Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 18/824,080 has a total of 18 claims pending in the application; there are 2 independent claims and 16 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. This Office action is in response to the claims filed 9/4/24. Claims 1-18 are pending.
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
INFORMATION CONCERNING DRAWINGS
Drawings
The applicant's drawings submitted 9/4/24 are acceptable for examination purposes.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0303024), herein referred to as Iwai et al. in view of Kang (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0222009), herein referred to as Kang.
Referring to claim 1, Iwai et al. disclose as claimed, a memory control circuit, comprising: an access control circuit, sending a read command, a write command, or a power save command (see fig. 1, showing a memory controller which would send read and write commands. Also see para. 37, where the controller may be a circuit); a connection pad circuit (see para. 39-40 where the controller is connected to memory with an interface such as Toggle DDR, ONFI or a similar interface. ONFI for example, utilizes pads ), comprising: a transceiver circuit; and a receiver circuit, wherein the transceiver circuit and the receiver circuit are connected to a memory through an external pad (see fig. 1, showing a controller connected to a DRAM and NAND, showing channels connecting them, with data flowing both ways, and a read and write control module. Also see para. 39-40, describing a Toggle DDR or ONFI which utilize pads to connect to memory); and a pad control circuit, connected between the access control circuit and the receiver circuit, wherein the pad control circuit executes the read command to enable the receiver circuit to receive read data from the memory through the external pad (see fig. 1, showing specific NAND and DRAM interfaces which allow for receiving read data and executing read commands from memory. See para. 39-40, where interfaces utilizing connection pads are described); and the pad control circuit executes the write command or receives the read data to turn off output of the receiver circuit to enable the receiver circuit to enter a power save state (see para. 149, where read commands are executed and data read up to a limit of the buffer capacity, and then the SSD transitions to a low power consumption state. Note that Kang shows in fig. 1 where the receiver circuit is part of the memory).
Iwai et al. disclose the claimed invention except for executes the power save command to decrease an operating current of the receiver circuit and forces an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level to enable the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state;
However, Kang discloses executes the power save command to decrease an operating current of the receiver circuit and forces an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level to enable the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state (see para. 29, where a deep power down signal is generated, and all current paths of the semiconductor module are disconnected, which would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit);
Iwai et al. and Kang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory power consumption (see Iwai et al., para. 3-7 and Kang, abstract, regarding memory power consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwai et al. to comprise executing the power save command to decrease an operating current of the receiver circuit and forces an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level to enable the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state, as taught by Kang, in order to allow for even more power savings and efficient operation when memory operations aren’t needed.
Referring to claim 10, Iwai et al. disclose as claimed, a memory control circuit control method, comprising: receiving a read command; executing the read command to receive read data from a memory by a receiver circuit (see fig. 1, showing a memory controller which would send read and write commands to and from a memory. See interfaces with channels connecting the controller to the memory which would constitute a receiver circuit); controlling the receiver circuit to enter a power save state after the read data is received or a write command is executed (see para. 149, where read commands are executed and data read up to a limit of the buffer capacity, and then the SSD transitions to a low power consumption state. Note that Kang fig. 1 shows where the receiver is part of the memory);
Iwai et al. disclose the claimed invention except for and executing a power save command to control the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state from the power save state, wherein a step of entering the power save state comprises: turning off output of the receiver circuit; and a step of entering the deep power save state comprises: turning off the output of the receiver circuit; decreasing an operating current of the receiver circuit to the minimum; and forcing an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level.
However, Kang discloses executing a power save command to control the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state from the power save state, wherein a step of entering the power save state comprises: turning off output of the receiver circuit; and a step of entering the deep power save state comprises: turning off the output of the receiver circuit; decreasing an operating current of the receiver circuit to the minimum; and forcing an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level (see para. 29, where a deep power down signal is generated, and all current paths of the semiconductor module are disconnected, which would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit to a minimum, as well as a deep power down signal being forced high. Also see Iwai, para. 169-179, where a deep power state is entered into from the power save state, and both states have the receiver output turned off).
Iwai et al. and Kang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of memory power consumption (see Iwai et al., para. 3-7 and Kang, abstract, regarding memory power consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwai et al. to comprise executing a power save command to control the receiver circuit to enter a deep power save state from the power save state, wherein a step of entering the power save state comprises: turning off output of the receiver circuit; and a step of entering the deep power save state comprises: turning off the output of the receiver circuit; decreasing an operating current of the receiver circuit to the minimum; and forcing an internal signal of the receiver circuit to a level, as taught by Kang, in order to allow for even more power savings and efficient operation when memory operations aren’t needed.
As to claim 11, Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, further comprising: entering a power down state from the power save state or the deep power save state, wherein a step of entering the power down state comprises: turning off the receiver circuit (see Iwai et al. para. 169-179, where the deep power down state PS4 is entered into from the power save state PS3. See Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal is generated, and all current paths of the semiconductor module are disconnected, which would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit to a minimum and turn off the receiver circuit).
As to claim 12, Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, wherein the step of entering the deep power save state further comprises: disconnecting a power supply path for providing the operating current to the receiver circuit (See Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal is generated, and all current paths of the semiconductor module are disconnected, which would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit to a minimum and turn off the receiver circuit).
As to claim 14, Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, wherein a step of turning off the output of the receiver circuit comprises: forcing an output stage of the receiver circuit to be in a non-output state (See Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal is generated, and all current paths of the semiconductor module are disconnected, which would force an output stage of the receiver circuit to be in a non-output state).
As to claim 15, Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory power save control method according to claim 14, wherein the output stage is an AND gate, a step of forcing the output stage of the receiver circuit to be in the non-output state is to provide a logic signal to an input end of the AND gate, and the logic signal is 0 (see Kang, para. 36, where if an information signal has a logic low voltage state, a power down mode signal is outputted. Although Kang doesn’t explicitly disclose using an AND gate, it would be obvious to include a logic gate such as an AND gate to also include the input of a deep power down mode signal or self-refresh signal, as discussed in para. 34).
As to claim 16, Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, a step of decreasing the operating current of the receiver circuit to the minimum comprises: decreasing an input current, wherein the operating current is generated by mapping the input current (see Kang, para. 29, where when entering a deep power down mode, the current paths are disconnected, which would decrease both the input current and the operating current for the receiver which would be tied to the input current).
As to claim 17, , Iwai et al. and Kang also disclose the memory control circuit control method according to claim 16, further comprising: entering a power down state from the power save state or the deep power save state, wherein a step of entering the power down state comprises: cutting off the input current (see Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down mode signal disconnects all current paths and therefore would cut off the input current).
Claims 2-9, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwai et al. in view of Kang and in view of Hekmat (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0314172), herein referred to as Hekmat.
As to claim 2, Iwai et al. and Kang disclose the claimed invention except for the memory control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the receiver circuit comprises: a current mirror circuit, controlled by the pad control circuit, and mapping an input current to generate the operating current; a comparator group, connected to the external pad, and powered by the operating current; an output stage, connected between the comparator group and the pad control circuit; and a switch circuit, connected to the comparator group, and controlled by the pad control circuit.
However, Hekmat discloses wherein the receiver circuit comprises: a current mirror circuit, controlled by the pad control circuit, and mapping an input current to generate the operating current (see para. 48 and fig. 6 showing a current being mirrored through three different comparators. Note that both Iwai et al. and Kang teach connections through pads); a comparator group, connected to the external pad, and powered by the operating current (see fig. 6, showing a comparator group of three comparators powered by the operating current. Note that both Iwai et al. and Kang teach connections through pads); an output stage, connected between the comparator group and the pad control circuit (see fig. 1b, showing where a comparator group would be placed, and an output after it); and a switch circuit, connected to the comparator group, and controlled by the pad control circuit (see fig. 1b, showing a decoder, which would be a switch circuit. Also see Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal and register would be a switch).
Iwai et al. and Hekmet are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of power consumption (see Iwai et al., para. 3-7 and Hekmet, abstract, regarding power consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwai et al. to comprise wherein the receiver circuit comprises: a current mirror circuit, controlled by the pad control circuit, and mapping an input current to generate the operating current; a comparator group, connected to the external pad, and powered by the operating current; an output stage, connected between the comparator group and the pad control circuit; and a switch circuit, connected to the comparator group, and controlled by the pad control circuit, as taught by Hekmet, in order to allow for reduced power consumption (see Hekmet, para. 6, where comparators in a multi-level receiver allow for reduced power consumption).
As to claim 3, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein the switch circuit comprises: an operating switch, connected between the current mirror circuit and the comparator group, and controlled by the pad control circuit, wherein in the deep power save state, the pad control circuit further controls the operating switch to disconnect a power supply path that is between the current mirror circuit and the comparator group and that is configured to provide the operating current for the comparator group (see Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal and register would be a switch. The power down switch disconnects all current paths of the semiconductor module. Therefore, when combined with Hekmet, which teaches a current mirror circuit and comparator group, this would disconnect the power supply path there).
As to claim 4, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein in the deep power save state, the pad control circuit controls the switch circuit to connect a plurality of input ends of the comparator group to a power supply and to a ground respectively to force the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level (see Hekmet, fig. 2, showing input ends of comparator group being connected to a power supply and ground. See Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal switches the current off and would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit).
As to claim 5, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein in the power save state and the deep power save state, the pad control circuit forces the output stage to be in a non-output state to turn off the output of the receiver circuit (See Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal switches the current off and would decrease the operating current of the receiving circuit and have the receiver circuit be in a non-output state).
As to claim 6, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 5, wherein the output stage is an AND gate, the pad control circuit provides a logic signal to an input end of the AND gate to force the output stage to be in the non-output state, and the logic signal is 0 (see Kang, para. 36, where if an information signal has a logic low voltage state, a power down mode signal is outputted. Although Kang doesn’t explicitly disclose using an AND gate, it would be obvious to include a logic gate such as an AND gate to also include the input of a deep power down mode signal or self-refresh signal, as discussed in para. 34).
As to claim 7, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein the receiver circuit further comprises: a current switch, connected between the current mirror circuit and a ground, and executing a power down command to disconnect the current mirror circuit from the ground, to enable the receiver circuit to enter a power down state (see Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal may disconnect all current paths, and therefore would disconnect the mirror circuit from the ground).
As to claim 8, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein the comparator group comprises: a plurality of comparators, connected in series between the external pad and the pad control circuit (see Hekmet, fig. 2, showing a plurality of comparators connected in series. Both Iwai et al. and Kang teach connections via pads, so the comparators would be between pads. Also see Hekmet, fig. 1b, showing the comparator group being connected via pads/pins), wherein in the deep power save state, the pad control circuit controls the switch circuit to disconnect the current mirror circuit to turn off a first comparator in the plurality of comparators (see Hekmet, para. 48, where the FET of the first comparator is switched off depending on the voltage. See Kang, para. 29, where the deep power down switch disconnects current paths), and controls the switch circuit to connect two input ends of each of remaining comparators in the plurality of comparators to a power supply and to a ground respectively to force the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level (see Hekmet, fig. 2, showing comparators with input ends connected to power supply and ground).
As to claim 9, Iwai et al., Kang and Hekmet also disclose the memory control circuit according to claim 2, wherein the current mirror circuit comprises: a current mirror, mapping the input current to the operating current (see Hekmet, para. 48 and fig. 6 showing a current being mirrored through three different comparators. Note that both Iwai et al. and Kang teach connections through pads); and a current adjustment circuit, connected to the current mirror, controlled by the pad control circuit, and configured to adjust the input current (see Kang, para. 29, where a deep power down signal may disconnect all current paths, and therefore adjust the input current).
As to claim 13, Iwai et al. and Kang disclose the claimed invention except for the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, wherein a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: connecting a plurality of input ends of a comparator group of the receiver circuit to a power supply and to a ground respectively.
However, Hekmat discloses wherein a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: connecting a plurality of input ends of a comparator group of the receiver circuit to a power supply and to a ground respectively (see fig. 2, showing input ends of comparator group being connected to a power supply and ground).
Iwai et al. and Hekmet are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of power consumption (see Iwai et al., para. 3-7 and Hekmet, abstract, regarding power consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwai et al. to comprise wherein a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: connecting a plurality of input ends of a comparator group of the receiver circuit to a power supply and to a ground respectively, as taught by Hekmet, in order to allow for reduced power consumption (see Hekmet, para. 6, where comparators in a multi-level receiver allow for reduced power consumption).
As to claim 18, Iwai et al. and Kang disclose the claimed invention except for the memory control circuit control method according to claim 10, wherein the receiver circuit comprises a plurality of comparators, and a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: turning off a first comparator in the plurality of comparators, and connecting two input ends of each of remaining comparators in the plurality of comparators to a power supply and to a ground respectively.
However, Hekmat discloses wherein the receiver circuit comprises a plurality of comparators (see fig. 2, showing a plurality of comparators), and a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: turning off a first comparator in the plurality of comparators (see para. 48, where the FET of the first comparator is switched off in response to a certain voltage), and connecting two input ends of each of remaining comparators in the plurality of comparators to a power supply and to a ground respectively (see fig. 2, showing input ends of comparator group being connected to a power supply and ground).
Iwai et al. and Hekmet are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of power consumption (see Iwai et al., para. 3-7 and Hekmet, abstract, regarding power consumption).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Iwai et al. to wherein the receiver circuit comprises a plurality of comparators, and a step of forcing the internal signal of the receiver circuit to the level comprises: turning off a first comparator in the plurality of comparators, and connecting two input ends of each of remaining comparators in the plurality of comparators to a power supply and to a ground respectively, as taught by Hekmet, in order to allow for reduced power consumption (see Hekmet, para. 6, where comparators in a multi-level receiver allow for reduced power consumption).
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-18 have received a first action on the merits and are the subject of a first action non-final.
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/A.O/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132