Status of Claims
Currently claims 1-13 are pending and claim 13 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/06/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: connection mechanism in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first part" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a vapour dispensing device” in lines 2-3, this is double inclusion as the vapour dispensing device has already been claimed in claim 8.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a vapour dispensing device” in line 3, this is double inclusion as the vapour dispensing device has already been claimed in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lacher (U.S. 8,205,810).
With respect to claim 1, Lacher discloses a vapour dispensing device nozzle (figures 20-21, producing a vapour such that it produces bubbling water. Column 3 rows 25-30), the nozzle comprising a plurality of apertures (apertures of 5).
With respect to claim 2, Lacher discloses the nozzle comprises a neck portion (being the neck portion at 48) and a face portion (being the bottom face of 2), with the neck portion having a smaller axial cross-sectional area than that of the face portion (as shown in figure 2).
With respect to claim 3, Lacher discloses the plurality of apertures is in the form of a layer of apertures positioned in the face portion of the nozzle (being the layer of the holes/apertures in plate 5).
With respect to claim 4, Lacher discloses a second layer of apertures (at 20) is arranged adjacent the first layer of apertures (as shown in figure 20) and the apertures in the first layer are offset from the apertures in the second layer (as shown in figure 20, where the apertures in 5 are tilted and thus offset from those in 20).
With respect to claim 5, Lacher discloses the apertures are honeycomb in shape (see figures 2, 10, and 20).
With respect to claim 8, Lacher discloses the nozzle has the first part of a connection mechanism (threads), so that the nozzle can be fitted to a vapour dispensing device (allowing the nozzles to be threaded to the source).
With respect to claim 11, Lacher discloses a vapour dispensing device comprising a nozzle according to claim 1 (being the inclusion of the nozzle with the sanitary unit, receiving hot water (including water vapor) and air from the surrounding (including vapor)).
With respect to claim 12, Lacher discloses the device has a first vapour source (being the intruded gas/air, column 7 rows 5-10) and a second vapour source (hot water being supplied from the faucet to the nozzle) and at least one of the plurality of apertures in the nozzle is provided with vapour from the first source (as the vapor included in the hot water source of a facet and air brought in both go through the apertures in 5) and at least one other of the plurality of apertures in the nozzle is provided with vapour from the second source (as the vapor included in the hot water source of a facet and air brought in both go through the apertures in 5).
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grether (U.S. 2006/0102750).
With respect to claim 1, Grether discloses a vapour dispensing device nozzle (figure 1), the nozzle comprising a plurality of apertures (apertures of 15).
With respect to claim 6, Grether discloses the nozzle comprises rubber material (paragraph 0031).
With respect to claim 7, Grether discloses wherein the nozzle comprises metallic material (paragraph 0028).
Claims 1, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blum (U.S. 2013/0134239)
With respect to claim 1, Blum discloses a vapour dispensing device nozzle (figure 1), the nozzle comprising a plurality of apertures (apertures of 10).
With respect to claim 8, Blum discloses the nozzle has the first part of a connection mechanism (paragraph 0011, discloses a screw or bayonet connection), so that the nozzle can be fitted to a vapour dispensing device (allowing the housing of the nozzle to be attached to a water outlet).
With respect to claim 10, Blum discloses the connection mechanism comprises a clip or part of a bayonet fitting, the clip or bayonet fitting adapted to fit to a corresponding second part on a vapour dispensing device (disclosing a bayonet connection which would then attach to a corresponding second part of the vapor dispensing device (fluid outlet)).
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Myers (U.S. 2020/0070191).
With respect to claim 1, Myers discloses a vapour dispensing device nozzle (title, figures 1-4, having nozzle 17), the nozzle comprising a plurality of apertures (apertures 20).
With respect to claim 11, Myers discloses a vapour dispensing device comprising a nozzle according to claim 1 (title, abstract, and figure 1).
With respect to claim 12, Myers discloses the device has a first vapour source (vapour fluid 9 within tank 8) and a second vapour source (paragraph 0015, utilizing a second different tank with a different flavors) and at least one of the plurality of apertures in the nozzle is provided with vapour from the first source (as the first tank is provided to the plurality of apertures found in the nozzle) and at least one other of the plurality of apertures in the nozzle is provided with vapour from the second source (as vapour from the second applied tank would be applied to the apertures of the nozzle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacher in view of Esche (U.S. 2014/0026980).
With respect to claim 9, Lacher discloses a connection mechanism, but fails to disclose the connection mechanism comprises at least one magnetic portion to fit to a corresponding second part on a vapour dispensing device.
Esche, abstract and paragraphs 0004-0007, discloses the use of a magnet on the faucet as well as one with the nozzle (spreadhead) allowing for the two elements to be connected to one another, allowing for the spraying system to couple and decouple the nozzle as needed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a magnet coupling as disclosed by Esche into the system of Lacher, allowing the nozzle to couple and decoupler from the housing as desired with a simple removal of the nozzle from decoupling the two magnets from each other.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752