DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 09/04/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 19-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umeda et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2018/0192203).
Regarding claim 1, Umeda et al. disclose a microphone device (10) based on a two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer (4/5) having a protective layer (2a/b) formed thereon, the microphone device comprising: a substrate (6) including a cavity (6a) vertically extending therethrough; a lower protective layer (2a) formed on an upper surface of the substrate so as to block the cavity; a two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer (4) formed on the lower protective layer; and at least one electrode (3a/b), wherein the microphone device is configured to generate an electric potential as the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer vibrates under a sound pressure (Figs. 2(a)/(b)) as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Umeda et al. further disclose the microphone device, wherein the microphone device further comprises an upper protective layer (2b) formed on the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer (Figs. 2(a)/(b)).
Regarding claim 3, Umeda et al. further disclose the microphone device, wherein each of the lower protective layer (2a) and the upper protective layer (2a) is made of a material having a lattice parameter similar to a lattice parameter of the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer (4/5)(Figs. 2(a)/(b)).
Regarding claim 7, Umeda et al. further disclose the microphone device, wherein the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer includes a stack of 1 to 5 two-dimensional piezoelectric material layers (4-5).
Method claims 19-20, 24 are similar to claims 1-3 and 7 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8-12, 21-23 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Umeda et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2018/0192203).
Regarding claims 4-5, Umeda et al. may not specially teach in details for each of the lower protective layer and the upper protective layer as claimed. Since providing suitable made protective layer or layers for a microphone is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable protective layer or layers, such as made with one of Al2O3, BN, hBN, HfO2, SiO2, ZnO, TiO2, patterned into a mesh structure for the microphone taught by Umeda et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone for certain application.
Regarding claim 6, Umeda et al. may not specially teach that the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer is made of one of a transition metal chalcogenide, an alkaline earth metal oxide, and a group III-V compound as claimed. Since providing suitable made piezoelectric material layer for a microphone is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable made piezoelectric material layer, such as made of one of a transition metal chalcogenide, an alkaline earth metal oxide, and a group III-V compound, for the microphone taught by Umeda et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone.
Regarding claim 8, Umeda et al. may not specially teach that a through-cavity has a circular shape in a plan view of the microphone device as claimed. Since providing a suitable through-cavity in a plan view of a microphone device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable through-cavity, such as having a circular shape, for the microphone taught by Umeda et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone, for certain application.
Regarding claims 9-10, Umeda et al. may not specially teach an additional substrate as claimed. Since providing suitable mounting means/housing and/or an additional substrate for utilizing a microphone device in desirable applications is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable mounting means/housing and/or an additional substrate, such as disposed on the other surface of the substrate having the cavity defined therein so as to block the cavity; and a lower stopper disposed on the additional substrate so as to be received in the cavity, for the microphone taught by Umeda et al., in order to effectively utilize the microphone, for certain application.
Regarding claims 11-12, Umeda et al. may not specially teach a plurality of surface structures as claimed. Since providing suitable mounting means and/or a plurality of surface structures for a microphone device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable mounting means and/or a plurality of surface structures, such as having an upwardly gradually narrower shape, are disposed and arranged in and/or on in the lower protective layer, wherein the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer is formed on the plurality of surface structures of the lower protective layer in a conformal manner to the plurality of surface structures of the lower protective layer or each having an upwardly gradually narrower shape, are disposed and arranged on the substrate, wherein the lower protective layer is formed on the plurality of surface structures of the substrate in a conformal manner to the plurality of surface structures of the substrate, wherein the two-dimensional piezoelectric material layer is formed on the lower protective layer in a conformal manner to the plurality of surface structures of the substrate, for the microphone taught by Umeda et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the microphone, for certain application.
Method claims 21-23 and 25-28 are similar to claims 4-6 and 8-12 except for being couched in method terminology; such methods would be inherent when the structure is shown in the reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691