DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law (US 2024/0111163) in view of Lucas (US 10,515,484).
Regarding claim 1, Law discloses a wearable device (750, fig. 16A), comprising:
a display (720, fig. 16A);
a connecting band (760, fig. 16A);
a fulcrum strap (780, fig. 16A) positioned above the connecting band (see fig. 16A);
a counterbalance strap (764, fig. 16A) positioned below the connecting band (see fig. 16A); and
a weighted (790, fig. 16A and para. 592, wherein 790 is a counter weight) and cushioned (see interlocking connection of 790 to strap portion in para. 592; wherein the interlocking connection provides a layer of cushion between the battery pack and strap) pad attached to the counterbalance strap (para. 592), the weighted pad being positionally adjustable to at least partially counterbalance a weight of the display about the fulcrum strap (para. 592, 611, 430; wherein the location of the counter weight is adjustable to fit different head sizes).
Law fails to disclose the connecting band comprising a processor.
Lucas discloses a connecting band comprising a processor (see col. 3-4, lines 61-4; wherein a processor can be located in a head strap).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Lucas in the device of Law. The motivation for doing so would have been to further distribute the weight of the electrical components of the HMD by placing the processor on the head strap of the HMD (Lucas; col. 3-4, lines 61-4 and fig. 3; ultimately for weight distribution to increase comfort).
Regarding claim 3, Law discloses wherein: the weighted and cushioned pad is positioned in a Z-direction lower than the connection point (see 790 in fig. 16A and para. 592); and
a center of gravity for the wearable device is positioned below the connection point (see center of mass in para. 611; wherein the center of mass is located near the ear of the user, below the junction point of the straps in fig. 16A).
Regarding claim 4, Law disclose wherein the connecting band comprises a first moment arm (780, fig. 16A and para. 633) and the counterbalance strap comprises a second moment arm (764, fig. 16A and para. 633).
Regarding claim 5, Law discloses wherein an angle between the fulcrum strap and the counterbalance strap is adjustable (para. 633).
Regarding claim 6, Law discloses wherein the counterbalance strap is rigid (para. 636-637).
Regarding claim 7, Law discloses wherein a length of the counterbalance strap is adjustable (para. 633).
Regarding claim 8, Law discloses wherein the weighted and cushioned pad is centered along the counterbalance strap (see 790 in fig. 16A).
Regarding claim 9, Law discloses wherein the weighted and cushioned pad is removable from the counterbalance strap (para. 592).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law in view of Lucas in further view of Davidson (US 2023/0152594).
Regarding claim 2, Law discloses further comprising a connection point (see round junction connecting 760, 780, 764 in fig. 16A and para 722, wherein the angles of separation of the straps is adjustable) coupling the connecting band, the fulcrum strap, and the counterbalance strap (see fig. 16A).
Law fails to disclose wherein the coupling is rotatably coupling.
Davidson disclose a connection point (1260, in fig. 5A-5B and para. 1121) rotatably coupling the connecting band, the fulcrum strap and the counter balance strap (see straps in fig. 5A-5B).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Davidson in the device of Law. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the adjustable straps to pivot (Davidson in fig. 5A-5B and para. 1121), such that a user can find the a desired fit by adjusting/pivoting the straps.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Law in view of Lucas in further view of Davidson (US 2023/0152594).
Regarding claim 21, Law fails to disclose wherein the pad is configured to conform of the a head shape of the user.
Davidson discloses wherein the weighted and cushioned pad (see 1500, including connections 1501, 1502 and 1516 in fig. 68C-D and para. 1377; wherein the battery pack conforms to the head shape of user) is configured to conform to conform to a head shape of the user (para. 1377).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Davidson in the device of Law. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a battery pack which conforms to the head shape of each individual user (Davidson; para. 1377). Ultimately creating more versatility and usability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628