DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 unclearly recites “that provides a user”; “around a user’s waist and shoulder”; and “secure a skateboard in an upright position to a user’s back for transport” because it is unclear if applicant is attempting to claim the user rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 2 unclearly recites a conventional skateboard, as claim 2 depends from claim 1 directed to a skateboard carrying device. Applicant’s invention appears to be a skateboard carrying device which does not structurally include a skateboard and the limitations of the skateboard are not part of the invention.
Claim 3 unclearly recites “a user’s waist” which seems to be a positive limitation of a user; additionally, it is unclear if this is referring to a generic user’s waist, which has already been attempted to be claimed in claim 1.
Claim 4 unclearly recites “a mating connector component when mating connector components have already been claims in claim 1 from which claim 4 depends from; this is double inclusion and renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 5 unclearly recites “a user’s waist” and “a user’s shoulder.”
Claim 6 unclearly recites “a mating connector component,” which the limitation is claimed in claim 4 rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 7 unclearly recites “the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps.” It is unclear if applicant is considering the third strap to be a connection of four additional straps or independently four additional straps or if the ends of straps are considered as different straps. Claim 7 also unclearly recites “a skateboard.” When a skateboard is attempted to be claimed in claim 2 from which claim 7 depends from. This is double inclusion and renders the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 8 unclearly recites “the four additional straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component,” which it is unclear if applicant is referring to four or eight additional mating connection components or referring to the same mating connector component as recited in claim 6 or claim 4 or claim 1.
Claim 9 unclearly recites “a user’s back” and has issues similar to those listed above.
Regarding claims 10, 16, and 18, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 13 has numerous 112 issues similar to those listed above reciting “a user’s waist and shoulder”; a second recitation of “a user’s waist”; a third recitation of “a user’s waist”; a second iteration of “a user’s shoulder”; and “a user’s back.”
Regarding claim 16, it is unclear which mating connector component the claim is referring to due to multiple iterations of claimed a mating connector component in claim 13, from which claim 16 depends.
Claim 19 has an issues with double inclusion for reciting “a conventional skateboard” and “a skateboard deck” rendering the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 20 has numerous 112 issues similar to those listed above.
The claims are replete with 112 issues and the above is not an exhaustive list.
Dependent claims inherit the issues listed and are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims appear to positively recite a user, human organism.
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 recites "provides a user,"" around a user's waist and shoulder," and "to a user's back for transport.”
Claim 13 has similar recitations directed to a user.
Claim 20 has similar recitations directed to a user.
Dependent claims inherit the issues and are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Challoner et al. (U.S. 5,344,056) [056].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses a skateboard carrying device that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards, the skateboard carrying device comprising: a body component (10) with a plurality of straps (56, 66, 20, 24, 32);
wherein the plurality of straps are secured via mating connector components (buckle components) around a user's waist and shoulder; and further wherein the plurality of straps secure a skateboard (11) in an upright position to a user's back for transport.
The Examiner notes that the carrier case has multiple configurations which can be a waist belt or shoulder strap to meet the claims as currently recited.
The Examiner notes “that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards” can be interpreted as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the skateboard carrying device is utilized with a conventional skateboard (11), comprising a first end, a second end, a deck, a top surface, and a bottom surface with a plurality of wheels.
The recreational board/skateboard is clearly shown on Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise two straps (66, Fig. 2) that come together to form a continuous strap around a user's waist.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the two straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (buckle shown on Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise a third strap (third engagement means 28, 28) that is secured to the two straps around a user's waist and then is secured over a user's shoulder.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the third strap comprises an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (48).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps (28, 28, each 28 has straps 44, 46) which secure together to secure a skateboard in place.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the four additional straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (hook and loop fastener).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein two of the four additional straps wrap around a first end of the deck and other two of the four additional straps wrap around a second end of the deck to keep the skateboard flat against a user's back and secured while traveling.
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the mating connector component is a releasable securing means, such as a hook and loop fastener (hook and loop fastener), a buckle, or a snap.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise at least one shoulder cushion (20 and 32 are interpreted to meet the limitations of cushion) to provide comfort while using the skateboard carrying device.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise a plurality of pockets (32, 60) positioned along the plurality of straps with zipper closures (zippers 61, 64).
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses a skateboard carrying device that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards, the skateboard carrying device comprising: a body component with a plurality of straps; wherein the plurality of straps are secured via mating connector components around a user's waist and shoulder; wherein the plurality of straps comprise two straps that come together to form a continuous strap around a user's waist, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein the plurality of straps comprise a third strap that is secured to the two straps around a user's waist and then is secured over a user's shoulder, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps which secure together to secure a skateboard in place, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein two of the four additional straps wrap around a first end of a skateboard deck and other two of the four additional straps wrap around a second end of the skateboard deck to keep the skateboard flat against a user's back, in an upright position and secured while traveling; and further wherein the plurality of straps comprise a plurality of pockets positioned along the plurality of straps with zipper closures.
The Examiner notes that the carrier case has multiple configurations which can be a waist belt or shoulder strap to meet the claims as currently recited.
The Examiner notes “that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards” can be interpreted as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses comprising a plurality of indicia (locations of 20, 42, 28, and 24 provide indicia for engagement of the board).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps are nylon (nylon).
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the mating connector component is a releasable securing means, such as a hook and loop fastener, a buckle, or a snap.
Regarding Claim 17, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise at least one shoulder cushion to provide comfort while using the skateboard carrying device.
Regarding Claim 18, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise additional storage components (32, additional pockets, and 60), such as credit card slots, key rings, or tabs, for storage of personal items.
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the skateboard carrying device is utilized with a conventional skateboard, comprising a first end, a second end, a skateboard deck, a top surface, and a bottom surface with a plurality of wheels.
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses a method of transporting a skateboard hands-free, the method comprising the following steps: providing a skateboard carrying device comprising a body component that is configured in a plurality of straps that include straps around a user's torso and back of a user; securing a skateboard via four additional straps and hook and loop fasteners to the strap around a user's back; securing the plurality of straps to the torso and back of a user; and transporting the skateboard hands-free via the device, with the skateboard positioned on a user's back. The examiner notes that the structure of Reference [056] discloses the claimed method steps as best understood.
Claims 1-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Beagle, Jr. (U.S. 5,016,794) [794].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses a skateboard carrying device that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards, the skateboard carrying device comprising: a body component (10) with a plurality of straps (56, 56, 64, 66, 48, 50, 12); wherein the plurality of straps are secured via mating connector components (60, 62, 52, 54) around a user's waist and shoulder; and further wherein the plurality of straps secure a skateboard (46) in an upright position to a user's back for transport.
The Examiner notes “that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards” can be interpreted as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 2, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the skateboard carrying device is utilized with a conventional skateboard (46), comprising a first end, a second end, a deck, a top surface, and a bottom surface with a plurality of wheels.
The recreational board/skateboard is clearly shown on Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise two straps (56, 56) that come together to form a continuous strap around a user's waist.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the two straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (60, 62).
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise a third strap (48, 50, 64, 66, 14) that is secured to the two straps around a user's waist and then is secured over a user's shoulder.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the third strap comprises an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (52, 54, and end of straps 64, 66, respectively).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps (26, 28, sides of 40) which secure together to secure a skateboard in place.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses wherein the four additional straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (strap buckles).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein two of the four additional straps wrap around a first end of the deck and other two of the four additional straps wrap around a second end of the deck to keep the skateboard flat against a user's back and secured while traveling.
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the mating connector component is a releasable securing means, such as a hook and loop fastener, a buckle, or a snap.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, Reference [794] discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise at least one shoulder cushion (24 interpreted to meet the limitation of cushion) to provide comfort while using the skateboard carrying device.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood, Reference [794] as applied in the rejection above discloses a method of transporting a skateboard hands-free, the method comprising the following steps: providing a skateboard carrying device comprising a body component that is configured in a plurality of straps that include straps around a user's torso and back of a user; securing a skateboard via four additional straps and hook and loop fasteners to the strap around a user's back; securing the plurality of straps to the torso and back of a user; and transporting the skateboard hands-free via the device, with the skateboard positioned on a user's back. The examiner notes that the structure of Reference [794] discloses the claimed method steps as best understood.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Krieger et al. (U.S. 5,540,364) [364].
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Reference [364] discloses a skateboard carrying device that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards, the skateboard carrying device comprising: a body component (10) with a plurality of straps (24, 26, 40, 52, 56, 58, 70); wherein the plurality of straps are secured via mating connector components (buckle) around a user's waist and shoulder; and further wherein the plurality of straps secure a skateboard in an upright position to a user's back for transport.
The Examiner notes “that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards” is interpreted as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krieger et al. (U.S. 5,540,364) [364] in view of Challoner et al. (U.S. 5,344,056) [056].
Regarding Claim 2, Reference [364] discloses the claimed invention and carrying a snowboard, but does not explicitly disclose carrying an item of a skateboard.
Nevertheless, Reference [056] teaches carrying or transporting a recreational board (a snowboard, a surfboard, or a skateboard).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the carrier assembly of Reference [364] to carry a skateboard as taught by Reference [056] as carrying snowboards, surfboards, or skateboards, can be bulky and it is desired to leaving a wearer’s hands free. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the carrier of [364] carrying a snowboard could carry a similar item of a skateboard as the combination would yield predictable results as well as carrying similar items is taught by Ref. [056].
Regarding Claim 3, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise two straps (24, 26) that come together to form a continuous strap around a user's waist.
Regarding Claim 4, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the two straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (20, 22).
Regarding Claim 5, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise a third strap (40, 42, 52, 56, 58, 70) that is secured to the two straps around a user's waist and then is secured over a user's shoulder.
Regarding Claim 6, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the third strap comprises an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (44, 48).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps (56, 58) which secure together to secure a skateboard in place.
Regarding Claim 8, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the four additional straps comprise an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component (62, 64, respectively).
Regarding Claim 9, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein two of the four additional straps wrap around a first end of the deck and other two of the four additional straps wrap around a second end of the deck to keep the skateboard flat against a user's back and secured while traveling.
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the mating connector component is a releasable securing means, such as a hook and loop fastener, a buckle (buckle), or a snap.
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise at least one shoulder cushion (cushion shown on Fig. 3) to provide comfort while using the skateboard carrying device.
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 12, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise a plurality of pockets (compartments) positioned along the plurality of straps with zipper closures (36).
Regarding Claim 13, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses a skateboard carrying device that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards, the skateboard carrying device comprising: a body component with a plurality of straps; wherein the plurality of straps are secured via mating connector components around a user's waist and shoulder; wherein the plurality of straps comprise two straps that come together to form a continuous strap around a user's waist, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein the plurality of straps comprise a third strap that is secured to the two straps around a user's waist and then is secured over a user's shoulder, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein the third strap further comprises a set of four additional straps which secure together to secure a skateboard in place, with an elongated first end and an elongated second end which secure together via a mating connector component; wherein two of the four additional straps wrap around a first end of a skateboard deck and other two of the four additional straps wrap around a second end of the skateboard deck to keep the skateboard flat against a user's back, in an upright position and secured while traveling; and further wherein the plurality of straps comprise a plurality of pockets positioned along the plurality of straps with zipper closures.
The Examiner notes “that provides a user with hands-free storage and transportation for skateboards” can be interpreted as intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 14, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses comprising a plurality of indicia (66, 66).
Regarding Claim 15, as best understood, Reference [056] discloses the claimed invention, but does not expliclty disclose wherein the plurality of straps are nylon.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known to have straps made of nylon material.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the straps of Reference [364] / [056] to have been made of nylon for durability and manufacturing purposes.
Regarding Claim 16, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the mating connector component is a releasable securing means, such as a hook and loop fastener, a buckle, or a snap.
Regarding Claim 17, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise at least one shoulder cushion to provide comfort while using the skateboard carrying device.
Regarding Claim 18, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the plurality of straps comprise additional storage components (compartments), such as credit card slots, key rings, or tabs, for storage of personal items.
Regarding Claim 19, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses wherein the skateboard carrying device is utilized with a conventional skateboard, comprising a first end, a second end, a skateboard deck, a top surface, and a bottom surface with a plurality of wheels.
Regarding Claim 20, as best understood, the previously made combination of Reference [364] / [056] and reasoning above discloses a method of transporting a skateboard hands-free, the method comprising the following steps: providing a skateboard carrying device comprising a body component that is configured in a plurality of straps that include straps around a user's torso and back of a user; securing a skateboard via four additional straps and hook and loop fasteners to the strap around a user's back; securing the plurality of straps to the torso and back of a user; and transporting the skateboard hands-free via the device, with the skateboard positioned on a user's back. The examiner notes that the structure of Reference [364] / [056] discloses the claimed method steps as best understood.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 6,536,639 discloses a similar skateboard carrying strap and method holding a skateboard by two components where the device can be around the user’s shoulder or waist. Examiner notes that U.S. 4,518,107 discloses a similar carrier system as Applicant’s claimed invention; however, the carrier system is used for ski equipment.
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677