, in which the tapping member is advanced into the discharge path, wherein the posture switching section includes a contact portion that is located upstream of the tapping member in the discharge direction and comes into contact with the medium to be discharged, switches the tapping member to the retracted posture when the contact portion comes into contact with the medium, and switches the tapping member to the advanced posture when the contact portion is not in contact with the medium”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Tamehira.
With regard to claims 5-7, the claims are depending directly or indirectly from the independent Claim 4, each encompasses the required limitations recited in the independent claim discussed above.
With regard to claim 8, the closest prior arts of record, Tamehira, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “the image reading device, according to claim 1, further comprising: a discharge angle changing section that comes into contact with a lower surface of the medium discharged by the discharge section and increases an angle in an upward direction at which the medium is discharged”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Tamehira.
With regard to claims 9-10 and 13-16, the claims are depending directly or indirectly from the independent Claim 8, each encompasses the required limitations recited in the independent claim discussed above.
Therefore, claim 4-10 and 13-16 are objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyagi (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2023/0239415 A1) disclose an invention relates to image reading apparatus; in further details, in Miyagi disclose the teachings that, i.e. in fig. 4, para. 69, that “[0069] As illustrated in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, the pressing unit 72 is an example of a presser for pressing the original document G toward the placement plate 62 at least at a downstream end portion in the +A direction of the placement plate 62. The pressing unit 72 includes an extending member 74 extending along the +A direction, and a rotary member 88 provided at the extending member 74, as an example. The pressing unit 72 presses a central portion in the X direction of the original document G toward the placement plate 62”, which lacks in disclosing the aspect relating to “wherein the tapping member is not in contact with the medium when the medium is transported” (i.e. recited in claim 1).
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681